Wale Gates makes case for student who killed his father, shares his own story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 July 2014

Wale Gates makes case for student who killed his father, shares his own story

A few days ago, we heard about a 21 year old Redeemer University student named Tolani Ajayi, who killed his own father. The news shocked us all...because it's unheard of for a child to kill his own parent but UK based comedian Wale Gates says he has little sympathy for the young man because he's been in the boy's shoes and kind of understands what could have pushed him.

Wales shares his own story of the abuse he suffered in the hands of his own father growing up, how he didn't speak to the man for 12 years and how he eventually forgave him. See all that after the cut...

P.S: If you hit your child frequently or even verbally abuse them, you need to stop. They remember when they grow up, and they may never tell you but they carry that resentment for a long time.

234 comments:

1 – 200 of 234   Newer›   Newest»
CHERRY said...

Ok seen.

True sha, if we learn to control our anger and turn it into positive energy it will be so much better,I always dis dat u can get pregnant or ve high sperm count doesn't make u an eligible parent cos its not easy.

God bless him for this posts..its nt easy..kai

Slim said...

sumtimes it does stick n u dont forget n sumtimes u do cos it made u beta,who u r nw..

Rip in advance

Mena Peters Triflections said...

Only a few Nigerians with common sense that think critically will understand his point. Kudos to you Wale and I believe you have started something new in Nigeria. Hopefully, your message will change a few. It has become a trend for Nigerian kids abroad to kill their parents, why? The parents want to train the child the way they were trained forgetting they are in a different environment. They enforce their religion and culture on these poor kids who go to school and mix with other children. The kids become confused and those that have low tolerance eventually stand up to their parents. As Nigerians, we need to start thinking and change our mindsets, will beating the hell out of a child make the child a better person? NO, it will make the child worse. Children who grow up in a loving environment turn out better. The sad part is a lot of parents in Nigeria do this due to frustration and the state of the country so it all boils down to governance. Sadly, it is a chain reaction.

WELLDONE WALEGATES. I WENT THROUGH THE SAME AS YOU TOO! THO MY DAD'S LATE NOW! BUT THESE BEATINGS STILL HUNT ME TILL DATE. I HAVE A SON WHO I LOVED SO MUCH... I WONDER IF MY DAD HAS THAT SAME LOVE FOR ME WHILE I WAS YOUNG. I CAME TO A CONCLUSION!!! IT'S CALLED POVERTY. ONLY POOR PARENTS BEAT UP THEIR KIDS OUR OF FRAUSTRATION

Child abuse is very wrong and must be condemned at all levels, but not withstanding it shouldn't warrant the killing of a fellow human, so I don't have sympathy for him either

Wale wait before u committ fallacy of hasty conclusion.
First the young man never complained of being constantly abused by his dad.
Secondly the young man abuses drugs.
Third he attacked his dad with a small knife.
Fourth the he resorted to a cutlass when he felt the small knife wasn't making much impact.
Goes to show it took so much of evil intent for him to execute such.
No one is trying to sound sanctimonious here, but stating the obvious.
His behaviour is no different from that of drug addicts, which never denied.
A sane person,in the right frame of mind would have used the time spent in thinking of how to reach for cutlass,to think of how to run away to safety. Just like you did when your dad attacked you.

Rabiya said...

God bless you Wale...Dude made alotta sense.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

"It might come has a surprise" ??? U better start with writting well b4 coming here to utter rubbish. Has comedy affected your thinking!?? There is nothing, absolutely nothing that will make a child raise his hand on his parent. Full stop !!!

Gist arena said...

WELL YOU HAVE SPOKEN WELL HERE, BUT FOR A DAD TO BEHAVE LIKE THAT TO A SON, BROTHER, U MUST HAVE DONE SOMETHING THAT PAINED THE MAN FOR HIM TO REGRET BRINGING YOU INTO THIS WORLD. WHAT DO YOU THINK A FATHER WILL DO WHEN HE HAS BEEN SPENDING MONEY ON SCHOOL FEES, ONLY FOR HIM TO realize THAT ALL THE FEES HE PAID WAS A WASTE, THAT AT THE END OF UR STAY IN SCHOOL U NEVER WENT TO CLASS AND WHEN UR RESULT CAME OUT, U HAD NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT. NOW TELL ME WHAT DO YOU THINK THE FATHER WILL DO, THAT IS IF HE IS A NO NONSENSE MAN. YOU MUST HAVE DONE SOMETHING THAT VEXED THE MAN TO ACT LIKE THAT. TELL US THE TRUTH.

bless you

Really,Na wa o!!!!Beating isn't always d answer you know...

bless you mehn

Hmmmmm. It is well

mimi pearl said...

Speechless!! He really made sense though. May God help this young guy.hmmmm

true talk #gbam

#WORDS# The truth is as i child i wondered if it was my mum dat gave birth to me and my brother. Even when i was being molested(didnt know wat it was den, but i know now)by our house help onyinye(a gurl),i couldnt say a word.When she wants to descend on me, dad always came to my rescue but all you hear is 'let me train my children' for real? Mind u, i dont even know wat cigerret taste like at 27, had first sex at 24, sooo u can see i have always been a good boy.
Abusive words and names was a norm in our house but my dad insisted on dat one, EWU, WITCH , etc were names i heard often.

Anyways maybe cos am a man, i love her sooo much now and defend her alot, but i must say she was unnecessarily hard on us as kids

kemmmy said...

hmmmm...

2ndeSlash said...

Well,its all true...i understand the boys situation and also that of wale Gates...some parents are over bearing...,My dad has pushed me to the edge verbally.Trust me,he has said stuffs to bring me down but i keep calm.the bible say be slow to anger.

TELL THEM WALE, YOU ARE 100% RIGHT, HOPE THEY WILL HEAR. FIGHT AGAINST CHILD ABUSE!!!!

TeeDayo said...

My exact thoughts.I really pity d guy.from the first day I read abt his deed.I knw anger doesn't justify his actions but its so painful he cudnt avoid it.Wale just said the rights words abt d situation.some parents are jst too strict all in d names of discipline.my neighbour used to bite his kids and hit them wit sticks,inflicting injuries and applyin grinded pepper to diff parts of dia body esp their eyes.its jst sad

I totally agree with all you have sad. It is just really sad.

I don't support what this guy did to his father but even the bible says parents do not provoke your children to anger.my condolences to the family.

Wale, spot on! I have nothing more to add. They poured their frustrations out on us.

Solary said...

No b only "come has a surprise"

It is too bad when some parents tortures their kids in d name of discipline

Please visit my blog

www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com

Johnbull said...

Ok, this dude need to stfu! We are talking about murder here and dude is talking about little sympathy!
Is there any African child that didn't get some bit of cane? I got so much, beaten blue black because I was damn too stubborn for everybody. And guess what, I knew I needed to be straightened up!
What happened to taking off, running far away from your dad?? Sue there are better reactions than killing the father! And the eediot is justifying nonsense with comments that weed doesn't make people kill. You must be a loonie yourself, I will stay away from you because you probably do weed.
Yes, Arowolo killed the wife and he deserved to die but this guy killed the father and he deserved little sympathy!
And where is this gonna land him? Jail! His life is messed up and he will be hated by many people.
You people should stop this demented justification of evil simply because it is the twitter age.
I am not beating my kids for very different reasons, didn't make my dad an evil person. He beat me pretty much but I loved him all the same and God bless his soul.

Can you people stop consuming all this imported chicken and cow milk? These things mess up your brains so bad!

Dude ur parent did not flog yu well, i think yu need to be flogged even more bcos ur head dey knock...

well said

Wale Gates story is a true picture of torture!
Just because they are parents, sometimes parents do cross the lines between reasonableness and unreasonableness
Grated, my parents smacked me (and I still thank God for that) and I fully intend to do thesame but NOT cross the line and step into the realms of unreasonableness and child abuse
7 slaps for no washing a car to is standard?! Such parents seems like he cannot be pleased regardless so he will still have been slapped if he used a different brand of wax no premium wax to shine the car after washing.Com'on, thats insane and ridiculous!
So Wale Gates is not making a blanket statement, nether is he saying the boy was right to kill his dad (that's just wrong and demonic) he is just relating it to a similar incident to which he can identity with and to
So I'm sure a torrent of abuses will reign on this poor Wale Gates, BUT STOP first and think of the context (and remove that unreasonable fear of parents and be objective)

LoveAfrikaa said...

I totally agree with him! 100%....Some african parents think beating their children is the best disciple..it is not! Some parents even verbally abuse their children..that shit is not good! I'm speaking from experience..my brother resents my mother soooo much for what she did to him as a child. I'm over it becaue I know God! But I will always remember the bad more than the good and will never subject my children to that kind of thing!

GOD BLES YOU..

Hmmm, Mr wale well said, no one knows what transpired btw them only God n family n probably friends...thats y we keep praying for self control, cus now he might b sentenced to death...this is a sad narration with a lesson to b learnt on both sides...thank u

Decipline and not torture...... #Word#

GOD BLESS YOU WALE GATES..THANKS FOR D LECTURE..I V LEARN

bubu endowed said...

Very true

I don't hit my children.. NEVER!

I have a 4 year old daughter, she did a few things in the past week in school. I got the shocking report and chastised her. The more i flogged her, the worst it became. But one day, i called her, sat down and cried to her, begging her never to do anything bad at school. She asked me the things i consider bad. I listed them to her. Since then, she comes back from school listing my laws she didn't contravene. God forgive me for slapping her to her face one day. Beating is not the answer. Talk to them, they will listen. @amfestus

Daily diet tv said...

I concure! Now you know why Blacks are generally more violent than Whites. I also agree with the WEED vs alcohol theory. Lol ~BADOO OF COVENTRY

CALIFORNIA said...

I BEG SOMEHOW YOU TALK SENSE, GROWING UP WAS TOUGH FOR ME AS WELL THE BEATEN WAS WAY TOO MUCH I WAS WONDERING IF MY FATHER WAS MY REAL FATHER..BECAUSE I DDDNT CLOSE THE ENTRANCE GATE TO MY FATHER'S BACKYARD SMALL MAIZE PLANTATION, I WOKE UP WITH THE BEATEN OF MY LIFE I RAN OUT OF THE HOUSE AND MY FATHER FOLLOWED ME,CHASED ME, CAUGHT ME AND HIT MY BACK ON A VERY BIG STONE, I STOOD UP RAN COS I WAS YOUNG AT THAT MOMENT I DDNT FEEL THE PAIN, HE CHASED ME AGAIN AND CONTINUED THE BEATING..I CAN NEVER FORGET THAT MISERABLE DAY, I HATED HIM SO MUCH THEN THAT WE HARDLY TALK WE ONLY TALK WHEN I HAVE TO..REALLY WE ALL HAVE SHOCKS ABSORBER THAN EACH OTHER WHAT I WILL TAKE YOU MIGHT NOT TAKE HALF OF IT..I REALLY DONT BLAME THE GUY..NOT SAYING HE DD THE RIGHT THING BUT TRUST ME SOME PARENTS CAN MALTREAT THEIR CHILDREN SO BAD..PEEPS THAT SMOKE IGBO ARE EVEN THE NICEST I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE..FINE THIS GUY WILL PAY FOR THIS BUT THIS IS ALSO A WARNING TO PARENTS THAT ARE VIOLENT TO STOP IT.......I AM A MOTHER AND MARRIED WITH A KID(MALE CHILD)AND WILL NEVER BE VIOLENT TO MY SON..I AM NOT VIOLENT TO MY MAID LET ALONE MY OWN SON... I LEAVE GOD TO JUDGE THE BOY(TOLANI AJAYI)
A MOTHER...

Like seriously some of our parents r nt helpin matters,but no matter wht let's learn to control our temper may God help us to do dat in Jesus name.

i luv my popsie die ooo.....he neva touched me all of his life and we are best of friends till date and hes 79 years old...infact anytym hes comin back from work he buys me loads of pastries and latest films then way back in the eighties but i remember say my momsie dey play me wella until i enta secondary and broker all her canes...lol....anywayz gay guys on diz linda ikeji blog abeg make una leave me ooo.....im straight as 6 0 clock so stop sending me emails abegooo....i only asked for horny and sexy sweet gurls who stay in the mainland and not sum fuckshit retarded bullcrap gays.....anywayz were are all my mainland nympho babes @?....shoot me an email @ deida12345@yahoo.com....ur trigger punani luving cyborg awaits ya....lol

You are very correct Wale, some of our parents were monsters in pretense that they were trying to raise us to be good, yes for the boy killing his dad its wrong but i was once a victim of such circumstance, i grew up in enugu and i know that a lot of my friends visits this blog and maybe some will know what am about to write now because i and my siblings were humiliated, abused and tortured by my father now deceased. I was in primary 3 when my dad and mum got separated and from from that day till when i left my father's house after my jss 3 i was battered, flogged with canes, beaten with bare hands by my father any day my mum comes to visit us in school. And for these 7yrs before i left my father's house my mum usually visit us 3or 4 times every week and any day she visits my dad will beat me up till i will almost loose my breath,infact you cannot imagine this, he will beat me for like 6 to 8 hrs non stop simply because i talked to my mum in school when she visited, so people tell me what sort of a father was he, was he doing the right thing or abusing me? Until now when i think or remember about such humiliation and torture i feel like strangling him more even in his grave for being that wicked and mean for his own blood, i cannot imagine treating my own blood in such a wicked way, anyway they should just let this boy go free because all he did was to defend himself from an abusive father,its unfortunate the man died but what if he was the one that died too what would have happened

"Has hay surprise" HABEG o

hmn food for thought o. abuse can invoke demons from d pit of hell to do dangerous things. may God help us all to be able to resist the devil at all times. that boy will be killed or sentenced to a life imprisonment, too bad. what a waste!

Nice write....I second his opinion.. The kinda beating Nigerian parents give their kids can be so bad and frustrating!
Pray God forgive us all.
vixen#

Nice write....I second his opinion.. The kinda beating Nigerian parents give their kids can be so bad and frustrating!
Pray God forgive us all.
vixen#

Nice one, Wale

WELL SAID...

pearl gold said...

Yea sum parents are lyk dat my mum z a typical example wen I was yonger she would beat me lyk a theif even wen d case z nt serious buh I neva tot of hitting back I d only tot dat came to my mind was to run out of d hwus . Den she would put pepper in my eyes n private parts lock d door n beat me blue black buh I had no wia to run to even wen I run n am brought back home d beaten z multiplied by 10 buh I keep wandering y I can't stop loving her! Just last month she used a very big stick to hit me more than 5tyms on my back n waiste just becos she called me n I delayed to answer n I bleed inside unkwnliy I couldn't walk well for ova a week until I had to c a docctor . I was so angry buh I still could nt hate her atleast not uptill 24hrs Z just anger management! It helps

Opelicious Morgann said...

Well said. I also was brought up in a family with a no-beating policy although my dad could shout hellfire on you. Shouting that would make you cry.

beeteewhy said...

I cried reading this..me personally still have hatred for my dad for the day he flogged the living day light out of me because I went to a pentecostal church at the age of 9.he flogged me with an electric cable...when I was in primary 4,someone told him I stole 50 kobo of which I didn't. and my stupid dad will wake me up early for a week to flog me..the beatings I got from my dad is something I doubt if I can forgive him for. If he tries that now,,honestly I may kill him too..some stupid dad think they can correct you by throwing punches...no matter who u are and how reserved u are, u will loose your temper one day if someone keep beating u because they feel they have the power to even if u don't take drugs,when pushed,a beast will be let loosed. so what's going on?

immediately i saw d story,i knew der was more to it..both spiritually n physically.90% of african parents r like dat...m nt an exception..mumsy n popsy r always shouting,cursing or snapping...i leave all to God tho.

tel them jawe.................this is nothing but actual fact

A child stopping what u beats him /her for at dat time does nt mean he wont do it again, dat child stopped it coz he was afraid you and when you are not there the tendency of going back to dat is certain. Parents stop hitting ur child unnecessary all in de name of discipline.

God bless you wale ...

pearl gold said...

Parents should resolve ish with kind words n rods u must not or should not hit a child @ any slight mistake keep d cain for crime nt mistakes n don't use bad languages to refer to dem u might think u r doin it right while u r unkwniliy raising a tout cos he or she will end up behaving just lyk dat to others outside

Uhmmmmmmmm, he's kinda right, may God forgive him( the boy that killed hs dad) not sure he can get out of this.

Hmmm... He made sense. "Parents shouldn't be feared but respected". Some African parents need to understand that. I am happy I waz born to African parents who understand that. R.I.P to the dead man

U hv a point here...not dat he was rite killing his father but he 'reacted 2 an abusive father'...note 2 men:pls becareful in ur confu! wen u constantly abuse/hit a child,woman...dis could be u!!!

Jessica law said...

Wale Gates is right I think the guy snapped.most times parents go too far all in the name of discipline.

Have you watched the show "snapped" when anger and years of frustration cause you to blackout

beeteewhy said...

And bite him is what he should do rite? Cast demons? Slap him? If u fail has a father to show your child love,don't expect him to respect and love you..one day he will loose his fear for you and you as d dad may pay the ultimate price. Learn to bring up your child in d rite way with love and he/she will not depart from it..not with your spanking and very deadly abuses..Nigerian parents can insult..and trust me yorubas gat painful insults my dear.

really! i don't agree with all u ve said it is not a good reason for killing his own father and as for the igbo let u child take igbo and tell her weldone se it doesn't make pple kill, i pray he/she doesn't kill u before u knw it.

I agree with gate cos I ve a father like dat.sometimes I will be like is better for dis man to die but I pray God should keeping.my father us so oooo wicked that forgiveness is very hard for him.i am married now with 2 kids but dis man still remember s what happened during my wedding in 2010.he said my hubby did not care abt dem during dat time dat dey left without being asked if dey will eat.this man is d one dat I called after wedding and thanked him and my family members for coming and my hubby did so too.sometimes I get confused abt his attitude but I pray God will deliver him now if I call him he will not pick nor answer my calls and he dose same to my hubby too.in conclusion what do u expect a father like him to be?

My mum was worst,she wll even send us out of the house,(girls oh) I ve a bro that she beat for several hours and he had to jump frm a storey building and while running away he was caught by some pple late in the nyt and they called him a thief and plan to throw him in the well,buh Allah was on his side,a next door neighbor told them that it was my mum that gave him the marks all over his body and they let him go...my bro has been in America for the past 20 yrs and doesn't talk to my mum...she doesn't knw shit about him, if u abuse ur kids when they r young, just pray u dnt grow old,else they wll deal with u... the neighbours that weren't killing their kids back then ve better adults and better life now than my mum,my sis ran to man's house when she chases her out, am the only one that got married properly... and am her last... when she came for omugo @ my house and try to abuse my 1st kid,i made clear to her that am her child and my kids r my children

Lucy Lu said...

#MyTwoCents
If there's a destiny to be fulfilled then there's someone to fulfil it.

Hmmmm very interesting comments .....am at a loss for words.
@John bull and Steveosky thanks for the piece . I see that we have a great issue on our hands.
while I don't agree with Child abuse , I don't see ANY justification for the barbaric killing of another human being moreso his father - what is happening !! the action of the dad does not justify the killing .In my opinion the boy psychiatry help . I was beaten black and blue cause I was playful just like Wale however I have never thought of raising my hand against my parents.

Chidinma said...

nice one, God will definitely intervene on his behalf.

we talk about racism all the time but the honest truth is we blacks treat ourselves way worse than other races treat us. Don't spare the rod but at least apply common sense in how you use it. Beating isnt a replacement for quality parenting.

Our society will eventually overcome this ignorance

I reckon with you on your comment.

Yea right... Honestly am "has" surprised "has" others. Child abuse is bad I must admit but No matter d amount of beatings u get frm ur father, doesn't give u any right to kill him...so enuf! Some pple got worse beating dan u did so Dis is no hexcuse! Sorry excuse...

Bona well spoken

This bona u get sense oooh.. By d way r u single????

Exactly

kemmmy said...

just the way nothing should ever make a parent abuse his/her child

beeteewhy said...

When u have your own child,be a john and turn into a bull because you know how to instill discipline. And when he eventually gets tired of running from u,he will stick a knife down your throat and we libers will post RIP on your story.lobatan. Imported chicken and cow milk? U sound so primitive the likes of you beats and could kill a child..support those parents who beat their child and u may face the same fate too my dear.

Peace said...

wale i agree wit u,i'm facin same issues in d hands of my dad,till date,he has even cald police to get me arrestd nt once bt gud 4x,includin my mum n siblins,i was adviced to leave d house,cos he wantd me out of d house,which i did by rentin an apartment n my siblins + mum moved out wit me leavin him alone,2days later,i returnd frm work n saw him in my apartmnt n i askd my mum,hw com n she said he apologise,dat i should 4giv him,which i did n let him stay,3days of his movin in, he startd again,sometime b4 i leave for work he coms out lukin for fault to insult me or my mum,d annoyin part of it is dat,i took loan frm my company to get d apartmnt,which til toda d loan is stil bin subtractd frm my salary,yet i stil dont ve peace,sometime i jst wishes he dies...I'm 24yr female for dat mater,is nt evry1 dat can tolerate

kemmmy said...

God bless u jere...

Respect our parents not fear,i kinda agree with that line....very important line especially for parents

Well we all got our stories

WELL SPOKEN BONA
Moye B

God bless you wale......tear ran down my eyes reading this....my case wasn't left outta this...I could rememeber when I was in secondary school...for mornining devotion....my dad was praying,he complained I wasn't sayin amen...which I was.I den turn my face and close it...4til praying before I could know a heavy slap I wil neva forget landed on my face my eye ball...-i feel down thinkin am goin to die or faint....all I wish for den was faint and die...rushin to rain blow on me again on my lifeless body my mum stopd him...my left eye was blinded partially for 2weeks...*nd anoda occassion he flog the living day lightt out of me cos he was talkin to me and I responded....broken brooms was removed frm round about my head leavin each spot bleedin...m more close to my mum dan him...I stil luv him tho,he is my day#tears

thanks to Wale for his point, i think some parent needs to know how to bring up thier children with love.

I can imagine the comments if this guy were to be a muslim. just saying.

Even As @ That, You Need Not To Raise You Finger Or Look @ Your Dad With Anger, All Y'all That Had Same Experience While Growing Up, Did You All Stab Your Dads? The Deed Has Been Done, Dads @ Times Dey Over Do Things, But That Dude Went Too Far. May God Forgive Him. (Linda's Man)

Because he uses drug does not mean you should conclude that that's what made him do it, he might have been sober but angry.

beeteewhy said...

Edwin is a man trying so hard to be civilised but unfortunately he since dropped his brain in local a church..so don't expect him to make sense when he post his comments here..what do I know,,the life he lives in jupiter affects his sense of reasoning.

God bless you wale......tear ran down my eyes reading this....my case wasn't left outta this...I could rememeber when I was in secondary school...for mornining devotion....my dad was praying,he complained I wasn't sayin amen...which I was.I den turn my face and close it...4til praying before I could know a heavy slap I wil neva forget landed on my face my eye ball...-i feel down thinkin am goin to die or faint....all I wish for den was faint and die...rushin to rain blow on me again on my lifeless body my mum stopd him...my left eye was blinded partially for 2weeks...*nd anoda occassion he flog the living day lightt out of me cos he was talkin to me and I responded....broken brooms was removed frm round about my head leavin each spot bleedin...m more close to my mum dan him...I stil luv him tho,he is my day#tears

Because he uses drug does not mean you should conclude that that's what made him do it, he might have been sober but angry.

Get out my friend, Wale! You need to get your facts right before chatting rubbish.It is a pity that despite your father's beating,you still resolved to fraud in the UK. Yes, FRAUD, mind you I know you very well.So you aint a saint.Tolani Ajayi, the murderer in question is well known to my neighbors. He is drug addict and member of a secret cult.The father had to withdraw him from OAU to redeemers cos of this cultism. So,IF THE FATHER DECIDED TO FLOG THE DEVIL OUT OF HIM,HOW IS THAT WRONG?

wale make a point
i like that
i didn't support this guy that killed his father either...

Mena Peters Triflections said...

The issue being tackled here is that of child abuse by Nigerian parents which we know is rampant. Running away or staying back to attack is dependant on your level of tolerance. If he didn't say his father attacked him, where did the story of beating and boring come from? I am not defending his actions but we need to tackle the root cause of the many problems we have in Nigeria today.

My own mother nearly killed me. She called me a failure,a demon,her enemy evn went ahead to say she wld inject me with salt. So many unimaginable tins. I still find it hard to forgive her smetimes,at a point,I ad to run away @ age 16 then I became wise. Thnk God I ddnt end up a street girl. She punched me wen I was slpn 1 day nd my breathe seized for some minutes. Smtms I felt like killing her,but den d best way was to totally avoid her. Now she feels it mre nd wnts me to cme hme. Come bck fire! Am happy as I am abg. I now av abit of sanity.

olu said...

While I understand ur point of view, u in turn need to understand that only two types of people kill... Those who are emotionally numb (psychopaths) and those who were pushed to it. We all have different psychological make ups and personalities... So while u might have survived it unscathed, there are millions of kids out there that are turned into monsters (and yes... Mosters are rarely born, they are often created).

Same here not murder sha oooo always prayed for him to "die" but God 4bid. I'm a grown lady now $ Iv 4gotn him.

PRETTY GIRL said...

It might come 'has' a surprise? Yoruba people and 'H' factor though...Oh well, sincerely he made a lot of sense..my Only concern is his assumption that the boy's late father was an abusive father and that was the reason the boy attacked him in defence of himself.. YES, it may' ve been the reason, but we don't know that for sure.....there are also other reasons that could've caused the unfortunate incidence. The boy may have uncontrollable anger issues, drugs or anything else for that matter... But whatever it was, he has committed murder and now he has to face the Law#Sadmuch

Suffered same,cos me being what I wanted (medical doctor)I fear him so much that whenever he is in town I lost confidence and concentration and I can't discuss my problems with him,what pains me more I end up with an advance diploma in mass comm,while my friends are graduates some with second degrees.he's now late I forgive him but this will make me be a good father to my children having go through horrifying childhood.

jhenni said...

We Africans can never come out from darkness which is as a result of their ignorance. We tend to obey laws that concerns other, we r more interested in carrying them out than obeying personal laws. Wake up Africans esp. Nigerians. Stop child beating and torture there are better ways.

And one day u shall be killed ur ur kid! @ Johnbull the bull.

Opelicious Morgann said...

People have mental disorders....and even the most sane of individuals still have their moments of madness.

if there is one thing am always grateful for,it is d parent God gave to me,my dad never laid his hands on me,my mum was strict but i think it made all of us a better person, my dad is d best and am forever grateful,he nurtured us in the way of the lord. God am grateful, i am where i am today bcos of how my parents brought me up,i should have died long time ago,

osca concept said...

Linda its Devil work.

God help him,he feel remorse for everything...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Ure obviously gay.. sending coded messages I see.. until u end up in hospital for one sickness.

Wale honestly you are very correct.Those who will understand your point well, were those that went through the same ordeal.
You know, the person I suffered from was my daddy's niece. To call the woman a wicked person is an understatement. Being a xtian, I don't want to use the actual words. It took me a long time to forgive her. At times when I remember what I went through, I cried, even til date. Flashing back,holy Moses. Like Wale said, they are mostly religious people. She too beat at the back of the leg. Ask me how. You will carry mortal up (as in mortal for grinding pepper), the big one that you put pepper on. You raise it up with your two hands as if you are shouting hallelujah to the most high. You now raised a leg up towards the back. The raised leg is the one she will be beating. I was not an orphan ooo. In fact, I'm from a middle class family. My father paid for our school fees and upkeep, he just thought that, since she was a headmistress that she will be able to train us well (Me & my sister). That is one of her numerous punishment to mention but few.
You know, after we finally left her. And we told our daddy what we went through, the man was moved to tear. He even said we should have told him. Told you? the last time we did, the result was woeful. The woman descended on us when he left.
We did our primary & secondary school with her. We saw hell

Thanks
flexycouture@yahoo.com

There is a thin line between discipline and animosity,
Some people here say the torture this boy received was not a good reason for killing his father but let me say this; You are right to say it was not a good reason or to say it was a good reason but we forget that those are just under the realms of reason. There is what is called 'spontaneous effect ' have u been there when ur emotion took over u and u scattered whatever was close to u at that moment ? did u have to reason it out? I have found myself on very tense situations with my dad, but for the fact that my mom was there to calm nerves only God knows what would have happened that day... I grew up under strict discipline and more so my mom wasn't spared the battery and humiliation from my dad... at a point his quarrels began to provoke me and I began to muster some uncommon courage to confront him... just to say the less... i thank God it did not come to the worst, at least today every body knows his limit and we are better today... God help the poor boy.

I have read most of the comments. Don't get it wrong people, no one is justifying the boy killing his dad. There are other ways to discipline a child. the rate at which our parents beat and torture a child all in the name of discipline is way too much. I have my own share of beating but I remember this one time, my kid brother, about eight years old spoiled my dad's car key-holder, just one rubber thingy which could have been easily replaced, my dad flogged my brother like he had committed one big crime. massacred this boy's body with cane. all for what??? this actions can most times even lead to a parent killing their child all in the name of 'I brought u into this world'. In this case, if the boy wasn't meeting up to his dad's standards, the man would have probably cut him off financially or come up with some other form of disciplinary actions. Its sad though that the man lost his life but the boy didn't just think of killing his dad out of the blue, it was instigated. Lord have mercy!

Seconded

Kay said...

Parent abuse especially the father, just like this incident seems to be a common thing in our society as i have my own wealth of experience. It seems my own father used it to create respect and discipline. The coolest kid get the most beatings and the tough one wrestle his way out.

Wale story is tougher than mine as there is no trace of abuse outside the home except a case where i had this slap and one of eye swell out. I thought i will go blind. He was lenient enough to get me dark glasses to wear when going outside the home especially to school and medication.

But i still ask my self, why all these beatings and abuse just to gain respect or whatever power you want.

I met this same trend while in a boarding school in one of school in the oil rich region (FGC things).

School perfects beating their Juniors unnecessary for flimsy things and all they compete for is Power among themselves.
I was never a perfect in my time but in my set, there was this Head Boy, he had it all. The power and the influence. He achieve them without beating any junior. I have personally never see this guy beat a junior. Even among his colleague, the influence and power spread. I thought how this guy came about this, it must attitude. This attitude has been built over time since he was a junior. I can't explain them here.

Scenario Example: One bright sunny afternoon outside the large dining hall, pupils queue for lunch which was very long. The queue look scattered and they were talking and shouting like young teens normally do. The dining hall perfect tried to organize them but no achievement. With all his beatings, how many pupils can he even beat for offending queue rules. As a senior boy just sitting around the corner of the hall, the moment they heard this guy (head boy) coming back from class, OMG, the scatter queue was straight like a ruler in seconds. Not only straight, they all kept quite. As in mute and tranquility grew the air. The dining hall perfect was shocked, and i was shocked as well because I have never seen this before even though i don't normally go to the dining hall to eat as most senior normally do. For someone who they was coming, hasn't even approach and his influence can be felt from afar. By the time he reach the dining hall which was leading to his house, he just pass them, observing everything was in order without even knowing there was disorderliness when his presence was not felt.

I began to think over this singular act. Someone who don't beat, has so much influence and power while those who beat don't have any but struggle. What this Head boy had, is his attitude and great words.

This same scenario made me to believe that with the right attitude and great words, you can influence your children to do what you them to do. Simply, to be discipline and not by beating them. It will never work but worsen the situation.

I hope we all learn from this boy sad story and become a better father and dad to our kids.
RIP to the father.

berry said...

Wale gates has a point..unfortunately murder wasnt a better solution to d abuse

kemmmy said...

u cant flog the devil out sir/ ma...u pray

The parents are at fault not the boy; the Bible says train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it; It did not say train up a child in the way you want him to go; there is a big difference.

Hmmmm its true bt nt hating 2 d extend of slaying ur own fada after all wale u dnt kill ur fada nw? I remembered hw my mom used 2 beat my elder sister den and put pepper inside her pussy even put pepper in her eyes dem use razor blade 2 cut her face and put pepper d rest of us will be crying but she dnt kill our mother we all went true on torture or d oda its reaLly wrong d way sm parents torture dia children but not 4 d child 2 turn 2 a murder ehisarthur@yahoo.com

@cupidmegan said...

One day while I was in jss3 abt to resume back to boarding house, my dad ws to take me so he went to pick something from his office, I ran quickly to my cousins house which was 3houses away to tell them I was leaving cos it was impromptu my dad came back n met my absence my siblings told him I went to that house, I met my dad half way the road on my way bk because I didn't stay long. My dad started flogging me with koboko from the road to our house, long story short I am 25 yrs old as a young lady I still have does scars and I still remember the incidence vividly. Dats naija parents for you

ozodigboo said...

This has nothing to do with being beaten. We are all africans_we were all beaten as kids.
The boy is cursed for life. YOU SHOULD NEVER RAISE YOUR HAND AGAINST YOUR FATHER.

He killed his father and even have the mind to mutilate his body...no sympathy...don't use child abuse to cover him.Rubbish.

Miss Oluwaseun said...

Beyond all reasonable doubt!

He killed his father and even have the mind to mutilate his body..no sympathy for him and don't use child abuse to cover him..why didn't you killed your father when you're in the same condition?

this is pretty sad and annoying at the same time!!!what kind of temper drives you to such extents?there must be alcohol and other substances involved and this is why i'm an advocate for lack of intoxication

Ur mom was sick!

I AGREE

Talk of child abuse, I had to ask my dad if I had another mom somewhere because mine was very hard on me. She beat me for my wrongs and that of my brothers, will never forget the day our neighbour broke her new stuff and she beat me for not telling her it was broken eventhough I wasnt the only child or person in d house. She said its better for all the canes in d world to finish on my body than for her only daughter to spoil. That was just it. She locks me up in the room so no where to run to. Anything that makes me feel like a girl or look beautiful she makes sure I never had them cos she wants my beauty to be from the inside. It surprises me to look at my skin so spotless now cos I always had cane stripes all over my body as a growing child. In a way it made me to be independent and dont expect much love from anybody. I couldnt wait to leave home and now I enjoy my freedom like anything and would never do such to my baby girl whenever I get married. I love my mom so much and I dont hesitate to buy her things or give her money, we are just becoming friends. I hope one day I can tell her how much she hurt me as a child all in d name of discipline.

@Bonario, read through d post very well. Wale wasn't saying the boy's been abused, rather he said it might be possible he has been undergoing through dis treatment for a while. Don't just conclude a matter without first finding the reason behind it.

bonario, ur head is there.. grt reasoning, gud write up ... www.dchillersconcept.com

=PEARL GOLD,SRY ABT UR EXPERIENCE. HV READ ALOT OF EXPERIENCES HERE BT I WNT TO REPLY URS ALONE. U NEED TO BE SCANNED IN A HOSPITAL OR SEE A GYNECOLOGIST TO BE SURE WAT CAUSED D BLEEDING IF U HAVENT DONE DT. U CN NVA TELL,U R A WOMAN SO ISSUES MAY ARISE FRM DT BLEEDING IN D FUTURE WITH CHILD BEARING. 2NDLY,4 U 2 HERE COMMENTING I BLIV U R OLD ENF TO FIND UR WAY NW OUTTA UR HSE TO A RELATIVE'S PLC OR IF U R WORKING U GET A 1 ROOM OR MOVE TO D HOSTEL IF U R IN SKOL B4 UR MUM KILLS U OR U KILL HER. COS 1 DAY U WILL RUN OUTTA PATIENCE ND LAND HER A CLAP DT WILL PULL OUT 4 TEETH AT D SAME TYM. I WISH U WELL.

I believe you have not been in this kind of situation before. My father beat us for any reason and we were all girls, even when you don't wake up early to join the family devotion you are so dead. He even chased us with cutlass, it got so bad one day that I ran out of the house without wearing panties. I have scars on my body due to several beatings. I have forgiven him but it's wasn't easy. Some parents can be so mean all in the name of discipline.

Lol @ wilheminna new 'h' accent! Imitating my people abi?! ... *frowns face* be very kiaful! Lol!
Wale didn't justify what the boy did... but he understands what could have prompted him to do that. it's no excuse but it's a valid reason! And parents should be careful. I'm 22, i'm serving(nysc) and my dad(and i'm sure several other parents) still think it's okay if he corrects me wiv a slap or two, or even beat me if I do somfn really wrong! I think it's barbaric and totally wrong!

Linda... I commented on the last update about this boy where I said how my dad used to beat me(at some point he resorted to fists)... let me state that i'm a girl.. and i'm just 1.6m tall. So not like i'm a threat or somfn. I don't do drugs or anyfn... I don't steal... sneak out of the house, do runz, or any drastic thing that should make him resort to fists. trust me! And there were times when I thought, if I am strong ehn... i'll just teach him a lesson! so I understand where Tolani is coming from... i'm not applauding him or saying he is right... but I do sympathize wiv him. I pray God wud give his family the fortitude to bear the loss.

I pray your children will not end up hating you.

u brought tears to my eyes! ur baby wld be a great child.
when ppl talk abt hating their fathers, i dnt get it.my boo hates his dad so much i hv to caution him.my daddy hardly ever hit me,guess i can only rememba one incident and to think that he was a man who was jobless and had to receive the stinging words from a nagging wife beats my imagination. on the other hand, i dreaded my mum,cnt recall the numerous flogging positions n how often she pushed me to the wall bt even at that,i love her because she simply felt she was doing the right thing.im sure she wouldnt have done so if she knew better. love u soooo much mum n dad and ild never be irrational when disciplining my kids

pardon me,but i had to laff.on a more serious note, our parents did alot. at a time,i felt like killing my mum coz hers was phsyical n verbal but i prayed so had and i gained the srength i needed.i still love her alot tho

Chic Aris said...

My dear, I went through the same thing with my Mum. While growing up it was He'll 4 me, had to run away from home too. Though we are reconciled and I have forgiven her but it's so difficult to discuss intimate things with her and even be in same house with her for Long. God help us all.

Hmmmm.....nice one wale' it's so unfortunate that dis sad incidence took place...RIP to d dead!

im laffing bt it aint funny. ur case reminds me of once when my dad gv me a terrible slap and i cldnt see for a while coz i wasnt concentrating during bible study. i dnt blame him tho, coz at that tym i was giving em attitude coz i learnt that ser vice to God is volountary the sad part tho was that on that day,i had used a drug that made me drowsy.my dad was better than my mum;she hit me a lot n her words cut thru me and one day i thought of squeezing her neck.thank God i didnt n i still love my parents

Parents shld stp turning dere children to beating bag. . Its very wrng. As mch as wat he did was very wrng, I feel pity for him cuz I passed through it nd I knw ow it feels though I didn't kill my father bt such tot came to my head den.. correct ur child in other ways bt nt beating dem to death

Anoy 3:25pm...
If I had a gun, I would shoot you and damn the consequence..
If you took your time to read well, you would see he stated that his wife has better morals in life than him, meaning he acknowledges he's got fault and made mistakes.
Who the hell are you??

I hate you even without knowing you.
If you knew him and you are so sure of whatever, why not reveal your name! Pathetic and useless humans will hide under anoy to insult people..

Your neighbors know the guy, my question is, do you know him?
Bastard like you...
Complain and die..
Idiot.

dozyfizzle said...

Wale Gates is so on point...I never for once blamed the fella for killing his dad...I mean why would any1 raise his hand at a 21 year old, let alone bite him....his dad was probably as crazy as mine (with whom I rarely communicate cos of how he treated me)....there really should be a law put in place against abusive parenting....that shit's gotta be illegal.

I'm not against spanking, but excessive spanking must be discouraged absolutely! For me, my dad never raised a finger against me and my siblings. My mum was the disciplinarian in the family, and boy, did she discipline us!! From verbal abuses to horse whips to painful purnisments. However, my mum is STILL the one I love like no man's business. Even though dad never touched us, he didn't show love and care towards us and this goes on till today (I'm 38). I've come to the conclusion that he DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO LOVE.

My point is, if spanking is done moderately and if the child is shown that he/she is loved and not spanked out of hatred, things will turn out fine. That a parent doesn't inflict any form of physical pain doesn't mean they love/care for their child. My dad abused us in a much worse form: total neglect. He abandoned us at a tender age (I was 10 and the oldest of 3) without a word. My mum was responsible for our upbringing 100%. When I grew up, thank God I did well, I tried to contact him, paid him a visit, and a stranger would have received me better! I had to forget about him cos he wanted to continue the abuse. When he realized I wasn't going to give in to his continued emotional torture, he behaved himself. I called him 2weeks ago (after almost a year of speaking) and was shocked at the joy in his voice. He ended our conversation with "thank you for calling"!!! This was the same man who refused to call my younger sister to express sympathy when she had an accident with her husband, 3 kids and our other sister!

Despite the fact that my mum beat us excessively, the love she showed us overshadowed the pain we suffered, though I resent those beatings and will never do such to my own kids. So, inflicting physical pain is not always equal to abuse; although it should be controlled

So mr johnbull in a desperate attempt to redeem his image hides his identity to thank himself for d silly comment him and his primitive friends made earlier..john go ahead and baptise your kids with beating..of course u are a bull and a bully..lol u know I am so I'll just fool u too with an hidden identity..ode

dozyfizzle said...

Wale Gates is so on point...I never for once blamed the fella for killing his dad...I mean why would any1 raise his hand at a 21 year old, let alone bite him....his dad was probably as crazy as mine (with whom I rarely communicate cos of how he treated me)....there really should be a law put in place against abusive parenting....that shit's gotta be illegal.

I totally disagree with some of ur points bro, de fact dat he uses drug doesn't necessarily mean it pushed him to the act, there might have been other reasons that opened the door dat let the devil creep in.

.......... Atutu said so

You don't know the part of the bible that says parents should not provoke their children abi?..there are better ways of handling thing. Violence is not the only way..

Ur thinking is shallow Steve.

............. Atutu said so

Goodluck to u if u spare d rod 4 ur child. The key is applying reasonable force. Beat to correct and not to maim. The instrument of chastisement and how u go abt it is very vital. U can use a cane and not a stick. Hitting with any other object and even bare hands is a no no and u need to control ur emotions whilst at it 4 kids can drive u crazy. I am a father of 3 little kids living in Canada and I know everyone sits up if they know papa will bring his cane. And hahaha who told u guys dat whites don't beat their kids? A big white lie.

beeteewhy said...

U know everybody yet no one knows u..u know wale in the uk and u also know tolani in Nigeria and all d tins he has done..are u a reporter or you are just jobless? I am sure u know me too..and sadly u don't have anything positive to say about people u know..so u are a sadist that shouldn't be taken seriously..please kill your dad so we can know you..

Ada said...

I agree with Bonario a hundred percent. There was an evil intent. How would you stab your dad and get a cutlass and hack him up? Dats d height of it.

All this comment brought tears to my eyes. Human beings we need to change our minds set

Misunderstood said...

Verry well said my Mr Wale, however d young mans actions can not be justified.I totaly get your angle of the story, i have been there. The one thing i hate most is the fact that i fear my dad more than i respect him. Caning works, but sometimes, a soft answer could just do the magic. You can imagine how Jesus was able to calm the raging sea with only 3 lettered words.

yao ming said...

Awesome reply.

Caution should b taken in terms of discipline

Well said wale gates

yep @hilary obiorah... patoswife@gmail.com

well said man

Wen I saw d face of dis boy I felt so much pity 4 him.till date my elder brother is partially deaf as a result of d slap my dad gave him.my mum puts pepper in my private part I ran away 4rm hme a lot I wished 4 her death.dis issue did not start dat day if d father knew d kind of character his son had den raising his hand 2 hit him was a bad idea.

well done Wale....the truth id bitter, All thing over flogging is not necessary .

andbooty said...

Wale? I am ashamed of you. If that guy was not yoruba will you make that defence?

Tribalsim to the core.

andbooty said...

Wale? I am ashamed of you. If that guy was not yoruba will you make that defence?

Tribalsim to the core.

How many times on the pages of dailies do we read "child dies after heavy beating by father"? Now one of those children stood up to his father and folks are calling for his head.

Joan said...

Tribalsim to the core.

Dlapikin said...

Bonario and all those sharing the opposite view. You don't fix a 19 yeas old young man by beating him.
Think about yourself at 19. Remember that if this kid strayed something must have led him there especially if he grew up in a "strict" home.
And after reading all of the comments I think it is about time as a society we acknowledge that some parents are just abusive. Yes the guy killed his dad, Yes it is wrong but there is clearly a history of violence there that you cannot deny.

Well said

S*X AND LOVE TIPS said...

Yeah some Parents Can be wild. I was fortunate to have very loving parents but I knew quiet a number of Parents in the neighborhood who were bullies. We had witnessed one Case where my friend pulled out his father's sword and swore he was going to drill his father's Big beIly. It took the strength of 5 men to hold him...he cried for hours afterwards for not giving the chance to end his father's life. All the Same, no matter what Parents do, our place is to control anger and not go this far. I also feel sympathy for him, but he has a price to pay now.

sorry Wale but this case is quiet different to your story. This murderer was drug induced. It's as simple as that. There is no excuse for KILLING your parents becos they correct your behaviour with beating. That is just nonsense! Yes things have changed now and we know better, however u cannot come here to condone children murdering their parents. Be careful what u condone, you will also have children who u will need to correct. Maybe ask them politely to not leave the house at 2300hrs and they give u a good slap for having the audacity to stop them going out. your father installed good values in you. That is why U are were u are today. Did your father sexually molest you?. Some do, those ones deserve death. So shut your trap, wait till u have your own then come and preach on how to bring up a heady teenager.

How about my dad a deacon. In church,beats u wt fan belt,koboko,etc,makes u sleep outside on d varandah.starveus of f food for a. Whole week for a minor tin u did, even threathen to pour me kerosine and burn me to ashes and never paid my university fees.now am happily married wit a daughterall I knw is my mum cos she saw me thru d uni,I hatedf my dad,but av 4given him.till date I dnt. Get close 2 him not my fault but d distance has alway bin dere.#sm# he's regreting now tho.

LOL yoruba and their "H" Factor....I has little sumpathy.buahahahaa.

Hayam coming.

Har you driving?

Na wa o...

Back to the story, the boy must have been abused no doubt, but it is better to just run away cos dem no dey bring life back

I HATE TO HEAR ALL OF YOU SAYING ALL THESE WORDS,MOST OF YOU ARE TALKING AbOUT 20-30 YEARS BACK..MAJORITY OF YOU ARE ABROAD,BEATING AND WHAT WE CALL ABUSE IS NORMAL FOR KIDS IN NIGERIA,I GREW UP LIKE THAT TOO,MY DAD IS ALWAYS BEATING ME BUT IT NEVER CHANGE WHO I AM AND WHAT I BECOME THEREAFTER..I DONT SEE ANYTHING IN WHAT HIS DAD DID FOR HIM..30% OF BLACK KIDS IN AMERICA DO NOT KNOW THEIR DAD,BUT THEY ARE ALWAYS EAGER TO MEET THEM SOMEDAY>>NO MATTER WHAT HIS DAD MIGHT HAVE DONE TO HIM,I DONT THINK ITS WORTH KILLING HIM..HE IS GOING TO FACE THE JUDGEMENT HERE ON EARTH AND IN HEAVEN..
AYO
daramola86@gmail.com

wale well done for demonising your wicked evil idiot father. the idiot that paid your school fees and fed u till u were grown up enough to come here and wish you had stuck a knife in him. Well it's not to late u can go and finish the bloody devil off. All of you sympathising with this murdering druggie should go and research which sort of drugs he was high on, that gave him strength to finish off his evil father. So that you all can go and get high and kill your own parents. Fucked up evil generation. Maybe your parents killed their parents so the cycle must continue . Tufiakwa!!

At anon 2:30pm you can now see why your father should have flogged you well.if he didn't spare the rod you won't be looking for puna up and down.weyrey omo, ejo bo si ta!

You are. Very right. Poverty makes a parent. Do things. Out
Of control,criticize and. Beat up a. Child Life out of frustration

@steveosky u beta shut up and. Stop chatting rubbish. Here, u should be thankful for the kind of parents u had...

Wale, you mite be right in a way but I think both the dad and son have there faults. In all, no matter what, the boy/ man/ child ought to run to safety in a situation like his. He may have reacted out of accumulated anger, but like Bonario said, slicing his "father's throat" with a small knife and then a cutlass??? Maka y? Its beta imagined than experienced.
What was the experession on his face like when caring out that act??

Not suporting anybody, but I have a younger brother too and i know growing up, there used to be rancour btw him and my dad. Male children sometimes and in most cases r stubborn, veeerrrry stubborn resulting to their parents beating them. If you know your parents dont like something, just stay away from it. Shikena.

Its even more disheartening to think / know that a church Minister or Pastor's son is involved in some illicit acts.

Chidinma Igwe, ur illiteracy no be here, u re so dumb.

I have been reading various comments about this case. Lemme state that there is no justification whatsoever for murder.
Humans have various tolerance level even in the same household. I doubt anybody got more beatings than I and my siblings. Not to mention verbal abuse and pure confession of hatred. We were called beasts, bastards all sorts of thinkable and unthinkable names. With the beatings my sister and I will be so scaref to mingle, so I can say maybe it kept us in check as ladies till we got married. But my brother didnt handle it well, it ended up affecting him psychologically. He had the lowest . Self esteem bcos he got the worst beating and embarrasment if he came 2nd or 3rd in class. This led to him being afmitted in psychiatric hosp. Parents should learn to study their children as each child is unique. It took my husband begging before I could forgive my dad, now we are best of friends. Unfortunately that cant be said by my brother. They dont relate on any level and now that my dad is older he is afraid of my brother.
Nigerian parents please draw the line between discipline and punishment and dont discipline your child in anger. Know each child weak and strong point. My son is my best friend, we are so close he calls me by name and hardly mummy bcos thats what I taught him from early on. But I still insist there is no justification to take a life

Enough of the stories about your parents. If you have issues with your parents abusing deal with it and find closure but not on Linda's blog.
Agreed the boy snapped. Why did he not snap back after stabbing his father? Rather, he got a cutlass to cut him into smaller bits and sat back calmly to watch TV.
I believe there is something psychologically wrong with the boy... Bipolar disorder, schizophrenic etc. or the after effects of drug abuse.

Nothing justifies his butchering is own dad.

Anon 3:28pm, u did d right thing by running abeg. What kind of parenting is that? Kai, some parents sha.

Hmmmmmmm...lord pls help me to control my anger always, amen

DOBY DOBY said...

Seriously my family is nt left out. Infact my brothers cnt stay wiv my dad upto a wk.. my dad has evn arrested my eldest brother.. evrybody in my compound knws him.. deir was a day he fought wiv my eldest bro nd he almost hit him wiv iron.. I wonder wat wuld av apnd.. he had to leave d country. . Bt in some cases its d fault of the kids.. we shld learn how to tolerate nd hope dat we wuld leave dem soonest.. its 1 tin to b angry its anoda tin to learn hw to control your anger

PRETTY GIRL said...

@Anon 4:01pm, is your mum still alive? If yes, please take her to see a shrink Asap, she's phucking psycho.. Smh

@bona, pls do some research on addicts abeg. They don't want to kill mostt of the time. When some has been abused, anger can make one do some crazy things. I hv been there buy thank God for sanity. Verbal, physical and emotional abuse has to stop

Nice piece g, every1 bin on dat cliché shit. My dad did d same'
At d end of d day, he killed his father which none of y'all did and he would be not just physical but emotional bondage 4eva.

If the beating was cos ur Dad believed u stole, then I have to agree with him. Nigeria would be a better place today if our leaders had fathers like yours.

Sad to see so many similar experiences, your courage inspires.
I had serious beating experiences too.. I would never do that to any child of my. It makes me wonder did they really experience beatings like that in their time because if they did i don't think they would want their enemies to go through the same. Spare the rod is a common quote

Olutobi Sleem dada said...

Hmmmmmmm

Lwkmd...the fool is daft

Anuofia !!

Bible said train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he'll not depart from it. If the man was as religious as aclaimed, he would also remember the passage that says parents do not provoke ur children to anger. Now who knows if he is in hell or heaven.

9 Reasons Why Kids Are Total Dicks (And Why We Sh…: http://youtu.be/xCV9VMvty8g

I know this guy personally and I,can say his father did not deserve it abuse or not. And his father did not abuse him he looked him not only stab but to use cutlass that is cold blooded

Hahahaha lol

MUMU GUY with his DRY JOKE..can't hire him for a penny, seen him at some wedding in London. Same ol' joke..one on them MORON that will slap thier father..shit you smelly GUB...MORON!

He is absolutely right!! the bible even clearly says "fathers do not provoke your children to anger" which was what that happened in that situation. it is well!

We got our stories....

We got our stories...

We got our stories....

We got our stories...

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 234   Newer› Newest»