Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 08/28/2011 - 09/04/2011

Saturday 3 September 2011

Kidnapped Yanju Kusamotu Thomas found

Yanju Kusamotu Thomas, the young woman who was kidnapped on Sunday August 28th in Lagos, has been found. She was dumped by the roadside by her abductors this morning. I don't know if the $100 thousand dollars ransom was paid, but thank God she's back home safe.

Kate Winslet's Optical Illusion Dress...Loves it!

The actress yesterday at the premiere of her film, Mildred Pierce, at the Venice Film Festival, in a Stella McCartney optical illusion shift dress that hugged her curves to perfection.

Imagine what a dress like this will look like on Kim K and Beyonce...I love it!

Pres. Jonathan Invites Israeli Security Experts to Protect Aso Rock

Following the August 26 suicide bombing of the United Nations House in Abuja, which is the second of such devastating attacks inside the federal capital territory, the seat of power, President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the deployment of Israeli Security experts to supervise the security of Aso Rock. - Vanguard

The fear of Boko Haram...lol. Eh, but what are they doing to protect the masses?

Alomo Bitters Maker to Build $50m Factory in Nigeria?

Is Alomo bitters medicinal? What exactly is it...?

Spot the Difference...:-)

Left: Segun Arinze before before, Right: Segun today. Can you spot the difference? *Smile*

Jada and Marc Anthony have worked together, now it's Will Smith and Jennifer Lopez

Jada Pinkett Smith and Marc Anthony on Hawthorne

According to Us Weekly, Will Smith and Jennifer Lopez are working together on a new film...
Spouse swap! Marc Anthony and Jada Pinkett Smith have already steamed up the screen on TNT’s Hawthorne - and now Jennifer Lopez is joining the Will Smith-produced remake of the 1987 romantic comedy Overboard.
They have wanted to work together for nearly a decade,” says an insider. Now, with Jennifer’s career on the rise, she’s eager to take on the snobby heiress role that Goldie Hawn made famous.
You think they might hook up? lol, these hollywood people know how to exchange wives and girlfriend, so o possible...:-)

Also Marc Anthony has said the rumour that he hooked up with Jada Pinkett and was caught by Will Smith in the Smith's family home, is laughable.

OBJ, Justice Oputa and Bamanga Tukur to Battle at Battle of the Gifted

The 2011 edition of Charly Boy's -The Battle of the Gifted, an event aimed at discovering and showcasing talent, will hold next week Saturday 10th September at the Thisday Dome in Abuja and I hear Charly Boy's father, Justice Oputa, former President Olusegun Obasanjo and Alhaji Bamaga Tukur will be at the event live to lock horns in CB's comedy ring tagged 'Battle of the Elder's Statesmen'

OBJ is known to be vey funny, so I'm sure he will win this one. Will bring you pictures...

Shade Okoya Abandons Father's House...as one storey building rots away

Story by societynowng.com.
Gone and forgotten appears the case of the father of Shade, the wife of billionaire business mogul, Rasaq Okoya and his property.  The property is a one-story building located around Oke Afa round about, Isolo, Lagos. It is directly beside a huge refuse dump that mars the environment in all ways possible. The border between the house and the refuse dump is such that resident of the place suffers from the offensive odor from the waste ground twenty four hours a day- and the dump cuts them off from civilization from the other side. Shade’s father was a resident of the place before he died.

Read the rest at the source

Mo'Hits Stars Now Illuminati Members? lol, wetin person no go hear?

How many of you have read this bizarre article claiming D'Banj, Don Jazzy and the rest of the Mo'Hits Stars are now members of Illuminati? I haf died of lafta...lmao. Are some people serious? Read the article below...
Finally there is incontrovertible proof that Nigerian superstar entertainer, D’Banj, and other members of Mo’Hits record label headed by prolific producer, Don Jazzy, are 100% confirmed members of the uber-evil secret cult, the Illuminati.
The undeniable evidence was provided by artistes of the record label themselves, causing Nigerians to philosophically comment that ‘they have used their own hands to do themselves.’
Utterly silly. Please continue to read...

Riot in Ibadan as President Jonathan Visits Flood Victims

Riot broke out at Ibadan yesterday between supporters of the PDP and the ACN during Pres. Goodluck Jonathan's official visit to the state to commiserate with Governor Abiola Ajimobi on the flood that ravaged Ibadan.

Is Beyonce More Powerful Than Oprah?

That's what a new Forbes List is Claiming. In a recent Forbes List of World's Most Powerful Black Women, Michelle Obama came first, followed by Beyonce and then Oprah Winfrey.

Others in the list are:  
4. Ursula Burns, CEO, Xerox, 
5. Helen Gayle, CEO, Care USA, 
6. Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, President, Liberia. 
7. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Nigerian Finance Minister
8. Nonkululeko Nyembezi-Heita, CEO, ArcelorMittal South Africa
9. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, CEO Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Do you agree that Beyonce is more powerful than Oprah right now?

Video:Tim Westwood Interviews Mo'Hits Crew

More videos after the cut...

Security in Abuja

A security operative checking a car with a scanner in Abuja.
I hear it's a little hellish for some residents of Abuja right now in terms of security. Since the UN House bombing, soldiers man roadblocks, check vehicles thoroughly, delay people from going about their business and even guard hotels frequented by forigners. They say to enter some places now is war. 

If you live in Abuja, how's life over there?

Obiora Obiwon's triple singles treat

Listen to my father below...

Listen to Good To Me and Follow You after the cut...

Famous Chile TV Host Feared Dead In Plane Crash

Chilean entertainer Felipe Camiroaga feared dead in the crash
A Chilean air force plane with 21 people aboard, including a popular local television host, crashed yesterday Friday Sept 2 near the Juan Fernandez islands in the Pacific Ocean, authorities said.

The CASA 212 military plane tried twice to land at the airport on the remote Chilean island but strong wind gusts buffeted the aircraft and it later was lost from sight, said Felipe Paredes, a local council member who was in the airport's control tower at the time.

Mo'Hits' D'Prince Graffiti Photo Shoot

Who knew he had this kind of body? *cough*...:-). Continue to see more photos

As President Goodluck Jonathan Marks 100 Days in Office...

GEJ will mark his 100 days in office on Tuesday September 6th, but ex-house of reps member, Patrick Obahiagbon has something to say about it now...see if you can understand what he's talking about...

"The last 100 days of President Jonathan has smirked of Olympian phlegmatism and byzantine anchorage. The truth is that Nigerians are righteously indignant of the years of locusts that they are not in the mood to put up with any vacillation or vacuous rhetoric on issues that have to do with political_economy. I pray that Mr President responds prestissimo to the legitimate yearnings of our people, given the crest of goodwill upon which he ascended power.” Patrick Obahiagbon

Christy Essien-Igbokwe Begins Journey Home

Christy Essien-Igbokwe will begin her journey to her final resting place today Saturday september, 3, 2011. Her week long burial ceremony will start today with a two-part 'football match of stars'. The first
soccer game will feature music figures and Nollywood stars. While the second will be between members of the Sport Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) and Entertainment Writers at Teslim Balogun stadium, Surulere, by 2pm today.

Will bring you pictures

Friday 2 September 2011

Jay Z and Beyonce's Computer Generated Baby Photo

A website, morphthing.com, used a computer programme to generate a photo of what Beyonce and Jay Z's child will look like, if it's a girl.

The photo above is what they came up with. Do you agree that this is what their child will most likely look like? I think she's beyond cute...

Lagos State Speaker Arrested by EFCC over N7billion fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) today arrested Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiji, to verify allegations of fraud in the region of N7billion. According to a most reliable source at the Commission, it is unlikely that Ikuforiji, who is presently being grilled, will be released anytime today; and he will, by extension, spend the rest of the weekend in detention.

Kick Against Corruption, a civil rights group, had, in May, sent petitioned EFCC, asking it to prosecute the Speaker for mismanagement of N7b meant for running the Lagos State House of Assembly.

How a speaker can have access to N7billion astounds me...

Read the rest at the source

Kanu Nwankwo Covers Black Gold Magazine Aug/Sept Issue

Black Gold Magazine is a bi-monthly Men’s magazine, which covers business, politics, fashion, health, entertainment and other relevant issues. It's sold for N1, 000.

WTF? German City of Bonn Taxes Prostitutes With Meter...lol

The German city of Bonn has installed a meter to tax prostitutes for soliciting on its streets at a rate of six euros (£5.30; $8.70) per night.

Those who fail to pay face fines or even a ban, and 264 euros were found in the meter when it was first emptied, according to AFP news agency. Tax has been levied on prostitutes elsewhere but Bonn is the first city to use a meter, a spokeswoman said.

But a prostitutes' rights activist said the scheme amounted to double taxation. Prostitutes are expected to pay the flat rate, regardless of earnings. The machine, which looks like an ordinary parking meter, has been installed in an industrial area near the city centre which favoured by prostitutes and their clients.

Wetin we no go hear? lol

Read more at the source

The Labourer who fell and broke his spine needs your help

A labourer who fell off a palm tree and broke his spinal cord while working desperately to raise money to pay his examination fees, is still on his sickbed almost two years later. 

Desperate to raise money to pay the fees for his WASCE in 2008, Amadi had decided to work as a hired hand, climbing up palm trees to harvest ripe palm nuts. Unfortunately one day, while he was at work, he lost his footing and fell down from the palm tree. He has been bedridden since then.

Would you like to help him? I hear his condition is deteriorating. If you'd like to help him financially, then donate to St Stephen's Charity, Prince Adebambo Street, Orelope-Egebda. Or contact Mrs. Rose Nwachukwu 08033882452, 07055675951.

But please remember, before making any donations, do your own investigations.

Read his story in Punch here

‘My Experience With ‘The Stalker’ For 6 Years’ – Omowunmi Akinnifesi

Funny but I am not laughing

His name is……..yep I know his name, his full name. I have heard it so many times when I finally decide to pick up an unknown number after dodging the calls that show his caller identification. Numbers I have come to store on my phone over and over again.  I have about six of his numbers and for a while that saved me from speaking to him. Well that was only until he got a new number off course.

It all started in 2005, after I won the Most Beautiful girl in Nigeria Pageant. I granted an interview with a popular newspaper in Nigeria where I was asked who my role model was at the time and I mentioned Oprah Winfrey. Little did I know that Oprah was going to get me into trouble?

Video: Factory 78 Interviews Wizkid

Tale of two Nigerian NFL players who didnt know they were brothers

DT Ogemdi Nwagbuo meets his half brother, 49ers RB Xavier Omon, for the first time.
Ogemdi Nwagbuo (San Diego Chargers) and Xavier Omon (San Francisco 49ers) were born in 1985, by different mothers but the same father. And for almost 26 years, they didn't know about the others existence.

It started, of all places, on Facebook. Delorise Omon, Xavier's mom, was catching up with an old acquaintance on the computer last winter. The man informed her that Chris Nwagbuo, Xavier's biological father, had died in 2004, and that one of his sons, a half-brother of Xavier's that he'd never met just happened to play football, too; for the San Diego Chargers. She told Omon, who then tracked down Nwagbuo and found him in December 2010.

The half brothers exchanged texts and phone calls in the months since, but had never met face-to-face until yesterday Thursday September 1 on the field during pregame.

Read more about their amazing story here

D'Banj's 'Oliver Twist' NBC Ban; what do you guys think?

The Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC) recently passed a circular asking radio stations to stop playing D'Banj's new single ,Oliver Twist. Their reason for the ban? Lewd lyrics.

Lewd lyrics? What part is lewd? Apart from some of the lyrics being a little juvenile, (sorry D'Banj, I love your music but 'I like Nadia Buari because she know dey drink garri?...#what'sthat? lol...but overall, I think it's a nice song, great melody and fantastic beat.

What do you guys think of the ban? Is NBC right to ban it? Does it have lewd lyrics?

Yeka Onka is ready to shine

With the second Nigerian edition of the world-certified Idol series about to begin, the winner of the first ever Nigerian Idols Yeka Onka, has been the subject on the lips of her everyone.

Rumour has it that the six-foot stunner just returned from a vacation in South Africa. Acclaimed as the
Nigerian version of Whitney Houston as a contestant at the Nigerian Idols earlier this year, Yeka appears to be taking her role as Nigerian Idol to the next level.

Thursday 1 September 2011

The 40 Most Influential Celebrities In Africa - Nominate

Forbes Africa Magazine is calling for nominations for its debut '40 Most Influential Celebrities In Africa' list. To nominate, please go here

You people should sha make sure you nominate my Genevieve. You sha like to look for trouble, Linda...lol. And don't forget Omo Sexy and Ms Funmi Iyanda...

School Fees of Church-owned Universities in Nigeria

My younger sister said to me the other day 'Linda, now that you're making money, why don't you start paying tithe? I didn't respond to her. Some of you know my stance on tithe offering, it hasn't changed.

Here's one of the reasons...
This is the school fees of Church-owned Universities in Nigeria
Bowen University - N650,000
Covenant University - N640,000
Benson Idahosa - N500, 000
Babcock University - N450, 000
Redeemers University - N375, 000
Ajayi Crowther University - N350, 000

What's the church highest source of income? Let me answer that; tithes, offerings, donations. So the thing is, I pay my tithe, my church builds a school, but I can't afford to send my child to that school? And here's the irony, no Nigerian University is in the top 15 Universities in Africa and only one university in Africa is among the 150 best universities in the world, and no, it's not a Nigerian university, it's University of Cairo.

So someone please explain to me why I should change my mind on tithe offering? How does it change and affect my world? Why are these church-owned universities unaffordable to the common man?

No insults please, let's discuss this as civilized adults and concerned citizens

Photo: Our president was once a fine young man...

Abi, don't you agree?

Funmi Iyanda Covers Issue 3 of Mania Magazine

I love this cover, I love this cover, I love this cover! The mag is not yet in the market but it will be soon.

StyleMania Magazine would be holding an exclusive party to celebrate Funmi Iyanda at the Radisson Blu on the 25th of September 2011. For further enquires call 07058109821 or write to editor@maniamag.org

Ijaw National Council urges Pre. Jonathan to relocate seat of government to Niger Delta

The Ijaw National Council has urged President Jonathan to relocate the seat of government to Niger Delta over insecurity in Abuja. They claimed that having the nation's capital in a Niger Delta state would stop the incessant strikes of the Islamic sect, Boko Haram, who have turned their attention to Abuja.

I even heard that the British High Commission may soon relocate from Abuja to Lagos state over the insecurity in Abuja.

Do you think a relocation to a Niger Delta State can stop Boko Haram?

T.I out of prison, starts reality show

T.I was released from prison yesterday, one month early, and immediately he stepped out of prison, he began shooting a reality show for VH1...

The VH1 press release when you continue. Hope he stays out of prison this time, he's one of my favorite rappers

SSS press release concerning the August 26th bombing of the UN House

The bomb plotters

An official SSS Press release concerning the August 26th bombing of the UN building
Owing to various speculations and misrepresentations in the media arising from the bomb attack on the United Nations (UN) building on 26th August, 2011 in Abuja. The Department of State Services (DSS) on behalf of other security agencies wishes to state as follows:
a. On 18th August, 2011, precise intelligence was obtained by this Service that some Boko Haram elements were on a mission to attack unspecified targets in Abuja in an ash-coloured Toyota Camry vehicle with registration number AA539GBL

Adewale Ayuba Completes Multi Million Naira Hotel in Lekki

Fuji musician, Adewale Ayuba has joined the league of hospitality entrepreneurs in Nigeria. He just completed a magnificent hotel in Lekki, Lagos. The structure is located on Ivory street, off Jakande round about, Lekki. The two story building which is decorated with reflecting glassy exterior in parts, is called Sweet Life Homes.

Kosibah is 20 today!

Yemi Osunkoya established the Kosibah Label on September 1 1991 in London and named the company in honour of his mother. The name Cosiba comes from the Republic of Benin and is the day name of a female child born on a Sunday. 

Kosibah specialises in contemporary and elegant couture bridal, evening and formal daywear. The label has clothed many world stars and has won numerous awards including, Diamond Recognition from National Weddings UK, Sep 2005 • Bridal Designer of the Year, 2002 and 2004, Mahogany Bridal Awards • Highly Commended, National Wedding Show, and many more.

Wishing the Kosibah label and Yemi Osunkoya many more great years ahead.

Barbaric! Hope he's caught!

From Sunday Times SA
This is the Facebook picture that has sparked a police investigation. The police are asking members of the public who can identify the man in this picture - which may have been manipulated - to come forward to assist them in their investigation. We have obscured the child's face to protect his identity, but child advocacy groups are concerned about the youngster's well being.
Poor child. This happened in South Africa