Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 10/19/2008 - 10/26/2008

Saturday 25 October 2008

Naija Entertainment News

Jennifer hudson and her late mum

Let me start this with the sad news of the death of Jennifer Hudson's mother and and brother. They were shot dead in their home by a family member yesterday. So sad...read the very sad story herehttp://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20081025/ap_on_en_mu/chicago_bodies_hudson

Modupe Ozolua organises beauty pageant - City People Magazine

Body enhancement boss is planning a beauty pageant next year. The pageant takes off January in Port Harcourt with the screening of the prospective contestants and continues in Abuja two days later, ending in Lagos in btw 16th and 17th while the grand finale is billed for Feb 13th. The winner of the pageant is expected to take home a brand new car and $15, 000 cash as well as an all expense aid trip to the US and a modeling contract.

Sean Kingston Beautiful World Concert - City People Magazine

All is now set to host the Jamaican Reggae sensation, Sean Kingston, in a world class concert tagged 'Beautiful World with Sean Kingston'. The concert is billed to hold in Abuja and Lagos on the 24th and 26th of Oct at the Eagle Square and Exp Centre respectively. The show will feature Sean Kingston live alongside Gotti, from the R-Kelly stable plus Ikechukwu, Naeto C, Durella and others. Be there!

Selara Sisters Expands Make-up range - Bola Akinboade (City People)

The Selara sisters, the duo of Arafat and Moma are Abuja's top make-up artistes and they have been able to set a pace for others to follow in that city. Their make-up line, which ranges from eye-shadow mascara, lipstick, foundation and others, has a new addition, Selara Velvet Veil, a multi-purpose veil which can be used as a foundation primer, lubricant and more and also Body Butter, for well desired silky, supple and even tone skin.
Be sure to check out their products.

Emeka Enyiocha set to wed - Taiwo Obatusin

Star actor, Emeka Enyiocha is set to walk down. He's wedding date is November 1st.
Congrats man.
Nadia Buari and Michael Essien set to wed in Dec - Juliana Orji

According to reliable sources, Ghanaian actress, Nadia and her long time beau, Chelsea striker, Micahel Essien are scheduled to be married this Dec in Accra. The most famous couple have decided to tie the knot after their much publicised engagement.
Congrats again...
Everyone's getting married...na me e remain...lol

The Future Awards National Tour Hits Benin!

Fresh off a highly successful Town Hall meeting in the city of Abuja, The Future.. Awards continues its much-anticipated national tour of the nation’s six geo-political zones, to take the message of the Awards to youths at the grassroots and to ensure that nominations and participation in the process comes from all over the country. The next stop is the Benin Town Hall Meeting, which holds on Wednesday the 22nd of October at the Sports Complex of the University of Benin. It holds at 6pm.

The innovative idea of a Town Hall meeting is a rare opportunity for youths across the country to interrogate the award process, connect deeper with it, and get information on how to nominate, amongst others. Nominations for the Awards opened on the 1st of October 2008, and are ongoing now until the 31st of October 2008 on the site http://www.thefuturenigeria.com/.

“It is important to note that this is the only national award that has done a thing like this,” says Emilia Asim-Ita, the PR Director, “Nigerians are used to TV shows and concerts doing roadshows across the country but not awards. It is unfortunate that we do not yet have sponsorship for these road shows and the costs are huge, but The Future Awards is more than just another award, this is about the future of our country, and so it is important to display the commitment necessary. And we are proud of the work that we have managed to do with some of our partners around the country. The question is: Is Nigeria ready for what its youth are capable of?” The Benin Town Hall Meeting holds in conjunction with Music Mix TV show, CFI Benin City, and Nigeria International. With this national tour, The Future Awards dispels any remaining doubts about its truly national character and, as usual, sets another high standard for Awards organization and credibility.

It will be recalled that this trend started last year when three of its major winners were young people from Northern Nigeria, who were not based in Lagos. Still ahead for the tour are Calabar, Enugu, Kaduna, and Ibadan. Now in its 4th year, The Future Awards has proven itself as the nation’s most powerful vehicle for youth culture and youth empowerment. It celebrates young Nigerian achievers by the yearly awards, which rewards the brightest and best youths between the ages of 18 and 31.

The 2008 edition had in attendance Mrs. Oby Ezekwesili, World Bank Vice President, and a representative of the Nigerian Vice President, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan. Media partners for the event include Africa Magic, Channels TV, Silverbird, Soundcity, Nigezie, TV Continental, The Guardian, Genevieve, The Sun, Rhythm 93.7, and Zuma FM.

Introducing: Dapo Torimiro
Dapo is a super-talented musician who has come a long way with his career in the States. For those very familiar with the Nigerian-based music group KUSH; that group was his debut in the U.S. music market years ago. The group was very well-received both in Nigeria and amongst Nigerians in the States, and they created a lot of buzz with their single and video for their song "Let's Live Together." When the group disbanded, each of the members went their separate ways, and the girls in the group made a name for themselves in Nigeria. A lot of people have been wondering what happened to Dapo--the only guy in the group.
Well, here's his press release.

Nigerian Songwriter/Producer Dapo Torimiro ''Quickly'' Breaks Onto the R&B/Pop Music Scene With Hot New Songs for John Legend, Brandy and David Archuleta LOS ANGELES, CA -- October 22, 2008 -- You probably haven't heard of Nigerian-born songwriter/producer Dapo Torimiro (http://www.dapomiroworks.com/), but that is about to change with the recent placement of high-profile singles on various top R&B/pop artists' albums. The album release dates fall within weeks of each other, but Torimiro's first break is placing the song ''Quickly'' on five-time Grammy winner John Legend's third studio album, EVOLVER, which will hit the streets on October 28. Featuring multi-platinum-selling artist Brandy, ''Quickly'' has received early industry buzz as not only an inspired, sleek duet featuring R&B/pop music's leading artists, but also as one of the album's stand-out gems. Later this Fall 2008, Torimiro will also enjoy credit for other upcoming tracks, including ''Running'' on David Archuleta's self-titled debut album (11/11/08) -- his first since becoming runner-up on American Idol in June 2008 -- and ''Torn Down'' from Brandy's highly-anticipated album, HUMAN (12/9/08), which she describes as her most personal album to date. A Yamaha-endorsed artist, Torimiro has been recognized by many as a talented multi-instrumentalist and musical catalyst, and he was previously sought after by the industry's top-notch artists to exhibit his skills as a touring and studio musician as well as to score various television and film projects. In 2006, Lauryn Hill selected him to tour with her as her keyboardist for several months, and he also had the opportunity to tour with Lalah Hathaway and perform with the legendary Stevie Wonder. Leaving his role as a touring musician behind him, Torimiro enthusiastically embraces the realization of his ultimate goal: songwriting and producing for major artists. "It's a great opportunity and a dream come true to be able to make the transition from being a touring and studio musician to songwriting and producing for artists that I've always been a fan of. It's great to go from being a fan to a collaborator," he expresses. Torimiro's musical and production abilities are so diverse that no two songs sound alike. Whether he's writing and producing a jazz song or a rock song, an R&B song, or a gospel song, one thing remains constant--the end product will be both absolutely unique and yet authentic to its genre. In the midst of being pursued by various respected artists with whom he has cultivated relationships, Torimiro also recognizes the value of collaborating with other talented producers. The gifted musician has recently teamed up with the award-winning production duo Midi Mafia (50 Cent, Fantasia) in Los Angeles to collaborate on various projects. Of the super-producers' recent collaboration with Torimiro, Bruce Waynne of Midi Mafia says, "He brings something different to the table. You have to do something very special and unique for us to decide to work with you." Elaborating further, he explains, "He plays multiple instruments, and he's not just a beat guy. He's someone who can also start from scratch, but he does it his own way, from his own perspective. He brings a lot of musicality and a lot of theory to the mix. You're going to be seeing a lot more of us working with him." Most recently, Torimiro worked with two-time Grammy-winning producer Jeffrey Weber to record a song for the Obama campaign called "Change." For more recent news on Dapo Torimiro, including ''in the studio'' blog posts (recent post: ''Joss Stone in the studio''), or videos of his amazing instrumentation at impromptu mini-performances, visit http://www.dapomiroworks.com/. Media Contact:
Ngozi Mba
MINC Media323.544.1450
info @ mincmedia.com

Joke of the day
Farmer and the Cow
A farmer was in a bar drinking and looking all depressed. His friend asked him why he was looking depressed and he replied, "Some things you just can't explain. This morning I was outside milking. As soon as the bucket was filled, the cow kicked it down with his left foot so I tied his left foot to a pole. I began to fill up the bucket again and he kicked it down with his right foot, so I tied his right foot to a pole too. As soon as I finished milkin'' him again he knocked down the bucket with his tail and I took off my belt and tied up his tail with my belt. As I was tying up his tail, my pants dropped down, then my wife came out and well, trust me, some things you just can't explain!
See y'all later.

Thursday 23 October 2008

Nigeria's Top 10 Sexiest Mums

Hi my people, I need y'all to help me out with something. We are trying to compile a list Nigeria's top 10 sexiest mums. We can't seem to agree in the office...

So, I'm bringing it to the people's panel...lol

Here are some names we have...
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde
Oluchi Onweagaba Orlandi
Dunni Igbinedion
Genevieve Nnaji
Blessing Ibiang Egbe
Bianca Onoh Ojokwu
Toyin Raji
Queen Onokala
For some reason, I don't think we have a good list. Any celeb mum you think is sexy? Pls give me their names.

If y'all help me out, I will give you lots and lots of Naija Entertainment news tomorrow...lol
Waiting...

Wednesday 22 October 2008

Lola Omotayo in focus...

I was going to give Naija Entertainment News but I got into an arguement with my sisters this morning about something we read in City People Magazine. Decided to bring it here...to discuss.

It's a very sensitive issue and something a lot of us women can learn from. It's about Lola Omotayo and Peter Okoye of P-SQUARE.

Y'all know they had a baby together recently and there's been a lot of talk on the side and in the media about them having a baby out of wedluck.

In City People this week, Peter granted an interview talking about his joy as a father and his intentions towards lola, his baby mama.
Excerpt...

For those that thought it wasn't right and those that were disappointed, what was your comment?
Peter "I have heard series of things and people didn't want to come out straight to say anything. The good thing is that they were never against me going out with Lola. Most people were thinking the whole thing will disrupt my career and all that. That was what everyone was concerned about.

In your perception, how do you think being a father will affect your career?
Peter
"I was thinking it was going to affect my career, but now, within a short period of time, I don't think it will affect me. I can take care of my child"

At Lola's age, her family would have expected that she gets married before she gives birth
Peter
"Age is just a number. I'm happy her parents are very understanding people and likewise my parents.

Will you two someday get married?
Peter
"No one has talked about that. People actually thought that I am married but I'm not married. Everyone knows I'm single but the fact is that if God permits, fine. I think children are blessings from God."

Now that she has a child for you, do you want to marry this woman?
Peter
"One way or the other everyone is going to get married one day. Even when you meet a girl today as a girlfriend, you can imagining her as a wife, so we all have that in mind. My time would always come"

Here's what Paul had to say...

Are you looking forward to doing something like this?
Paul
"It's a great thing but it has to be done the proper way. The right way. For me, my own plan will have to wait till I get married"

Do you think that Peter having a baby will affect the group in any way?
Paul
"Well, I don't think it would affect the group at all because it's not as if P-SQUARE said if we get married, we wold quit music. Music is just there, it's not like if you have a child, you can't contest or anything. It will not affect except Peter allows it. Like when we have concerts and Peter starts thinking that today is my son's birthday and all that but that can't happen"

Do you think that in the nearest future, Peter would marry Lola?
Paul
"I think when the relationship started but now, I don't think so. That's what I feel"

So here's what I want us to discuss as mature women. If you're 35years old and you've been in a relationship with a man for 4 years... and you start to realise he's not thinking seriously about settling down, what would you do?

Bear in mind that you are:
A. Successful, so you can take care of a child
B. 35 years old
C. Been with this man for 4 years
D. He's not trying to break up with you...just ain't ready to commit
E. Starting all over again isn't easy...especially at that age.

No woman really wants to have a child out of wedluck (I stand to be corrected)...but like they say, shit happens.
So if you find yourself in this situation, would you end the relationship or do what Lola Omotayo did, get pregnant and have a baby?

I'm asking this 'cos I have an aunt who's 37 years old and has been dating same guy for 8 years now...no talk of marriage from him and I'm thinking maybe she should just have a baby and Fuuk marriage?

What do you guys think?

Sunday 19 October 2008

Dilemma

I got an email some days ago that left me numb for a few seconds. Someone I don't know asked for advice that I didn't know how to give. I asked permission to put it on my blog and seek advice from you all and she said it's ok. The email was actually long with her explaining a lot of things that I am going to keep private but here's the long and short of it.

Some weeks ago, she gave birth to a deformed baby who doctors say will need medical attention for the rest of his life. The child is barely alive, breathing through tubes and all. She wants to tell the doctors to take out the tubes and let the child die peacefully because she thinks it's unfair to want a deformed child to live when he will most probably be unhappy through out his life.

She also doesn't want a deformed baby mostly because she can't take care of one permanently. She says she's a single mum.

The thing is, she feels guilty as hell and wants to know if she's making the right decision...so she came to me.

This is beyond me so I'm coming to you guys.

Personally I think that child deserves a chance to live. Whether deformed or not. I saw a man on TV sometime ago with no arms, but he cooks, drives, and does everything with his legs. Imagine if his mum had killed him when he was born.

It's sad this lady would even consider killing her own baby.
But maybe I don't get it...maybe his deformity is so bad that if the baby could talk, he would ask to be killed. I don't know...don't know what else to say.

What do you guys think and what advice can you give her?