Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 01/18/2015 - 01/25/2015

Saturday 24 January 2015

Photos from Adaeze Yobo's baby shower

Who even knew she was pregnant? Adaeze and Joseph Yobo are expecting their 2nd child together. Her friends threw her a baby shower today January 24th at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler in Turkey. And no, she didn't post the pics herself on social media, I found the pics on the instagram page of the white lady on the right. It's our job to find these things...lol. So happy for them. See more photos after the cut...

Photos: President Jonathan meets with entertainers in Lagos

Nigerian entertainers including Omawumi, Patience Ozokwor, Bovi, Omobaba, Mike Ezuronye, Emem Isong and other met with president Jonathan in Lagos this evening. More pics after the cut...

New music: Devixion - I Don Come

Upcoming act, Devixion, drops his debut single titled 'I don come' produced by Tony Ross. In the afro-pop song, the artiste talks about his struggle, and the eventual success he is enjoying now, as well as encourage others going through rough times in a bid to be successful, not to give up. 

The Edo-born artiste also gave shout outs to some prominent Edo icons like; Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, Sir Victor Uwaifo, Sir (Dr.) Chief Gabriel Igbinedion, Ach. Mike Onolememen, Chief Raymond Dokpesi, The Onojie of Uromi and the Oba of Benin. The song is dedictaed to his late brother, Joseph ''Joesmith" Aidanemhen here

Shocking moment Egyptian female socialist activist is gunned down in the street by police during demonstrations

A female demonstrator (pictured) was killed in clashes with Egyptian police during a protest in central Cairo today January 24th on the eve of the anniversary of the 2011 uprising against Hosni Mubarak. A health ministry spokesman said Shaima al-Sabbagh died of birdshot wounds, which fellow protesters said were fired by police to disperse the march. Prime Minister Ibrahim Mahlab said al-Sabbagh's death was being investigated and vowed that 'whoever committed a mistake will be punished, whoever he may be.' (UK Daily Mail)

'We are committed to a meal a day for kids in public pry schools' - Yemi Osinbajo

Politicians and promises. Is this even possible?

Naira now goes for 208 (215) to a dollar

The naira, on Friday, depreciated against the dollar as it traded at N208 from the N191.50 it sold for on Monday, January 19. (it's about N215 as of today)

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the new rate had made the naira to lose N16.50 within five days. The CBN’s website, however, put the naira against the dollar at N167.50, while the pound sold for N253.20 and the euro stood at N193.89.

Major throwback pic of Pastor Adeboye and the founder of RCCG

Pastor Enoch Adeboye and founder of RCCG, Rev Josiah Akindayomi in the 1970s when Pastor Adeboye was working as an interpreter. Photo credit: SMSN

Amber Rose, Blac Chyna coming to Lagos next weekend for D'banj's event

Two of the sexiest women in the world will be in Nigeria next weekend January 31st for D'banj's 10th anniversary event happening at Ocean View. The event will be hosted by Amber Rose. Her BFF, Blac Chyna is also coming. There will be a private beach party too on the 1st of February for the "Feeling The Nigga Weekend.". All Amber Rose fans, get ready! You heard it here first! *wink*

Buy 2, Get 1 Free Every Single day On the Jumia Flash Sale!!

Adding to the excitement of its Super Fashion Clearance Sale, Jumia.com decides to take it a step further with the upcoming scintillating Flash Sale on all products you love starting on Monday the 26th of January, 2015 till Friday the 30th of January, 2015.

Still in the Spirit of striped-down prices, thousands of products from various categories on the Jumia website will be going at huge discounts alongside the fashion clearance sale which has already started, talk about getting double for your money.

Spot the difference featuring Rita Dominic

Here is another 'spot the difference' photo featuring Rita Dominic. There are five differences. See it?

Photos: See what a LIB reader was served in a bar in Calabar...lol

The LIB reader explains
"So I sat at a bar here in Calabar today with my friends to have a drink and what were we served? Star in a Harp bottle, abi is it Harp covered with Star wrapper? Its almost unbelievable (considering the Guinness/NBL rivalry). And I hope you noticed that it's well cocked and untampered, so it's not like anybody did anything funny. That was straight from the fridge! Welcome to 9ja! Lol..."

Photo: Woman lashed for getting raped...

According to this twitter user, the woman in the picture got lashed 90 times for getting raped in Saudi Arabian. For some reason, it's her fault that she was raped. How hopeless!

How I will operate as Nigeria’s First Lady – Buhari’s Wife

At the inaugural meeting of the APC women presidential campaign initiative held in Abuja today, Saturday January 24th, wife of the APC presidential flag-bearer reacted to her husband’s promise to scrap the office of the first lady because it is unconstitutional and allegedly being used to steal public fund. Below is what she told newsmen.
"When my husband is elected as the president of this country, he will rule the country within the rule of law based on the constitution of the country. If the office of the first lady is constitutionally recognised, he will not tamper with it, but if it is not that’s okay. For me, I will perform my duties and role as the wife of the President of Nigeria traditionally. Wives of presidents have some traditional roles, like receiving guests, visiting orphanages, helping the less privileged people. They also lead in the fight for the right of women and malnourished children, infant mortality rate, kidnapping and girl-child trafficking" (NAN)

LargeHouse Releases The Queen’s Fiction Novel And Trailer

The Queen’s Fiction Novel written by DejiSowande (read initial post here) is now available and you can get them in the following places. Visit www.thequeensfiction.com for more information.

Listen to the review with Benji on Classicfm 97.3 #BookOnReview at 9pm tonight - here

Also watch the Trailer directed by Ajefilms, scripted and produced by the author DejiSowande, graphics and effects by AniekanEtuhube and styled by Iyobosa

Femi Kuti and ex-wife Funke Kuti cute together in new pics

The ex-couple met last night at drummer Ara's birthday part in Lagos. So cute!

11yr old girl sends boy a note asking if he likes her...see his reply

According to Cosmopolitan, 11-year-old girl sent a boy note asking if he likes her, he gave her this reply

Because she can! Genevieve Nnaji stuns in braids...

She looks good with almost everything so its no surprise. The star actress showed off her new hairstyle on instagam.

Fayose will not like this! See the crowd that came out in Ekiti for Buhari

Here are some pictures from the crowd filled stadium today during APCs Presidential rally in Ekiti state. Governor Ayo Fayose will not like this at all...hehe. I'm not supporting anybody, just amused by it all. More pics after the cut...

Doyin Okupe puts Buhari on blast, says he forged his certificate

And it continues...

Actress Toyin Aimakhu and hubby Adeniyi Johnson separate

About two years after they got married, actress Toyin Aimakhu's marriage to actor Adeniyi Johnson has crashed. Though Toyin is yet to publicly say anything about the crash of her marriage, she removed her 'I love my husband, no matter what' on her instagram status. Niyi also changed his Facebook status to separated. When her followers wrote hurtful things to Toyin about her marriage issues, she told them to walk in her shoes before judging. Her friends have been telling her to take heart and try and work on her marriage.

There are reports that infidelity played a role in the break up. Hopefully, they work things out. They were such a good looking couple.

Big announcement! Brymo shows off his pregnant babymama

New year. New blessings! The music artist took to instagram to announce that he's going to be a dad soon. He also showed off his pregnant babymama. Congrats to him!

Trick question…what do they all have in common?

Don’t give us your answers. Tell someone who doesn’t know. Continue...

Nigerian graduate who got job by standing at London train station with sign, now hiring

Alfred Ajani, the Nigerian graduate who got a job by standing around a train station in London holding up a sign advertising himself (read here) has made it..and now, he's hiring. Alfred who got hired by a recruitment firm, the Astoria Group, returned to the same spot where he once stood looking for a job in August 2014, but this time he was there to advertise positions on his team.

Alfred returned to the same spot on Jan. 22nd with a different sign that read 'Now, I'm hiring'
"It feels good to be putting something back and I’m hoping to take the brand to universities over the next year,’ he told Mail Online.
The 22 year old Marketing and PR Projects Manager has been given the responsibility of looking for new employees for his company as it begins an expansion.

Photo: Former Westlife singer, Mark Feehily now sells tea from a van

Westlife is my 2nd all time favorite boy-band after Boys 2 Men, and Mark Feehily was my favorite singer in the group. He came out later after the group disbanded to say he was gay. Broke my heart. Anyway, to the story, Mark is now selling snacks &coffee from a catering van. That's him in the van.

The 34 year old has set up his own catering business. He travels round festivals with his van and he serves customers food and drinks himself from the back of his truck. When asked about it, Mark said
"It's going really well, we've got loads of interest and we've booked it in with a lot of the music festivals and we're talking about doing some Irish ones as well. People were flabbergasted at the fact that I was in the van making crepes. People kind of have this thing 'Oh, he was in Westlife a few years ago and now he's making tea. It's my business and I love it, anything I get involved in I get involved 110%."
Mark says he hasn't given up on music yet though and is planning to launch a solo career. Westlife disbanded in 2011 after 14 years together. During their career, they notched 26 top 10 hits.

Twitter user reveals the current state of Ibadan airport (photos)

How can this be an airport in a country like Nigeria? When photos of the under developed airport hit the net late 2013, people assumed that there will be a change in its infrastructure soon. Well, it looks nothing much has changed. The more we highlight this, the more the government is pushed to do something about it. More pics after the cut...

Between a guy and the lady he hurt...

Screenshots from this conversation hit social media recently. Not sure of its authenticity but its worth reading. More after the cut...

Buhari calls for arrest & prosecution of people involved in election violence

Well said!

Dear LIB readers: Can I have paternity test done before I give birth?

From a female LIB reader...tough one!
As I write this mail, my heart is so troubled. I am a young lady of 27yrs and I'm in a serious relationship too. I was with my fiance throughout the ovulation of my last period and we made love all through but I met with another man (side boyfriend) a day after my ovulation without condom ( he didn't release in me).
Fast forward to the next month, I discovered that I am pregnant. My fiancée  insisted I keep the pregnancy cos we were already planning to get married. Continue...

Photos: Jennifer Lopez steps out without a scrap of make-up on

The 45 year old Latina beauty who's hardly ever seen not looking 100% was photographed running errands in New York yesterday without a scrap of make-up on. She still looks great. More pics...

Where are the fashion designers? Lagos Fashion 2015 is here

Where are the fashion designers? Lagos Fashion 2015 is here. All paths would lead to Eko Hotel Victoria Island, at the new exhibition centre for the International Lagos Fashion and Ready-to-Wear Exhibition scheduled to hold on the 10th to 12th February 2015.

Friday 23 January 2015

Question of the day...

Is it okay for your man/woman to follow, like, or leave flirty comments on the instagram pages of other men and women?

Gospel singer Sammie Okpose apologizes to Buhari

Yesterday the singer took to his instagram page to slam APC presidential candidate Gen. Buhari over his certificate controversy, saying the 72 year old needs to be flogged for allegedly 'forging' his certificate. He's since had a re-think about his statement and has apologised. See what he wrote yesterday after the cut...