Hollywood stars commend Nigerian film-maker Jeta Amata on ‘Black November' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 January 2015

Hollywood stars commend Nigerian film-maker Jeta Amata on ‘Black November'

Black November” is the first film that represents a successful blend of the Nollywood and Hollywood Film Industries. If you haven’t seen this film and you are an African living in North America, then you are definitely missing out as this is a must-watch flick. This long-awaited Hollywood/Nollywood flick ‘Black November’ by Jeta Amata is now showing in LA and NY Theaters, iTunes, Amazon, and is currently being seen via Video On-Demand (VOD) on all TV cables and Satellite all over the US.

The film surrounds the events in the life of a Nigerian activist character Ebiere Penema played by Mbong Amata, which led to a face-off with Nigerian militants that held U.S. citizens in a hostage crisis. Kudos to Jeta Amata for being able to pull Hollywood’s A-List names such as Academy Award (Oscar) Nominee Mickey Rourke, Academy Award (Oscar) Winner Kim Bassinger, Satellite Award Winner Sarah Wayne, and Music Super-superstar Akon and Wyclef in this masterpiece work ‘Black November’.

Amata who continues to receive several commendations on this great movie had Award winning musician and cast Wclef Jean post a tweet “Jeta Amata u are my favorite director right now.” Award-winning Actress Vivica A Fox also tweeted “Love working with you Jeta!! U rock n make it happen.” Also Stacy Ivers, former VP of Warner Bros and Universal congratulated Jeta Amata on his Facebook wall for making “an impact in a very difficult marketplace”.  
It is also not a surprise that this is the first time every major critic in the United States including New York Times, Hollywood Report, LA Weekly, Variety etc., are fully taking their time to review and comment on a film made by a Nollywood Director. Keep in mind, that they usually don’t review every film, only those that have potentials for success.
New York Dailies critic, Elizabeth Weitzman also commended Jeta Amata, “his primary storyline is evident, and well-represented by his star’s soulful performance as an ordinary girl pushed to extraordinary bravery.
A notable critic, Guy Lodge also wrote in the Variety, “even modest exposure for this Nigerian-American co-production may encourage more native filmmakers to try.
It is refreshing to see Africans telling our own stories in an overly-dramatic and unapologetic way, while still using international Hollywood standards.
Simone McIntyre also tweeted, “Congratulations Jeta so wonderful to shed light on this subject with the world.
Also worthy of mention is that never has an African female activist/ hero been created and given this platform in the Nollywood Film Industry. No African director has taken such a risk and the chances taken by Jeta certainly paid off with Mbong Amata who rose to the occasion, delivered her best in the movie and refused to allow the big names to silence her opportune moment.
All the major platforms in America are shedding light on this film, and Indiewire also contacted Jeta Amata’s PR to request a story about the making of the film because they were highly inspired with the production. Click here to view the write-up.
Having E-One Entertainment also pick up this movie is another big achievement for Nollywood. E-One is the same distribution company in charge of Hunger Game & Twilight Saga, just to name a few.
This film serves as an inspiration to Nollywood directors to invest adequately into making Hollywood standard films while maintaining the authentic African story-telling roots. The audience continues to desire the blend of beloved stars from both Hollywood and Nollywood in future film productions and hopefully, Black November is the beginning of many more of its kind. 
Black November is available to all on everyone’s On-Demand feature in America, so if you haven’t seen this movie, we recommend you watching it!

Watch the Official Trailer of Black November: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GrqF0DSbX0

107 comments:

Mmmmmh!

Wao... proudly 9ja...Nollywood is getting der Insha Allah.

nice...

Good 4 him

Up jeta

Great

hmmmm.....AT LAST
#LIBBOO

hmmmm.....AT LAST
#LIBBOO

Kudos to him seems he outdid himself this time.

Amarachi said...

Congrats mate

wow! interesting, good job.

congrats to him

Abdul Mk said...

cant wait to watch this movie.... jst saying

Okay naa

Nice!

Well done

Congratulations jeta Mata, A film I must watch also

UST PASSING
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

pls igbo folks what does chere were mean as a proverb

UST PASSING
DON RICHIE SAID SO VIA TECNO

LINDA IKETA said...

i see his ex - wife giving him a second chance.. lol

I follow commend you Jeta, thanks for writing our country's name in gold 4 d world to see. May d Lord continue to strengthen & enrich you 4 greater things to come. Linda take note!

Nice1

Wow! Wen is it comin to Nigeria o,cant wait to wattch it

Nice job.
Love or Trust, Trust is much more important than Love. If someone loves me, it is more of that person’s business than mine.  But if the same person trusts me, it places a duty on me to live up to that trust. In other words, Trust challenges one to reciprocate; Love might not always do that.....what's that ISSUE that gives you sleepless night in your relationship? Its time you talk to someone.
For your relationship issues and psychological counseling halla at
Petersonconsultant@yahoo.com
Or add up on 27FCBFBE for one on one conversation.

Looking forward to watching the movie

Another one to supercede 30days in atl

Cool.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

big ups to him

visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

wow wow..I will watch dis movie..Really excited..God bless jeta for diz one.................................#KingOfKings #6God

Meanwhile, that Uduak Oduok of AML blog is busy rubbishing the movie. Well done Jeta Amata! May God continue to bless your hustle!

Kul

More grease to your elbows

Can't wait to c it

Dudumide said...

Nice one!!!

Chyke said...

You have proved the best bro..... Thumps up 2 u

This is commendable

"H

Kudos to Jeta Amata

This is commendable

"Heaven on earth!!!!Wonders without end,that's my new realm"

DNB Stories said...

I am seriously elated and excited at the f=giant strides our movie industry is taking, soon we will completely circumvent the hellish Alaba market and focus on making proper movies for international consumption.

Ifunanya cynthia said...

Wowow mouth wide open just watchin d trailer alone,am so pleased you made us proud Jeta

Congrats to him...#Chizzy says so...Lib addict

Brings Black Gold back to memory.
Good work! Happy to see Nollywood stepping higher in giant strides.

Good job jeta! I will check out the film this weekend!

eka said...

yes oh.....saw d official trailer and was absolutely blown away. Big ups 2 Jeta Amata and his crew.

This movie had bad reviews!!!, nothing like a good PR.

Ok seen

Awwww! Happy 4 u Jet!!.....

FOLARIN• said...

I really cannot wait for this film to come to nigerian cinema

Kudos jeta!

AMARA NJOKU'S BLOG said...

am waiting for it sha, washed d trailer, I fink it will be interesting...

Nice one.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

DeeD25 said...

Good job!!!

elovi said...

The movie is a must watch indeeed

Wow!!! Love d synopsis. Cant wait to watch this blockbuster movie. Jeta, u ve made African & indeed Nigeria proud. Congrats!!!.

@Sophia Stephen

Nice one. Proudly Nigerian

Can't wait to see, to join the testimony. Nice one.

Can't waite to grab a copy of dix movie....................

*oparoescalade*

Alex said...

when is it coming to nigeria.....?
it would prolly sell better than "30 days in atlanta" and that movie is really good....

Wow

Big congrats to him on the success of the movie.

obiora said...

We are so proud of you Jeta.

Nice one...

Good Job.

Nice work jeta

So proud of him. Well done Jeta!

Say no to harmful chemical absorption resulting in long term liver and kidney failure. Go for House of Oz line of skin care products which includes a rich blend of 100% organic skin lightening cream, dark knuckles cleanser, stretch marks fade butter and extra virgin coconut oil all made from safe lightening agents like turmeric, rice powder, orange rind powder, honey, milk etc

Add BBM: 2B089135
Whatsapp: 08064551770
Email: hauzofoz@gmail.com

This is epic. This is history!

Wow. This is definitely go to be an interesting flick.

written since on http://www.remspot.com.ng/2015/01/hollywood-stars-commend-nigerian-film-maker-jeta-amata-black-november-currently-showing-vod.html

Nice1.. thanks for making us(Nigerians) proud

Paul Ofou said...

Kudos to jetta this is just the beginning ✌✌✌✌👌👌👌

Cynthia Tasha said...

kudos to him.....can't wait to watch Sarah n Akon's role in d movie

The dude really did a great job no doubt and i pray he one day directs a hollywood movie......

Great!

Will watch it online.

When is it due in Nigeria?

Wonder if the Nigerian Video Censorship body will make a fool of themselves as they did with Chimamanda's movie.

Ruthcindy said...

Am glad a Nigerian is bein recognized for his talent.dats wonderful

Congrats to him not dis quake productions dt doesn't know what they r doin

Congrat man

win said...

Congrats Jeta. You have made UA proud.

Nigeria is now bailing o...nice one coming from her
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Nice one,nice film even if i avn't watched d film

Is nice

Yet nollywood is silent out of envy.

They'll jump on the social media platform once everyone else has.misplaced priorities .

Mz G said...

Dats reali gr8.......Africa al da wai......#winkz#

nice nice nd nice,finaly am hapi to be a nigerian for once

PROUD TO BE A NIGERIAN

Wow! Wen can we watch it in nigeria?

My crush Eyinna Nwigwe doing it big! Can't wait!

I'm so excited to hear this

fly guy said...

Dis guy doesen't get d credit he deserves, he shld be celebrated more than afolayan and d rest of dem

cant wait to see it.

Hater

Lol.. Looking forward to seeing the movie tho... So proud

Sergio frankie said...

Great

What nonsense is this? Who's Hollywood? Akon ko Avon ni... Abi is it wyclef? Why are you lying to people, the guy got his Facebook friends to comment and you're here hyping.

Wait n take

Rhoda said...

Thumbs Up to Jeta Amata! Great job.

Have also seen the movie. It's a correct masterpiece. The fact that they brought out those horrible things happening in Niger Delta is very good. But I don't like the ending at all. You guys made me cry. That's not fair. Way to to Jeta. I love the movie.

I just finished watching this movie on Amazon. One of the best Nija movie i have watched.

I'm telling you bro, its not all this drama that them rukky sander , IK ogbomma and co are here disturbing somebody with. Showing the same tattoo and bald head or dreadlocks in all there movies and u tell me those r actors and actresses. Congrats JA

When we say "shun mediocrity" and that mediocrity should have no place in our society, people will berate us and call us unpatriotic.

Who hates Nigeria? Can you hate your own? All our criticism was directed to the lack lustre atrocious movies these so-called Nollywood big wigs turn out. Even in America, they are bad movies and indie flicks. So let me not even go into the utterly worthless posters I see on the road "Ebola girls", "Vampire Chiefs season 1 and 2".lets ignore those ones.

What about these Asaba movies always about runs babes and these crass morality dramas we call movies. What of the over saturated melodramas Uti Nwachukwu and Tonto Dike churn out week in, week out? Storyline, theme, plot sequence= zero. Yet we call them movie stars. I hope they can borrow a page from this leaflet. When you do well, people will laud you.

This being said, congrats! Way to go Jeta.
Is it easy for NewYork Times to even look at your work, even if it's to insult it. Lol. That publicity is wonderful in itself. Just a mention from some of these critics can change a director's life.

I say, way to go! Ambitious storyline. Putting Nigeria on the map. Next time we will go higher by God's grace. I'm chuffed! Totally elated!

**BonaParte NN

BomaIbukunngozi said...

Iam having goose-pimples right now reading about this.Now Jeta this is huge. Iam so so proud of you Jeta. U are the bomb.You have put Nigeria on the world map with this film. Now Nigeria surely has huge human resources. You are diffinitely one of them. Kudos!

Daily diet tv said...

Jeta amata. Always making huge strides. Proud of that brother.

Oh I see why Gideon tweeted 'Enyinna Nwigwe get's his day in the sun' a while ago, nice one

Google said...

Linda i know this comment is late regarding this post but i was just curious ever since the buzz of this movie "Black November" came on our blog because this film has being released online earlier since 2012 and i have seen it! I just watched it again now, so i don't understand if this is a remake or something! You can post this comment as a headline and i will send you the link or drop it in the comment box to see it online and see for yourself that it's being there since 2012!