Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/14/2013 - 07/21/2013

Saturday 20 July 2013

18year old Anna Banner crowned Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria 2013

18 year old Anna Ebiere Banner, representing Bayelsa State, beat 31 other contestants to emerge the 2013 Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria queen. The pageant took place in Bayelsa state this evening. Congrats to her!

Sign the petition!

I just signed the petition "United Nations: Stop The Nigerian Senate From Making Under-Age Marriage The Law!" on Change.org.

It's important. Will you sign it too? Sign HERE

Ebube Nwagbo's outfit to House of Gold premiere last night

Ebube Nwagbo wore this hot pink body hugging dress to the premiere of Yvonne Nelson's House of Gold' movie at Silverbird Cinemas last night. Hot or hot?

Forbes' List Of Hollywood's Highest Paid Actors of 2013

Forbes, a few days ago, released their annual 'Highest Paid Hollywood Actors' list and Iron Man actor Robert Downey topped the list. See what the top 10 actors earned between June 2012 & June 2013..

1. Robert Downey Jr - $75million (Iron Man)
2. Channing Tatun - $60million (Magic Mike, White House Down)
3. Hugh Jackman - $55million (Les Miserables, X-Men)
4. Mark Wahlberg - $52 million (Ted)
5.  Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson - $42million (Fast & Furious)
6. Leonardo DiCaprio - $39million (Great Gatsby)
7. Adam Sandler - $37million (Hotel Transylvania)
8. Tom Cruise - $35million (Jack Reacher)
9. Denzel Washington - $33 (Flight)
10. Liam Neeson - $32million (Taken 2, The Grey)

Toolz rocks the traditional attire at Vanessa Amadi's wedding

The OAP looking very stylish at Vanessa's traditional wedding today. That body can pull off any outfit!

Photos: PR consultant Vanessa Amadi weds in Enugu

Top UK based PR consultant, Vanessa Amadi, got married traditionally today in Enugu. Congrats to her!

Photos: Omotola and KCee stylishly land in Bayelsa for MBGN 2013

The screen diva and the Limpopo master touched down in Bayelsa last night for the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria pageant which holds tonight in the state. Omotola will serve as a judge at the pageant while KCee is set to perform.

Get a call from Toke Makinwa, Darey Art Alade, Dan Foster & Osas

Lipton Nigeria is giving every one the opportunity to get calls from their favorite Celebs in the Lipton Wake-up call campaign. All you need to do is to simply text "Wake up, Your name, age, gender, address and name of favorite celeb" to 20822 and you will start to receive interesting and inspiring calls from your favorite celebs.

That is not all, you also stand a chance to win a breakfast date with Toke , Osas , Darey and Dan Foster. For more information visit www.facebook.com/liptonNigeria
Wake-up to the rich uplifting taste of Lipton.

Photos from Matse Uwatse and Ekemelu Nnoli's wedding

Nigerian Info OAP, Matse Uwatse wed her beau, Ekemelu Bertram Nnoli, last Saturday July 13th. It was a classy event MC'ed by Freeze and Kaylah of Cool Fm at Jade's Palace Chinese Restaurant, VI.

Onyeka Onwenu did a rendition of her song "You and I" for the couple. DJ Xclusive, Alibaba, Mannie, Chuks Ene and many others blessed the event with their presence. More photos after the cut.

Funke Akindele reverts to maiden, removes Oloyede from her social media accounts

Following an official statement released a few hours ago by Funke Akindele's camp confirming the end of her one year marriage, the star actress has removed her estranged husband's name, Oloyede, from all her social media accounts.

She's also spoken for the first time about the end of her marriage. She told Stella Dimoko Korkus:
First of all let me clarify that I have not replied any SMS or spoken to anyone on this development before now and neither have I threatened to sue anyone. I do not know who sent out that SMS denying that my marriage is over. That was what necessitated me sending out a press release so as not to confuse the public, especially my fans whom I'm so passionate about.
Yes my marriage has crashed. Let the people who are laughing at me continue laughing.  My job afterall is to make people laugh. Let those who are without sins or mistake cast the first stone. Let them continue judging me. God is the overall judge. He is the one I look up to.

Video and Photos: Kanye West assaults paparazzi at LAX

Kanye was on his way out of the airport when he went ballistic, attacking a member of the paparazzi at LAX...and TMZ caught it on tape...see the video after the cut...

The list of the Senators who voted marriage for underage girls

Support the #ChildNotBride movement.

Below is the list of the Nigeria Senators who voted for underage marriage in Nigeria...            
1. Sen. Abdulmumin M. Hassan (Jigawa South West, PDP)
2. Sen. Abdullahi Danladi (Jigawa North West, PDP)
3. Sen. Adamu Abdullahi (Nasarawa West, PDP)
4. Sen. Ahmed Barata (Adamawa South, PDP)
5. Sen. Akinyelure Ayo (Ondo Central, Labour Party)
6. Sen. Alkali Saidu A. (Gombe North, PDP)
7. Sen. Bagudu Abubakar A. (Kebbi Central, PDP)
8. Sen. Dahiru Umaru (Sokoto South, PDP)
9. Sen. Galaudu Isa (Kebbi North, PDP)
10. Sen. Garba Gamawa (Bauchi North, PDP)

"A nation of perverts and paedophiles" - Femi Fani Kayode

The Nigerian Senate includes some of the brightest minds in our country many of whom are friends of mine and most of whom have been in active politics for many years. They have my respect. However what transpired in the Senate chamber a few days ago was a great cause for concern for not just me but millions of Nigerians from all over the world. How an innocent and seemingly uninteresting, uninspiring and unimportant debate about when and at what age a Nigerian citizen could legitimately and lawfully renounce his or her citizenship turned into a referendum on paedophilia and child marriage I dont know. Yet sadly that is precisely what happened and ever since then the nation has been on fire. 

Friday 19 July 2013

Funke Akindele releases official statement, confirms separation from husband

Official statement from Funke Akindele's publicist.
Dear Friends,

On behalf of our client, star actress, Funke Akindele, we want to formally inform you that after due consultation and consideration, she's now separated from Mr. Kehinde Oloyede as his wife. She hereby urges her fans and all concerned to pray and wish her the best as she moves on in her career. Kindly note that this is the first and only  official statement from Funke Akindele on the matter and will be glad if her wish is respected.  Thank you.
Sincerely yours,

Ayo Ola- Muhammed,
Principal Consultant
NEECEE  Entertainment.

Rihanna rocks new 'Ice Grey' hair color

Yesterday Rihanna debuted her new ice grey hair color which she dubbed...'Brrr. Feeling the look?

Tee-Y Mix is back again: New Music Shiikane - Omo Shelen Geh

Nigerian girl group SHiiKANE are back with another monster afropop hit "Omo Shelen Geh".

The track written by SHiiKANE and produced by musical genius Tee-Y Mix enthuses a traditional afrobeats and highlife sound  with the full ingredient's of a summer club banger. The song showcases the trademark harmonies the sisters are known for. 'Omo Shelen Geh' is a Fun, sexy and melodic track that is poised to solidify SHiiKANE's status as Africa's No.1 Girl Group! Enjoy below...

There's a cheaper version of Alexander Amosu's £1.2m champagne

It now makes sense. I for talk since. Who gives away a £1.2m bottle of champagne or anything for that matter...just like that? Luxury designer Alexander Amosu has cleared the confusion. He took to his instagram page to explain that there's a Swarovski diamond edition of his Taste of Diamond champagne. The diamond encrusted bottle is worth £1.2m, while the Swarovski version is just £350.

This is probably the version Don Jazzy and Peter Okoye got. Una come dey gawk since. Hisss.! :-) He reacted to the Daily Mail article about the price of the champagne. See it after the cut...

Photos from singer Emma Nyra's birthday party

Made Men Music Group owners Iyanya and Ubi Franklin staged a surprise birthday party for their artist Emma Nyra last night at 4 points by Sheraton. Don Jazzy, Dr Sid, Noble Igwe, Fade Ogunro and others were at the shindig. See more photos after the cut...

Wizkid featured on UK Daily Mail alongside 1 Direction Liam Payne

Wizkid celebrated his 24th birthday with One Direction member Liam Payne at a UK club a few days back, and for that reason, he made the UK Daily Mail website. Below is what they reported:
His band One Direction are officially the highest-earning youngsters in the music industry, and he took home a whopping £5million earnings in the last year alone.
And Liam Payne was evidently feeling very generous indeed on Tuesday night when he reportedly treated a pal to a bottle of champagne, worth a staggering £1.2million.
Dubbed 'the world's most expensive champagne', the kind-hearted 19-year-old is believed to have made sure his Nigerian musician pal, Wizkid, had the best 24th birthday a boy could wish for by splashing out on a bottle of Taste Of Diamond at London's Funky Buddha nightclub.
You make £5m in a year and spend £1.2m on a bottle of champagne? LMAO! Yeah right. Alexander Amosu probably also gave this as complimentary!

Brandnubians August Rush

Brandnubians seem to be it at it again with another one day flash sale on August 1st! As usual they state only registered customers will participate. Can anyone who bought in June tell us how the last sale went? 

This dedicated multi-brand fashion eStore has quality fashion products from top brands like Dorothy Perkins, Austin Reed, Tommy Hilfiger, Monsoon, NEXT, Ravel and others at affordable prices too. 
I wonder which brands it will be this time?...discount code will be sent at 12 midnight on the day..
Brandnubians.com provides guaranteed next day delivery in Lagos and next day within 90% of Nigeria!

August Rush sales, register now: http://www.brandnubians.com/sign_in.php

Dr Sid steps out with girlfriend, Simi Osomo

Mavin artist Dr Sid and his fashionista girlfriend, Simi Osomo were spotted at Emma Nyra birthday party which held yesterday at Brasserie 4 points by Sheraton in Lagos. So lovely in red. Cute couple..

Nigerian student graduates with First Class from UK University

Nigerian student Ihuoma Njoku just graduated with a First Class degree in Computer Sscience from the University of Manchester. Worthy of celebration. Congrats girl!

Dencia hospitalized

Hopefully, it's not serious. Well, it can't be that bad if you're taking photos from your hospital bed and posting on the internet. Get well soon, miss! Oh and your family now know...via Twitter :-)

Actress Tamera Mowry reveals she was a virgin until she was 29

Wait, say what Tamera? Yes, she said it and women don't usually lie about things like this. The former Sister Sister actress revealed during an interview on HOT97NY that not only did she wait until she was 29 to have sex, she also said she's only been with one man, the man she's married to now, Adam Housley.

Tamera said: 'I don't know how to explain this. I'm religious, so I waited until I was 29 to lose my virginity.'

The now 35-year-old reality star, who has an identical twin sister who is also an actress, revealed that after finally having sex, she regretted it and then decided to stay celibate until she got married...three years later. "'You may not understand this but I did it, then I felt guilty, then I became celibate until I got married.'

Tamara married Fox News correspondent Adam Housley in 2011 after dating for almost six years.

Stanbic IBTC TVC Competition Final Clue

You know that Stanbic IBTC TVC competition? That one where you can win N100, 000 if you spot the difference within the video and submit your answers? Here’s a final clue: Watch the hands, between 28 seconds and 38 seconds. What changed?

Competition closes at 11.59pm on Friday 19th. So you better hurry if you want to be one of 10 people to win N100, 000. Continue...

9 year old girl raped to death in Calabar; man says it was 'consensual'

The State Criminal Investigation Department (CID) in Calabar has arrested one Chijioke Nwakor for allegedly raping a nine-year-old girl to death.

20-year-old Nwakor confessed to have engaged Miss Alice Enej (9) in ‘marathon love-making.’ He also told the officer heading the CID’s homicide unit, Mr. Joseph Inuyashe, that there was a mutual agreement between him and the girl and that there was no form of force. He said,
“I used to see the girl everyday in Okuku-Yala, where I stay with my parents. I don’t know what pushed me last Monday to approach her. As I saw her playing with the three boys at Saint Patrick’s Primary School, Okuku football field, I called her and asked what she was doing there. I told her to go home and meet her mother.”

The advice took an amorous dimension when it started drizzling and Nwakor and Alice had to take shelter under one of the school buildings.
“I discussed with her and she accepted so I took her to one of the abandoned buildings that has been overtaken by weeds, where I told her to remove her underwears and she complied,” he said.
Wow, a 9 year old agreed to have sex with you? Hope you get what you deserve in prison. Continue

Nollywood twins Chidimma & Chidiebere Aneke release new photos

Chidinma and Chidiebere are simply known in Nollywood as the Aneke Twins. The actresses and movie producers just released some lovely new photos. More pics when you continue...

Video: The Jumia Story

Jumia.com.ng, Nigeria's No1 online shopping destination recently celebrated her 1st year anniversary. They put a short video together to tell the story of how they've brought about significant change to Nigeria. Enjoy...

Wazobia FM OAP Igos weds

Popular Wazobia FM presenter, stand up comedian and event consultant, Iledal Grandball Omoro Samson...you see why he goes by the simpler name, Ighos? :-), married his longtime girlfriend Linda, traditionally yesterday Thursday July 18th in Ajao Estate.

Their white wedding will hold this Saturday. Congrats to them.