Tale of two Nigerian NFL players who didnt know they were brothers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 September 2011

Tale of two Nigerian NFL players who didnt know they were brothers

DT Ogemdi Nwagbuo meets his half brother, 49ers RB Xavier Omon, for the first time.
Ogemdi Nwagbuo (San Diego Chargers) and Xavier Omon (San Francisco 49ers) were born in 1985, by different mothers but the same father. And for almost 26 years, they didn't know about the others existence.

It started, of all places, on Facebook. Delorise Omon, Xavier's mom, was catching up with an old acquaintance on the computer last winter. The man informed her that Chris Nwagbuo, Xavier's biological father, had died in 2004, and that one of his sons, a half-brother of Xavier's that he'd never met just happened to play football, too; for the San Diego Chargers. She told Omon, who then tracked down Nwagbuo and found him in December 2010.

The half brothers exchanged texts and phone calls in the months since, but had never met face-to-face until yesterday Thursday September 1 on the field during pregame.

Read more about their amazing story here

23 comments:

Humor- 3 In The Morning said...

Amazing story!

It's funny how they both found out that basketball, not football, is what they've always loved. Blood really is thicker than water. Linda, please post the follow up story if you find it, tell us how it was for them when they finally met. Amazing!

kemisola said...

Stale story
This as been on yahoo, like 3months bck or more sef!.....amazing though

Ebere said...

such an amazing story

ANgryNAijaMAN said...

hmmmm.....Naija men are just a DISGRACE....dumping that miliki up & down the place....no different from akata baby daddys

Naija folks STOP dissing Americans.....you NAIJA men are just thesame....hisss

CLF said...

Good it ended well.

I've read of similar cases where they are of the opposite sex, they fall in love, marry/get ready to marry and all hell breaks loose....

how is it amazing that a man committed adultery, got two women preggers and probably lived his whole life denying "how it all happened" ? is this amazing cos they are both footballers? i mean would it have been amazing if they were both selling recharge card on lekki express way?

Amazing story, our nigerian men in abroad need to stop impregnating women and dump them. do you know how many nigerian kids are U.S but they can't even find their fathers or don't know his whereabout. I'm happy they find each other......

WOW!! amazing!
There are a lot of people who don't know they have a half brother or sister. It's always good for father's to introduce the children regardless of if mother's on both sides are beefing. no one wants to end up marrying their half brother or sister without knowing. My dad just introduced 2 "other kids" to the family last week. They are over 23yrs old. so u can imagine the shock that he had other kids and kept it a secret. My mom has 10 kids for my dad already so now we are 12!! Funny thing is the other 2 look so much like us that if we told anyone we were half they wldn't bliv. anyway sha, Atleast we all met and know each other now.

Truly a touching story. But isnt Ogemdi an igbo name? Hw come d writer says lagos nigeria. Oh well, thank God they finally met!

Amazing,GREAT STORY....but na wa for naija men sha...Just curious;is there any black family in the USA where the father did not abandon his family?cos one gets the impression the fathers are never around...

Wisdom Calls said...

Beautiful Story! GOD Bless Them!

Kemi said...

That just warmed my heart!

Gloria said...

Amazing story Indeed.....No be Naija? Naija men and Piom Piom Piom....Everywhere, na so dem dey born dey waka....Go to Albania, Cambodia,Russia,Ukraine,Vietnam,Australia,....even Afganistan, na so we dey born.
I even hear say Obama Great Grand Papa come from Umuahia - Abia State, come relocate go Kenya......Ibo Men...una too much.....Were nu ya nwanyo.....

Myne said...

At least they finally met. Facebook is useful after all.

they even look alike. May God bless them in their endeavors.

MY NAIJA LIFESTYLE said...

lol @ Myne's comment....abi o

but Linda are dez guys not too big to b 26??? na wa o! shoooo!!! see muscle size!!!....lol!!

*ajalahtravel* said...

Nigerian real life version of ONE TREE HILL without the bratiness and icky drama in between.

*ajalahtravel*

Jay O said...

Lovely story, like that they finally embraced Xavier, who seems to have gone through so much. Though he never met his dad, he can at least get to know his half siblings, who got to spend their childhood with their dad b4 he abandoned the family.

Unfortunately I know many like them here in the US with Nigerian fathers. Abeg if you born pikin, take care of them.

@kemisola, abeg story just came out jo. The espn writer only just released her article.

Dlapikin said...

I won't be surprized that the useless father will spring out of nowhere to now try to collect money from his estranged Balling seeds...

Wild Boy said...

@ Peeps blaming Naija Men, are all these pregnancies all over the place as a result of rape ni? It takes two. Naija men are quite caring and romantic in their own unique ways. Wetin women go cause sha...lol and yup, thank God for facebook like @Myne said.

At least it's not a bad news - good does come from phuckin around. If their dad had remained "faithful", there'd not be this wonderful story.

••I'm def phuckin around today••

:)

the man is my uncle.