Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 09/23/2012 - 09/30/2012

Saturday 29 September 2012

J Martins acquires Rolls Royce Phantom

The singer, whose birthday is today, acquired the Rolls Royce Phantom while in America recently. These entertainers are cleaning out! Congrats to him

EFCC arrests 24yr old currency courier trying to export N1b cash out of Nigeria

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) two days ago arrested one Abubakar Tijani Sheriff, whom it described as a bulk currency smuggler, as he attempted to smuggle $7million out of the country. The EFCC said in a statement yesterday that Sheriff, 24, was arrested at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport in Lagos en route Dubai, United Arab Emirates, as he boarded his flight.

Qatar Airline Makes Emergency Landing in Lagos

Qatar Airline flight 592 from Doha to Lagos made an emergency landing a few minutes ago at the Murtala Muhammed International airport, Lagos. The pilots discovered midair that one tyre had low pressure, making landing difficult. They radioed our airport for emergency precaution and a vehicle to tow the plane from the runway to the gate.

The best part was, more than 95% of the passengers didn't even know anything was wrong until the plane landed and they saw fire service and National  Emergency Management Agency all around. One of the passengers tweeted that it was a smooth landing so was surprised that they even had issues.

The plane has been slowly towed to it's landing spot at the airport. We thank God

Arik Air overbooks flight; 16 people standing inside plane. Haha

This is going on right now at Murtala Muhammed Airport, Lagos. I'm getting info from passengers on the plane. Apparently Arik Air overbooked their Lagos-Benin flight by 16 people..and all sixteen passengers have refused to come down. Passengers have been at the airport since 6:30. Flight was initially supposed to take off at 7:30, then delayed to 11am. It was eventually boarded at almost 12 with 16 people more than available seats. The Arik Air involved is the one you see in this photo - the John Paul 2. No passenger is leaving and the plane is refusing to fly.

Lol. Naija! So Arik doesn't know when to stop selling tickets? Or they were hoping some passengers will not show up?

Nigerians are UK's 4th biggest foreign spenders

Article written by Susannah Butter for Standard UK

Every year, Simi Osomo (pictured above) makes six trips to London from Nigeria. The 25-year-old spends about two weeks here and every day she goes shopping. Today she’s at the boutique shop Matches Townhouse in Marylebone with a personal shopper. “When it comes to shopping and Nigerians, I can tell you it’s just what we have to do,” she tells me while admiring the patterned dresses.
For Nigerians, London is a shopping mecca. Visitors from the West African country are the UK’s fourth biggest foreign spenders, parting with an average of £500 in each luxury shop they visit — four times what UK shoppers typically spend. When I ask Osomo how much a two-week shopping trip in London costs she makes a bashful face. “Ooh, should I really be saying this? It depends, but most times about £5,000.”

James Bond on a Secret Mission in Heineken Campaign: Win Tickets to Movie Premiere as you crack the case

Some things should not be shaken or stirred ,Heineken®, the world’s leading premium beer brand, recently announced a thrilling new Television and on-line campaign, in anticipation of the release of the 23rd James Bond adventure, SKYFALL™.  

In the new television commercial, Daniel Craig brings his explosive portrayal of James Bond to a Heineken ad for the very first time alongside stunning bond girl, Bérénice Marlohe. Being the world’s most valuable international premium beer brand, Heineken has developed a strong and successful relationship with James Bond movies over the years spanning global partnerships with ‘Tomorrow Never Dies’, ‘The World is Not Enough’, ‘Die Another Day’, ‘Casino Royale’ and ‘Quantum of Solace’ and now “Skyfall”. 

Friday 28 September 2012

Kidnapped 9 months old Toniloba found

Toniloba Obafemi, the 9 nine months old baby that was kidnapped on Sunday, September 23, 2012 by a church member at RCCG Parish, in Abuja (if you missed it, read it HERE) has been found in good health.

Toniloba and his kidnapper, Comfort Amos, were found in Benin after maximum investigations and tracking by family and friends with help from the police. Comfort's accomplice (both had jointly asked for well over N10million for the child) was caught in Auchi, Edo State and he led the police to Comfort who was with the child in Benin. God be praised.

Emeka Rollas emerges as the 7th President of Actors Guild of Nigeria

Actors' Guild National Electoral Commission (AGNEC) just announced that Emeka Rollas is the new national president of the Actors' Guild of Nigeria. He defeated former beauty queen and actress, Ibinabo Fiberesima with 81 votes to 76.

Iyanya aquires N11 million 2010 Range Rover Sports

The brand new car came in last night. These entertainers are cleaning out! Congrats to him!

New Video : Davido - All of You

Guinness VIP Black Party is Today!

Today is the G-day! It’s going down tonight people at La Mango Restaurant & Bar, 2, Adekunle Fajuyi Street GRA Ikeja by 17:59… the Guinness VIP Black Party! All Guinness Foreign Extra Stout lovers, let’s celebrate the remarkable heritage of Arthur Guinness; as we join millions of other people around the world to raise our glasses to Arthur today. Let’s celebrate Greatness, let’s give a toast to Arthur.

Remember, the dress code is Black and Trendy! The energetic DJ Exclusive will be in the house to bring down the roof. Join the Guinness family and raise a glass to Arthur Guinness. Don’t forget, the celebration is all about Guinness and Guinness lovers. Come and party with Guinness and the superstar DJ Xclusive! It’s just a few hours’ away people… Guinness VIP Black Party!!!

LIB on MTN Mobile Newspaper

MTN Mobile Newspaper is a new service from MTN where you get breaking news stories on your mobile phone. You pay a certain amount every month, subscribe to the product you want and viola - news on the go! And LIB is the only blog on the service! We are not easy at all! Lol. Continue to see a bigger version of the poster and how you can subscribe...

Saudi Arabia Deports 683 Female Pilgrims

The government of Saudi Arabia yesterday Thursday September 27th deported another batch of 512 pilgrims to Nigeria, a day after deporting 171 women. 

The Saudi government detained and eventually deported these women who went to the country for the 2012 Hajj, because they were not accompanied by approved male guardians which they say is against laid down rules of their kingdom. Over one thousand Nigerian female pilgrims were detained at the Abdul-Aziz International Airport and King Fahd Airport in Jeddah and Medina before they started gradually deporting them into Nigeria via Kano and Sokoto airports

Nigerian government yesterday issued a 24-hour ultimatum to the Saudi authority to resolve the issue...or... Well, the ultimatum expired today and hundreds of pilgrims are still detained.

D'banj on set of his 'Bachelor' video shoot in Atlanta, USA

Bachelor is a new single off the Kokomaster's fourth studio album

Cossy with friend's husband..:-)

Let's help the wifey see it. Lol. This Cossy eh, you either love her or hate her. I'm loving her! She no send anybody...:-)

Wiz Khalifa and Amber Rose cover XXL magazine

Another photo when you continue...

Remy Martin September party heads to Club Vegas

Remy Martin Fine Champagne Cognac is poised to continue its trend of providing premium and unequalled excitement for its loyal consumers as the premium brand’s signature monthly event tagged At The Club With Remy Martin storms Club Vegas, Ikeja, Lagos on September 29, 2012 in grand style.

As always every month since May 2012, the premium brand invites all to come party At The Club With Remy Martin this month with rave of the moment and past MTN Project Fame winner, Iyanya. The Kukere crooner leads a star-studded cast of some of Naija’s finest acts like Rexx, Shaydee, world famous DJ Spinall, Shody, among others on a night that promises to be void of any dull moments.

Thursday 27 September 2012

Photos from the New York screening of Jeta Amata's Black November

The premiere took place yesterday September 26th at the United Nations in New York. Akon, Wyclef, Mickey Rourke, Kim Basinger, Don King, Rev Al Sharpton, Uche Jombo, Fred Amata, etc, were all there. More photos after the cut...

Davido acquires N140 million home in Lekki

And he's just 20. Damn! :-) The music star just acquired a property in Lekki Phase1. I mentioned N140 million because that was what the property was on the market for but I can't say for sure if that's what Davido paid for it. The acquisition of the house was concluded between yesterday and today. The house is close to where his father also has a house in Lekki. #bigboythings. Big congrats to him!

Patience Jonathan battling Parkinson's disease? - Sahara Reporters

Found this report on Saharareporters.com
Nigeria’s First Lady, Patience Jonathan, is battling an onset of Parkinson’s disease that has complicated her recovery from a surgical procedure in Germany, several reliable sources have disclosed to SaharaReporters.
SaharaReporters broke the news that Mrs. Jonathan was flown to a hospital in Wiesbaden, Germany close to a month ago to undergo emergency treatment after a botched procedure in Dubai.

Photos from my birthday party at Cokobar, London

The party held on Saturday September 22nd at Cokobar, London. I love black, I can't help myself...:-). The lady with me on the lower right photo is my bestie, Jane Iwuno Meadows. Friends for thirteen years. Awwwww...lol! More photos when you continue...

Hong Kong businessman offers $65m to any man who can turn his gay daughter straight

Oya, Naija men start dusting your passport...Hong Kong beckons..:-). One of Hong Kong's richest men, 76year old Cecil Chao Sze-tsung, is offering $65 million to any man who can turn his gay daughter straight, and walk her down the aisle. Cecil Chao made the offer after his daughter Gigi, 33, married her girlfriend of seven years, Seab Eav in France. 

The old man has refused to accept that his daughter is married as same-sex marriages are not recognised in Hong Kong...and now he's offering not just money but also to start his potential son-in-law up in his own business  
'I don’t mind whether he is rich or poor – the important thing is that he is generous and kind-hearted,’ he told the South China Morning of the ideal husband for his daughter.

Elite Model Look Nigeria 2012 Finale is this Saturday

Elite Model Look Nigeria 2012 will take place this Saturday September 29 at the Federal Palace Hotel, Victoria Island. More photos of the contestants when you continue...

Peter Okoye is really really against domestic violence

More men should speak out!

O'Tega Emerhor buys wife Rolls Royce Phantom as 25th wedding anniversary gift

Olorungun O'Tega Emerhor is the Group Chairman of Standard Alliance. On Saturday September 22nd 2012, he and his wife Rita Emerhor celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary. The couple held a big bash at Harbour Point Event centre in Lagos. The ex-bank chief gave his wife a brand new Rolls Royce Phantom (pictured above) worth over $250k as anniversary gift. #betterhusbandthings :-)

Super Eagles player, Victor Moses, becomes dad at 21

Well, we all know 21 is probably his football age (Dec 12, 1990), but he's still a young dude. The Super Eagles and Chelsea footballer announced on Twitter a few hours ago that he's now a dad.

Congrats to him.

Man wants to re-unite with family after winning N1million on Star Game Show

This piece was not written by me...
Chinedu Agoh’s story is particularly touching. Here is a young man with a wife and a two-year-old son who earned N10,000 monthly as a driver in Aba, Abia State. After searching for work, he got another job as a driver, this time in a hotel in Enugu, with a monthly take home pay of N25,000. Chinedu packed his bags and relocated to Enugu. His wife, a student of Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri, currently resides in one of the hostel apartments, near the school, with his son.

Chris Brown & Nicole were not kissing; they were talking' - says rep

Nicole Scherzinger's rep tells E!
There is absolutely no truth to the ridiculous story regarding Nicole and Chris Brown,"  "The photos that have surfaced are old friends who were trying to talk at a very loud club. I guarantee there will be no photos of them kissing. This is a non-story."
A rep for Chris Brown gave a similar denial on the PDA reports.
"No story here," Brown's camp says. "They were not kissing. They are friends, have been for years and they were talking at a club with loud music playing."
They were talking in these photos? Well, you could have fooled me.

Argument Against Oral Sex

Early Thursday morning, see the email I got. Oshisko! *hiss* :-)
Dear Linda, I read a post where you asked why some people do not engage in oral sex. Here's my answer to you. When a women sucks up, tastes or swallows semen during oral sex, she is drinking the very essence of life.  She is engaging in cannibalism and the man is engaging in facilitation of cannibalism.  I know your next question is what if you have been impaired by way of female circumcision, how do you enjoy a sex life?  Your husband can fondle you and you will enjoy intimacy that way.  So I hope that you do not engage in oral sex and if you ever do you repent and turn a new leaf.  Similarly a man should not taste the private area of a woman for the same reasons.  Hope my answer satisfies you innermost queries. It is simply engaging in drinking of life/human blood both ways. Even when the private areas of a woman may look clean there are traces of blood for various reasons.
Hopefully, some men do not agree with this. Keep doing what you do...we women appreciate it *wink*