Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 09/13/2015 - 09/20/2015

Saturday 19 September 2015

Mama HID Awolowo dies at 99

Chief (Mrs) Hannah Idowu Dideolu Awolowo, the matriarch of the Awolowo family and wife of late Obafemi Awolowo has died. She passed on in her sleep today September 19th at her Ikenne, Ogun state home at age 99, just two months before turning 100. She was born on November 25, 1915.  May her soul rest in peace, Amen.

Choi, see this old photo of me a friend just sent to me...lol.

OMG! That was me back in the day...modeling/UNILAG days...lol. The eyebrows though...lol. Meanwhile, thank u so much for all the birthday wishes. I feel loved & appreciated and I am grateful for your kindness. Muah!

Exclusive photos: Fans mob MI

This happened in Lagos yesterday ... I initially said it was 2face Idibia but it's actually rapper M.I in the brown/black hat as he left red cross for 2face's celebration. See more pics after the cut...

Throwback photos of late Sani Abacha and his wife Mariam

Former military leader late Sani Abacha and his wife Mariam when they were a young couple..

Thief dies 'twice' in hospital after being stabbed in stomach by house owner

A thief 'died' twice in hospital after being stabbed in the stomach by the owner of a house he had robbed. The thief, 38 year old Craig Norman, spent nearly six months in Manchester Royal Infirmary and is now facing the threat of being jailed.

The courts heard how he used a spring-loaded punch to get into the home of 44 year old Lee Fellowes and his wife Kelly, 33.

Saturday Groove' - An Evening of Live 'Old Skool' Music at Eko Hotel & Suites

An amazing night-out for 35 years and over! The 'Saturday Grove' event is happening this Saturday 19th September 2015, at the Eko Hotels and Suites. This music event starts at 7pm, and it’s billed to be an evening of wonderful timeless 'Old Skool' music, performed live by amazing vocalists and instrumentalists, and accompanied by a seasoned DJ. 

Comedian Bovi and wife celebrate 6th wedding anniversary

Comedian Bovi Ugboma and his wife Christabel are celebrating their 6th wedding anniversary today September 19th. His wife took to her instagram to send him an anniversary shoutout. What she wrote;
"6 years and we still waxing stronger... Happy wedding anniversary to us. The #King of my heart"

The king of Dubia's first son dies of heart attack at age 33

The prince of Dubai, Sheikh Rashid bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, the first son of Dubai’s ruler/Prime Minister, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, has died. He died very early this morning from what the family say is a heart attack. He wasn't the heir apparent to the throne though, his younger, Sheikh Hamdan, is.

The prince, who was an avid sportsman, businessman and owner of one of the largest horse stables in the country, will be buried later today. Dubai has declared three days of mourning and UAE flags will be flown at half mast during the mourning period. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

Mikel Obi's girlfriend, Olga shares another photo of their twin babies

Mia and Ava Obi. So beautiful!

Mente De Moda hits Abuja

After much speculation the hit exhibition series Mente De Moda has touched down at the nations capital; Abuja. In association with Abuja's number one rave Jamrock Abuja, here shoppers can experience a fully interactive environment with vendors and also enjoy an energetic musical ambiance. The first of its kind, blending two dynamic events together under one roof.

Blac Chyna shares throwback photo of when she was 16...she had some booty back then

Blac Chyna shared this throwback photo of when she was 16 years old to shut down haters who say her booty is fake.

More photos from Victoria Kimani's sexy photo shoot

The singer had the photo-shoot for her soon to released song.. another photo after the cut...

Okada rider violently rapes 14 year old girl in Lagos

An okada rider raped a 14 year old teenager who was returning home from visiting her aunt's shop.
According to a report by Punch, the teenager, currently an apprentice at her aunty’s cake shop was a virgin, until she lost it violently to the okada rider. (pictured rigft after he was caught and beaten)

Beyoncé shares more vacation photos

The Carter clan still enjoying their time away from the US. More photos after the cut...

Omotola shares cute family photo of herself, husband & children

The actress and her family pictured at a family get away.

New music: T-Sharp ft Buchi - Joyful Noise + Melody in my Heart!

Finally from Sad to Glad! its here:- My double album release (On my lips and T-sharp live in Mind) Our own Taiwo Ogobowale popularly known as T-sharp. A prolific song writer, worship leader, music instructor and a gospel music minister. In his own words (It brings me great Joy to first announce to you that I woke up today a happier man for the first time in many years after Momma's passing unto glory.

IK Ogbonna shows off his cute son

He's so adorable!

Mum's letter to her 13 year old stubborn son goes viral

A single mum's letter to her stubborn 13-year-old son warning him to start behaving or face paying the bills has gone viral. The mum said her son Aaron seemed to have "forgotten" he was "only 13 and she was the parent". She tells him how much he will pay for rent and other bills if he wouldn't listen to her but offered him a compromise, she says if he would rather be her "child again, instead of roommate, we can renegotiate terms". Read the rest of the letter after the cut...

Photos from Billionaire Dehinde Fernandez's funeral in Brussel

Here are photos from the funeral of one of Nigeria's richest men and philanthropist, Ambassador Chief Antonio Dehinde Fernandez which held in Brussels, Belgium yesterday September 18th. He died September 1st at the age of 79. Continue to see more photos ...

Couple arrested for using their children for child porn

A 47-year-old man and 34-year-old woman from Bedford, who cannot be named for legal reasons, have been jailed for six-and-a-half years each after admitting creating indecent images and videos of their own children.

Lupita Nyong'o stuns in plunging cat suit in NYC

The Oscar winner in NYC yesterday.

Advertise your business for free

This is new and fresh for all businesses. www.bookorrent.com.ng is an online marketplace built to give businesses, professionals and artisans a 360 degree view of their businesses by signing-up for an online shop, workshop or office for free. We are giving opportunity to Business owners to advertise their business at no cost on our platform (Offer lasts till 18th October 2015).

It's my birthday today! Yay! Happy birthday to me!!!

I can't even begin to explain how happy I feel. I am so grateful! I'm 35 years old today and I have so far been able to do a lot of the things I wanted to do with my life...I've made most of dreams come true. One of the dreams I haven't accomplished yet is being a mum...and a wife of course...lol. Hopefully, that will happen for me soon.

Thanks to my family, friends and all LIB readers for being there for me all these years. Also, happy birthday to every one else born today September 19th. May God continue to keep, guide and protect us. And thank you so so much (in advance) for all the lovely birthday wishes...love and plenty kisses!

Friday 18 September 2015

African Union suspends Burkina Faso from organization

The African Union has suspended Burkina Faso over Thursday's military coup. The AU said sanctions would be imposed if members of the presidential guard, who staged the coup do not release members of the interim government which includes the interim president, Michel Kafondo. 

The presidents of Benin and Senegal are in the city for talks with the coup leader. Meanwhile Pres. Buhari has condemned the coup in Burkina Faso. Below is a press statement from the presidency..

Irony of Life! Laptop of Congolese police chief stolen during meeting of Central African police chiefs in Yaounde

How could this have happened? Cameroon's investigative journalist shared the news on twitter this evening.

Photos: Iara Oshiomole visits IDP camp in Benin, donates N2m

First lady of Edo state, Iara Oshiomhole, today visited an IDP camp located in Uhogua community in Edo state where she donated the sum of N2 million on behalf of the state government for the upkeep of the Internally Displaced persons at the camp. Continue to see more photos...

Lol. See what they did to Kanye West's new clothing line

They say his new collection looks like something out of 'The Walking Dead' horror movie..lol

Mikel Obi's Russian girlfriend shares photo of their twin babies

Olga Allegra, Mikel Obi's Russian girlfriend shared the photo of their twin babies and wrote "It's just been 5 days, but I already can't imagine my life without you two our precious angels Mia and Ava".

Aww, Maje Ayida shares Toke Makinwa's Mania mag cover on his instagram page

Says it's a stunning cover... *sigh*

Mum embarrasses the heck out of her teen son on Facebook..lol

A frustrated mum whose teen son hasn't called her since leaving home and starting college left an embarrassing message for him on Facebook. Ann Pinto McCarney posted the Facebook plea, saying;
"Hi Liam, hi! Do you remember me? I'm your mommy! I gave birth to you. Well actually, I didn't quite give birth, I had to have a C-section to get you out - big scar and hurt like hell - but that's OK. You remember that was me that gave you life? I haven't heard from you in a while and thought maybe you forgot about me? Remember all the times I've been there for you in the last 18 years of his life? I'd appreciate a quick phone call every once in a while."
The clip has gotten over 300,000 views since it was uploaded. Liam has since called his mum...

Police vows to arrest Saraki without delay

Hours after the Code of Conduct Tribunal issued a bench warrant for Saraki’s arrest for failing to appear in court in his ongoing trial for alleged false asset declaration, the Nigeria Police has vowed to arrest Saraki and produce him to the tribunal by Monday September 21st. The police force public relations officer, Mrs. Olabisi Kolawole said today
 “We are going to promptly arrest the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki and produce him before the Code of Conduct Tribunal on Monday. Since it is a bench warrant issued by a competent court, the order will be carried out without delay. We don’t want to pre-empt anything,” she said in an interview with The Nation

Lupita Nyong'o and her stylish headband attend NYFW event

The Oscar winner and her headband spotted at the Hugo Boos menswear show at New York Fashion Week yesterday...

Photos: Troops reopens school in Gwoza, arrest fleeing Boko Haram members

Press statement from the Military
To further assist returnees and other Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) with education of their children, the Nigerian military has reopened a mixed Primary School in Gwoza, Gwoza Local Government Area of Borno State yesterday. The military in conjunction with other security agencies and other security stakeholders have placed adequate security measures to ensure the pupils and teachers’ safety and security. Already classes have commenced and the turn out was quite impressive.

Photo: Classic FM OAP, Benjamin Okoh loses dad

Popular Lagos On Air Personality with Classic FM 97.3, Benjamin Okoh aka Benj! has announced the passing on to glory of his father, Mr Christopher Iduh Okoh, 85 who died peacefully in his sleep Thursday 10th September.

Tweet of the day

Well...

Idris Elba goes to the gym, holding weed ...lol

The actor was pictured heading to the gym holding a suspicious rolled up cigarette - that is most likely weed. But meanwhile, what the heck is he wearing? Lol. Photo credit: MTO

Audition for the movie The Unstoppable

The producers of the movie Broken and Diary Of The Triplets are auditioning for a new movie The Unstoppable. See audition details in the video above.

BeingFemaleInNigeria: Twitter user tells weird story..

Lol, how can you hit a woman's car and request to speak to her husband to resolve the issue? Some people are not well sha! Read the rest of the woman's experience today after the cut...