Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/21/2013 - 07/28/2013

Saturday 27 July 2013

Who wants the skinny mirror?

This mirror, that makes people look slimmer than they actually are, is supposed to be an alternative to cosmetic surgery...who wants one?

According to UK Daily Mail, entrepreneur Belinda Jasmine invented the mirror that makes people look almost a stone slimmer than they actually are, an invention that could be a girl's new best friend. 

The Skinny Mirror uses curved glass to trick users into appearing up to 10lbs lighter, delivering a welcome boost of self confidence.

Chidi Lloyd slapped, cuffed,blindfolded & taken to unknown location, lawyer claims

Emenike Ebete, counsel to Rivers State Lawmaker, Chidi Lloyd, says he fears for his client’s life based on claims that the police have hidden him in an unknown location.

Ebete told Nigerian Telegraph that he wants the public to be watchful so that what happened in the case of the late Moshood Kashimawo Abiola did not repeat itself.
“In Abuja, they told us they were transporting him to Port Harcourt to charge him for conspiracy and didn’t say more than that. When we got to Port Harcourt, there were more than five hundred policemen waiting to escort him to the command office. From there, he was moved to the Police officers’ mess and handcuffed like a common criminal. Now I do not know where he is,” Ebete said.

Super Eagles player Elderson Echiejile releases new photos

25 year old Nigerian international defender Elderson Echiejile, who plays for S.C Braga of Portugal, has released some cool new photos of himself. #Swagathingz...:-). See more photos after the cut...

Wizkid's girlfriend Tania Omotayo opens luxury retail store in Lekki

When you date a celebrity, you kinda become news yaself, right? Wizkid's girlfriend Tania Omotayo has taken over the affairs of popular luxury clothing and accessories store, Designers’ Club, which has been in existence for over 15 years. Don't know if she bought it over but the management has changed hands and she's head person in charge now. Congrats to her...

Get a call from Dan Foster in the Lipton Wake-Up call promo

Yes people, now you can connect, interact and get calls from Dan Foster in the Lipton Wakeup call campaign. Dan Foster is ready to interact with as many fans as possible through the Lipton Wakeup Call platform. All you need to do is to opt into the program by texting  "Wake up, your name, age, gender, address and name of favorite celeb" to 20822.

You can chose from a list of Lipton ambassadors Toke Makinwa, Osas Ighodaro, Darey Art Alade or Dan Foster. For more information Please visit www.Facebook.com/LiptonNigeria

Dotun CoolFM & Taiwo Oyebanjo wed today

The traditional wedding of Oladotun Ojuolape Kayode aka Dotun Coolfm and Taiwo Oyebanjo, the younger sister of D'banj took place today at the bride's hometown in Sagamu, Ogun State. Congrats to them. More photos after the cut...

2face & Annie Idibia's 4 year old daughter makes Nollywood debut

4 year old Isabella Idibia has followed her mother's footsteps. She made her acting debut this week in the movie 'Unconditional' produced by Uche Jombo. Right pic: Isabella on set this past Wednesday. Will bring you some location photos later...

Nigerian Blessing Okagbare breaks African Women's 100m record

Nigerian sprinter Blessing Okagbare today smashed the African 100m Women's record! She came from the back and stormed through to win in 10.86s, setting a new African record at the London Olympic Anniversary Games. Up Nigeria! Kudos to Blessing...so far Africa's fastest woman!

Justin Bieber spits over his hotel balcony onto a crowd of fans

And the child thinks it's funny. Justin Bieber was photographed on Thursday July 25th spitting over his hotel balcony in Toronto onto a crowd of fans that came to catch a glimpse of him.

Face of Peace Africa Opens offices in African countries and UK

After initial announcement to stage the second edition of Face of Peace Africa (FOPA) beauty pageant, the organizers of the beauty pageant have opened offices across Africa and UK.

In a move that could be tagged as show of strength, the company opens offices in Abuja, Gambia, Cameroun, Ghana, South Africa, United State of America and United Kingdom, with a state coordinator to see to the co-ordination of things in this countries.

Nigerian transplant patient Roseline Akhalu wins right to stay in the UK

Roseline Akhalu, the Nigerian woman who was diagnosed with kidney failure a few months after arriving in the UK in 2004, had a successful transplant, then claimed she would die within weeks if she was sent back to Nigeria, has won the right to remain in the UK following a successful appeal.

UK Border Agency initially rejected Roseline's appeal to remain in the UK after her transplant in 2009, saying 'the care of a foreign individual was the responsibility of their state of nationality'. Roseline's lawyers argued she would die within weeks if she was returned to Nigeria as she would never be able to afford the drugs that keep her alive.

The 49-year-old widow needs regular hospital checks and will have to take immuno-suppressant drugs for the rest of her life. Now she's free to stay in the UK and get free medical treatment.

Jocelyn Dumas' sexy outfit to the launch of her new TV show

Ghanaian TV personality Jocelyn Dumas pictured above at the launch of her new TV show 'At Home With Joselyn Dumas' yesterday evening.

Nigerians in Kenya Protest Police Harrasment and Intimidation

Below is a letter written by Nigerians living in Kenya highlighting the harassment they face in the hands of police.
The harassment has taken a xenophobic dimension,  Just 2 days ago a Nigerian with Valid passport and entry Visa to Kenya was stopped by plain clothes policemen, when they requested for his passport, he promptly presented it to them. The passport was immediately seized and he was asked to to leave Kenya, as Nigerians only come to Kenya to take their woman, he resisted and insisted that he committed no offense, he was immediately attacked and beaten to a pulp and he was bleeding profusely.

47 year old grandma wants cosmetic surgery to make her look older

This woman is the mother of former Channel O VJ Nonhle Thema's baby daddy, Arthur Bolton. Grandmother Anne Bolton wants to have cosmetics surgery to make her look older because at 47 years old, she hasn't seen any sign of aging; no wrinkles, no greying hair, no sagging etc.

UK Daily Mail  reports:
The mother-of-four says she is constantly being mistaken for a woman half her age, and says looking like a 20-year-old is actually ruining her life - and now she's thinking about having cosmetic surgery to make herself look older. Anne says that her youthful looks have ruined a marriage and two long-term relationships, as younger men constantly chat her up
You think she looks way younger than her age? Continue to read her story...

Julius Aghahowa's 11 year old daughter makes Nollywood debut

Former Super Eagles player Julius Aghahowa's 11 year old daughter, Isabelle Aghahowa has made her acting debut in Nollywood, playing the role of identical twins separated at birth and given to two different mothers in Uche Jombo's new movie 'Unconditional'. Isabelle plays the dual role of Dakore's daughter and Uche Jombo's daughter in the movie. More pics when you continue..

Photos from Ice Prince welcome party

After winning the BET awards, Ice Prince toured the U.S and Canada before returning to Nigeria on Wednesday July 24th. The Choc City Crew, friends and press were at the Muritala Muhammed International Airport to give him a surprise welcome. Later that day, Ice Prince was surprised for a second time with a welcome party by M.I at his new Lekki residence. The rap superstar was received by Chocolate city acts Victoria Kimani and DJ Caise, his music colleagues, Seyi Shay, Ezi Emela, Sam Walsh, Choc City management and a couple of friends. Check on the photos after the cut..

New Music: D-Soul - Omalicha

D-Soul returns with his second single "Omalicha" which is a follow up to his first single "killed" ft Eldee. D-Soul is known in the UK via Nubaa award nomination. The video is set to drop in a few weeks. Produced by the awards winning rave of the moment producer, Fliptyce!

Friday 26 July 2013

Photo of the day

Passengers yesterday photographed rushing into Arik Air plane that just landed at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport in Abuja. The passengers couldn't even wait for arriving passengers to disembark before jumping on the plane. This was due to shortage of flights to many parts of the country after Arik canceled several flights yesterday.

"Why I am still single" Jude Okoye opens up in new interview

Jude 'Engees' Okoye is the elder brother, manager and director of Peter and Paul Okoye, popularly known as P-Square. Excerpts from his interview with Bayo Adetu of PM News
Peter and Paul already have kids; and we all know their heartthrobs. Can you tell us the one in your life?
Why are you people always forcing me to come to the public? I don’t want to be a celebrity and I am not one of them. I don’t sing, dance or act. I love where I am now (hiding myself) and if I love to do that, how do you expect me to introduce the lady I am dating? Back to your question, I have somebody, yes but I won’t tell you her name.

Jay Z surprises Beyonce with a hug and a kiss at her show in Philly

Last night on the Philadelphia stop of the Mrs. Carter Show Jay Z popped out on stage and surprised his wife Beyonce with a hug and a kiss. So cute. See the video after the cut...

NBA's Moe Ager works with Saeon and Vector Tha Viper

Saeon after being quiet for 6 months has come back hard. First she was appointed as an advocate to NAFDAC & now she works with NBA player, Maurice Ager of Dallas Mavericks. Maurice "Moe" Ager is also an artist & producer for Eminem/Royce Da 5'9, E40 etc. Check out new music from Moe Ager, Saeon and Vector below titled 'It's On Tonight'...

Yeni Anikulapo Kuti's daughter Rolari all grown up, turns 25 today

Rolari pictured above with her mother Yeni Anikulapo Kuti, 52, and her dad, diplomat Femi Segun. She turned 25 today. See a more recent photo of Rolari Segun after the cut...

Kevin Lucciano-Gabriel and wife share their traditional wedding pics

Questionmark boss Kevin Lucciano-Gabriel married his girlfriend, Mariah Mogoli, traditionally a few months ago in Edo State. They recently shared their wedding photos on their Facebook pages. Their white wedding will hold in the UK next month. More photos when you continue...

Glo splashes N500m on subscribers in 10th anniversary promo

Globacom on Wednesday, July 24, in Lagos launched a new N500 million consumer promo that will reward its loyal prepaid and postpaid subscribers for their support over the years.

The new promo called the Glo “Recharge to Stardom”, is offering loyal subscribers on the Glo network the opportunity to celebrate with Glo by winning various prizes ranging from N10,000 up to the grand prize of N25 million in the next 100 days.

SinzuSMG flaunts two brand new luxury rides on instagram

SinzuSMG formerly known as Saucekid showed off these two rides on his instagram page. They his? These artists are balling! Congrats to him...

Actress Yvonne Nelson says she's found love again

It may be true...and it may not be. Yvonne likes to be on the blogs...and we indulge her! Hehe! If it's true and it's another naija celeb...will find out! :-)

DJ Khaled proposes to Nicki Minaj with a $500k diamond ring

Publicity stunt or is he for real? 37 year old record producer, rapper, DJ and record label executive, Khaled bin Abdul Khaled, better known by his stage name DJ Khaled, asked Nicki Minaj to marry him via a video posted online and he explained why he wants Nicki as his wife...
"I want to be honest with you. I love you. I like you. I want you to be mine. The only reason I'm not telling you this face to face is because I know that you're busy. You need a man like me in your life that’s gonna take care of you and respect you. You gotta take your time and think about it, I understand... but I know I have to be here today to let you know how serious I am and about how serious this is to me. I want to let your fans know, my fans know, my family, your family, that I wanna marry you. I been working hard to get this ring... Nicki Minaj... will you marry me?'
DJ Khaled popped the question with a $500,000 diamond ring and with help from MTV. Nicki hasn't responded yet. The two recently worked together on Busta Rhymes and Nicki's collaboration 'Twerk It'. See his proposal video after the cut...he sounds pretty serious...

Cadbury Bournvita launches new 500-gram packs

Cadbury Nigeria’s flagship brand – Cadbury Bournvita – has upsized its offering by introducing new 500-gram jars and refill packs, providing added vitality to consumers and offering even greater value for money.

The new Cadbury Bournvita 500-gram food-drinks jars and refill packs replace earlier 450g units, with the aim of serving valued consumers in a more economical way and with a more convenient option, while continuing to foster customer satisfaction with added vitality. The new unit-size was unveiled to partners earlier this month at Cadbury Nigeria’s Ikeja site in Lagos.

Convicted Nigerian rapist to be deported from the UK

Convicted rapist, Ekene Anoliefo, 38, who is a son of a Nigerian politician, has lost his appeal to stay in the UK and will be deported to Nigeria after serving time for rape.

Ekene was jailed for nine years for the rape of a 19 year old woman in Aberdeen, who he pretended to help before holding her captive in his car, driving her to his flat and then raping her there.

Ekene had been fighting to stay in the UK since he was ordered for deportation in December 2012, claiming that deportation would breach his human rights. His lawyers argued that he had lawfully lived in the UK for four years as a student and had hoped to remain in the country after serving time but the UK government don't want to hear none of that. They said he's 'a dangerous sexual predator' and want him out of the UK.