FG arrests some politicians over ties with Boko Haram, accuses #bringbackourgirls campaign of running bank accounts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 9 July 2014

FG arrests some politicians over ties with Boko Haram, accuses #bringbackourgirls campaign of running bank accounts

The Federal Government today July 9th said it has arrested some politicians over evidence of their ties with the dreaded terror sect, Boko haram.

Speaking at a news briefing today at the National Information Centre Abuja, the Coordinator of the Joint Information Centre for Security, Mike Omeiri, said following the recent arrest of some members of Boko Haram in Bauchi and Borno states, some materials retrieved from them after detailed investigation had evidential links with the politicians they have arrested. He however declined to disclose the names of the politicians. Continue...

Also speaking, the spokesperson for the State Security Service SSS, Marilyn Ogar accused the #bringbackourgirlscampaign of running bank accounts. She said the Nigerian security agents have information that the #Bringbackourgirls campaign now operate bank accounts and also compel members to register and carry tags before joining. 

In a swift reaction, the convener of the #bringbackourgirls campaign and a former Minister of Education, Dr Oby Ezekwesili in a telephone interview with Channels TV this night, refuted the claims made by the SSS spokesperson.
"It's absolute falsehood. In fact I call it a cocktail of falsehood. We don't need bank account. This is strictly a citizens movement and neither do we need to register members. There is no person who walks over to the Unity Fountain that has not participated in our meetings. There is absolutely no truth to that and I think that should really worry Nigerians that our own state security sadly could actually put out such....I don't even know what to call it".
Asked how the campaign is being funded, Dr Ezekwesili said;
"Well its very simple. The needs that we have are so basic. Its the Tee shirts and I can see some of the people in tee shirts and I can see some of the people wearing those face caps, that's all we need and what normally happens is that all these members you see there, some bring in 10 Teeshirts, some 100. There is nothing that will need any kind of money, so you know this is really a pedestrian kind of falsehood" she said

90 comments:

We dey watch. Ogunaomi@gmail.com

Plz just bring back the girls, just do that if you feel the #BringBackOurGirls campaigners are disturbing.

blogger said...

why cant they mention the names of the politicians they arrested? if they really got arrested, next thing they will get bailed out. is it not nigeria again? mtcheww

Milez said...

Don't think this is true tho'

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Hmmmmmm.. Oga adikwa egwu !!!

Is that the nest step? Dia is God o. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Now they are beginning to work and make bold moves

Abeg Oby shut up make me hear word...all that hyping then na gra gra.she just want to be on our faces.how does this discovery bring back our girls? Nyako,Oby,Tinubu,Atikus,IBB,Nasir El rufai,kwankwasho and his Emir knows more than we know.linda if you like swallow my comment like Panadol ..."

I wanted Argetina to go home. *SAD* I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

SVC said...

Hmmmmm.....It's well.. Netherland out

Why not disclose thr names if u speak d truth? Tell ur stories to d birds den

Oby beware. Remember the treatment they gave to kudi. Probably you don't have children that you want to live for. Too much of everything is bad.

Sylvia said...

Na wa!! Abeg ama open #bringbackourgirls# UNIPORT chapter. Pls interested peeps shld ping me.

Bosslady said...

*yawns* abeg make I go sleep....

Bosslady said...

*yawns* abeg make I go sleep....

Bosslady said...

Happy for Argentina's victory tonight....

Hmmmmm a country well this secrets in it is more than it population in every rumour there are atoms of truth

Breezy_p repping 080MTN finest
Danabiaziem@gmail.com

Madam oby, i believe u.....btw whether there is account or not what's there business.....they should focus more on bringing our sisters back finish

They should stop hiding and call names.

hmmm....love2nicee@yahoo.com

Politicians linked with boko haram correct. #bringback our girls bank acct bullshit. Jopeyemi@gmail.com

bbm 7439955a said...

Stop all this wash talking. And bring back our fiancees and wives. Cos mine is amongst them. Lol. ENGR Emy

Choi imagine my country they hide terrorists-identity na asi m account si account asiro.... Wat a shame

Why are they telling us if they are not ready to mention the names of the politicians that were arrested?

baddo said...

Why the hell will they disclose their identities......#bringbackourgirls .......................................thomassolomon67@yahoo.com

A won ode.....this government keeps failing every attempt to think they know what they are doing...which bank will open the account for them...which document did they use to register the company that the bank use to open the account.

These people are daft and they think we all are

If this government is bold enough lk BB,they should disclose their identities to us.We are tired of all these nonsense&fallacial stories.Bring back our girls

####################GOD bless###############################Naija

@ least we can rest with d Van Gaal issh.......#FriendsOfGermany

bonita bislam said...

We anti Argentina,we plenty o lolz.About time to pledge my loyalty to Germany.can never support the argentines

kudos to the FG on the arrest............., I never knew people could turn this crisis to a money making venture ....... it was always clear from the start that most people only support to be cool or relevant thats why the whole thing died down after the Solange and jay z fight ..... there is God ooh :)....... the truth shall prevail.

adams said...

bring them to the court of public opinion enough of unproductive secretive arrests

This is not news, everyone knws that the goverment have hand in the boko haram shit and if they are truelly fighting this crime they should publish the names of the politicians nw..... #bringbackourgals..

Lady K said...

Hope u see how dumb and moronic u really sound. Next time pls stay off whatever expired drugs u get high on before commenting

Lol. Yes o.
Am tired of hear hearing Van Gaal and Van Persie.

Ghost hunt

Just bring back the girls...we dey watch FEMIOLULANA

Stupid FG,so u cnt mention dia names den wats d point of sayin t?FG nd Co keep playin wif d masses dat dey cried 2 vote dem,now dey feel dey r gods abi?no wahala

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

WE are watching...FEMI OLULANA

Whats wrong in getting an account? What law is broken by opening by free people who decide to come together and fight for a common cause? Even Boko Haram get account but GEJ & his stupid state security agents nor fit go harrass dem! This is just an attempt by this clueless GEJ regime to trample on the Nigerian people's right to freedom of association & free speech.Abi GEJ don turn to Abacha? Is this not a democratic govt? Even Abacha self for don kill all dese Boko boys and put this matter to rest. Maybe we need to resurrect Abacha to take over from this weakling GEJ!!!

This issue has lingered for too long. Make they no carry belle ooo.. #bringbackourgirls# FG.

Alagbado-ode said...

Confusion break bone! They want to start using d excuse of fightig terror to hound percieved political opponents preparatory to 2015 and they are sort of testing d waters. Why not give names of d so called politicians and d proofs. We are watching and Nigeria is not Zimbabwe or Uganda.

Can u imagine? They are talking about committee funding when the girls should be released. What's this rubbish got to do with whether girls are truly missing or not? Tshirts n face caps for? Should this be of importance? Is it a fashion rally? Very baseless and annoying. Rubbish

Nawah this our country.omo nigeria omo nigeria ibo lan lo o. Ose lu nigeria ibo lan lo

S*X AND LOVE TIPS said...

If arrests were really made, fine. But please Govt should not ridicule the former minister because she is an activist. Every worthy cause requires funding.

Pls we need bck our girls. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

God bless u. These people think everyone in the audience is ignorant.

chilly said...

I don't understand Nigeria again

politics is a dirty game...

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Can SSS use their effort to find the girls and stop terrorism rather than chasing after a small group of campaigners. What is wrong with these people. Can GEJ administration stop being afraid of criticism and just do their job.

I pray the cases filed against the politicians won't be swept under the carpet ohh..

Seunzy said...

Our govt keep telling us to our faces that they are clueless. What if they operate a bank account? How do they want the group to raise money? Funded by politicians or not, is their cause genuine? Is hounding the bringbackourgirls group the next thing that should be done.? Even if the government will prosecute the campaigners, it morally behoves them to first bring back the girls first. There has never been darkness like this on Nigeria before. The only period that ranks close is the Abacha dark days

All we r saying bring bak our girls'
...enuff propaganda

ok o. patoswife@gmail.com

The Government should continue like this. I know more politician will be arrested linking to this BH issue

Dee Tee said...

... hmmm. no comment

hmm no need to to told I already know that so many politicians are the one sponsoring this boko haram #fredyobot@yahoo.com

DOBY DOBY said...

Dis apc nd pdp. . Tot I read dat many politicians wer arrested nd det mentioned only oby.. biko dey shld bring back our gals. .shikina

ivan b said...

I hope the arrest is true

Give us names n we know u re serious.

hmmm...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Dada Olatunde said...

I don't believe this jooo. Go ahead and mention the name of the people and let know why they are "Shearing" blood as said by the 1st lady.

just get those girls back pease

Alright, but FG should know that this campaign is essential and compulsory, Jonathan can't hold 150 millions population to ransom!

Chioma nwereoma said...

If it was a road thief,d name wld v bin disclosed,Nigeria should change for d beta ,so dat d citizens will live a better life.politics even in d life of their citizens.der is God o

Why would the Federal Government decline to mention names of those arrested for links with Boko Haram. That goes to show that such individuals can still hold public offices in this country after such crime. but mention their names will amount to label them ex convict which the constitution forbids to hold public offices. GEJ Administration is not doing well in this regard...

Jenny Cherish said...

It is high time Oby Ezekwesili curtailed her gra gra on dis bring back our girls matter,she has taken d matter 2 personal as if she has political incomes there,anyway it's her business shaa.For those politician connected 2 d Bokos,govt shud serve dem d punishment dey deserved for d blood dey hv wasted 4 d past yrs.

Ao tru is dis news gan? Sm hours ago was d meeting wt d EXs....now dey av arrested sm unknw politicians....op dey re nt pulling our legs?

...Bianca T...

Imagine!! I wonder y they take Nigerians to b fools

I just hate Obiageli. Theres something sinister about her. Aint nobody knew her as a minister. JS I maybe wrong tho.

Don't be spooky, banks will do it

Temitayo said...

Politics, just to stop the #bringbackourgirls movement. After 'Na only you waka come' shit. Didn't work. Diaris God o

Dats their biznes

omo i don tire for this stupid country, does girl them want to use dem for the next election, this country is fuck and stupid leaders ... na God go punish una one by one

PRETTY GIRL said...

And they refused to mention the names of politicians linked to BH and who they'claim' have been arrested because they want to keep decieving themselves thinking they're decieving Nigerians...Nigeria is a country where politics is more important than the life of its citizens#UselessCorruptCountry

Useless Oby...
simply bcos she doesn't have anything doing, she decided to kill herself with the #BringBackOurGirls campaign...
What did she do when she was Education Minister? nothing..
Madam pack one side joor

But they refuse to name the names of the bastard politicians. Oby God is with you carry on jare.

Very soon they will establish ministry of boko haram,min of bring back our girls. Na wa to naija!!! Where nothing matters what do u xpect? If na crude oil dem steal go hide for sambisa forest dem for don see am,if na money dem for go cary am. As e com b girs,were I no evn blv dem kidnap anybody,dem no go c am. Leav me jor...we r all dramatis personae.

obviously they cant dsclose the names just yet.. in dis naija... no need for court case.. angry mob will just go nd deal with them

ib naija ooooo said...

KB, no vex o. But I think ur d dumb and moronic one here. U refuse to open ur mind however small it is to see that there is something fishy going on here. Just so u know, I am tired of everybody shouting jonathan jonathan. The circumstances of this kidnapping is very fishy. Let's call on d state governor and all this people to bring back the girls. Though I no believe say oby dey involved. I think with her it's popularity contest, self relevance and may be money. With all the bringbackourgirls placard wey dem dey carry, let them enter Zambia forest. Finally, go back and read 2011 pre-election statements from the likes of Atiku, buhari n all. Then u'll understand what anonymous 11.52 is talking about.

All in the name of power, we have lost so many due to this cause. They shouldn't just make arrest but investigate and punish those found guilty.
Kudos to FG .
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

What has this topic got to do with Argentina? Two fools !!!!!!!!!!!!!

MAY GOD ALMIGHTY EXPOSE THE EVIL ONES. AMEN!!

Zoe Ami said...

If their names cannot be made known to the public, its either the news is false or the government will end up covering the crime and the politicians will go unpunished

Madam Oby,soft pedal.No Hausa man or woman will be championing a course for an Ibo person no matter how highly placed or educated he is.This was done by Zik-One Nigeria, One Nigeria and his perished.

You may be wrong but you are so sure you hate her. You are so sad.

But They ought to have published their names

You sad case, you hate someone you don't know, let's be honest you hate yourself cos you don't have any job other than hating people you don't know. FTR, you're the sinister one.

Wrong, she has children that's why she has the empathy to demand that all children in Nigeria feel safe because their govts priority is to ensure that. You're obviously lacking of children so you won't know this, ask your mother if she'd be glad to hear you've been kidnapped, I'll wait for her answer in your reply.