Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 08/01/2010 - 08/08/2010

Friday 6 August 2010

Another naija artist dies in auto crash...

Olaitan Adebukola Ola aka Basics

On Friday, 23rd of July, another tragedy befell the Nigerian music industry as another young and fast rising artist, Olaitan Adebukola Ola popularly known as Basics died due to injuries he sustained in a ghastly car crash along Ikire expressway in Osun State. Basic was traveling with three friends and was scheduled to perform at a burial ceremony in Oshogbo, Osun State when the accident occurred.
He's since been buried.
He was 31 years old.

Basic used to drive past my street (in Surulere) in an old bus selling his CDs himself. I remember thinking to myself, he's very determined, he will make it one day. Yeah well, I guess after all said and done, it all ends here!
May his soul rest in peace...amen.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pras does not support Wyclef's presidential bid...

Haitian-born singer Wyclef Jean greets supporters from the top of a vehicle after submitting the paperwork to run for president of Haiti in Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Wyclef's former Fugees band mate, Pras, Tweeted his support for Wyclef's opposition for President of Haiti...

Guess they are no longer friends...
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Storm goes global

Since 2005 Storm Records has lietrally worked with 100's of artists all over Nigeria, Africa and the world, also some of these artists have moved on to bigger and greater things, in the meantime Storm is proud to release a 4 compilation set only available online where you can access some of those major hits we have delivered and you can enjoy some of your favorite artists and re-connect with their music.

We hope you enjoy them as much as we enjoyed making them, next up we will announce the availability of our current catalogue on all platforms and look out for that too.
Thanks for the support, support Nigerian music, support Nigerian artists wherever they may be and no matter their genre and most importantly enjoy the music.
Storm still in the building – 2010!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Idris Elba is on the cover of the August 2010 issue of Ebony magazine.

Delish!!!

The Afghan teenager mutilated by Taliban...

The Afghan teenager who had her nose and ears sliced off when she ran away from her husband's family is preparing for reconstructive surgery in the U.S.
Aisha, 19, was brutally disfigured by her own husband as an example of the savage 'justice' of the Taliban in Afghanistan.

She was attacked after she attempted to flee her husband's family following years of abuse.

Read more >>

"I never dated Akon" - Actress Rukky Sanda

"I'm not dating Akon, he's just my friend. He's just someone I've known for six years. We used to hang out together and took a couple of pictures together. He's not my boyfriend. He's married and has a couple of wives. I can't marry that kind of person, he has children everywhere. I can't even date that kind of person."
Rukky Sanda tells Tade Asifat of Encomium mag when asked if she's dating Akon.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ramsey Noah the model...

Ramsey Noah seen here modeling for one of Africa's best designers, Mudi.

Nice huh? :-)
Pix thanks to Abiola Aloba

Children stabbed to death by their mother...

Found dead: Theresa Riggi's children Luca, Austin and Cecilia

Read story here
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Queen Latifah and girlfriend Janette Jenkins sailing the Mediterranean sea..

More pictures of the couple when you continue >>
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nigezie pulls out of HiTV

On Thursday, July 1, 2010, one of HiTV's music and lifestyle content providers, Virtual Media Networks, owned by broadcaster and voice-over expert, Femi Aderibigbe (Kwame), severed ties with them.

Femi Aderibigbe explains why Nigezie pulled out of HiTV "The way it was going, I discovered that the foundation was not strong and I simply decided to call it quits and move on. But I wish them good luck"

HiTV has since launched a new music and lifestyle channel called 1Music, perhaps to replace Nigezie.

Source: Encomium mag

Swizz and Alicia Key's honeymoon pics

More pictures when you continue >>

Etienne T. Boy dies...

You all remember Etienne T. Boy? The guy who sang the popular 90's song, Chop I Chop? Well, he's dead. He died on July 28th, 2010 at a recording studio at Ojuelegba, Lagos. I can't find his pic anywhere on the net...

May his soul rest in peace...amen.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pastor Chris Okotie's sister's wedding pix...

More pictures at the source >>

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kelly Handsome's Pimp My Room TV show...

Watch out for the KELLY HANSOME SHOW, Pimp My Room, coming to you soon..( AiT, Primetime Africa, Nigizee, BenTv london, NTA and HiTv)

Continue >>

Beauty of the day - Lola Maja

Stunning!!!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is Third Mainland bridge collapsing?

Dilapidated Adekunle end of The Bridge, Lagos. Photo: Abiodun Omotoso

"I passed through the third mainland bridge yesterday when I was coming back home. And that was when someone was trying to find out from me - is it true that third mainland bridge is collapsing? Er at that time I was even driving through the third mainland bridge, so it is so crazy, so ridiculous that Nigerians are so unpatriotic, what they do is to create restiveness which don’t appear. And in the first instance, if anybody has information which is important like that there are criminals operating somewhere. We have several channels, security channels through which they can alert the police to get at those hoodlums. It is not to circulate such information to the whole world, if it actually happened, that is very very wrong…it never happened, it was a lie…the intention was just to create restiveness and fear. I don’t know what that person seeks to achieve. I think err it is most unfortunate." Lagos State Commissioner of Police Mr Marvel Akoyibo, speaking with Sahara reporters 4Th of Aug 2010

A text was recently sent out (by unknown person/people) asking motorists not to go through the bridge cos it's opened up.

God protect us all...

Thursday 5 August 2010

Spotted: Ramsey Noah and Faze at an event in SA!

Looking nice fellas!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Drake only speaks with me once a week" Lil Wayne

In a recent interview Lil Wayne admits,

"I call Drake at least once a week, but I actually call three or four times a week, but he only picks up for me once a week," the MC said with a laugh ... "Put in this position, I just feel like every time I pick up the phone to dial a number, I feel like I'm a bother, because I'm in jail. I don't have nothing else to do but talk to you, and that might not be what you want to do at the time. I don't know if that's just a conscious thing, but ... I always feel like I'm bothering. I call Mack Maine every single day, and I know I get on his nerves, but he answers every single time."

Awwww...poor weezy!
If you care for this, then read the rest of the interview  here >>

AMEN 2010

AMEN is an annual awards organized by Encomium Magazines and Awards Company. And since 1997, this most prestigious Awards has grown to become Nigeria’s Grammy Awards. Recipients so far include such great acts as 2Face, Lagbaja, Paul Play, D’Banj, P-Square, KWAM 1, Infinity, among other distinguished artistes.

Chase: The Girls get ready to Inspire!

Nigeria's female pop group known as “CHASE”  consisting of 3 young, vibrant and talented ladies (Chat-Ollah-January) in their early twenties. created in January 2009 by music business executive Alex Yang. The group has spent the last 18 months writing, bonding and recording material for their debut album now titled "Inspired", due out later this year. The album is being created to push female values backed by other inspirational messages with well crafted songs along with heavy sound production that can jump a party + it's going to be an inspirational experience.

Naomi Campbell admits receiving 'Blood Diamonds'

"I was sleeping and heard a knock at the door that woke me up. Two men were there and they gave me a pouch and said 'A gift for you'. I went back to bed. I looked into the pouch the next morning, I saw a few stones, they were very small, dirty looking stones. I'm used to seeing diamonds in a box. If someone had not said they were diamonds, I would not have known they were diamonds" Naomi Campbell told the UN Special Court for Sierra Leone in The Hague this morning.

Linking Charles Taylor to illegal "blood diamonds" is key to the prosecution's case but Naomi said she had no proof that the stones she received that night were diamonds or came from Mr Taylor, as a fellow guest (Mia Farrow) suggested.

First, how can you open your door to men 'you don't know? And second, how can you collect a 'gift' without asking who it's from?
SMH!
I hear she's been dismissed as a witness. Good for her!

Read more
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Farafina Book Review @ Terra Kulture

The monthly Farafina book review will be happening again on Saturday, the 7th of August, 2010 at TerraKulture, Tiamiyu Savage, VI starting promptly at 3p.m. 

T.W.O returns with a bang!

“We are too legit to quit” Wunmi Obe tells news men with a bold, assuring look early this week at an exclusive event to
announce the release of their fifth album.

And like she guarantees, the album “T.W.O Legit” stands as evidence. Produced by Sean Keyz, ID Cabasa, Puffy T, Abel Davey, Rymzo, Sean Keyz and Foster Zeeno, the LP takes us on a journey of dance tracks, thanksgiving songs and family friendly songs.

Read more >>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

DMX had four kids behind wife's back

“He had four other children out of our marriage and I didn’t know. I only found out about one, and it was the one in Maryland that was public. It was all over the news and I still was gonna try to make it work [but] after we did the show Soul of a Man, I guess the women felt some kind of way because he was doing a lot of paying child support behind my back and giving them money without me knowing anything. So once he came out in interviews saying this is my only daughter and this is my family I guess they started feeling some kind of way and they started sending lawyers and all these child support suits to my house and that wasn’t acceptable. I just felt like with the drugs, that in itself is mentally draining. I felt like since we’ve been together for so long I didn’t want to give up on him.” Tashera Simmons tells Vibe magaazine.

She married DMX in 1999 and they have four children together. Tashera has since announced she was separating from him, just 2 weeks after he was released from jail.

Nigeria’s Shuga Band asks: Who needs a limb?

Nigeria’s foremost band, Shuga Band is looking for something unusual. The band which had played for high and mighty in Nigeria and beyond is in search of people without limb or limb challenge through its foundation, Shuga Limb Foundation (SLF).

Read more >>

Nadia Buari and Majid Michael storm Nigeria for movie premiere

Ghanaian actress, Nadia Buhari will this weekend storm Nigeria for the premiere of Bursting Out and Holding Hope. Nadia, the face of Devon whose last appearance in Nigeria was before the $2000 slam on foreign actors and actresses is expected in the country to grace the premiere and also be one of the actresses to be on the red carpet.

Premiere of 'Holding Hope' and 'Bursting Out' is this Sunday

Holding Hope &Bursting Out Premiere will take place this Sunday, August 8, at the SilverBird Cinemas.
4.30pm is Red Carpet, 7pm film screening starts.

Its strictly by IV or tickets(N10,000)

Pictures from T.W.O press brief...

with Lagbaja, Segun Obe and Don T

More pictures
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote of the day

"My dad is very upset. I heard that he's mad at me but I haven't spoken to him yet. I feel pretty confident that I can work things out with him. I think he wants to support me in everything I do, and though he sees this now as a negative, I believe in time he will view it as a positive." Montana Fishburne tells TMZ, on her porn career .

In time your father will view pornography as a positive? Yeah, that's every dad's dream. Silly girl!
If you want to see stills from Montana's porn film debut, then go here

Icecapade 31 Jul 2010 - Guests dared to be bold, all glammed up in gold.

N4LIFE’s ICECAPADE 2010 took place last Saturday 31 July 2010 at the opulent Bloomsbury Ballroom London. Guests on the evening paid homage to the dual theme ‘Gold, Ice & White’ & ‘Dare To Be Bold’, turning up in amazing & spectacular outfits, hairdo’s, jewellery, shoes, body-art etc, with some very daring & creative pieces.  

More pictures >>

Naeto C: The Lost Verses Takes Flight!

Storm Records and Cerious Music present the first two  singles off the Naeto C Lost Verses Mixtape, Hosted by International DJ Neptune.

Pix of Omotola and Genevieve promoting their movie, 'Ije'

More pictures when you continue>>

China Plans Huge Buses That Can DRIVE OVER Cars

A company in China is developing a "3D Express Coach" also known as a "three-dimensional fast bus", which will allow cars less than 2 meters high to travel underneath the upper level of the vehicle, which will be carrying passengers.

Read more
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday 1 August 2010

Spotted: Genny and Omotola at the Lagos premier of IJE!

Genevieve Nnaji
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde
The premier held on Friday 30th July at the Silverbird Cinema, Lagos.
Looking lovely ladies...

Pix thanks to Niyi Tabiti

Swizz Beatz and Alicia Key's wedding pics

She's now Mrs Swizz Beatz. They got married yesterday July 31, 2010 on an island in the Mediterranean Sea.

More pictures when ...continue >>