Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 03/06/2011 - 03/13/2011

Saturday 12 March 2011

CNN's Jonathan Mann To Co-anchor Nigeria's Presidential Debate. For or Against it?

Jonathan Mann
Network News 24 Television (NN24 TV) is organizing a presidential debate, the one President Jonathan said he was too busy for...and the Network picked Jonathan Mann of the Cable News Network (CNN) and NEXT newspaper's Khadaria Ahmed to co-anchor the debate.

Some Nigerians are outraged by the selection of Jonathan Mann as a co-anchor for the debate, calling it an insult to the Nigerian broadcast media profession, while some support the choice of an outsider, saying a foreigner will be impartial and make the debate more fair and objective, devoid of intimidation and harassment.

What's your stand on this? Please share your thoughts.

Style Star: Eku Edewor, Sasha and Tiwa Savage

TV presenter Eku edewor, Rap star Sasha and singer Tiwa Savage spotted at the Arise Africa Fashion week yesterday.

More pics from the event at Niyi's blog.

EnoughisEnough Nigeria

EnoughisEnough Nigeria (EiE) is a coalition of individuals and youth organizations committed to instituting a culture of good governance and public accountability in Nigeria through advocacy, activism and the mobilization of the youth population as responsible citizens. They are non-partisan, neither are they a platform for the actualization of any individual’s political ambitions.

Read more about the organization here

Friday 11 March 2011

Justin Timberlake and Jessica Biel Break Up

The couple last month
After four years together, (they started dating January 2007) Justin Timberlake, 30, and Jessica Biel, 29, have broken up. They released a joint statement today announcing their split.

Guess who?

This adorable little boy you see in this pic is a big time Nigerian artiste now. He's been around for a long time and has many albums and hit songs to his credit. Can you guess from looking at the picture who he is now?

Photo of the day...

Actress and mother of two, Mercy Aigbe. Looking quite colorful...:-)

Quote of the day...

"I am too busy doing my campaign at the moment and cannot create time for any election debate, don't think I am afraid of the other contestants, far from it, I am just busy campaigning..."- Goodluck E. Jonathan.

Hear excuse...lol

Cecilia Ibru regains freedom. Relocates to London.

According to Azuh Arinze of Encomium Magazine, Mrs Cecilia Ibru regained her freedom sometime in Feb 2011 and was allowed to leave the country. She's believed to be hibernating in one of the family's houses in St John's Wood, UK.

Encomium Mag reached out to EFCC spokesperson, Femi Babafemi, to inquire about her release. His alleged response was "I'm not aware, please. Only the Nigeria Prisons can confirm that since she's been in their custody."

A source at the Nigeria Prisons confirmed her release to the magazine, saying "Of course she has been freed. She was freed after she completed her jail term."

Beauty of the day: Kemistry Olisaemeka

Former OAP with Rhythm FM and Inspiration FM.
She's probably not your conventional beauty, but she has striking features that stands her out!

Nadia Buari's sister Shaida, marries Nigerian, Sola Nubi

Sola and Shaida
Nadia Buari's younger sister, Shaida Buari, a former beauty queen and one-time Africa's sexiest woman, married her man of two years, Nigerian Olukunle Olusola Nubi, last Saturday in Ghana.

The couple met a few years ago in the UK and tied the knot in a superlative wedding on Sat March 5th, 2011.
Congrats to them.

Huge Earthquake Triggers Tsunami Off Japan’s Coast, this morning.

Houses were washed away by tsunami in Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture in eastern Japan, after Japan was struck by a magnitude 8.9 earthquake off the northeastern coast.
A devastating tsunami hit the coast of northeast Japan this morning Friday March 11, after an 8.9 magnitude offshore earthquake. Waves of more than 12 feet were seen roaring inland.

A tsunami carried boats across waters in Kamaishi city port in this still image taken from video footage.
At least 30 people were injured in the cities of Tokyo and Osaki, the Kyodo news service reported.

Read more >>

New Video: Omawumi - When Breeze Blow

Spotted: Jim Iyke having it out with the police

See the police saying 'talk to the hands'..lol
Nollywood bad boy actor Jim Iyke was recently arrested in Abuja by the police because of the tints on his car. For some reason, tinted glasses are prohibited, that is if you're not a Govt official.
Really? Not in Lagos sha. As long as it's factory made and you have permission from the Lagos State Govt.

Anyway, according to sources, he was forced to take down his tints and was released without charge.
Pics thanks to 411Daily

Nicole Murphy's 'killer' body

She's 43 and a mother of five children. See the abs and flat tommy. Wowsa!!!
How do you achieve this?

Actress Jennifer Eliogu set to premier first movie

Popular actress Jennifer Eliogu is now a producer. She just finished work on her first film titled 'From Within', which stars Kenneth Okonkwo, Ebele Okaro, Thelma Okoduwa, and Jennifer herself. The movie will be premiered on the 20th of March at Oriental Hotel, Lekki.

Bianca Dumps Ojukwu? That's according to National Enquirer Magazine

Like, is that even possible? And please read the one about Education Minister's son raping a pregnant woman. I wonder what that story is about...

RIP Naya Iliyasu

A friend of hers sent me this pic but not with much info. They said she was shot and strangled to death in her home early this week by unknown person(s). Such a beautiful lady. So sad!
May her soul rest in peace...amen

New movie trailer: The Land, starring Van Vicker

Ibori offers to set up development fund with stolen billions

In a desperate bid to save himself from arrest and prosecution, former Delta State governor, James Ibori, offered to surrender a huge chunk of his stolen billions to a trust fund that could finance development projects, according to a leaked U.S. diplomatic cable made available to NEXT.

John Dumelo, Omotola Jalade, to Co-star with Hollywood actress, Nia Long

Versatile Actor, John Dumelo, Sexy screen goddess Omotola Jalade Ekeinde and, actress Ama .K. Abebrese will appear alongside Hollywood Actress Nia Long in the upcoming movie "Ties that Bind".

She Baby delivers baby girl in London

Hip hop singer, Seyi Ariyo, popularly known as She Baby, who got married last November, gave birth to a bouncing baby girl sometime last week in a London hospital. Mother and child are said to be doing great!

A NaijaStories writing contest - The Vote Chronicles

The Nigerian general elections are around the corner. The registration exercise has just been completed, and the candidates from the various parties are crisscrossing the nation, campaigning for the votes of the Nigerian electorate. A lot of media attention is being given to the event, and this underscores how important the process of making a choice is, whether at a national level, or even in our individual lives.

Thursday 10 March 2011

Dasuba: Free SMS Texts to Nigeria

Nigerians in the Diaspora can now send free international text messages to family, friends and contacts back home. Dasuba.com, a new service provided by ForgetMeNot Africa, has made it possible that relations and loved ones in Nigeria can be contacted easily via free SMS texting.  

Dasuba.com enables people to send free web-based SMS messages internationally to recipients who are subscribed to Glo Mobile in Nigeria. Friends and family back home can reply back at the local network rate and not pay international network charges saving them money on expensive international messaging fees.

Jeremy George, ForgetMeNot Africa’s Chief Operating Officer said “Dasuba.com enables millions of people to stay in touch with their friends, family members and business contacts in Nigeria for FREE. Also people living in even the most remote parts of Nigeria will be able to send local rate international SMS messages, saving them money as well.”

Dasuba will also be expanding its free SMS text services to Kenya, Zimbabwe, Sudan, Lesotho, Congo Brazzaville and Burundi. 

To find out more and to register, please visit: dasuba.com/Nigeria

Forbes List: 2011 World's Richest People.

Forbes Magazine recently released its list of billionaires for 2011.

Africans on the 2011 Forbes List of Billionaires
Name                   Country   Worth     Source        Ranking
Aliko Dangote,       Nigeria      $13.8B     Business   #51(world) #1(Nigeria) 
Mike Adenuga        Nigeria      $2B         Business   #595 (world) #2(Nigeria)
Nicky Openheimer  SA            $7B        Inherited    #136(world) #1(SA)
Johann Rupert        SA            $4.8B      Business   #219(world) #2(SA)

The U.S. still dominates with 413 billionaires, Asia second with 332, 115 of which are Chinese.Europe has 300 billionaires and Middle East/Africa has 89.

Mexico's Carlos Slim is still the richest man in the world, adding $20billion to his fortune in the last one year. He is now worth $76 billion. Followed by Bill Gates $56 billion and Warren Buffett - $50 billion.

Check out the full list of 2011 billionaires here

Wednesday 9 March 2011

"South Africa is the Giant of Africa" That's according to Nigerian couple, Bimbo and Seun Somolu

Bimbo and Seun Somolu
Have you seen that TVC where South African's got Nigerians to say - South Africa is Actually The Giant of Africa?. 
A lot of Nigerians who have seen the ad are outraged. They feel the couple sold out.

For those who haven't seen it, let me explain.
There's a TV commercial currently running on DSTV promoting South African Tourism. In the TVC, (which is used by South Africa to encourage Nigerians to choose the country as their holiday destination), a Nigerian couple who introduced themselves as Bimbo and Seun Somolu, based in Lagos, are shown having the 'time of their lives' and saying great things about South Africa. Their statement included "South Africa can rival any western nation". The wife concluded by saying "South Africa is truly the Giant of Africa" And she actually laughs after saying this.

To some Nigerians who have seen the commercial, what the couple said was unpatriotic. To others, it is just a professionally done TV commercial. While some think that there is some element of truth in the claim.

What do you think?
Meanwhile meet Bimbo and Seun in two videos after the cut...and watch Bimbo say in video 2 (30secs) that  'This place (SA) is the Giant of Africa'
I thought Nigeria was the Giant of Africa? If I catch these people eh...lol.

Ini Edo stars in a dance movie

Nollywood actress Ini Edo is currently working on a new movie, a dance movie titled "I'll Take My Chances", produced by Emem Isong and directed by Desmond Elliot. The movie also stars dancer, model and ex-Mr Nigeria Bryan Okwara, pictured above with Ini.

So Ini can bust a move? Waiting to see this!
Pics thanks to Bola Aduwo

Toni Payne and 9ice set to reconcile?

That's according to News of the People. Totally different from what I'm hearing. Time will tell!

World Economic Forum Names Funmi Iyanda Young Global Leader 2011

The World Economic Forum has honoured veteran broadcaster and producer Funmi Iyanda as a 2011 Young Global Leader. In receiving this honor, Funmi Iyanda joins the ranks of Oprah Winfrey, CNN’s Anderson Cooper, Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg and Mandla Mandela, MP South African National Congress.

Each year, the World Economic Forum recognizes up to 200 people under the age of 40 for “their professional accomplishments, commitment to society and potential to contribute to shaping the future of the world,” The 190 YGL honorees for 2011 were selected from a pool of over 5000 candidates from 65 countries and all segments of society. They reflect different kinds of leadership in different parts of the world.  
Great news. Big congrats! so proud!

Ghetto Dreamz - (The Dagrin Story) - Official Trailer

Jennifer Hudson shows off her newly fabulous figure in Essence magazine

Jennifer showing off her amazing figure following her 80lb weight loss
Jennifer at a party in honour of Michael Kors in Paris two days ago.

Looking fab!

Ibori’s London Lawyer, Gohil Gets 7-Year Jail Sentence

Mr. Bhadresh Gohil, the embattled London lawyer of former Delta State Governor, Chief James Onanefe Ibori has been sentenced to a 7-year term in prison for fraud and money laundering following his role in various financial dealings involving the former governor on one hand, and his involvement in the disposal of shares of governments of Akwa Ibom, Lagos and Delta in Nigeria’s telecommunications company V-Mobile (now Airtel) and laundering of the proceeds.

Mr. Bhadresh, a partner at Arlington Sharma Solicitors had a few months ago entered a guilty plea on all charges of conspiracy, forgery and money laundering leveled against him by the prosecution and was subsequently remanded in prison awaiting sentencing. - The Will Nigeria

Tuesday 8 March 2011

What in the world am I looking at?

Arriving Enugu Airport last week Monday with Aquila and Baba Dee
Someone please tell me it's not Aquila Njamah's groin area I'm looking at. My goodness, I can't be this desperate! Show some decorum Linda...especially in public...WTH?
LOL! Just messing around. I'm actually looking at the floor. *cough* *cough*

A few more pics from our trip when you continue...

Fola Adeola, Vice-Presidential Candidate Of ACN Escapes Death As Campaign Plane Crash-lands In Bauchi

The Vice-Presidential candidate of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), Fola Adeola, and other party chieftains narrowly escaped death this afternoon in Bauchi, Bauchi State capital.

The near-accident occurred when the chartered airplane conveying Mr. Adeola, the Deputy National Chairman of the party, Boss Mustapha, and the former National Chairman of the All Nigeria Peoples Party, Yusuf Alli, to a scheduled rally in Bauchi crash landed due to non-clearance of the airport runway by airport authorities.

Kevin and Elizabeth Pam off to Dubai for honeymoon

The lovebirds who got married less than two weeks ago are off to Dubai for their honeymoon. Once again, congrats!

Ex-Super Eagles Star, Rashidi Yekini Now Walks The Streets of Ibadan Barefooted

Story by City People Magazine

In case you have not heard, one of Africa's greatest footballers, Rashidi Yekini, 47, is allegedly in dire straits as regards his sanity. The two-time African footballer of the year now walks the streets of Ibadan barefooted, a development that has shocked many people who knew him from his active playing days. Rashidi is said to suffer delusions, a neurological illness which hinges on belief that is pathological and held, despite evidence to the contrary.

Neighbours at his Oni and Sons Ring Road residence in Ibadan say he's been acting strange for some time now, always seen talking to himself. Sources say sometime late last year, Yekini, in the full glare of neighbours, brought out his belongings and allegedly set it on fire.

Yekini lives alone in his house, has a few tenants and rarely gets visitors. Since his marriage crashed in 1994, he hasn't remarried but has two children who visit him on holidays.

Friends and some of his ex-team mates worried about his mental instability are trying to get him help.

I'm particularly sad about this news...'cos I loved him so much as a footballer. Hope help comes his way soon!

Happy International Women's Day

Today Tuesday March 8,  marks the 100th anniversary of the International Women's Day (IWD), where women across the globe join in celebrating women's struggle for equality.

The anniversary which was first celebrated in Austria, Germany, Denmark and Switzerland in 1911 primarily celebrates the economic, political and socio-cultural achievements of  past, present, and future women.

The theme for  this year's International Women's Day is ' Equal access to education,training and science and technology: Pathway to decent work for women'

Quote of the day...

“Those who came to welcome me, they branded as celebrating corruption. What a joke. They call me ex-convict; look, I won’t be the first and won’t be the last. Mandela was an ex-convict, Baba Awolowo was an ex-convict, and these are great men. They made it look like you being there, you are finished. If you don’t go through fire, you can never rise beyond mediocrity and ideology. You cannot!”- Ex-Con, Chief Bode George.

Did he mention Mandela? I have no words.

Pics of Whitney Houston's daughter snorting cocaine

Last week, pictures of Whitney Houston and Bobby Brown's daughter Bobbi Kristina, 18, snorting cocaine showed up on the front page of The National Enquirer. The teenager in a statement released later said it was a set up by a greedy ex-boyfriend who made the photo look like something it wasn't.

Well, another picture has surfaced making it look like exactly what it was..she's snorting cocaine.
Sad!

Nigeria's GSM subscriber-base rises

Nigeria’s GSM subscriber-base continues to rise in a strong and growing telecoms market. Latest figures received from the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) indicate 83 million active GSM lines. Of this figure, MTN has 38,683,520; Globacom 19,627,415; Airtel 15,834,243 and Etisalat 6,791,986. - Business Day.

Monday 7 March 2011

New Video: M.I - Undisputed

I love this dude...bought his album three times...but people keep stealing it from my car! Not nice! Check out the first video off the first single from his sophomore album, MI2.

Kidnapping for weaves? GOH!

I just heard (and I keep telling them it's not possible) that a Unilag babe was kidnapped somewhere in the Magodo area of Lagos while visiting a friend. She was released a few hours later without the kidnappers asking her family for any ransom. Guess what they took from her? Her 22inch Brazilian weave. She claims they took her to an unidentified location, removed her weave and released her.

They are kidnapping for weaves now? Someone please tell me this lady made this story up ...like WTH? But people who saw her after the ordeal said the hair was truly gone.

LWKMD...it's not funny I know, but I can't wrap my head around it. As in...how cheap can some people get? LMAO
But seriously, can this happen?

How To Get Rid Of Stretchmarks On The Boobs

I have stretchmarks on my boobs after breastfeeding for almost a year. How can I get rid of it? Pls help! 
Chi

A reader of this blog wants to know...but meanwhile, you can actually breastfeed for a year? Which one the husband go com dey sucki sucki? Lol

Ignore me abeg and reply the lady who wants to know...:-)

New Video: Willow Smith - 21st Century Girl

Baba Dee drops new album, Veteran

Dancehall artiste Baba Dee has finally dropped his new album titled "Veteran". It's been a long time coming for the dancehall DJ who gave us big tunes like ;Shorty', 'Sodie' ft Tuface and Sound Sultan, 'Governor's Daughter' to mention a few.

Big Bad Wolf as he is foundlly called last release an album titled 'Versatile" in 2007 under the Kennis Music imprint. A well decorated veteran, Baba Dee has several nominations and awards within and outside the country.

A single from the album titled 'Gum body is enjoying major rotation on the air waves and fast becoming another hit.

Download "gum body" by Baba Dee here

Oh dear, our First Lady has done it again...

Yesterday (Sunday, March 6th) while addressing an event for Widows, Patience Jonathan, wife of the President Goodluck Jonathan started her speech thus: "My Fellow Widows..."

Oh dear, this woman will not kill person...lol

News source