Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/06/2014 - 07/13/2014

Saturday 12 July 2014

Pics: Nigerian woman who died in fatal car crash in Ireland buried

Queeneth Esezobor, who was one of the four Nigerians that died in a fatal auto crash on June 28th in Mullinger Ireland (read here), has been buried. She was buried yesterday Friday 11th July after a church service at the Catholic Church Longford, Ireland. She left behind a husband and five children. May her soul rest in peace...Amen. See more photos after the cut...

Photos: Kefee given a queen’s burial in Sapele, Delta State

The body of the late pop-gospel artist, Kefee (Irikefe Don-Momoh, nee Obareki) was given a queen’s burial yesterday Friday July 11th in her hometown, Okpara Inland, Ethiope-East LGA, Sapele, Delta. 

The whole town ground to a standstill as the body of their late daughter arrived Akpevwoghene Educational Centre, Okpara Inland, around noon in a white SUV with ‘Omega 1’ as the plate number.
She was also in a white casket and was laid in state in the middle of the school’s football field while friends and family paid their last respects. The casket was not immediately opened to the public but a funeral service was held in her honour while Sammie Okposo, his band and other gospel artists took turns on the stage set up at the venue. Continue...

Photos: Zuriel Oduwole pays courtesy call on Etisalat Nigeria

11 year old award winning girl child education advocate, documentary film maker, conference speaker, and writer on Tuesday 8 July, 2014, payed a courtesy call to Etisalat Nigeria.

The courtesy call was made to the Youth Segment team, in what can be described as a chat on Cliqlite, a child-friendly product, recently rolled out to the market. Continue...

Check out photos of ex-Super Falcon star, Cynthia Uwak...

Here are photos of two-time African Female Footballer of the Year (2006 and 2007) and ex Super Falcons star Cynthia Uwak, 27. The footballer, who is very active on social media, currently plays for Aland United in Finland.

She's a native of Akwa Ibom and did some modeling before becoming a footballer. See more photos after the cut...

Photo: Mercy Aigbe looking stunning in all white ensemble

She looks gorgeous!!

Police uncover plans by terrorists to attack Abuja transport service

Below is a Police press statement signed by Force Public Relations Officer, ACP Frank Mba...
Credible intelligence reports at the disposal of the Nigeria Police indicate that terrorists have perfected plot to carry out attacks on the Abuja transport sector. The attacks which are intended to cause panic amongst Abuja residents and visitors alike are planned to be perpetrated through suicide bombings, or through the use of Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs) concealed in luggage, bags, cans, and other receptacles. The Police High Command therefore, while ordering FCT Commissioner of Police in particular and other CPs in adjoining States to beef-up security at major parks around Abuja and its environs, enjoins the general public, particularly those within and outside the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja to be roundly vigilant and report any suspicious persons, objects, movements or activities to the Security Forces without delay. Continue..

Predict and win: Argentina vs Germany

Who is going to lift the 2014 World Cup in Brazil this Sunday? Will Germany throb Argentina like they did to their South American counterparts Brazil? The stacks are high; Lionel Messiis close to making another history, can the little-man rise to the occasion and clinch his first World Cup trophy?  Or will Miroslav Klose go ahead to put himself several steps further as the all time leading World Cup goal scorer? Continue...

ASUP suspends 10-month old strike, Polytechnics to resume Tuesday

The Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics, ASUP, has suspended its 10-month old strike. The strike which started in October 2013 was suspended today Saturday July 12th the National Executive Council of the association.

Rising from a meeting this morning in Abuja, the ASUP NEC decided to suspend the strike which has seen polytechnic students stay at home in the last ten months.

The National Publicity Secretary of ASUP, Clement Chirman announced the suspension and also stated that academic activities would resume in all polytechnics nationwide from Tuesday July 15th. The ASUP leadership held what it termed a fruitful meeting with the newly sworn in Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau on Thursday July 10th.

Pastor accused of running a ritualist' den in Ikorodu tells his side of the story

Ernest Nwankwo, the head pastor and General Overseer House of Mercy, accused of running a ritualist' den in Ikorodu, has finally told his own side of the story. The pastor was arrested after one of his church members, Mrs Rosemary Chukwu, abducted a 6 year old boy in her neighborhood and told police after she was caught that her pastor Ernest Nwankwo had sent her to bring the boy. (Read here)

Speaking about the incident for the first time, Nwankwo told Vanguard he doesn't even know the lady
"I do not know how these allegations of ritual actions against me started. My ministry has existed for 17 years and we have never been associated with any bad thing or any untoward allegation. We have been doing well in carrying out God’s work since we came into existence. We have rehabilitation center where mad people are healed. Relations of such people bring them to our ministry and also stay with them until they are healed after which they will go home. We do not charge them, we feed them free. So, the ministry has been flourishing in all our branches. Continue...

Ini Edo &Desmond Elliot at Open University matriculation ceremony

The actors are pictured above at the matriculation ceremony of the National Open University of Nigeria, which held today. They're both there to pursue a degree in Law. See another pic after the cut

SayNaija.Com Hosts Iyanya Dance Competition, $1000 for Grabs

Nigeria's first Entertainment and Promotional Platform SayNaija.Com is currently promoting Iyanya’s Live Concert taking place on 25th August at 02 Academy Brixton, London. Interested individuals and groups are to dance to any of Iyanya’s song and submit their videos at www.SayNaija.Com or email to videos@saynaija.com.

$1000 will go to the winner with a chance to perform on stage with Iyanya who will be supported by the TripleMG crew, Emma Nyra, Tekno, Selebobo and Baci. This is an opportunity for participants to showcase their talent to the world or just have some fun. Continue...

23 year old student commits suicide after girlfriend jilts him

23 year old student of Maritime Academy Oron, named Effiong Otu, (pictured above) hung himself with a rope in his home in Calabar on Thursday July 10th after a girl jilted him.

According to his friend, Effiong got involved with the girl early this year and fell madly in love with her. On Wednesday Effiong called him to tell him the girl had broken up with him for no reason and has refused to pick his calls. The friend advised him to try and see the girl so they could sort things out. He said Effiong called him on Thursday morning to say he had gone to see the girl and she embarrassed him and asked him to leave her alone. The friend said he promised Effiong he would call and speak with the girl but Effiong told him not to bother that he had given up hope.

That same day, a few hours after Effiong and his family celebrated his father's 10th year death anniversary, Effiong called another friend of his to tell him to tell the girl to be happy with herself as he plans to kill himself because of her. He then went to a neighbours house to borrow a rope, locked himself in his mother's house and hung himself from the ceiling of the house.

His friends thought he was joking about killing himself until they heard the news of his suicide. He was buried the next day.

How my mother maltreated me; another LIB reader shares her story

Another LIB reader shares her story. Read below...
Never will I subscribe to one killing his or her parents and as much as I hate and will never justify his act, I still think this should serve as a warning to parents out there who has turned discipling a child into child abuse
My childhood was one of pain, my own mother made life miserable for me, truth be told, I was not the stubborn type, I grew up to find out that my mum hate me with passion for no just cause. my mum used to tell me that I'll amount to nothing in life, she would beat, bite and put pepper in my vaginal and yes this was before I even started menstruating.
Sometimes she beats me to the point that I'll start crying and beg God to show me my real mother. Continue...

Photo: Wizkid & Tania Omotayo at an event together last night

These young lovers can give somebody headache with their off/on relationship. Justin and Selena, Chris and Karrueche, Wizkid and Tania...and etc. To be young + to be in love = it's confusing. lol

The singer who returned to Nigeria yesterday after weeks working in the US was spotted last night at the MTN Music+app launch which held at Federal Palace with his off/on girlfriend Tania Omotayo.

The two looked like they were definitely back on! Nice looking couple...

Idee's second year anniversary giveaway win

Remember Idee's stew mix, the 3 minute stew mix that all you have to do to cook a pot of stew, is to fry it in oil & onions, add water or your stock put your chicken/beef/fish, simmer for 3 minutes and its done. You remember now, yes i am sure you do.

They are celebrating their 2nd anniversary and giving away wonderful prizes like $1000 cash, 5 iPad minis, 10 Nokia X phones and specially for the ladies 2 sets of 18k Gold Jewelry + 20 Ankara thats not all oo, they would also be giving out 100 cartons of Idees stew mix, this is like the biggest i have seen online. Continue...

New haircut and a grateful heart as Rita Dominic celebrates 39th birthday

Award winning actress and movie producer Rita Dominic is a year older today July 12th. She rang into her 39th birthday with a new hairstyle and a grateful heart. She wrote that 'she may not have all that she wants, but has all that she needs...and for that she's grateful! Happy birthday girl!

Segun Arinze and wife celebrate 6th wedding anniversary

Actor Segun Arinze and wife Julie are celebrating their 6th wedding anniversary today July 12th. The couple are blessed with two beautiful boys. Happy wedding anniversary to them!

'The national anthem is very bland and uninspiring' - Etcetera writes

Etcetera now doesn't think our national anthem is inspiring enough. Find his thoughts below...
After hearing of the proposal of some delegates at the ongoing confab that we should revert to the old national anthem, I sat by my piano and played both anthems. Playing and singing to the current anthem “Arise O’ Compatriot” was basically easy because I had done that countless times and I wasn’t even looking at the piano keys as I sang through the verses. I downloaded the lyrics of the old anthem just to be sure I was singing the right words. I know the tune by heart because my dad frequently sang it to me when I was a little school boy. And I felt nothing as usual singing it. But right from the first line of the old anthem “Nigeria We Hail Thee,” I felt a strange sense of pride and patriotism. I felt very strange because like every Nigerian, I am saddened that as a country, we have lost our way. 

Rexona Deodorant officially launches in Nigeria!!

Unilever Nigeria officially launched Rexona, the number one Deodorant brand into the Nigerian market last weekend with a grand launch event at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, following its sponsorship of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The event which was tagged ‘Do More Naija’ had Bovi as the MC, with MC Bonus also coming up to thrill the guests with rib cracking jokes. Continue...

Friday 11 July 2014

Photos from Rev. Chris Okotie's 56th birthday celebration

The Head Pastor of Household of God Church, Reverend Chris Okotie turned a year older a few weeks ago and members of his church held a church a service in his honour a few days ago. They showered him with plenty gifts. See more photos after the cut...

No goalkeepers as FIFA releases World Cup Golden Ball nominees

What kind of ojoro is this? No Ochua, no Howard, no Enyeama, no Navas, or even Ospinas as FIFA lists the top 10 best players of the 2014 World Cup. I think some of the goalkeepers did way better than the players in this tournament but they were not nominated.

FIFA this evening officially announced the names of the ten players in the running for the adidas Golden Ball, which is awarded to the competition’s most outstanding performer.

The shortlist was drawn up by the members of FIFA’s Technical Study Group, who have been casting their expert eyes over each and every one of the matches held at Brazil 2014 to date. Appearing in alphabetical order, the 10 contenders for the accolade are as follows...see them after the cut...

Fashion Trunk Show: When Fashion Shows Don’t Make Sense

We are sure one or two of you would have attended a fashion show that is of no value and probably bored you out of your mind. Secondly there was nothing of value to buy; the clothes exhibited were too expensive or not ready to wear.

These and some more issues are what the Fashion Trunk Show wants to address. Fashion Trunk Show which is scheduled for the 27th of July 2014, is a fashion event with a difference. The show is about getting the best and the latest in fashion trends and accessories, all of which would be ‘ready to wear.’ Continue...

Parental abuse: Freeze Coolfm shares his experience and views on the issue

Comedian Wale Gates made a case for the Redeemer University student who reportedly killed his father during an argument in their home last week. (Read here). Now popular OAP Freeze Coolfm has written an article sharing a bit of his own experience with his own father growing up and also sheds some light on why some parents are too hard on their children. Read his article below...
I read with much respect and admiration Wale Gates tweets about the student who killed his father at the redeemed camp, and I must say he has greatly earned my respect. He chose to speak out instead of condemning and threw some light on the enormity of an issue we most often take for granted.
However, I must point out that even though we both sympathize with the boy’s predicament as truly many times parents turn beating, which indeed is a good form of punishment into abuse, standing up to ones parents is a sin as great in proportion to, or even greater than adultery, murder and stealing. Continue...

'Lamar cheated with another woman on my birthday, & I lied to cover for him' - Khloe K

In a new preview for Keeping Up With The Kardashians, Khloe Kardashian confessed that her now ex-husband Lamar Odom cheated on her with another woman on her birthday last year and she lied to her family to  cover for him.
"Lamar is doing all this press because he is on a new team. But what he is saying is just not true. Saying that he talks to me everyday and that we are working things out. But I haven't been able to reach him for months. And it almost gets my hopes up.'  
"He's wearing his ring full time. F*** your ring, you were wearing it when you were f****** someone else too! The way I was living was not a way to live. Everything I did I had to hide or conceal or cover up.'
"Let me tell you something. Last year on my birthday I lied to everyone. Because I had to lie and say I was with my husband. When in fact my husband was missing with another girl. Okay? And I lied and I gave up my Beyonce tickets. That's how badly I was hiding. And I didn't have a birthday. I was alone and lied to everyone.'

Jovago partners with Nigeria racing Eagle to host first African Racing Competition

For the first time ever in history, Africa will be hosting a car racing competition with African drivers! The Nigeria Racing Eagle (NRE) has partnered with Africa’s No.1 Hotel Booking Portal, Jovago.com to launch this campaign. 

Jovago will also be the official hotel partner and advisor for the Nigeria Racing Eagle team and with its expertise, provide a robust service handling the entire team’s and guests travelling itinerary to NRE races around the world. Continue...

Military confirms trial of soldiers that revolted in Borno state

The military has confirmed the trial of soldiers who allegedly opened fire at a car carrying the former Commanding Officer of the 7 Division of the Nigerian Army, Major General Ahmadu Mohammed in May 2014. (Read here)

A spokesman for the military, Colonel Nwanchukwu Onyema, who spoke at the joint briefing of the National Information Centre did not give details of the charges against the soldiers on trial, he told journalists that details of their offences would be made public after investigations are completed. Continue...

Photos: Omotola stunning in new ad campaign shoot

Here are behind-the-scenes photos of the recent ad campaign Omotola shot for online retail store, Konga. The actress signed an advertising deal with Konga a few months ago & the first ad campaign was released a few days ago. See more photos after the cut...

Photo: Drake and Chris Brown in the studio together

Two years ago, Drake and Chris Brown's rivalry over Rihanna came to a head with a fight at a night club in New York. Fast forward to now and they are in the studio together. A friend of Chris who tweeted the pic said the former rivals are making a song together.

After the pic, which was taken last night, was released online, Team Breezy, The Rihanna Navy and whatever Drake's fan call themselves went into meltdown. Should Rihanna be concerned?

DJ Cuppy announces release of her up coming compilation; House of Cuppy

Following the release of her debut single 'I Love My Country' and her electrifying 'Forever Summer' and ‘Cuppy Love’ mix-tapes last year, fast rising DJ and Producer 'Cuppy' is back at it again! She now joins forces with some of the top Nigerian artists  on her new compilation titled 'House of Cuppy' which is set to be released on Friday 25th of July, 2014. Continue...

Burna Boy dismisses his mother as his manager on Twitter

Burna Boy took to twitter a few minutes ago to announce that his mother, Bose Ogulu (pictured above with him) is no longer his manager. See more tweets after the cut...

Adaeze Yobo shares swimwear photos

Adaeze Yobo, her husband and son are currently on holiday in Miami Beach, Florida. She shared the photos on her instagram page...

MTN Unveils Nigeria’s Biggest Music app today – MTN Music+ App

Y’ello cool people, today is the launch of the most anticipated, Nigeria’s biggest music app ever, MTN Music+App!

The exclusive event which has been described as the biggest thing that would happen in the entertainment industry is holding at Federal Palace and Casino, Lagos Nigeria. Continue...

Justice Oputa's burial: A sepulchre of hypocrites & sycophants - by Charly Boy

Article written by Charly Boy. Find it below...
Hey! come and see Nigerians all over the world, holding Oputa Panel on top of my fathers burial. Kassala deyooooo. 
My father's burial may have come and gone, but tongues are still wagging about all the drama that went down. No be The CharlyBoy Show? I must confess that my pop's burial was the biggest show I ever put together in all my years as an event organizer; it also turned out the biggest burial show across the Niger. Who wan try. Abegi! 3Gbosa for the man wey sabi. Continue...

Chris Brown allegedly sends his friends old emails Rihanna sent him

Read the gospel according to MediaTakeOut below...lol
"We received an email that Rihanna sent to Chris Brown nearly when the two were dating. The email shows just how needy Rihanna was in their relationship. We removed the "from" field, but trus us this is 100% confirmed to have come from Rihanna. How did we get it, you ask? Well Chris sent it to his homies - to show them how needy Rihanna is. And explain how he's never getting back with her. So all you Chrianna fans...you can forget it!!

Nollywood actress/model emerges Miss United Nations in America

Nollywood actress and model Precious Chikwendu popularly known as Snowwhite won the Miss United Nations in America contest a few days ago. The mission of the pageant which has its HQ in Miami, Florida, is to unite the world through beauty and reach out to the needy through charity.

Precious won the pageant while Mr India and Miss USA came second and third respectively. They were judged based on character, ability to carry people along, intelligence, catwalk, and personality. Congrats to her. Continue to see more photos...

Xovar Lounge World Cup Closing Ceremony Blast!

Xovar again has upped the entertainment ante by creating the Samba feel at its lounge at Lekki this weekend. Xovar has planned to have Brazilian samba dancers, weird MC as celebrity guest appearance and host and celebrity DJs to make the evening as exciting as if you are actually at Rio in Brazil for the world cup closing ceremony! There would be great music, good dancing and of course watching the finals on gigantic Mega Screens while being served by the beautiful Xovar bunnies.

16yr old rape goes viral on social media: "No human being deserves this"

This is so wrong and heartbreaking to see. A 16 year old Texas girl named Jada (pictured left) has spoken out for the first time after photos of her unconscious naked body went viral online after she was drugged and raped at a party with her fellow high-schoolers.

Some sick people mimicked Jada's pose by taking photos copying the position of her limp body splayed out on the floor and posting them to Twitter and Vine using the hashtag '#jadapose'. (pictured right). How sick is this?

The victim decided to talk about the attack in an interview with KHOU on Tuesday night; "I’m just angry,” Jada said. According to Jada, she was invited to a party at a fellow high schooler’s house. The boy who was hosting the party gave her a drink that she believes was spiked with a drug that made her lose consciousness. She passed out and doesn’t remember what happened next. Continue...