Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 11/18/2012 - 11/25/2012

Saturday 24 November 2012

I'm in Washington DC...Yay! :-)

Hey Washington DC LIBers, your girl is in town. Yay! I'm here on a US sponsored programme. Yep, the American government invited me to America! All expense paid trip to different States. Imagine!! It's their annual Visitors Exchange Programme and I was picked for the programme this year. Not just me, a few other prominent Nigerians are here. Big names! I'm the youngest here and I sincerely can't figure out why I was selected. Someone mentioned influential. Hehe. I feel so blessed and so honored and can only thank God for how much he has changed my life!

Anyway, I'm in DC now, will be in Kansas City, Missouri in a few days, and Dallas Texas upper week. I'm here for 17 days, so it would be nice to meet some LIB readers who reside in the states I mentioned. Holla @ me via email if you care to meet me *wink* - lindaikeji@gmail.com.

Just arrived at my hotel, need to find something to eat, shower and then rest. Long, tiring flight. Catch you guys later. Kisses to all. Muah!

Friday 23 November 2012

Stunning Genny!

Haven't seen a photo of her in a minute. Here she is celebrating thanksgiving yesterday.

Meanwhile, I'll be MIA for at least 24 hours. #Planethings :-)

End of discussion bread + Obama biscuits...

Welcome to Naija! :-)

Video Premiere: SNA-Z - Jo Dada

Here is the official video for the club banger single titled "Jo Dada" by SNA-Z. The song was produced by the 'sound maestro' Tee-Y Mix. It has gained massive play on radio in Nigeria and West Africa. The song is sure to make you Jo Dada and do the Azonto.

The high energy and colourful video, directed by A-Wizzle, was shot entirely in Lagos Nigeria and tells the story of a male-female dance group trying to out-dance each other. See the video after the cut...

Topic of the day: Can ex rivals ever be real friends?

2face and Annie Idibia                                  Sunmbo Ajaba and 2face Idibia. They have two boys together                      
Not to cause any drama, just sincerely want to know what you guys think. Can two women who at a time shared one man and have children by him, ever be real friends? I'm not talking about being cordial with one another, I'm talking about being friends, remembering birthdays, hollering at each other on Twitter etc. You read their tweets, and you're like, WTH???

Bish, my heart desire was to marry 2face, whatdafck you talking about? Lol.

Is this a sign of maturity between two women who have buried the hatchet or just oju aye, as in eye service? If the former is the case, then this behaviour should really be encouraged, if not, then...stop it girls! Hehe! Please share your thoughts...

Mode Men TV Commercial - A Night to Remember

This is a commercial with the hosts - Stella Damsus and Chris Attoh, for the 5th Men of the Year Awards 2012 which will hold 8th December 2012.

Who is Naija's Most Stylish Actress?

Nse Ikpe Etim, Beverley Naya, Rita Dominic, Genevieve Nnaji, and Omotola Jalade Ekeinde have been nominated in the Most Stylish Actress of Year category at this year's FAB Awards. Who do you think should win?

Lebanese fashion designer Walid Atallah to showcase at NNSM 2012

The Lebanese fashion designer, who is established on the international fashion circuit holding shows in Paris, Italy and the Gulf Arab region, will showcase his new collection at this year's Nigeria's Next Super Model contest, which will hold tomorrow Saturday 24th at Oriental Hotel, Lekki, Lagos.

Walid Atallah's work includes haute couture, jewelry and wedding dresses with some priced as much as $1.2 million.

Sinkiratu Sindodo denies ending relationship with Fuji star, Alao Malaika

There were rumours recently that the stars who have been dating for a while now have ended their relationship. Sikiratu, who just returned from the US where she went to premiere her first movie, Wura Wunmi, says the report is false.
"There's nothing wrong with my relationship with Malaika. We are still very much together" she says "We both went to the US for the premiere of my new movie. We came back together to Nigeria last week. Those who were at the premiere can testify to this. Please disregard the rumours'

Thursday 22 November 2012

Funke Akindele and Gov Rochas Okorocha go back to school

Governor Okorocha looks really cool in his school uniform. Cool stuff!

Big Brother DKB apologizes and kisses Zainab's feet on Live TV

Ex BBA housemates DKB from Ghana and Zainab from Sierre Leone were disqualified from the BBA house in June for getting physical with each other. DKB later released a song apologising to Zainab and Africa for his behaviour.

The Ghanaian comedian and radio presenter apologised once more to Zainab on Live TV in Ghana yesterday. The former housemates appeared together on Viasat’s ‘The One Show’ with Joselyn Dumas and PY Addo, where DKB apologised then went down on his knees and kissed Zainab's feet.

Jail is too good for Nigerian pastors - by Abimbola Adelakun

Found this article in Punch. Written by Abimbola Adelakun  (aa_adelakun@utexas.edu)
Recently, the Daily Mail, UK, had a feature on Bishop David Oyedepo. He was accused (alongside his son who ‘manages’ the UK branch) of fleecing worshippers by making “spurious claims” and “cynical exploitation of the gullible”.
The undercover journalist who visited the British church and the British MP who condemned him acted ignorant of the antithesis of faith and logicality when they expressed surprise about how people were urged to give more money in return for blessings that were neither guaranteed nor cognisant of the realities on ground.

Kola Boof Responds to Kimora & Djimon's Break-Up

What some of us have been waiting for...but it's not sweet jor! Lol. See it after the cut...

We need more money for food in Aso rock, Presidency tells Senate

The Presidency on Wednesday asked the Senate to increase the N1, 305, 292, 050 set aside in the 2013 budget for refreshment and meals and other miscellaneous expenses in the State House. A breakdown of the Miscellaneous sub-head in the Presidential Villa's budget shows that N203,752,432 was allocated for refreshment and meals; N107,412,768 would be spent on honorarium and sitting allowance while N37, 277,825 will be for publicity and advertisement. The State House Permanent Secretary, Emmanuel Ogbile, who appeared before the Senator Dahiru Kuta-led Committee on Federal Character and Inter-Governmental Affairs, defended the N14, 715,566,104 budget for next year. Via Channels TV

Solid Star, Shank for November St.Remy Gbedu Slam Jam

End of the year 2012 beckons and World No.1 French Brandy St.Remy is all geared up to finish with a loud bang this year as the top brand invites all to come party with superstars like Shank, Solid Star, Ne-mo, Eminic, and others at the November edition of its monthly signature party tagged St.Remy Gbedu Slam Jam.
Slated for Friday, 23rd November, 2012 at the classy Moore Night Club, Block 19, Plot 339B, Amuwo Odofin Link Road, Festac, Lagos, this month’s event is poised to rock like never before as the brand is leaving no stones unturned to make sure that it ups the level of excitement and fun previously ever generated by this events here in Lagos.

Mikel Obi charged with misconduct in alleged racial slur case

British Football Association has charged Mikel Obi with misconduct during Chelsea's October 28 match against Manchester United. The statement the FA released below...
Chelsea’s John Obi Mikel has been charged by The FA for an alleged breach of FA Rule E3 in relation to his side’s game against Manchester United on 28 October 2012.
It is alleged that in or around the Match Officials’ changing room at the end of the fixture, Mikel used threatening and/or abusive and/or insulting words and/or behaviour.
The player has until Friday 30 November 2012 to respond to the charge.
Mikel had claimed that referee Mark Clattenburg cast a racial slur at him during the match, but the referee has been cleared by the police.

Nike Oshinowo and Nkiru Anumudu deny rift

There were reports a while back that society ladies and best friends Nkiru Anumudu and Nike Oshinowo were no longer on talking terms after the beauty queen told mutual friends that Nkiru betrayed her by sharing intimate secrets she shared with her with other people.

The friends are now claiming that the tale of a cold war between them is false. *Sneeze*
Nkiru - "It's all lies. Everything you heard or read about me is a misrepresentation of my personality. Nike and I are good friends. We are not quarreling. She is more than a friend, she's my sister.  Please disregard any misinformation about us.
Nike "I am not sure where that came from. Nkiru Anumudu is one of my closest friends. I trust and treasure her friendship. She stood by me in my time of need. That's the test of true friendship.

Music Meets Runway 2012 Unveils Participating Designers

Music Meets Runway unveils the names of nine of Nigeria’s brightest new talented fashion designers to watch out for out of a total of ten expected to showcase at this year’s event. The 10th designer showcase will come from one of Nigeria’s established design house who will be headlining the runway, this will be revealed closer to the date. The anticipated event is taking place on the Monday 24th of December 2012 at the Eko Hotel and Suites Expo Center, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Meet the nine designers after the cut...

How to test shortsightedness...

...1, 2, 3....:-)

Fire guts PM News Lagos office

The head office of Independent Communication Network Limited, publishers of The News Magazine and P.M. News, was yesterday gutted by fire.

The entire last floor of the three-story building situated on Acme Road, Ogba, Ikeja was razed down, while the second floor was partly destroyed. No one was injured in the inferno but equipments worth millions of Naira were destroyed. The fire was caused by power surge.

Beauty of the day: Miss Aso Rock 2012

22 year old  Onakome Evioghene Osalor from Delta State is the current queen of Aso Rock. The graduate of University of Port Harcourt won the pageant last month.

Kimye's PDA packed date night

Kanye's so smitten. Kim looks gorgeous as usual. Love the combo...

Some Igbos in Nigeria are claiming to be Jews. OK! :-)

A documentary was made about the Jews in Nigeria a while back. Watch and tell us what you think...

SQNMusic Introduces Boboh

SQN Music, the record label ChuddyK is currently signed on to, introduces its next act, BOBOH. He is a young, good looking and very talented kid . This is an introduction song with his first single due to be released sometime in December. This track takes a nice jab at Tonto Dike's song.  

Listen, enjoy and comment.

Meet Yvonne 'Rashida' Ekwere

The popular TV presenter unveiled her Yoruba alter ego named Rashida about a week ago. She said when she thought of the image for Rashida, a Fela fire dancer popped into her head, hence what you see above. Shot by Obi Somto and styled by Ugoma Adegoke of Zebra Living. Fierce!

Tonto Dikeh at Face of Sofa event

The event held last weekend in Abuja and featured Keri Hilson. Gorgeous dress!

Building collapses in Lagos killing two sisters

A building located in Low Cost Housing Estate, otherwise called Jakande estate, in Oke-Ake-Afa, Isolo area of  Lagos, collapsed, yesterday, killing two graduate sisters.

The mother of the dead girls, identified as Mrs Coker, a widow, who was brought out of the debris alive was, however, in coma yesterday. Affected were flats 2, 4 and 6 of the six flat low-cost houses built over 30 years ago.

The building, Block M20, according to eye witnesses started showing cracks and sinking over a year ago. The tragic incident as gathered, occurred at about midnight causing  a deafening sound.

Wednesday 21 November 2012

Rafael Benitez appointed new Chelsea coach

Statement from Chelsea FC
Chelsea Football Club can confirm Rafael Benitez has been appointed interim first-team manager until the end of the season. The owner and the Board believe that in Benitez we have a manager with significant experience at the highest level of football, who can come in and immediately help deliver our objectives.
The 52-year-old Spaniard is due to meet the players at the training ground in Cobham tomorrow.
Chelsea fans, you approve?

SightsnSounds Productions Christmas Festival Hosted by iLLRymz

SightsnSounds Productions; A Full Event Production Company, Providing FULL Stage, Sound and Lighting for all Concerts, Seminars, Rallies, Runway Shows e.t.c. 

Presenting their First Annual Christmas Festival Saturday at Bics Garden Lekki. Saturday December 15th, 2012. Come with you family and friends. Combine shopping your favourite vendors with a LIVE Concert, Games, Jet-Skis, Water Gun Action, Food, Drinks, Raffles, Free Giveaways & MORE! Entry is FREE.

Hosted by Nigerian Idol Host iLLRymz featuring performances by Ajebutter22, Falz, CEO Dancers from the UK and Celebrity DJ Shawty!!!

Kimora Lee Simmons confirms break up

There have been rumours for months now that Kimora Lee and Dijmon Hounsou's five year relationship has ended. Well, the rumours are true. Kimora Lee just confirmed it on her Twitter page..

Full statement after the cut...

'Marrying a Yoruba man has always been my dream' - Uche Iwuji

"Marrying a Yoruba man has always been my dream. I speak Yoruba fluently and I have always prayed to marry from that tribe. Now I thank God that has come to pass' - The newly married actress told an Encomium magazine reporter.

Meanwhile, the actress has revealed that she met Juwon Lawal just three months ago - in August 2012. They got married on Saturday November 17th. That's a man who knows what he wants. No time for sme sme...:-) They will soon be heading to Dubai and Paris for their honeymoon. Happy married life to them!

Anambra Assembly votes for additional state - Orimili State

The Anambra State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, threw its weight behind the clamour for the creation of Orimili State out of the present Anambra.

Passing the motion sponsored by Hon. Tony One week Muonagor and seconded by Emeka Idu, the House urged Governor Peter Obi, National Assembly members from the state, and Anambra indigenes within and outside the country to support the demand for the new state.

Do we need more states in Nigeria? Our Naija government and their priorities. Continue reading..