Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/03/2011 - 07/10/2011

Saturday 9 July 2011

Unilag Graduate Found Dead After Phone Call

Anat Malik
A Graduate of Unilag and a former IT Staff of Promasidor Nigeria Ltd; Anat Malik was found dead on Thursday July 7 after receiving a call from an unknown person in the late hours of Tuesday July 5.

Anat Malik was said to have received a call around 7:30pm on Tuesday which led to her exit from the house that night. Anat did not return home that night, leaving her relatives worried about her whereabouts.
In the search to find her, Anat was found dead on Thursday morning along Mangoro bus-stop with her body mutilated.

Described as very friendly, easy going and social, her death has remained a mystery and a shock to many as relatives and friends still wonder what could have happened.

Source

Beat 99.9FM's Olisa Adibua Interviews Amber Rose

After all the drama surrounding Amber Rose's affiliation with the Music Meets Runway event which will be taking place today Saturday 9th July 2011 in Lagos, Nigeria; Olisa Adibua of the Beat 99.9FM got an exclusive interview with the celebrity model. Listen....

Friday 8 July 2011

Fundraiser dinner for Kechi Okwuchi: the Sosoliso plane crash survivor

Kechi Okwuchi before after the crash

In 2005, Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja Nigeria, lost 60 students in the Sosoliso flight crash. In total, 109 lives were lost in the crash. Kechi Okwuchi was the only student and one of two people to survive the crash. She's since then undergone 75 surgeries. But she still needs help. She is scheduled to begin facial reconstructive surgeries in Boston this summer.

In order to help her raise money for the surgeries, a Fundraiser dinner is being organized for Kechi. Continue to read more about this miracle girl...

Agbani Darego Covers Mania Magazine

Mania Magazine, The special travel issue which features Agbani Darego, is out!

This issue is 212 (Two Hundred and Twelve) pages of holiday fashion, travel destinations, trend and beauty reports, guides on packing right and packing light, makeup to travel with, ageing antidotes, movies and music reviews, events and many more for  =N= 1000 only. There is also a 20% discount on all subscriptions.

A special autograph session with Agbani Darego holds on the 17th of July, 2011 from 3-6pm at the Silverbird Lifestyle Bookstore, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Single ladies discriminated against by hotels in Nigeria

Someone sent me an email asking me to discuss this here. Apparently in quite a number of hotels in Nigeria, single girls are denied service. You can't just walk in, sit at the bar and order a drink. You will be turned down and probably turned out. There seems to be an internal policy that women must be accompanied by men to be served at its bar, restaurant or just sitting at the hotel lobby. In fact in some hotels, they won't let a single girl through the lobby without male companion except she's able to convince staff she's a guest of someone staying at the hotel. Half the time, it's quite embarrassing for the women.

The thing is, most of these hotels believe that single ladies come to their hotel to hustle men. Why else would you chose a hotel's bar, restaurant, or lobby to drink, eat or relax, they always say.

Some lady who was discriminated against is thinking of taking legal action against a hotel. Is she right to do this? I'm thinking why bother, really? But what's up with hotels not letting unaccompanied ladies into their premises? Do they have a point?

Please share your thoughts on this.

Trace Urban coming to Nigeria

Leading international Music TV channel, Trace Urban, is coming to Nigeria, and that's according to the Vice President of Trace TV in Africa, Mr, Sam Onyemelukwe.

The music station which was launched in 2003 is the most popular music video channel in Sub-Saharan Africa, with presence in over 150 countries on various cable and satellite pay television platforms.

KFC, Shoprite, Walmart, now Trace TV. Seems like Nigeria is a really great place to invest. Expect Trace TV in Nigeria in the near future.

Be the judge at the Malta Guinness Street Dance IV

Six weeks of Top of the World street dance moves at the season IV of Malta Guinness Street Dance have just ended. If you remember, a total of eight (8) street dance crews were selected by the judges from the nationwide auditions held in various regions across the country. They were Fly High, Sum’ry Crew (Abuja) Supreme Task, Shadows (Enugu) Genesis Plus, Soulja Guyz (Benin) Hephzibah (Lagos), and Dynasty (Lagos).  Each crew partook in series of recreational activities and choreography sessions that aided in the delivery of their dance routines.

Flavour N'abania's Record Company Ejects Him From 7 Bedroom Duplex

Following the recent fall out between Flavour and his Bad Beats record label, (Click here if you missed it), the label has ejected the crooner from the posh 7 bedroom duplex they rented in his name somewhere in Magodo, Lagos. Flavour has since moved to a temporary place in Festac.

Meanwhile, a spokesperson for the label told reporters that were not done with Flavour: "This is just the beginning of the legal battle. We are in a civil society and have laws governing every facet. When people disregard contracts, the legal system is there to restore justice and we are fully prepared to seek a redress in the court of law” he said.

Flavour and Bad Beats records signed a 3 years 2 album deal on the 12th of January 2011, and the label claims to have spent close to N10 million on him. They claim they bought him a posh car, fully furnished apartment, paid for two very expensive videos and lots more. And so, they are not planning to let him go just like that...!

New Video: Dr Sid ft Ikechukwu, M.I & eLDee - Bamijo

Wow, the best rappers in African are in Naija.

Thursday 7 July 2011

Phone-Hacking Scandal: It's Over For UK's News of The World

Britain's biggest-selling Sunday newspaper, The News Of The World, which is 168 years old, will close after a final edition this Sunday, 10th July, after years worth of phone hacking scandals finally reached melting point at the start of the week. Over 200 people will loose their jobs.

The dramatic announcement came from Chief Exec James Murdoch this afternoon after two days of damaging revelations for the newspaper and a growing advertiser boycott after claims that the paper hacked the phones of murder victims, dead soldiers and 7/7 families.

Read more

Introducing: Walko Chilko, Nigeria's Michael Jackson

Just in case you've never heard of him or seen a pic of him, this is Michael Eze, unpopularly known as Nigeria's Michael Jackson...:-)
Here's how he introduces himself...unedited!
The death of Michael Jackson made the pop star walko chilko an instant celebrity. i became the biggest news on print media for been the only Michael Jackson look alike in the world. 48news papers and magazines around the world in one year head line in japan and London . i was escorted by PMAN to welcome mallon Jackson at the airport on his arrival to Nigeria, mallon promised to show me michaels grave in los Angelse and the white paid money to have a photo shot with me. now am the worlds biggest image . for more info or spons, advert, you can call on this number 2347040334154 thanks my number2348055969614
Oh dear!

Actors Chidi Mokeme, Saint Obi become columnists for new softsell magazine, Yes International!

Chidi's column is called 'The Chidi Mokeme Column', while St's is called 'Stark Naked' and they are both fantastic writers. They kinda share their life experiences and give advice on...everything!

The Exquisite Fashion Party; Partying against cancer.

More artists will be performing at the Exquisite Fashion Party organized by Exquisite Magazine on the 24th of July at the Four Points by Sheraton Hotel in VI. Lagos. They include Miss Kelekele Tiwa Savage, Maye Hunta (Ekaete belle), Lace, and Goldie. 

An event held to create more awareness for Cervical Cancer and also provide free screening for women and men. It is tagged Partying Against Cancer.

Drummer girl Ara's 2yr old marriage ends

Prolific singer and African leading female talking drummer, Ara and her husband of just two years, Prince Nurudeen Olalekan Saliu have ended their marriage. The ex-couple married 4 June 2009 in Lagos and have a son together.

She wrote on her facebook page Tuesday July 5, 2011
When I am down, I look for someone to show love n care to, someone I probably would never see again. I dont know how I survived d last 7months people. Through my pain, the abuse, tears, the betrayal...I thank all those I have been of help to, in heeding ur calls, my broken heart is mending. I thank those who have helped me help others, God will continually lift you all...I thank God for making me His instrument. I thank God for my son!
The abuse? What's going on with marriages these days? Read her official statement after the cut...

Charly Boy Donates Blood...

Charly Boy pictured donating blood during the 2011 National Blood Donor's day that took place last month. The Area Father is an ambassador and donor for the National Blood Transfusion Service.

The NET Newspaper Front Cover (Issue 25)

Get a copy of the latest edition of NET Newspapers and enjoy the best entertainment news on the surface of the earth. Ask your vendor for a copy of Nigerian Entertainment Today (NET).
No one delivers entertainment news like we do. That's why we're number 1! You can also visit us on www.thenetng.com. For subscription enquiries please call segun or peter on 018102840.

New Video: Zoé Chinaka - Your Love

Zoé Chinaka was a finalist at the 2010 Naija Sings Music Reality show. Enjoy her new video...

OMG! Check out the new Aki and Paw Paw

Who did this? Some people have yawered I'm telling you...lol.

Julius Agwu Presents: Crack Ya Ribs 2011

President Jonathan Appoints 18 Aides

The aides according to a release obtained by the The Will are...

1. Mike A. Oghiadomhe, CFR, Chief of Staff to the President
2. Eng. Mohammed Kachalla Abubakar, mni, Deputy Chief of Staff to the President
3. Amb. Hassan Tukur, Principal Secretary to the President
4. Prof. Abubakar Sambo, Special Adviser to the President on Energy
5. Mrs. Sarah Akuben Pane, Special Adviser to the President on Social Development
6. Dr. Tunji Olagunju, Special Adviser to the President on NEPAD
7. Mrs. Sarah Jibril, Special Adviser to the President on Ethics and Values

New Video: Enye - Your Girl

ENYE pronounced (N- yeh) is a Nigerian singer based in the US. Enjoy her new video...

Wednesday 6 July 2011

The very sexy Mr Okoye in new photo shoot

I saw an interview on Sound City yesterday (Munachi Abii was the interviewer) where he said he was looking forward to having more kids...but marriage was of no interest to him. He said could live like the late great Fela. Whatever that means, Peter! Anyways, looking dapper as always!

Woman stabs husband; rips his bowel open

A 30-year-old mother of three, identified as Pwaneno, has been arrested for stabbing her 35-year-old husband in the stomach, ripping his bowels open. Eyewitnesses say they saw the man's intestines gush out as a result of the deep stab. The incident happened in Jimeta-Yola, Adamawa State. The woman allegedly stabbed her husband after finding out he was planning to take another wife.

Mr Dominic Daniel Shalda (pictured above) is receiving treatment at the Federal Medical Centre (FMC), Yola, while his wife is cooling her heels at the police station.

What's with all this stabbing stabbing stories. If you are tired of being married, why not walk away, abi is it by force?

More Violence in Maiduguri

A heavy explosion followed by bursts of sporadic gunfire hit the town of Maiduguri around 7am this morning Wednesday July 6. There were a number of casualties. And you guessed right, Boko Haram again!

It now seems there are more bomb blasts and killings in Northern Nigeria than in Afghanistan; what the hell is this?

Jim Iyke spotted at the airport with his mum

Awwwww, see him carrying his mum's bag. Y'all know what they say about men who are extra good to their mothers...:-)

Uche Jumbo's Damage Movie Trailer

The movie will premiere July 31 at Silverbird Galleria, Lagos

Woman Tries to Sneak Boyfriend Out of Jail... In a Suitcase!

A 19yr old lady, Maria del Mar Arjona was caught trying to sneak her boyfriend out of a Mexican prison in a suitcase following a conjugal visit. 

A spokesman for police in the Caribbean state of Quintana Roo says staff at the prison in Chetumal noticed that the woman seemed nervous and was pulling a black wheeled suitcase that looked bulky. When prison guards checked the bag, they found Juan Ramirez Tijerina, who is serving a 20-year sentence for a 2007 conviction for illegal weapons possession, curled up inside the bag in a fetal position. Arjona was arrested and charges are pending. - Yahoo News

Eric Arubayi set to debut new album

All is set for the release of Idols’ West Africa fame Eric’s debut album. Eric, whose album drops on the 14th of July, 2011 has promised fans and all lovers of good music to expect music they will always love to listen to.

The album, which is titled ‘ERIC REDEFINED’, is influenced by love, life & society. The album is also inspired by the need to show music lovers that my music is beyond my personality.

"I have tried to show people that my music is more important than all of these and I worked to get it right"

Paris Hilton already dating again?

Just two weeks after officially splitting from former boyfriend, Cy Waits, Paris Hilton is dating again. Her new man is Hangover director Todd Phillips, 40. They've been dating for about a week now.

My question is, don't you need time to rest...you know...down there...before working it again? Doesn't she need time to 'air out'? Take a break woman, wth? lol

Here's a comment someone made about her new relationship
I'm glad she's dating a director. Hopefully her next sex tape will have better lighting.
LMAO! I haf die of lafta!

Princess Abisola Tejuosho weds longtime love, Lekan Akanbi

On their wedding day July 2
One of the daughters of HRH, Oba Adedapo Tejuosho, Princess Abisola Tejuosho got married to her longtime love, Olalekan Akanbi, on Saturday July 2nd at the cathedral of St. James African Church, Abeokuta, Ogun State. Wishing them a happy married life.

Video: Beyonce - Year of 4

Richard Mofe-Damijo turns 50 today

Happy birthday to one of Nigeria's finest actor, Richard Mofe Damijo, as he turns 50years old today. Wishing him many fruitful and happy years ahead!

Tuesday 5 July 2011

Lagos Police Parades The Man Who Stabbed His Wife To Death

The Lagos State Police Command this morning paraded Akolade Arowolo, the man who stabbed his wife to death before journalists at the state Police Command Headquarters in Ikeja. Briefing the press, the State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Samuel Jinadu said the case is currently being investigated by the state CID, Panti, Yaba, Lagos, while the autopsy report on the late Titilayo was being awaited.

In the meantime, Jinadu said that Akolade will be referred to a psychiatric hospital where he will undergo a test to ascertain his state of mind.

I'm looking at him and I can't wrap my head around what he did. How could he keep stabbing and stabbing and then start cutting? He can't be sane!

Kanu Nwankwo spends over N2billion on choice properties in Lekki

Not only was he a footballer, he was also a business man who invested heavily in real estate. Since retiring from the game that brought him fame and fortune, the former Super Eagles skipper is taking his property business to the next level. People very close to him say he just acquired eight buildings at Stillwaters Estate, Lekki, phase 1, Lagos. The one storey building estate painted butter colour cost about N300million each. He bought eight, do the maths...:-)

Hairstylist Bobby Eke back on his feet

After suffering partial stroke in 2009 at age 42, renowned hair stylist and owner of popular Lagos based hair salon, Bobby's Signature, Bobby Eke, is back on his feet and working at his salons again. God is great!

"Millenium Temple Is Not Suffering From Crash Crunch" - Paul Adefarasin

Pastor Paul Adefarasin's June 2011 opening date of his N1.5billion cathedral called Millennium Temple was not feasible and people are alleging that church members stopped donating. The pastor says the delay has nothing to with money. He tells Encomium's Femi Oyewale
"We never said the dedication date for the cathedral would be in June 2011. The project is a huge one with many complexities. It's an auditorium of its time, thus it would take time because many of the technological gadgets for the cathedral are quite sophisticated. We never lacked the resource for the building project. The needs have always been supplied. It is completely paid for and it's debt free. We are looking at the first quarter of next year, 2012.

Another woman files attempted rape complaint against Strauss-Kahn in France

A French writer filed a criminal complaint today Tuesday June 5 against embattled former IMF chief Dominique Strauss-Kahn, alleging attempted rape, according to her attorney David Koubbi.

Tristane Banon, 32, filed the new claim, just as a separate New York case against the French financier appeared to be on shaky ground.

Agbani Darego is the new face of Arik Air

The airline company named the ex-Miss World and model as its brand ambassador at a press conference held in Lagos yesterday. Congrats babe!

The Lovely Ms Henshaw Covers Complete Fashion Magazine

Beautiful!

Even Funke Akindele is planking...lol

The comic actress planking on top of a bag of rice! Chai! lol.

"I didn't kill my wife, she stabbed herself to death" - Kolade Arowolo

Mr. Kolade Arowolo, who was suspected to have killed his wife, Titilayo, a banker with Skye Bank, Marina Branch, on Monday denied stabbing and killing the deceased.

He said contrary to public opinion, the deceased stabbed herself to death. The suspect was said to have killed his 29-year-old wife in cold blood at their No. 8 Akindehinde Street, Isolo, a suburb of Lagos, on Friday, June 24.
According to him, he had been having serious issues with the deceased over their marriage before that fateful day that she ended up killing herself, after stabbing him too.

Arrested Boko Haram members will not be prosecuted.

An explosion killed at least five people and injured 10 more on Sunday July 3 at a bar near a police barracks in Maiduguri, the latest attack by radical Islamist sect Boko Haram.

Meanwhile, the State Security Service (SSS) said on Monday that it had arrested over 100 suspected members of the Boko Haram sect but they would not be prosecuted, in line with President Goodluck Jonathan’s decision to adopt a political solution to the problem.

Thoughts?

Islamic Banking is Soludo's Idea" - Sanusi Lamido

“Islamic banking proposal began from the period of former CBN Governor Charles Soludo, and all the process and procedures for its formation were arranged before my coming as the Governor of the CBN. I inherited the idea. A committee on the formation of Islamic bank was appointed and this was led by a Deputy Governor of the CBN Mr. Tunde Lemo. The committee was fully satisfied with the proposal and formation. So this is not my idea, I met it on ground.” – Sanusi Lamido, CBN Governor.

Usher Says He's Kissed Rihanna

A few months ago rumors were flying that Usher and Rihanna had hooked up during the Coachella Music Festival. Now Usher gives confirmation, sort of...

Usher tells Fabulous
"Companionship is important - every man should have a woman to make him better. I'm dating at the moment - not anyone in particular, but I have a few people I'm interested in.
"Rihanna is beautiful. But she's not necessarily on my hit list - she's like my sister right now, or cousin. Though we have kissed."
Don't kiss and tell man, what the heck is wrong with you? lol