Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/26/2015 - 05/03/2015

Saturday 2 May 2015

Photo of the brother of husband of nanny who kidnapped Orekoya kids

This is Akeem, the brother of Waheed, husband of the nanny who kidnapped Orekoya boys. He is also a suspect in the crime and is equally wanted by the police. Read about Waheed here

Actress Mimi Orjiekwe narrates how fuel scarcity exposed her to robbers in Lagos this night

Did she say she would slap the thief? Lol. Glad she's fine!

Photos: Mother, three children burnt to death in Jos

A mother, her three children, a relative and a house-help were all burnt to death in a fire incident at their home in Jos, Plateau state today May 2nd. According to residents in the area where the incident happened, the deceased woman called for help when the fire started but they could not go in to assist because of the strong iron bars used as protectors. While they tried to maneuver, the gas in the building exploded. 

Dave Goldberg, husband of Facebook COO, Sheryl Sandberg, dies!

Sheryl Sandberg is the Chief Operating Officer of Facebook. Dave Goldberg, is her husband and father of her children. He was the CEO of SurveyMonkey, a Silicon Valley entrepreneur and venture capitalist. He died suddenly Friday night, according to a Facebook post from his brother. He was 47.

See photo of the husband of nanny who kidnapped Orekoya boys

Above is Mr Waheed, the husband of the evil nanny and the mastermind of the plot to kidnap the Orekoya kids that the police rescued last month! Efforts are still on to arrest him and Akeem his brother. The police say they will appreciate and indeed reward any credible information that will facilitate his arrest!

Waheed and Akeem Kareem, said to be in their early 30s, are known in their area to lead extravagant lives, owning choice cars and apartment. People who know them say once their neighbors start questioning the source of their wealth, they get uncomfortable and immediately relocate.

Knorr Taste Quest is back!!

Knorr, the great taste maker from Unilever Nigeria plc is back with another exciting season of its cooking show- Knorr Taste Quest. The show was birthed to reinforce Knorr’s culinary expertise and brings to live the brand’s love for Flavour. It is a platform for people to showcase their culinary skills, as well as bring to the homes of consumers the most exhilarating, and educational cooking show in Nigeria. 

Davido shows off the money he's betting on Mayweather

He shared the photo on instagram and wrote "All on Mayweather". The fight is by 4am Nigerian time

Photos: Man trekking from Adamawa to Abuja to celebrate Buhari meets Emir of Bauchi

43 year old Mallam Abubakar Umar (pictured left) who started trekking from Yola, Adamawa state on April 26 to Abuja where he hopes to meet with the president-elect, Gen Buhari, had a brief stop over at the palace of the Emir of Bauchi, Rilwanu Suleimanu Adamu, today May 2nd. Umar was received by the Emir and some APC members in the state.

According to Umar, he has in his possession 300 letters from people from the north appealing to the president-elect to do everything within his power to end the activities of Boko Haram. After his brief stop over, he continued his journey to Abuja. More photos after the cut...

Damon Dash explains why he blocked his daughter on instagram

Yesterday, Damon Dash's teenage daughter, Ava, announced on instagram that her father blocked her on instagram for speaking her mind about their ongoing child custody issues. The former music exec took to instagram today to explain why he did it and blamed it on Ava's mother, Rachel Roy…

Pics: Pandemonium at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport Abuja right now

There's serious fight happening at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport in Abuja this night after Aero Contractors canceled a flight from Abuja to Lagos after a 3-hour delay. The flight was slated for 6pm this evening, but Aero contractors canceled it at 9:05pm. Immediately passengers heard the news, they mobbed airline staff, destroyed their printers and other properties. Aero staff, including luggage attendants ran for their dear lives.

Passengers say they are now stranded at the airport...that the airline didn't put them in a hotel or even give them a refund. Above is a photo from the scene. And that's blood. See more photos after the cut

Video: Teehigh - Today

Highly rated pop singer - TeeHigh is here with his grand debut into the Nigerian music scene! Here's a potential hit single been released under XBuff Entertainment; produced by Spellz and its video directed by Mazi C.I Jizzle in Johannesburg.

'Today' has already been endorsed by Nigerian music royalties & is fast becoming an anthem across clubs in Nigeria's 'Turn Up' capital - Lagos.

Pics: Ex VP, Atiku Abubakar meets with SA President Jacob Zuma

Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar and outgoing Minister of Agriculture, Akinwunmi Adeshina met with South African President, Jacob Zuma today. According to a statement by the former VP's office, Atiku is in South Africa on the instance of the President-elect, Buhari, to commence lobby for the candidacy of Dr Akinwumi Adesina as President of the African Development Bank (AfDB).

Chief Imam of Abuja National Mosque dies at 68

The Chief Imam of Abuja National Mosque, Ustaz Musa Muhammed, has died at age 68. Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, Secretary-General, Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs, announced the passing of the Imam in a statement in Ibadan today May 2nd.

The statement said the Chief Imam died during a brief illness at Abuja National Hospital. Musa Muhammed was born on April 11, 1947 and hailed from Jos North in Plateau State. He is survived by four wives and 14 children. May his soul rest in peace Amen.

Photos from the burial of the late Oronto Douglas...

President Jonathan, Mrs Tarinabo Oronto Douglas & children, Bayelsa Governor Dickson & wife, DCOS Abubakar, Agiobenebo, PSP Tukur, FCT Min., Nuhu Ribadu and others attended the burial. See more photos after the cut...

Photos: William & Kate introduce their little princess to the world

The Royal couple showed off their little princess born hours ago. William arrived with their son, George to meet Kate and then they emerged from the Lindo Wing with their new baby girl wrapped in a white blanket. Congrats again to them. See more photos after the cut...

How to get to your NYSC camp

Oya.com.ng, Nigeria's foremost bus ticketing agency, has once again released its NYSC discount offers. We are providing buses that deliver Corp members from Lagos directly to Allcamp locations across the country. Just check for your camp below and contact us to book your trip.

For list of departures and destinations,
visit http://oya.com.ng/default.aspx

BBA star, Huddah Monroe shows off hot bod in new bikini photos

Huddah pictured lounging at the Infinity pool in Kilimanjaru Hotel, Tanzania. Another photo after the cut...

Cuteness overload - Tayo Faniran shares new pics of his son...

This little boy is going to be a heart-breaker when he grows up. So cute!

Oh lawd! Keith Carlos - winner of ANTM puts his eggplant on display

This is top model, Keith Carlos, he won American Next Top Model cycle21 and recently showed off what he's working with. I can't deal! See it for yourself after the cut...

Agbani Darego shows off hot body in sexy swimwear

Stunning!

Nigerian Oyibo Niki Tall is in Lagos! (Photos)

Self aclaimed Nigerian Oyibo, Niki Tall, who's half Greek, half German and famous for remixing Nigerian songs and speaking pidgin is currently in Lagos. He flew in on Wednesday and will be here for 6 days. More photos after the cut.

Meet Lily Rumsey & Adekola Adebisi from the University of Salford Manchester

Meet Lily Rumsey and Adekola Adebisi from the University of Salford Manchester in Victoria Island, Lagos to discuss your study options in the UK. University of Salford has generous scholarship packages available to Nigerians worth up to £6000 available to all students and awarded on academic merit. Kindly come with your academic credentials to secure an instant offer and scholarship consideration.

Official apology from Lauryn Hill + she sings for Nigerians. Watch!

Lauryn Hill has done a video apologizing to Nigerians for not showing up at the May Day Live event last night. She explained what happened and performed one of her hit songs, 'That Thing' as a way of saying sorry. So lovely! Watch the video after the cut...

Footballer Rio Ferdinand loses 34 year old wife to cancer

Former England defender Rio Ferdinand announced this morning that his wife of six years and mother of his three children, Rebecca Ferdinand died in a hospital in London following a short battle with cancer. Ferdinand announced the sad news on the club's website this morning. He said: 
'My soul mate slipped away last night. Rebecca, my wonderful wife, passed away peacefully after a short battle with cancer at the Royal Marsden Hospital in London. She was a fantastic loving mother to our three beautiful children. She will be missed as a wife, sister, aunt, daughter and granddaughter. She will live on in our memory, as a guide and inspiration.

‘Steer clear of party administration’, PDP warns Pres. Jonathan’s aides, associates

PDP is threatening sanction on president Jonathan's aides and associates who are putting their mouth in what does not concern them. Lol. Read below...
The National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has issued a very strong warning to some ambitious aides and associates of President Goodluck Jonathan trying to use their closeness to him to cause crisis in the party and pave way for more defection to other parties.
The PDP said it would expose such individuals and make them face the full weight of the party disciplinary measures if they fail to immediately retrace their steps.

Satellite images show Kim Jong-un's troops carrying out mass executions

Satellite images show North Korea's leader Kim Jong-un's troops carrying out brutal mass executions using anti-aircraft guns which would leave the bodies 'pulverized'. Sickening pictures have been released by Committee for Human Rights in North Korea that show six anti-aircraft guns used to shoot a line of people, a viewing platform can be seen set up nearby, which is very sickening.

Experts have analysed the photographs which appear to show the Kanggon Military Training Area, close to the capital city Pyongyang, being used as a long-distance firing range.

Dear LIB readers; my husband's demands are weird

From a female LIB reader...
Please I need your advice. My husband is the dearest thing in this world I've ever had! He's so different from most other guys: intelligent, funny, handsome, very muscular and well-built, and is an amazing person. He's also extremely playful. And I love him so much for all these. But there's this part I don't really enjoy: he makes some demands I'm not comfortable with. The two main ones are these: most mornings when we wake up from sleep he would insist we should kiss deeply with our unbrushed "smelly" mouths. The few times I agree, I don't enjoy it at all! Our mouths usually taste very sour then! I can never understand why he likes it but he says his love for me far exceeds my unbrushed mouth! Also when we're eating, he would tell me to pour food I'm chewing in my mouth into his own mouth, even when my saliva has made it so wet and yucky!

I live in Ikoyi – Tenant Ola, I live in Lekki – Landlord Mike

This is the story of two close friends; both of them want the best life could offer. Ola believes so much in today and whatever the future brings he will manage, Mike believes in the future and whatever today brings he will manage. (A wise man is someone who will not do what others will do now to do what they can’t do tomorrow)

Ola and Mike got a well paid job and so they have to live up to it as big boys in town, 5years ago an offer was given to them to buy a piece of land in Lekki for 5m. 

Pics: Igodye, Bovi, Gandoki, others at Igosave's daughter's birthday party

‎Igodye, Bovi, Gandoki, Gordons, Maleke and others at the birthday party of Comedian Igosave’s daughter's party. More pics after the cut..

It's a girl! Kate Middleton gives birth to 2nd child following 3-hour labour

The Duchess of Cambridge Kate Middleton has given birth to a baby girl. The new princess was born at St. Mary's Hospital in Paddington around 8.34am this morning May 2nd weighing 8lbs 3oz. Prince William was reportedly present for the birth. Mother and child are said to be doing great.

News of the birth was announced with a notice attached to the railings outside Buckingham Palace around 11am this morning where a jubilant crowd is currently celebrating the little girl's arrival. 

The newborn is 4th in line to the throne. Congrats to Kate and Prince William.

Photo: BBA Melvin Oduah survives ghastly car crash, explains what happened

Big Brother Africa contestant Melvin Oduah survived a ghastly car accident in Benin yesterday and took to instagram to explain what happened. Read below... 
"Aero Contractors' decided to refund us due to scarcity of aviation fuel. I had an important appearance to meet up wit last night in Benin so i decided to hire a car to take me to Benin since i didn't have any oda option. Just as we were approaching ORE in Ondo State, One of the back tires bursted. The driver lost control........The picture you are seeing right now explains d rest of d story. Now the interesting part...... I came out of this vehicle without a scratch.

Man posts positive HIV results on Instagram

The guy who goes by the name @I'malwaysup on Instagram said he was feeling sick so decided to go do a test and was told he had HIV positive. He took to instagram to apologize to people he's slept with without protection and asked them to go test themselves. Wahala Yazo. Lol. Ladies, biko if the man looks familiar to you, you think maybe you got down with him sometime in your past, go and test yaself! :-)

New Video: Sly - Dami Lohun

A lot of people are talking about how this guy is the next big thing! Born and bred in Lagos, Sly is a versatile singer with many talents. His song Dami Lohun is acclaimed to be an anthem for a lot of Nigerians hopeful for a better tomorrow. His favourite Nigerian acts are Asa and 2Face Idibia. He is currently working on some new singles. This video was directed by Akin Alabi. Enjoy...

Photos: Pregnant lady charmed by a one eyed-beggar in a bus in Enugu

A LIB reader tells a scary and interesting story of something he witnessed in Enugu and backed it up with photos. Things are really happening. We all need to be careful out there. Read story below...
Two days back, being Wednesday, on my way back from school, I witnessed something extra-ordinary. If you are familiar with Enugu metropolis, this happened at MSP bus-stop, the one before IMT gate(Institute of Management and technology). As I was walking home approaching the bus-stop to enter a bus, one bus swerved in front of me and people started jumping down from the bus and each person that came down began crying. They were saying a pregnant woman who was in the bus was being charmed and made dumb by a one-eyed beggar who was also in the bus.

'Our artists now invent lies' - Etcetera comes for Burna Boy in new article

Singer Etcetera and these his colleagues...lol. He comes for them again in new article. Read below...
Ladies and gentlemen, you are welcome to the new game in town. For better or for worse, our music “industry” is embracing a new form of art. The focus has shifted almost entirely from making music to something else. Now the transition is finally complete and the sync word here is LIE. In Nigeria today, every artist needs a “lying” platform – or three, to reach their target audience. Years back, radio used to be the dominant “platform” for breaking new artists, you may say it is still important, but the radio is certainly no longer the only game in town. It is becoming simply too limited, too expensive and too difficult to control to be the sole platform. A better and surer way to expose the artist to the public has been discovered. Now the artist with the biggest LIE has the bigger and better head start.

Gossiping is good for you

When you think about a secret, you use up motivational resources which can drain your energy and make simple tasks appear difficult. Telling a secret to someone you trust can help restore motivation.
Researchers say a secret can preoccupy your mind and the more you think about it, the more you use personal, intellectual and motivational resources.
'Being preoccupied by a secret at work can be demotivating,' said Michael Slepian, an adjunct assistant professor of negotiations at Columbia Business School and co-author of the study. 'The burden of secrecy can make things around you appear more challenging and if you're less motivated to tackle these challenges, your performance can suffer.'

Pay our salary: Nigeria Medical Association tells Governor Rauf Aregbesola

The Nigeria Medical Association has accused Osun State Governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola, of withholding workers salaries.

According to Punch Metro, The Chairman of NMA Action Committee in the state, Dr. R.A. Adebayo, said in a letter to the governor and a copy of which was made available to our correspondent in Osogbo on Friday, that the governor had collected up to March, 2015 allocation but he refused to pay doctors and other workers.

World Premiere: DJ Xclusive featuring Timaya & 2face “Jam It”

Serial hitmaker, Superstar DJ Xclusive is here with “Jam It” which historically features the Music legend 2 Face and Dancehall Maestro Timaya. Produced by Orbeat & DJ Xclusive, Jam It is a spectacular dancefloor take-over Jam, well-baked to please music lovers all over the world.

Hardworking DJ Xclusive continues his trend of quality output with the release of an accompanying visuals for Jam It. This thrilling video directed by Adasa Cookey showcases the “Jam It” dance pattern with vibrant, stylish and energetic dancers. 

Kate Middleton goes into labour for 2nd Royal baby

The Duchess of Cambridge Kate Middleton who is 7 days overdue has been rushed to St Mary's Hospital in Paddington, west London, where she is due to give birth in the private Lindo Wing hospital where she is now in labour.

Kate and  Prince William haven't revealed the gender of their 2nd baby who is the fourth in line to the throne, but they sent breakfast to The Royal baby watchers camped at the hospital with pink ribbons so we're guessing that this baby may be a girl.

Policeman in Abuja kills colleague over their love for a recharge card seller?

This happened according to this twitter user. The Policeman killed his colleague, the girl and also himself in Abuja. See the rest of the tweet after the cut...

Nicki Minaj, Meek Mills arrive Vegas for the Mayweather & Pacquiao fight

Nicki Minaj and her Beau Meek Mills are already in Vegas for the Mayweather and Pacquiao fight slated for today. She shared these pictures on her Instagram page. More photos after the cut...