Twin sisters who were set to train as doctors, now in Syria 'training to be killers' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 July 2014

Twin sisters who were set to train as doctors, now in Syria 'training to be killers'

16 year olds Salma (centre left) and Zahra Halane (centre right), who were among the top 20 students at their girls' school in Manchester, left their parents' home in the middle of the night and caught a flight to Turkey, before crossing the border. Police said the pair are thought to have followed their elder brother, who ditched his own 'excellent' academic career to join the ISIS terror group around a year ago. Friends said the twins had appeared to be typical teenagers, pouting for selfies & shopping at Primark - but they are now feared to be training for battle. Pictured left are visitors arriving at the family's home. Continue to read full story...

Twin schoolgirls who followed their jihadi brother to Syria were hard-working students who hoped to train as doctors.

Sixteen-year-olds Salma and Zahra Halane, who last summer achieved 28 GCSEs between them, left their parents’ home in the middle of the night and caught a flight to Turkey, before crossing the border.

Police said the pair are thought to have followed their elder brother, who ditched his own ‘excellent’ academic career to join the ISIS terror group around a year ago.

Friends said the twins had appeared to be typical teenagers, pouting for selfies and shopping at Primark – but they are now feared to be training for battle.
Last night a rebel fighter boasted that he was teaching girls as young as 16 how to fight. Yilmaz, a Dutch national who has been in Syria for two years, told Sky News: ‘It’s extremely easy to get here. People go on holiday ... they end up in Syria.’  
The twins’ parents raised the alarm last month, after finding the girls’ beds empty and their passports and clothes missing.

A former neighbour said the couple had been ‘quite strict’, and did not allow the girls to ‘mix with other children on the street’. Others recalled that the twins wore headscarves when they were as young as nine. But Rhea Headlam, who sat next to Zahra in primary school, said they were ‘just normal teenage girls’.
‘I’m really shocked – I used to bump into them at Primark,’ she added. ‘They were both really clever.’ 

Last summer Salma achieved 13 GCSEs – 11 of them at grades A* to C – while Zahra passed 15, of which 12 were A*-C. The results put them in the top 10 per cent of their year group at Whalley Range High School for Girls in Manchester.
They went on to study at Connell Sixth Form College, where fellow students said they hoped to follow in the footsteps of their elder sister Hafsa, 25, who is at medical school in Denmark after graduating from Manchester University.
‘The twins both have aspirations to become doctors – that is their ambition,’ said one. Another claimed it was ‘typical’ of the girls to head to Syria ‘after they had finished term’, adding: ‘They wouldn’t want to mess up their education.

‘I’m shocked they have gone. They didn’t seem to be radical or extremist in their views.’
It emerged yesterday that the girls’ devoutly Muslim Somali refugee parents and their 11 children had been moved from an estate made famous by the TV series Shameless to an upmarket suburb, after telling the council they needed more bedrooms. 

They were given a six-bedroom end-terrace despite the protests of the existing tenant. Yesterday the large back and front gardens were strewn with discarded household items and children’s plastic toys.

The house's previous resident - a 40-year-old Army heroine who served in Bosnia - said last night she had been booted out of the house by Manchester City Council so the twins and their family could move in.
Former lance corporal Dawn Benjamin told The Sun she had thought the house - her childhood home - would be 'going to a good family'.
She added: 'I lost my life, memories, everything I'd grown up with, to house jihadi wannabes'.
Ms Benjamin and her young son had to move out after they were served with a court order. The council confirmed the house had been needed for a larger family.

Neighbours said the twins’ parents were keen to share elements of Somalian culture with them, taking round dishes of traditional delicacies for them to try. The twins’ father Ibrahim is understood to teach at a nearby mosque, where leaders this week issued a statement repudiating extremism and opposing violence of all kinds.
Mohammed Shafiq, of the Ramadan Foundation, said the family were moderate Muslims who know all about the dangers of war-torn countries. ‘They were desperately unhappy to discover [their son] had gone to Syria, and they thought they were keeping a watchful eye on their other children. Then this happens,’ he said.
Sources believe Salma and Zahra were inspired by their brother’s transformation into a jihadi fighter, and became radicalised themselves while viewing extremist Islamist material online.

According to police sources, their brother also travelled to the family’s native Somalia, where he may have linked up with another Islamist terror group al-Shabab.
A friend told The Sun the brother was known for his ability to recite long passages of the Koran.
Officers are investigating how the girls funded their own trip, over fears they have been bankrolled by jihadi fighters who want them as their wives.

Culled from UK Daily Mail

96 comments:

lotanna said...

Chai! These people bad oh. Dem even bad pass our boko self

LINDA said...

Na wah ooo! They are pretty girls fa!

Na wa o... What have they turned Islam to? Christianity is still the best

Hope they fail their bomb making course and kill themselves. Tools

This is sad. I'm sure their brother convinced them. I feel sad for their parents.

CoolDiva speaks!

Eya Ayambem said...

Brain washing tinz. Brains gone down the ... These type of people eh? The seriousness they attached to their studies is same commitment they'll give to whatever they put their minds to do.
God please help them and their families.
You like the fun of reading Nigerian pidgin English? Check out Nigerian pidgin English blog
Naijapidginenglish.blogspot.com

Why Western countries accomodate these potential terrorists is a mystery to me. Ban all forms of culture, behaviour and dressing that is at odds with your society. If they don't like it, they can stink off back to their own country. They are a cankerworm eating civilised countries from within!

CHERRY said...

Chris Okafor said...

This is a sad news. A very sad news indeed, but that's what you get when young minds are surrounded by distorted people. They twist their gullible minds like a metal before a blacksmith.

O God what a wasted life

flexycouture@yahoo.com

Religion! Wat if at the end, the christisn hell happens to be the real one? Then all u Islamic extremists are gonna roast in it. See pretty girls wasting their future all because of islam

Yeah, that is Islam for you...can turn angels into devils

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Hod..dz is sad

Pls visit my shoe blog..

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Haba! Why are they always easily brainwashed?

To me it will only take ideology for one to undertake thetype of journey they just undertook. Just like the boko haramists in Nigeria, I doubt the amount of money that would make one commit suicide in an effort to kill others,asides ideology.
That is why right education in and outside the four walls of the classroom is very necessary.

ISLAM: Everything Evil. Vampire god-allah, blood sucking demon- Mohammed!

It's better to b a Doctor dan a terrorist o. Ogunaomi@gmail.com

cchydee said...

Well, stuff like this gets me down. Jihadi, Bh, what is it sef? Abeg make them rest.

James said...

They ALL have it in them. Even when I was in secondary school, we had about a 70% Muslim population. They were so arrogant! They brought their religion into everything, the Muslim seniors never touched the juniors. Always let you know how "hard" it is to be Muslim and when they're fasting. When prefects were serving food as part of their duties, they made sure to treat their fellows more kindly. So partial! I'm glad we weren't like that.

Ever since I've been coming across these stories and even hearing stupid words from some of my Muslim friends (now ex) concerning how they understand Boko Haram and taking the smallest opportunities to blast Jonathan, I've come to the realisation that they all have deep seated evil within them. They just need the right push.

I mean, this is a religion whose main man married a girl at 6! They praise him for not having sex with her till she was 9 and instead ejaculating on her inner ties. What a sick, sick cult!

It's breaks my heart to see ladies becoming terrorists. Whew!!!!

A total waste of brain and beauty.

Too Bad

Over time evidences proofs that some religion are violent and encourages violence. Nigeria is suffering from the same religious attributes 2day.

Breezy_p. 070MTN finest
Danabiaziem@gmail.com

#Trend said...

This is a funny story. Jopeyemi@gmail.com

How can a god send u to kill? May u all run mad and may ur generation yet unborn not know any peace for shedding innocent blood. That's why even in Nigeria the North seems cursed..they have the highest number of kwuturus, beggars, polio cases, gate men, Mai ruwas,blind men and women, etc because of their atrocities in the name of Islam.

Kampala1 said...

#StoryForTheGods
LIB Kritik.

well... Its still a thought. Dae rnt fully enlightened 2 wat happened. I jez pray those tots rnt true. Beautiful gals

()L@-WUNMI

I can only imagine the havoc such brainwashed brainy twins will cause when they get to carry out their assignment.Nothing more dangerous than an intelligent brain at work.I pray they get found before they explode .

ISLAM IS A RELIGION OF PEACE. ME ASS

ISLAM A RELIGION OF PEACE MY ASS

Opelicious Morgann said...

Wow...they were so clever that they followed their brother just like that to Syria...

Sad but with Muslims, nothing amazes me these days.

Hmm..
Islam/Moslem and their way of life tho.....

*My R1.50c comment*

An irony.
Jayc..

Hmmm....brain watch thins

Two young blood and all they could think about is destroying their life forever....

Hmmm....brain watch thins

Cutest Babe said...

Nawa oooo, wat others are trusting God for (intelligence) is wat they are abandoning.....o di egwu

aikejiuba@yahoo.co.uk

#King said...

Look at fine girls..nawa oo..dis is painful...................................#KingOfKings

LindaIkeji said...

Na real whao! But the question we should be asking is that does this mean the parents have 'no children'?

I ponder at this article. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Tins dey happen..

C.E.O

People cursing Islam becos of terrorism should watch their words. Islam is a religion of peace which does not support terrorism in anyway both in the Quran and the Prophet's teachings. Anybody that chooses to be a terrorist or extremist does so with his own violition.People should please stop relating Islam to terrorism.

Swerve said...

l dey tell you. They have A1 in brainwashing people.

hmmm...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Poor girls...their brother must have brain washed them.

God bless u my sister. Even Christian radicals is not for them to kill. But to preach the gospel of the Lord! Not to carry gun. I guess they don't have commandments in that their so called "holy quaran". So unholy!!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Bro/ Sis.. Easy nah. Your blood dey hot ooo.. !! Forgive them, they know not what they are doing.

somehow for these girls are they dumb or what???????????/

Ehya... Dis is a grt misfortune on thr path and thr parents'. I feel for dem

Boko haram dem sistas

What a waste

Believe me or not, all muslims are killers.

These are teenagers who simple lost focus of their dream!

{•NEWCOMER•}

Dummy!!! It's easy to brain wash this people from childhood...All this people are people who don't know anything and are easily sucked into the ish...Why don't they go to Saudi Arabia for this...Islam condemns terrorism...If Christians start brainwashing our deeper life people too...In no time there will be a religious war...

Omma said...

You couldn't have been more apt! I am a christian and the Bible preaches love,tolerance kindness and empathy. The same bible also urges Christians to be wise! As for me and my household,our association with muslims is kept at the barest minimum! I too used to have an 'open' and 'liberal' mind when it came to them,until our then gateman tried to stab my father and then ran away...On the surface,they all seem like regular easy going people,but when push comes to shove,we are all infidels in their sight,the cattle they rear becomes much more valuable than a human life...Not everyone will agree with me,and that's fine,but for your own safety,deal VERY VERY cautiously with these descendants of Ishmael.

Omma said...

Classic example of a deluded member of the cult.Deceptive lots! Say one thing in public and in your mosques propagate hate! Islam is an evil religion!

Zee said...

Quite sad n unfortunate...

Islam WILL NEVA stop bn a religion of PEACE... It doesnt matter wat muslims make it seem like... Islam is PERFECT, Muslims are not. Think b4 u speak....

oh God touch their heart. #Doro Classy#

LOVE, S*X, RELATIONSHIPS said...

They just Can't stop giving Bad name to their religion of Peace
That's bad!

That is what that their SHIT religion dose to them. Islam the cancer of the world.

My thoughts exactly. The west,especially the UK is sitting on a keg of gunpowder by harbouring these whimsical terrorists.

@anon 9:17 you just ignorant of what you saying fool @chimeze you are an idiot for saying all Muslim are killers and Linda if you dont post my comment na you sabi

It's funny most of the people here shouting brainwash, brainwash are no better than this girls. Why is our youth this day so gullible, you read and hear without asking questions, incredibly stupid. This article is based on people's imagination, we read and start to say nonsense. I sit in my house imagine a whole lot of BS, say it with confidence and Gbam, some idiot eats it. The girls ran away from home, no information on airport records showing they actually went back to syria. Even if they went back, what if they went on volunteer work, helping those injured or just encouraging innocent masses. The article claims they are clever girls, why do we think the worst about them, why can't they go and help. This horrible scene painted by their neighbors and classmate is why we should be scared of people. "They appeared to be typical teenagers", the person who said this is obviously not normal or jealous of them. The old tenant, the army heroine is obviously a very bitter bitter lady, and selfish too. Every other statement based on conjecture, "sources believe they were inspired by their brother's transformation in to a jihadi fighter, and became radicalised while viewing extremist islamist material online"
What sources?! Their friends? And they didn't alert the girls parents? Why??!! And then the rest of the unnecessary details; "devoutly muslim somali refugee parents" started wearing headscarves at 9", "the brother was known for his ability to recite long passages of the koran". History that doesn't add to the story at all, except to hint negativity. And then the last statement, which are we to believe, the girls went to be fighters or went to be Jihadi wives?
Linda Ikeji, trust me when I say your blog don cast tey tey, na small remain. You think giving money to the half baked minds on your blog will catapault you back to the top? If you want to stay on top, educate people and stop post maligning articles, that make no sense. You have sunk, educate yourself, please.

Let us hear word. But its only hausa muslims thag are violent because they are illerates the yoruba muslims and the edo ones are not violent people

justin said...

it is saddening that after claiming to review some comments before posting, you end up posting some offensive and incitive comment Linda. It is also saddening that some of you on here with the level of education most of you have achieved, you still reason like an uneducated person. I find it foolish and senseless for someone to come on a public platform to insult another person religious beliefs.

wow, this is a serious issue.

@ anonymous 10:24, u re jst a fool, calling d holy Quran unholy, may Jesus help u to hell

Everythin in our world today is now turnin anti-clockwise.
May Almighty Allah save us from all evil doers.
blkcisse@gmail.com

short of words... such a waste..
#PICCANTO#

mamamia said...

@JAMES I HAVE TO agree with most of what you said. I had the same experience as a youngin. They are stupidly and unnecessarily arrogant. Arrogant on top their worthless murderous evil islamic religion. Even now as an adult I work with some of its the same I am better than you and know better than you attitude. I still don't understand why the west let's them into their havens. Bastard religion.

Lookk all muslims except for most of the yorubas ones are evil and in their heart support the day to day lynching of anyone who does not embrace their evil religion. The yourba muslims are somewhat a little lenient and a good majority do it for show and to pray to something to build wealth. All other muslims are murderers.

Utter garbage. Like voting for GEJ not PDP. like not eating pork but eating its stew.

Some beliefs are crap. Esp when they endanger our own liberal beliefs. How can I respect someone who believes I dont have a right to my own beliefs?

none of my business tho

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

I had to download the quran 2 see things for myself, it does not mix words on hatred for Christians, but d bible does not single out any religion for hatred.it teaches u the right thing, if u choose to do otherwise then u will answer for it.how can Muslims every where find it so easy to take life n u say it's not backed by religious blip
. It's sad what religious has become

Such pretty girls have now become killers... what a shame

U bastard of course ur dirty quran is unholy idiot

I over agree with u o Hmmm

Akeem said...

I think it's even worse if after all this. There's no heaven nor hell.

Bad news is all we hear these days

Omma said...

I have ur time today oh! Now we should respect your beliefs,ehn kwa?Wicked,vile,putrid, sheer evil! All of you! Do you respect other ppl's own? Two faced hypocrites. I'll say it again,you all say one thing in public,but when y'all gather,hate,kill and destroy is what you all spread. Tueeeeh!

Hey! That's a wrong thing to say. You don't condemn a religion simply because a handful of them are raining terror and hiding under the facade; Islam. Islam is a peaceful religion that abhors terror, crime, death, suicide, genocide or whatever.

We hav a lot of mind jihadist out dere in d UKs and D Us buh unfortunately de canot Xpres demselvs bcus of d security systems and apartus are obviously workin and so they sort to move to the lax nations where notin is workin#26247c63

stop insulting religion d girls chose dere fate.u calling d holy quaran a name ad u insulting jesus pls ask for forgiveness.may God bless u all

lol @training for battle.. patoswife@gmail.com

Your comment is funny,A1 indeed lmao... You just made my day

Eka Joy said...

Olodo, its brain wash not brain watch

I guess ppl just need someone to blame nd we thnk we shd blame muslims. How abt checkin urself first..most of u av so much hate and disgust in ur mind for d muslims dah nothn they do can be good again Rather than waste ur tym nd energy hatin muslims, why not try to make urself better ppl wt lov and respect for all. Personally I thnk d whole religion concept is ironic Can't say I blame d xtians tho I'm sure muslims would av done d same.

I kinda thnk emphasis was placed on unnecessary facts... For one nobody knows wah actually happened they're all speculations nd young girls run away from home all d time nd dah doesn't make them terrorists

u know islam teaches us not to even yab u back . how many muslims have u seen that yabbed jesus christ . rather we
say peace be upon him. all religions have fanatics that will go to hell for doing d wrong things.

They are worshippers of the queen of heaven wife of Satan.
they are highly demonic..
they delight in shedding blood.

Bony bony said...

Haba xxxx sum of dis story not god to hear

Lmaooo @ peace be upon Him for Jesus Christ the Prince of Peace Himself! #seekbetterknowledge

Doc for fit dem pass