Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 12/08/2013 - 12/15/2013

Saturday 14 December 2013

Photos: Mariah Carey in Lagos

Mariah Carey arrived in Lagos this afternoon to perform at Access Bank's Christmas Party and Send-off ceremony for the bank's Managing Director Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede. The event will hold tonight at Eko Hotel. This is Mariah's first time in Nigeria. See more photos after the cut...

Aviti International Limited introduces the Xmas in the Clouds Offer

With over 100 million Nigerians without a plan for Christmas, trail blazing media firm Aviti International Limited, with the approval of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), National Lottery Commission (NLRC) and in partnership with MTECH and the GSM providers are introducing the Xmas in the Clouds Offer!

All customers across the various GSM companies- MTN, Airtel, Etisalat and Globacom will soon have an opportunity to enjoy 6 whole days of bliss this Christmas by just spending N100. Continue..

That was fast! Khloe spotted out with rumoured new love, Matt Kemp

These Kardashian women don't waste time at all. Same day Khloe Kardashian filed for divorce from her husband of 4 years, she was spotted going to the gym with her rumoured new love, LA Dodgers baseball star Matt Kemp, who dated Rihanna in 2010.

Matt drove in his car and Khloé followed closely behind in her own car. They got to the gym and entered separately. The two even went to Jay Z's concert on Monday but sat separately not to attract gossip. According to reports they have been dating quietly for weeks.

The amusing thing about this hook up is that Khloe left her husband mainly for his drug use and cheating ways, while Rihanna left Matt in 2011 for his cheating ways. But he's a hot dude!

Patience Jonathan changes name to Mama Peace

The first Lady of Nigeria said yesterday at an event in Abuja that she no longer wants to be called Patience but Mama Peace...

Speaking during the inauguration of the Subsidy Reinvestment and Empowerment Programme Maternal and Child Health known as MAMA Project, Patience Jonathan explained why she now wants to be addressed as Mama Peace. The First Lady said:
"My name is no more Patience but now Mama Peace because I believe that without peace, there will be no more women, no more children and no more health sector. Without peace, the international community will be afraid to come and invest in our country. Peace is from the heart and not from the tongue or lips; not what you say but what is in you. We pray for genuine peace because peace is the key to our arriving at our desired destination as a nation.
“We are approaching the new year which is a year of peace, progress and so many good things to come. 2014 is going to be a year of no militancy and no Boko Haram because God will shower peace and make us take a U-turn from disaster.”
Amen. Una hear...? She's now to be addressed as First Lady Mama Peace...:-)

New Music from Waje: Merry Christmas (produced by Tee-Y Mix)

Waje teams up producer Tee-Y Mix for an emotive festive offering titled ‘Merry Christmas’. The soul diva laces her stellar vocal on the groovy beat to celebrate the season and the birth of Jesus. Enjoy..

Snow in Cairo, Egypt for the first time in over 100 years

For the first time in over 100 years, a winter storm has brought snow to a city known for its heat and sand, Cairo in Egypt.

According to local reports, it happened over night and unexpectedly on Wednesday Dec. 11th. An official of Egypt's Meteorological centre said it was first time in decades since the last snowfalls and it took residents of Cairo suburbs by surprise. But most are delighted because they have never seen snow before.They took to Twitter to post their amazement in words and shared pictures

The snowfall has forced the closure of the country's ports and several other businesses for a days now. Who wants snow in Nigeria?

'Anyone who says I bleach is stupid' - former Governor Alao-Akala

He doesn't bleach? That hand could have fooled me. In an interview with Saturday Punch, former governor of Oyo State Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala, denied bleaching his skin and said anyone who says he's bleaching is very stupid.

During the interview, a Punch reporter asked him, 'Is it part of your own fashion to bleach?' OMG! Can't believe he asked that question straight up...lol. Big ups to the reporter.

Alao-Akala replied...
Bleach? That is stupidity; you are asking a very stupid question, how can I bleach? You are very stupid to ask that question. What do you mean by that? What gave you that impression?
(He pulled up his clothe and singlet to show his fair complexion.)
Is this bleaching? Have you seen the cream that I use that makes me bleach or did you know me when I was black? So if you want to write that, put it there that I said you are very stupid to ask me that kind of question. Don’t ask that kind of question again. What you don’t know; you ask. You don’t even know my parents. Is my wife complaining or my children? I don’t know what gave anybody the impression that I bleach. You don’t know me; do you know what it takes to bleach?
Read the full interview on Punch

Jumia Nigeria announces 12 days of Christmas with free giveaways

JUMIA – Nigeria’s Leading Online Retailer is counting down to Christmas with 12 days of Christmas. Christmas is all about the gifts and JUMIA is giving customers ideas for what they can get their True Love from Day 1 to day 12 of Christmas.

To warm up Customers and fans for holidays JUMIA is bringing customers joy to win Free Gifts during the 12 days of Christmas give-away.

The JUMIA 12 days of Christmas which will run from December 12th to 23rd,which will also feature competitions on Jumia’s Facebook, Twitter, Blog and Google + Account Everyday. Continue...

New couple alert: DJ Cuppy Otedola and Asa Asika

DJ Cuppy is the UK-based DJ daughter of Nigerian billionaire businessman, Femi Otedola and Asa Asika is the popular artist manager and CEO of Stargaze, a Talent Management company. According to reliable sources in the know, the 21 year old stunning DJ, who is trying to break into the Nigerian music scene, and Davido's 23 year old former manager are currently dating. The relationship is fairly new and I hear they are really into each other.

They can go on Twitter and deny all they want but y'all know it's true! Happy loving you two! :-)

OMG! Beyonce gets explicit in new song, sings about giving Jay Z 'head'

Some people are saying this new album is Beyonce's best album yet because Queen Bey didn't hold back at all, it's quite raw and it's actually the number 1 album in 66 countries right now including the US, UK, Australia, France, Germany, Canada, Russia and Japan.

Anyway, there's a song in the album titled Partition (track 6) and in the song Beyonce sings explicitly about giving Jay Z 'head' (you all know what that means..hehe) and having him cum all over her.

Beyonce sings;
Driver, roll up the partition please, I don't want you to see 'Yonce on her knees. It took 45 minutes to get all dressed up. We ain't even gonna make it to this club.
Mascara running, red lipstick smudged, Oh he's so horney yeah he wants to f*ck
He popped all my buttons and he ripped my blouse and Monica Lewinski'd all on my gown
Go Beyonce! Lol. Still can't imagine her doing it tho!

Rukky Sanda shares sexy new pic

She looks nice!

More artiste jostle for space as 2013 Lagos countdown begins

Activities marking this year’s Lagos countdown took off effectively last Sunday with a commanding performance  by Terry G (afro hip pop act) at the bar beach, venue of the Lagos countdown.

As at the last count, over fifty artistes have been confirmed to perform at this year’s countdown. Some of them include Tu-Face Idibia, Davido, Omawunmi, Iyanya, Wande Coal, Timaya, J-Martins, Wizkid, Burna Boy, Iceprince,to mention but a few. Continue...

Fathia Balogun confirms being dragged to court by Saidi Balogun over use of name

There were reports recently that actor Saidi Balogun had dragged his ex- wife actress Fathia Balogun to court over the use of his surname, Balogun, insisting that she drops it. (Read HERE). Saidi denied the report in a statement he sent to the press (Find that HERE).

Fathia is now accusing him of lying to the press, because according to her, he indeed dragged her to court over the use of the name. Below is a statement released by her publicist, Seun Oloketuyi
“Our attention has been drawn to media reports where Saheed Balogun claims that he knows nothing about the media reports that he is in court with our client Fathia Balogun over his decision to ask his former wife to stop using his name.
“We will like to put the records straight. The case is in court and our lawyers are on it to ensure that our client retains the name. We won’t be saying much at this time but we believe that adults should be bold and mature enough to take responsibility for their actions and not do something and say something else.
"We won’t say anything further on this matter until judgement is given as this case resumes hearing.”

Wale threatens Complex staff after exlcusion from '50 Best Albums of 2013' list

Like Kanye, Wale does not take rejection lightly. He went ballistic on a Complex magazine staff after his recent album, The Gifted, was excluded from the magazine's list of the 50 Best Albums of 2013.

After the list was released, a very upset Wale called a staff of the magazine to complain. During the 3-minutes phone which took place on Wednesday Dec 11, which Complex magazine has since posted online, Wale said Complex had a personal bias against him, then started shouting and making threats.
Do you think y'all being a responsible publication by continuously to fuckin' like...do all that petty shit? At this point, you know it’s got to be personal. You telling me it’s not personal. It’s like a bold face lie. To be omitted from every type of list that y’all do or be at the bottom of it or every type of way that y’all can omit me, ya will. You mean to tell me Juicy J album better than mine?. Is that what you trying to tell me?”
Before the staff had a chance to respond, Wale started making threats.
“I swear to God I’ll come to that office and start knocking ni**as the fuck out,” he screamed. “Alright, I’ll see y’all tomorrow. How about that? Get the security ready.”
Listen to phone conversation after the cut...

Wyclef in Lagos for Harp Rhythm Unplugged, Dec 15th, Eko Hotel

Artists performing: P Square, Dbanj, 2face, Wizkid, Flavour, Davido, Banky W, Burna Boy, May D, Iyanya, Olamide, Ice Prince, Dr Sid, Omawumi, Waje, Sean Tizzle, KCEE, Tonye, Jared, DJ Jimmy Jatt. Comedy by: Basketmouth, I Go Dye, Gordons, Seyi Law, Buchi and Apororo.

Regular: 7,000 and VIP 30,000. Tickets sold by NaijaTicketShop.com and all NaijaTicketshop outlets in Eko Hotel, Silverbird Cinemas and Ozone Cinemas. For Table Bookings call : 08165025419.

Moyin Arowoshola, winner of Elite Look 2012 joins Isis Models

If you're not in or interested in the fashion/modeling scene in Nigeria, this piece of news won't interest you but it's one of the most talked about thing in the modeling industry here.

Let me break it down so you will understand why. It's like this, Agency A and Agency B are the two biggest Agencies in a country, then the winner of a competition organized by Agency A leaves the agency to join it's biggest rival, Agency B. That's scandalous, abi? Lol

18 year old Moyin Arowoshola, the winner of Elite Look 2012, organized by Beth Models Agency owned by Elohor Aisien has left the agency to join Isis Models owned by Mrs Okorodudu, who is also the organizer of a similar model context, Nigeria's Next Super Model.

Don't know why Moyin made the switch but good luck to her....

Friday 13 December 2013

And she's done it! Khloe Kardashian files for divorce from Lamar

After months of 'will she?' 'won't she?', Khloe Kardashian has finally filed for divorce from husband of four years, Lamar Odom. She also filed court documents to restore her name, TMZ reports.
In the legal docs, filed by disso-queen Laura Wasser, Khloe cites "irreconcilable differences."
And Khloe is asking the judge to take Odom out of her name, so she is once again simply Khloe Kardashian ... eliminating Odom from her life in every way.
And, Khloe is not asking for spousal support and wants the judge to reject any bid by Lamar for the same, TMZ reports.
Remember their fragrance Unbreakable by Khloe and Lamar? Guess they are breakable after all. Sad to see these two end their marriage. Khloe is rumored to be secretly dating Rihanna's ex, Matt Kemp

Thinking of a hassel free bus trip this festive period, think oya.com.ng

You can book and plan your Christmas trip with  Oya.com.ng, Nigeria's Largest Online Bus ticketing service by  simply visiting www.oya.com.ng or call 070 0400 0000 for a bus ticket to your desired destination this festive period.

Law students going Home will also enjoy a lovely package from the services. Hurry now call and make your reservation by visiting www.oya.com.ng/law_school or call the help line,070 0400 0000.

Ghen ghen! Premium Times battles Punch over Obasanjo's letter

Two days ago you guys read the 18-page stinker Obasanjo wrote to President Jonathan (In case you missed it, enjoy). Well, here's the thing, online news site Premium Times published the letter first and claimed to have exclusive rights to it. They even watermarked each page of the letter. Punch and other media houses later wrote their own reports and published unwatermarked version of the letter

Premium Times is now accusing Punch and all the other media houses of plagiarism, claiming they stole their exclusive and refused to acknowledge them.

The Editor-in Chief of the Premium Times, Dapo Olorunyomi, said
“Majority of the papers published the complete text of the letter which was first revealed to the world by this newspaper, and made available via our website. There were also cases of shameless lifting of the original story published by this medium. I am weirdly tickled at the absence of humility in competitors who sought to ignore accepting that they got the material from us and ended up failing to offer their readers the source of the material altogether.”
Punch has reacted to the allegations, insisting Premium Times was not the source of their report. See their statement after the cut...

North Korean leader, Kim Jong-un, executes his own uncle

Months after executing his ex-girlfriend, North Korean 30 year old leader Kim Jong-un, has once again killed someone close to him, his own uncle.

According to Korean Central News Agency, Kim Jong-un executed, Jang Song Thaek, (pictured above being led away yesterday) for allegedly 'trying to overthrow the government'."

Jang Song Thaek had been the leader's adviser and had until recently been regarded as North Korea's second most powerful person after Kim Jong-un.

The 'traitor' was found guilty of treason by a military tribunal and was sentenced to death. He was executed immediately after the hearing.

Jang was removed from his government position at a Ruling Workers' Party politburo meeting on Sunday, he was arrested shortly after that.

Jang was married to Kim's aunt, and had served as vice chairman of the country's top military body for years. Continue to see photos...

Le Grand Marche Goes To Copa Lagos; Fun, Fashion and Football

This December, Lagos’ slice of Portobello is bringing you a bumper edition at the biggest beach soccer event in Africa!

With last year’s footfall of over 3000, Vendors can expect 1000s of shoppers, new customers, music and fun in the sun at Le Grand Marche at Copa Lagos! Our super-special AC’d LPM tent situated close to the action will ensure both vendors and shoppers get in on the fun! Continue...

BBA The Chase winner Dillish shows off hot bikini bod

She's gorgeous!

Police clueless about pepper sellers who were tortured in Ejigbo

Despite the Chairman of Ejigbo Local Council Area, Kehinde Bamigbetan, revealing that the incident happened in the central market, Iyana Ejigbo, Ejigbo in February 2013, and was carried out by the vigilante protecting the market, the Nigerian police say they have no clue yet on the location or the gang that carried out the torture of the two women.

"There is no update what-so-ever on the identities of either the victims or the culprits. We only saw the video on the internet and no can tell exactly where it happened. You see, the setting does not really look like a marketplace. It looks like a house. It is a really wicked act, and you know, the victims also did not report to the police. I saw how they were putting sticks in her private parts in the video. It is very wicked." Lagos Police PRO Ngozi Braide said after contacting the DPO at Ejigbo for an update on the case
Ngozi Braide has asked members of the public with any information regarding the incident to contact the police in order to assist with their investigation.

Unilever Nigeria Plc re-launches its Knorr Beef and Chicken cubes

Knorr Cubes, the popular seasoning made by Unilever Nigeria recently staged an event to announce the re-launch of its cube seasoning. Tagged, “Come Taste the Knorr Difference”, the event hosted consumers from different specters of the society, to an evening of comedy, entertainment, and great food!  

The launch event was hosted by the comedy duo of Helen Paul and Ajebutter, and Songstress Omawunmi gave guests a good time with an electrifying performance. Continue..

Khloe Kardashian to file for divorce from Lamar today, TMZ reports

According to a report by TMZ, Khloe Kardashian's four year marriage to Lamar Odom is over as she's set to file for divorce today.

From TMZ
Sources tell us, Khloe will be citing irreconcilable differences in her legal docs. The split should be pretty cut and dry -- an ironclad prenup which kept all their assets separate ... and no kids.
As we reported, Lamar's bizarre freestyle rap video -- in which he brags about cheating on Khloe -- was the last straw in their crumbling relationship.  Immediately after TMZ posted the video last month, Khloe stopped wearing her wedding ring.

Bode George no longer ex-convict - Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Nigeria today quashed all charges of corruption earlier leveled against PDP Chieftain and close pal of former president Olusegun Obasanjo, Chief Bode George. The Supreme Court Judges headed by Justice Afolabi Fabiyi while passing their verdict said the charges of contract splitting brought against Mr Bode George by the EFCC was unknown to the law at the time he was convicted of the crime.

A Lagos high court judge, Justice Joseph Olubunmi Oyewole on Oct 2009 convicted Chief Bode George and 5 others for corruption and diversion of funds totalling N84billion when they served on  the board of the Nigerian Ports Authority, NPA. He was sentenced to 2 years imprisonment and was released Feb 26 2011. So now, he's no longer an ex-convict.

Experience Invivo This Christmas

Enjoy unbelievable wholesale and retail prices on beauty and healthcare products at Invivo, Nigeria’s no 1 retailer of Health and Beauty Products. Feel the experience on www.invivobeauty.com

You can order online www.invivobeauty.com  and pay online or on delivery. Ordering on our website is easy, secure and fast. Orders are dispatched daily from our distribution centre in Lagos. 24 hours delivery in Lagos. You can also visit the store at 77-79 Eric Moore Road, Surulere Lagos or Call Toll Free 0800 7000 000. Continue...

Will and Jada Smith headed for divorce?

According to a report by National Enquirer, friends of the A-list couple fear they won't make it through the holidays. Well, it's according to National Enquirer, so there's probably no cause for alarm.

From The National Enquirer
He’s been caught with a hot young blonde, she’s been seen without her wedding ring – and now friends fear this will be Will and Jada’s last Christmas together!
“Will and Jada are trying to put on a good front in public, but behind the scenes, they’re having major troubles,” said a source close to the couple, whose 16th wedding anniversary is Dec. 31.
“If this marriage lasts beyond the holidays, it will be a miracle.”

Check out Mercy Johnson Okojie's stunning new photos

You go, mama! She looks great in these photos...see more pics after the cut...

Photos: Iyanya acquires brand new 2013 Range Rover Sports

Heard its a gift from all the partners at Made Men Music Group to their biggest artist for a good year. The car is worth N22m to N25million in Nigeria. I know the price because I considered buying it for myself a few months ago but my father told me to go and find a husband first. Lol. Husband biko show up so that I can drive a Range in peace...Hahaha. More photos after the cut...

Over N5m to be won in 12 days Of Christmas Giveaways on Konga

One of the best things we all look forward to this Christmas season are the gifts we get from friends, family and colleagues, and Nigeria’s Largest Online Mall, Konga.com is rewarding friends and loyal customers in a 12 days of Christmas giveaways
O
For 12 days this December, from Dec 12 to Dec 23,2013, Konga will be giving loyal customers who have shopped in the last 90 days the opportunity to participate in a treasure hunt and win prizes of over 2 million naira. Continue...

Photos: Head of Trailer Assn. in Bariga murdered in broad day light

According a LIB reader who witnessed the incident which occurred on Tuesday Dec.10th around the Yaba area of Lagos, a car that had been parked on the road for quite a while, cornered a trailer as it approached around 4pm on Tuesday. Two hefty men then jumped out of the car and dragged down the driver of the trailer who was wearing a blue suit and began stabbing him in broad day light.

According to eye witnesses, one man concentrated on his head and the other on his tummy, while people watched in horror unable to help the victim. They stabbed him for several minutes while a third man said to be the driver of the car was heard shouting 'kill him', 'kill him' in Yoruba.

The incident which lasted a few minutes caused serious traffic and panic as several motorist, who weren't sure of what was going on, abandoned their vehicles and took to their heels.

After the men ensured that their victim was dead, they got into their car and drove off. A few minutes later, a huge crowd gathered where the victim lay dead where it was later learned that the dead man was the head of the Tipper 'Trailer' association in the Bariga area of Lagos and was just coming back from court where he'd been favoured in a land dispute.

His family members arrived the scene several minutes later, and one member was heard screaming "Can you see Kayode has killed my brother, Can you see". His corpse was removed by the police.

Photos were taken a few minutes after the murder took place. Find them after the cut...*viewer discretion highly advised*

Say what, Ebuka?

Did he write that himself or he quoted someone else? That's absurd!

Xovar lounge Host Olawale

This friday, Xovar lounge host Olawale, the current winner of the MTN project fame reality show. Olawale will perform classics from his yet to be released album.

Xovar lounge, an up scale executive lounge in lekki will play host to major artists, leaders of the new school music movement every Friday in December. Fans will also have access to sign autographs and take snap shots with the man called "Mmall but Mighty" . Continue...

Black Christmas as over 200 bankers lose Job..

Over 200 staff of Enterprise Bank and Keystone Bank have lost their jobs due to the rationalization exercise that was recently carried out by both banks. On the 2nd of December Enterprise bank rolled out a list comprising of a 150 staff members that were affected by the rationalization excersie which according to the bank's management was done in order to achieve effective service. Worst hit by the retrenchment exercise are the Lagos Island branches of the bank. Spokesman for the bank, Olusola Longe-Okenimkpe says the rationalization exercise was carried out to identify resource optimization.

Keystone bank in November also carried out their own rationalization excercise which saw 52 Senior staff members losing their jobs.

Photos from RMD's son's traditional wedding

RMD's 30 year old son Oghenekome Mofe Damijo married his longtime girlfriend, Eniola Abiodun, in a traditional wedding ceremony which held yesterday Thursday Dec. 12th at the bride's family home in Ikeja. Their white wedding will hold tomorrow in Lagos. See more photos after the cut...

Harp Rhythm Unplugged, December 15th; hosts - Wyclef & Bovi

Artists performing: P Square, Dbanj, 2face, Wizkid, Flavour, Davido, Banky W, Burna Boy, May D, Iyanya, Olamide, Ice Prince, Dr Sid, Omawumi, Waje, Sean Tizzle, KCEE, Tonye, Jared, DJ Jimmy Jatt. Comedy by: Basketmouth, I Go Dye, Gordons, Seyi Law, Buchi and Apororo.

Regular: 7,000 and VIP 30,000. Tickets sold by NaijaTicketShop.com and all NaijaTicketshop outlets in Eko Hotel, Silverbird Cinemas and Ozone Cinemas. For Table Bookings call : 08165025419.

Beyonce features author Chimamanda Adichie in her new album

Queen Bey surprised her fans by secretly dropping a new album on iTunes last night December 12th. The self titled album is Beyonce's 5th solo album and features 31 tracks, 14 of which are new songs.

In the new album, Beyonce collaborated with Jay Z, Drake, Justin Timberlake, Kelly Rowland....and featured our very Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie on a track titled Flawless. Beyonce put a portion of the award winning author's speech about feminism and roles women play in the society in the song. Pop meets Literature! Amazing stuff.

Meanwhile Beyonce has filmed 17 new music videos, one of which she released on Facebook last night. You have to be really big to release an album without any promos or prior warning to fans.

Photos: OJB, wife at Dele Momodu's home in Ghana

OJB is currently in Ghana to attend the Ovation Red Carol and Awards which will hold tomorrow at the State House Banquet Hall. He's looking healthy again. Another pic after the cut...