Friday 22 October 2010

My Beautiful Lagos

Bar beach

Murtala Mohammed Domestic Airport 2
   More beautiful pictures of Lagos when you continue...

Minors Flogged for Hawking in Abuja

Six hawkers, mostly minors, were last Thursday ordered to be given seven strokes of the cane while 18 others were sentenced to one month imprisonment by an Abuja mobile court for hawking in Abuja.

The minor hawkers are, Sani Usman, Adamu Abubakar, Jibrin Aliu, Haruna Salisu, Salisu Hafisu and Prosper Nkwoma.

Dyson Kilodavis - The 5yr old 'Princess Boy'

This is a story about a five-year-old boy named Dyson who loves wearing dresses, jewelry, and all kinds of stuff that’s traditionally for girls. His mum is OK with it and even wrote a book about him - 'My Princess Boy'. Incredible. Watch the video below to understand more...

2010 MOBO Awards Winners

The 2010 Music Of Black Origin (MOBO) Awards took place on the 20th  Of October  in Liverpool 
Winners after the cut... 

Rivers State signs exclusive partnership deal with the African International Film Festival

AFRIFF Directors; Caterina Bortolussi, Peace Anyam-Osigwe, Chioma Ude, Ilaria Chessa, Soledad Grognet

The Rivers State Government has signed an exclusive partnership with the Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF), as a unique opportunity to showcase the diversity and creativity of Africa through motion pictures, while promoting Rivers State as a centre of excellence for culture, arts and tourism. The signing event which took place in Port Harcourt on Tuesday the 12th of October, 2010 was presided over by the Commissioner for Culture and Tourism, Hon. Marcus Nle Ejii, representing the Governor of Rivers State, His Excellency Rotimi Amaechi.

What do you guys think of Mo'Cheddah 'Ko Ma Roll' video?

Sir Shina Peters, M.I, Nneka, Bez & Ice Prince 'Like A Bottle' video

What do you guys think of the song and video? The best part for me was the street 'battle' scene with MI and Ice Prince.

Body of missing pupil found in school’s septic tank

Three-year-old Uche Duncanpraise, who was declared missing on September 27, was on Monday found dead inside a septic tank within his school premises. The minor was a pupil of King of Kings Nursery School located on Babs Aregbesola Street in Okota, Lagos State. 

Genevieve Nnaji gets a mention in a Hollywood magazine!

Genevieve Nnaji got a mention in the latest issue of Hollywood magazine - Entertainment Weekly (dated October 15, 2010).

The mag featured a cover story on 'The 50 Most Powerful Entertainers' (in Hollywood). Genevieve is not listed there but there is a small sub-feature on “Stars Around the World” which alludes to Genny as “the Angelina Jolie of Nigeria.”

Goldie's Album Launch is today

Goldie's album launch is taking place today at Okocha's Club 10 Night Club, on Saka Tinubu, V/I. Time is 9pm and the entry fee is a copy of the album for those who are interested. 

3 Local Miners Die In Katsina

Three local miners of laterite in Mai’adua Local Government Council Area of Katsina State have died after being trapped underground while three others sustained serious injuries. It took locals about two hours before the bodies were dug out of the ground.

Thursday 21 October 2010

This can't be normal!

Let's go to the movies together Linda
Oh that's fine. On your bill or mine?
Yours of course.
No problem. But if it's on me then we can only go to the movies on specific days.
Really? What days?

The Incredible Grop.ly berths in Nigeria.

Grop.ly, a new group-buying club just-in from Houston USA has just launched her website (www.grop.ly) in Nigeria that offers daily deals on a variety of services offered from different local merchants within the Lagos Metros. The lovely thing about them is that they offer consumers (like you and I) huge savings (between 50–90% discount) on every service featured on their website - Grop.ly - ranging from beauty services (like spa, facials, makeup, hair, mani-pedi etc) to restaurants (continental, cuisines ranging from Chinese to Italian to African and even breakfasts) and lots of other mouth watering services.

Jennifer Lopez's twins make their modelling debuts

Jennifer Lopez's twins Max and Emme are a hit in front of the camera. The two-and-a-half-year-old twins have become faces of Gucci's new clothing line for children appearing in ads alongside their mother.

Check out Max...so adorable...

Tejubabyface steps out with girlfriend

"She is the lady in my life right now. She's very dear to my heart and she's the one eating all my money" lol "I'm planning to tie the knot with her. You better believe it because soon you might have to come and celebrate with us" Tejubaby face to City People's Vivian Onuorah.

Tyler Perry Opens up About Sexual Abuse

Tyler Perry tells Oprah his first sexual experience was oral sex from a man he knew from church who used scripture to justify his actions.

Nigeria Fashion Week 2010

It will feature:
*Daily Fashion Shows, Exhibition, Trade Fair, Symposium, Lectures, Workshops, Interactive sessions between buyers and sellers
Venue: Muson Centre, Lagos
Date: 15-19 November, 2010
Time: 9am-8pm daily
For participation call - 07055113509 or 08023506482.

Omowunmi Akinnifesi doing big things

The ex-beauty queen and Lagos State Environmental ambassador recently represented the Governor of Lagos State, Babatunde Fashola at the Clinton Global Initiative Annual meeting which took place in New york last month. She's also been shuttling between Nigeria and Europe to carry out research and business for her events/marketing company - Elle Poise. I hear she's cooking up something big. Will keep you posted.

Just Call Me NDT by Cashino. Dir - DBlack

10 Things You Can Learn From A Nigerian - From the Atlanta Post

It goes without saying: Nigerians are plentiful. In fact, one in five Africans is Nigerian and they certainly represent throughout the Diaspora.  Much of the time, however, the over 150 million Nigerians in the world are unfairly associated with 419 email scams.  More often than not, Nigerians are contributing to the international business and cultural landscape in a major and legitimate way.  One stereotype that is true is that Nigerians are some of the hardest working people on the planet and they have the accolades to show for it.

Read the rest of the fab post here

Five Chilean miners to wed

Five of Chile’s 33 rescued miners are to have church weddings after surviving for more than two months trapped underground.

On bended knee, the miners proposed to their girlfriends and wives at a party in the seaside town of Caldera in far northern Chile late on Tuesday.

It was the group’s first public reunion since their dramatic rescue last week after 69 days below ground.

What do you guys think of Willow Smith's 'Whip My Hair' video?

Join Uti's welcome home team at Murtala Mohammed Airport today at 8pm

If you care to, then join BBA Allstars winner Uti's family, friends, and well wishers at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport today Thursday 21st of Oct by 8pm as they welcome him back home. It's meant to be a surprise to Uti...the more people, the better the surprise.

Nike Oshinowo on Today on STV. A must watch video!

It's an old video. Early this year. Watch the host of the show Adaura Achumba go in on Nike at the 4:40 and 6:10 mark..bad ass host...lol

Beyonce's mum say she's not pregnant

And there you have it folks.
BTW, just discovered a very easy way of uploading videos...more vids from now on..:-)

eLDee - Cash Out Freestyle Video

Wednesday 20 October 2010

Linda with Tuface

Just got this pic I took with Tuface at Omotola's album launch. I can't take a pic with a legend and not show it off...:-)

Disturbing Content: Man Disfigured in Freak Accident Awaits Face Transplant

Watch the video for full story...

Too sad!

25 Political Parties Agree on Party Alliance

Alhaji Lateef Jakande
A Coalition of 25 Political Parties is in the offing to form an alliance that will rival and wrestle power from the ruling People's Democratic Party.

Infant Deaths Prompt Graco To Recall 2 Million Strollers

Baby gear maker Graco is recalling about 2 million strollers after receiving reports that four infants died in the strollers.

Spotted: Genevieve Nnaji in nerd glasses

A casual looking Genny! Loves it. It's not everyday you glam up...

FIFA suspends Dr. Amos Adamu

Nigeria's FIFA Executive Committee member, Dr. Amos Adamu, has been suspended by the football governing body following his alleged involvement in deals to sell their 2018 and 2022 World Cup hosting votes.

NDLEA discovers 3.150kg of heroin in passenger's legs

Officials of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) has uncovered two wraps of powdery substance that tested positive to heroin strapped to the legs of a suspected drug trafficker as shin-guard. The suspect, Mgbeike Mathew Chukwunwaogo, was caught at the international wing of the airport upon arrival from Pakistan aboard Qatar Airline flight.

Beauty of the day - ChiDynma Okebalama

ChiDynma is a Nigerian singer. Isn't she lovely?

Who would you rather 'hit'?

John Legend or Matthew Mensah? :-)

More pics of Denrele and Charly Boy...

More pictures after the cut...

Kanye tweets...

How arrogant! Still love dude tho.

If you haven't seen the offensive album cover (some stores have refused to sell his new album until he changes the cover), then continue...

Mo'Cheddah's Franchise Celebrity now in stores!

Mo'cheddah's debut album 'Franchise Celebrity' dropped today via Knighthouse Entertainment. Her album listening party is this Sat 23rd of Oct @ De-Marquee, Mega Plaza, V.I.
Time: 6pm
Gate fee: A copy of the album
Don't miss it!

Beyonce is reportedly pregnant. Again. Hopefully it's for real this time.

From Us Magazine

The 29-year-old singer is pregnant with her first child, the new Us Weekly reports.
Despite the happy news, no one was more surprised than the singer herself.

"B was shocked. She loves kids, but she wasn't ready to be a mother just yet," says a source of the singer, who married rapper Jay-Z in 2008. "She really wanted to get her album done and tour the world again."

Still, another insider says that the singer, who is in her first trimester, realizes that "this is a gift from God and she's so happy."
Friends of the couple are already expressing their well-wishes for the parents-to-be.

These two actually make love?
Lol...kidding.
Great news. Congrats to them!

Calcium - Nature's Gift To Mankind. A must read!

CALCIUM – NATUTRE’S GIFT TO MANKIND

Calcium is one of the food sources, that nature has blessed mankind with and its highly valuable functions in the body, has compelled mankind to go into studying it and coming up with some information which will definitely make it more appreciated by the general populace.
Researches being conducted by nutritionists and dieticians all over the world have been revealing a lot of information about this all important food source. In this write up, an in-depth x-ray into this food source would be done. Calcium is believed to be found majorly in bones, other sources, include the followings:

Photo of the day...

A photojournalist being bundled out of the swearing in ceremony of Dr. Kayode Fayemi as Governor of Ekiti State

Lawlessness is not a funny matter in this country, but LOL o jare!

Brandy says she hasn't had sex in almost six years

In a recent interview,

Brandy admitted she hadn't been intimate with a man for six years.

"I haven't been with a man seriously and in love in six years. And, honestly, I tend to abstain if I'm not in a relationship," Brandy says.

Although it hasn't actually been a full six years, the singer says, "It's been a long time. We're talking years."

Brandy has tried getting back in the dating game, though. "I actually went on a blind date a couple months ago that was very interesting but nothing serious."

There was a time when Brandy had a thing for rapper Flo Rida. "I was very interested in him. I mean, how can you not be -- he's very attractive. But there was just something about us that didn't click."
I feel a little better. I thought I was the only weird woman in the world...:-)

Style Night 6 is Next Sunday

Our annual fashion show - Style Night, will take place next week Sunday 31st of Oct @ the poolside of Tribeca, Victoria Island. As usual it features designers, models, comedians, dancers and musicians.

If you'd like to brand the venue, or do sampling of your products - for a small price, then call this no - 08033595004 or send me an email - lindaikeji@gmail.com

End of the Earth Postponed - The Mayan Prophecy

Having already foreseen world war 1 and the 2006 Asian Tsunami, a few people took seriously the Mayan Prophecy that the world will end in 2012.

Well it's a good news/bad news situation for believers in the 2012 Mayan apocalypse. The good news is that the Mayan "Long Count" calendar may not end on Dec. 21, 2012 (and, by extension, the world may not end along with it). The bad news for prophecy believers? If the calendar doesn't end in December 2012, no one knows when it actually will - or if it has already.

Read more here

Paranormal Activity 2 out this weekend

Oh dear Lord, help me. The first one gave me nightmares. After watching it, I couldn't sleep alone anymore for a long while. And now another one? *cry*.
I'm crying because I know I'll def watch this second one...another series of nightmares begin!

Anyway, It's opening this Friday. And like before, the film's studio, Paramount Pictures, is releasing very little information about what's in this new movie. But a few little Easter eggs have surfaced that hint at the amped-up creepiness in this second installment.The original teaser trailer showed very little from the new movie other than the appearance of a shadowy figure in the doorway of a baby's nursery. But if you pause it and look closely, you'll spot a buried secret: the crib is empty, but you can see a reflection of the baby in the mirror.

Oh no, why another one? The first one was by far the scariest horror movie I've ever watched!
What did you think of the first movie?

Locks of Love ask Denrele to donate hair

Locks of Love, a non-profit charity based in the United States, which accepts donations of human hair and money, with the stated intention of making wigs for needy children who have lost their hair due to a medical condition in Canada and the USA, have asked our own Denrele to donate his hair. Others stars who have donated hair include Lloyd, Wyclef, Busta Rhymes to name a few...

Great stuff! You better donate that hair Denrele...it will grow back!

Tuesday 19 October 2010

Handless model becomes overnight celebrity after posing in bra for handicap awareness advert

Look me in the eyes....I said the eyes 

35 year old Belgian Model, Tanja Kiewitz posed in a lacy black bra for a part of a newspaper advertising campaign to raise awareness for handicap issues across France and Belgium  The advert read: Look me in the eyes....I said the eyes. 

The advert has been so successful that the charity has raised more than 4million pounds from an annual telethon and it has made Tanja an overnight celebrity in some parts of Europe.

Kalahari voucher contest - Week 4

Kalahari Nigeria is giving out 5 N5000 vouchers to readers of my blog who live in Nigeria. This is week 4. It's your turn to win!

How to enter:
*Go to www.kalahari.com.ng and register for a free account
*Visit my facebook page and let me know what you love most about kalahari in “kalahari voucher contest” discussion.

I will pick one winner randomly by the end of each week. The only way to enter is to follow these two steps. You only need to do this once to enter! Good luck!

Facts about Kalahari
-          It’s the Nigerian operation of kalahari.net, Africa’s largest online shop – a subsidiary of Media 24
-          There’s a wide range of music, DVDs, games, cameras, electronics, gifts and much more
-          Delivery straight to your door. We will deliver to any address in Nigeria, on time
-          A choice of easy payment options – pay instantly via Interswitch and electronic funds transfers or via bank deposits to bank branches around the country
-          Safe online shopping in Nigeria with a 14 day money back guarantee
New stuff on Kalahari...go check it out!

From New York’s Indiasho to Nigeria’s Betty Irabor: a galaxy of stars write for Y! magazine’s Freedom Issue!

-  Full list of who’s writing about who!

Y! berthed on the Nigerian magazine scene in July, promising to be the high priest of Nigerian youth culture, and if their independence edition Freedom Issue is anything to go buy, that’s a promise they are determined to keep!

For the cover of this 2nd edition, Y! has selected 50 of the most influential young Nigerians under 35, and - working with the model of Time magazine’s Most Influential 100 – this edition got sterling individuals to write shorts essay about these young leaders. It’s a stellar list!

Uzoma Okere yet to get her N100 million compensation

10 months after a Lagos High Court ordered Admiral Arogundade and the Nigerian Navy to pay N100m  as damages for assaulting Uzoma Okere, she's yet to see a dime.

"I have not been paid the compensation because the respondents filed an appeal against the court judgement, whicch is still under court process" Uzoma to Gbenga Shaba of Encomium mag.

Knowing the way things work in Naija, I doubt you will get paid N100m...but goodluck with the fight.

Okada man and KAI officials dig it out!

Officials of KAI (Kick Against Indiscipline) a Lagos State Environmental Task Force were seen fighting beating an Okada man for reason passers-by couldn't decipher. The incident happened in the Kiri Kiri area of Lagos State some days back and a witness took these photographers. It was only after the Okada man was stripped of his trousers that he started fighting back.

Lawlessness in this country is not a laughing matter but LOL o jare!

Darey Art Alade releases two new singles

Soul Muzik announced today, that Africa’s King of R&B Darey is releasing two brand new singles from his forthcoming album.

Darey, who suspended the release of his US album following the death of his label Chairman Dick Griffey (of SOLAR Records fame) has been busy working with his producer-collaborator Cobhams Asuquo on a new album – his third – planned for Nigerian and international release in a matter of months.

Princess Amayo wins ELOY 2010!

Exquisite Ladies of The Year Awards is an event driven to encourage, support and empower the African woman in her quest for grand success! ELOY also creates awareness for cervical cancer.

This year, Princess Amayo won outstandingly in her category of Best Make-Up Artist, 2010.

Felix Lebarty has 19 children with 7 women

Felix Lebarty in the 80's
Here's how High Society Magazine is reporting it...

25 years after fathering 19 children with 7 different women, out of wedlock, Felix Lebarty is finally married. He married Rosemary, the mother of his first four children in a private ceremony at the UK branch of Christ Embassy Church.

Apart from Rosemary his new wife and mother of four of his children, Felix also has three children with another  Mary. Three with Unoma, the lady that featured in his Ifeoma Video. Two children with a Cordelia. A son with Adesuwa. Two with Zainab and finally four girls with Helen.

Felix has since changed his philandering ways. He is now a born again musician who pastors his own church.

Holy Malam celebrates a decade on stage

Nigeria’s leading gospel comedian and pioneer of ‘gospel comedy’, Holly Mallam is set to celebrate a decade of dishing out some of the greatest jokes Nigeria has ever heard. Holly Mallam whose real names are Ajibola Adebayo stepped on the stand-up comedy scene ten years ago and has distinguished himself from his peers by sticking to clean and decent jokes.

J-Lo is only human after all

J-Lo in a green sequinned minidress that shows her dimpled thighs