Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 09/05/2010 - 09/12/2010

Saturday 11 September 2010

Keeping your ex-husbands last name after divorce...

Tameka (Usher's ex-wife) was Tameka Foster before she married Usher and changed her name to Tameka Raymond. After their divorce, she kept the name, Raymond.

Coming to Naija - Fathia Balogun is divorced from her movie star husband Saidi Balogun. She kept the name, Balogun.

Saidi recently made this statement to the press - "As for my name that she is still answering (Fathia Balogun), the deed will be done soon. The Nigerian law says that after three or four years, you can do something about it. If somebody wants to keep my name, what of the new person coming in? This has nothing to do with grudges. How many wives do you want to keep my name? How many wives does the Nigerian law permit us to marry at a time? What does the Nigerian law say about that?"

Most divorced women keep their ex-husband's last name because it's a bit of a hassle to change it back to their maiden name, especially if it's a name they've had for many years. And then some like having same name with their children, and in some cases it's the name that's made them well known - in the case of Fathia Balogun, Funke Kuti, Kenny Saint Brown (nee Ogungbe) etc...

So what happens if your ex wants his name back...or maybe re-marries?
Please share your thoughts...

Jennifer Hudson and David jr

God, I can't wait to be a mum...it has to be the best feeling in the world...

What do you guys think of the native herbal tea 'Agbo'?

They say it cures pile, fever, headache and cold, because it works directly with the body system and does not have side effects. It's not expensive and can be prepared at home using mango tree leaf etc...

What do you know for sure about 'agbo' ? Please share.
Also, what do you know about the native drink dongoyaro?

Munachi Abii releases new single 'I Feel Real'

The song has been playing on radio...will bring you details and a link to listen to the song when I get it...

Jonathan, Sambo, Others Mark Eid-el-Fitr

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday joined his deputy, Namadi Sambo and other Muslim cabinet members as Nigerian Muslims marked the end of the month-long Ramadan Fast, which ushered in the Eid-el-Fitr Sallah celebrations.

Charly Grandpapa...looking great at 57

The most incredible achievement of my life is: Being Charly Boy. Playing Charly Boy. Hiding under Charly Boy. Getting away with stuffs in the name of Charly Boy. With that Charly Boy toga, being able to get into the worst situation, the most dangerous situation, being able to manipulate myself out of it. If you take Charly Boy to Ajegunle, I'm sure he will be the Area Father. If you flip the coin, and you take Charly Boy to Buckingham Palace, I'm sure his etiquette will exude that of a high pedigree. So, the most successful thing I've done is Charly Boy.

Victoria Beckham's dress...I want!

She's always on point..fashion wise. But why doesn't this woman ever smile? She's married to one of the sexiest men in the world for heaven sake...na wao..:-)

Spotted: Jasmine Bruce looking pretty in black...

Jasmine Murray Bruce is the CEO of Monae Spa located inside the Silverbird Galleria, Victoria Island, and is the only daughter of Ben Murray Bruce.

Charly Boy's Battle of the Gifted holds.

The 2010 edition of the Charlyboy show-live came up with a new concept tagged Battle of the Gifted. It was a battle targeted at discovering new talents into the entertainment Industry as young but talented Nigerians battle it out in the boxing ring. At the end of the talent hunt held a month before the event, ten finalists emerged for the final contest at the International Conference Centre to showcase their arts. The show held August 29, 2010.

UK To Increase Immigration, Visa Fees From Oct 01, 2010

The UK yesterday announced plans to increase immigration and visa fees for all those applying to visit, work, study or stay in the UK with effect from October 1, 2010.

List of Nominees for 2010 SoundCity Music Video Awards

The 2010 Soundcity Video Awards will take place at the Expo Hall of the Eko Hotel, Lagos on the 1st Oct, 2010

List of Nominees after the jump...

Ali Baba and the 40 Gifts kicks off...

The maiden edition of Ali Baba and the 40 Gifts, a live weekly family draw providing all guests chances to win any prize they desire, held at Motherlan, Opebi, Lagos, Sunday August 29. The next edition will hold tomorrow 12 September at same venue.

P-Square, Banky W and JJC Nominated for the 2010 MOBO Awards

The 2010 MOBO Awards will take place at Liverpool Echo Arena on the 20th Oct, 2010. List of nominees after the jump... 

Lagos at Night

More pics when you...

Photo of the day...

LOL!!! These people will not kill me...

Friday 10 September 2010

Pictures from Holding Hope Dallas premiere

More pictures when you continue...

Moji Obasanjo remarries and expecting baby...

Moji and new husband Dr. Abiodun Akinkunmi

Gbenga Obasanjo's ex-wife, Moji Onabanjo, who divorced her ex-husband after eight years of marriage and two children amid allegations of infidelity...blah blah blah...you all know the story...has re-married.

She's now married to Dr Abiodun Akinkunmi fondly called IT man and expecting her third baby.

Dr. Akinkunmi is the MD of Brickfield Road Associates, a  Research and Risk Management firm, and is currently an Econometrics lecturer at the University of Lagos and Assistant Professor of Information Technology at ABTI-American University

New York Fashion Week Unveils The New Trend In Men's Beach Wear!

I kinda find it sexy...or maybe it's the model that's making me find it sexy...lol

9ice to release a ruggedman diss song!

9ice and Rugged when the going was great

9ice tweeted today - "I Want To Give A Very Dear Friend The Best Birthday Present Ever In His Entire Life. Come 20th Of This Month."

20th September is Ruggedman's birthday. The song is called - "Talk, I Am Listening" and the video for the song has already been shot.

All these drama sef!

Rihanna poses naked on new album cover

The new single, Only Girl (In The World) will be released in late September, with her next album, Loud! following in November. 

Joseph and Adaeze Yobo move to Turkey

Nigerian defender Joseph Yobo has moved to Turkey with his lovely wife Adaeze Igwe, after completing  his season-long loan move from English Premier League side Everton to top Turkish side Fenerbahce. The deal includes an option to make the transfer permanent when the loan ends next  year  but Joseph is said to have ruled out  signing permanently with the Turkish side and plans to come back to England for the sake of his children’s education.

His current deal with Everton doesn’t however expire until the summer of 2014

Toni Payne blasts estranged husband 9ice on twitter

They were once in love, got married and had a son. Now they can't seem to stand each other.
PR exec and business woman, Toni Payne went on twitter rant yesterday, calling her ex, 9ice out.

9ice responded with the tweet below

Wow!
Read Toni's tweets after the break...

Kim Kardashian's leggings...

You like?

Muma Gee marries secretly...

Energetic singer and entertainer Muma Gee, born Gift Iyumame Uwame is now a married woman..according to reports. She married Imo State born upcoming Nollywood actor, ex-model and aspiring singer, Prince Eke Eklips, in her home town of Odiabidi, in Rivers State some weeks back.

"This stage of thee ceremony is mainly among my people . The other ceremonies will come up later, but I and my husband would want our privacy" Muma Gee told reporters last week.

But the alleged new husband is denying being married ..on FB.

Prince Eke Eklips...Muma Gee's husband, depending on who you believe...:-)

Will Smith's daughter Willow signs with Jay z's record Label

Will Smith's nine year old daughter, Willow Smith has inherited his talent. She's now a recording artiste and is said to be signed to Jay Z's Roc Nation. Her single 'I Whip my Hair' leaked some days ago. Nice song! Listen to it below...

Van Vicker Is Twice More Popular Than Ramsey Noah But Genevieve Tops Them All

Ghana’s Van Vicker is two times more popular than Nigeria’s Ramsey Noah, according to the current trend on ‘Google Insights for Search’. A closer look at the figures shows that Van ranks higher than Ramsey Noah in search results for Nigeria.

Data recorded by the search engine also indicates that actress Genevieve Nnaji is the most searched celebrity both in Nollywood and Ghallywood.

David and Victoria Beckham's sexy ad for new fragrance

David and Victoria Beckham put on a passionate display in an elevator for their new Intimately Yours Fragrance Advert. The video after the jump...

Damilola Taylor's killer back on streets after four years in jail

Ricky Preddie, 23, was released from prison on Wednesday September 8, 2010, less than four years after being given an eight-year sentence for manslaughter. He was taken to a probation hostel in an affluent area of West London, where many neighbouring houses cost more than £1million.

Ten year-old Damilola bled to death after being stabbed with a broken bottle on a council State in Peckham, South London, in November 2000 by brothers Ricky and Danny Preddie, who were 13 and 12 years old at the time.

Read more >>

Nike Ogunlesi, Steve Babaeko, others teach business to young people

Are you a young or aspiring entrepreneur who wants to learn the fundamentals of how to run a business in Nigeria from some of Nigeria’s most successful business owners?
Then, you have to register for The Future Entrepreneurs Development Programme! 

Samuel Peter vs Wladimir Klitschko this saturday

Samuel Peter will have his sights on becoming heavyweight champion for the second time in his career when he takes on Wladimir Klitschko in Frankfurt, Germany, this Saturday.

All the best to him!

Nigeria is 13th worst country to operate a business

Nigeria is ranked 127th in the list of country’s economic competence, falling six steps from last year’s ranking of 121th according to the Global Competitive Report. African nations of South Africa, Namibia, Botswana and Rwanda gave the continents its best representation at 54th, 76th and 80th respectively on the list.

Rwanda ranks before us? Mehn Naija we need to step up...

Naijahits50 - Looking for the greatest song ever by a Nigerian artiste

naijahits50.com seeks to highlight and celebrate key players in the development of Nigerian music. They are looking for the greatest song ever by a Nigerian artiste since independence. So they are asking people to vote for their favorite Nigerian song of all time.

The whole series will end in an award gala during which the number one song will receive the top prize - a 2010 Toyota Camry. All top 50 songs will receive prices as well.

Go to their website to vote...naijahits50.com

Jeremiah Gyand married his PA....how romantic...!

For those who didn't know, talented singer,Jeremiah Gyang married on Saturday August 8, 2010. Well, the lady he married is his longtime friend and personal assistant, Ladi.

Cristiano Ronaldo is the new face of Timeforce

25 year old Real Madrid star, Cristiano Ronaldo is the new face and celebrity spokesman for Spanish watchmakers Timeforce, having signed a sponsorship deal with them this summer.

And he had to go shirtless! lol. Managing to draw the attention away from Spanish actress Elsa Pataky, 34, the female face of the brand pictured with him in the ad that launched this week.

Beautiful Nubia Storms Tant One

International star Segun Akinlolu, a.k.a Beautiful Nubia is set to storm Tant One event plaza this Saturday, 11 September as part of activities marking this year's end of Ramadan fasting.

Be there!

Testing, testing, testing...

Oh dear, I think I can post videos now....is it working?

Thursday 9 September 2010

What about this design?

9ice and his Bentley

So what do you guys think of this new design? I'm actually the one designing it...:-)
I want to get the design right before blogging. So is this better?

JJC nominated for the Best African Act at the 2010 Mobo Awards.

Please vote for JJC for the best african act. This category is exclusively voted for by the public. From the 15 nominated artists, the 5 most voted for will be shortlisted as the MOBO Awards 2010 Best African Act.

To vote, go here >>

New World's Shortest man...

A 70cm (27-inch) tall Colombian has been named the world's shortest living man by Guinness World Records.

Edward Nino Hernandez, 24, weighs only 10kg (22lbs). His mother said he had not grown since he was two years old.

Mr Hernandez, who works part-time as a dancer, told the Associated Press: "I feel happy because I'm unique."

Jewel for Jim - A reality TV Show

Wow!

Read more at their website here

Introducing: Ibukun Jegede

Nigerian Supermodel Ibukunoluwapo Jegede is an international model and a final year student studying Information and Communication Technology at Nottingham Trent university UK.

The 6.2 ft tall model was the first African male model based in the UK to win Britain's Next Top Model of Colour in 2008 after competing with 4500 models at the Chelsea Stadium on the 8th November 2008.

Yummy!

introducing the hottest new kid on da block - Olamide

The latest addition under the management wing of Toni Payne of Toni Payne Concepts is Coded Tunes artist “Olamide” who is known for his versatile rap style, free spirited delivery and creative lyrical ability.

Linda before before

Some people asked to see my before before pic...well here it is! This is 20yr old Linda in 2001 in my room in the hostel at Unilag, posing beside a room mate. That's me on the right!

Kidding...I'm on the left! Was a real bitch cutie back then huh? :-)

PS..I still have that top...I swear...lol

Wednesday 8 September 2010

My new blog design...

Do you guys like my new blog design? This blog is for you, if you don't like this one, I can always go back to what it was. Let me know...

PS: Lots of entertainment news coming your way...*wink*

Sunday 5 September 2010

Men of God and their acquisition of wealth

Bishop David Oyedepo of Winners Chapel in his private jet
I want to write something that will probably anger a lot of people out there and I will probably be crucified for this but after seeing what I saw yesterday, I want to speak my mind.

I try as much as possible to stay away from religious issues on this blog because it's a very sensitive subject and so many people take it very personal. But like I said, I saw something yesterday that got to me...and since I've been given a voice (my blog), I want to be heard.

Let me start by saying that I am utterly disgusted by the way some Men of God in this our generation carry on. Private Jets, Yachts, media empires etc...and you wonder; is this what Christianity is all about now? Acquisition of wealth? Are some of these Men of God supposed to be keepers of faith or men who milk from their congregation to fund and maintain their lavish lifestyles?