Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/27/2014 - 08/03/2014

Saturday 2 August 2014

Pic of 'ghost wielding axe' aboard old military ship causes storm

A photo showing a 'ghost wielding an axe' and peering around a doorway on board an old military decommissioned vessel has caused quite a stir. The photo was posted on Imgur by a dock worker named Stevgoldhound.
"Last month we came into dry dock to carry out refit and repairs. Next to us was an old Military frigate being broken down for scrap. Once all the sensitive stuff had been removed, the dock workers were free to go on. The dock foreman, 'John' went on board first with a camera to take pictures of work areas. He later sent all of the pics to his boss, who upon seeing this one, called John straight away asking 'Who is the guy with the axe at the edge of the camera flash?' John had no idea. He never saw anyone. Due to the fact that it was a military vessel the police were called.
"A search was carried out but no one was found. There was one way on and off the ship, and that was by a gangway covered by CCTV."Stevgoldhound said
An Imgur user helped Stevgoldhound to clean up the image, and adjusted the light levels to reveal an even more haunting picture. Continue...

A new twist to GUS 11! Registration still open as regionals begin

A day after the announced registration deadline, fans and followers of Nigeria’s longest running reality TV show Gulder Ultimate Search, can still sign up for a chance at the desirable 10 Million Naira and brand new car- the grand prize this season.

In an exciting new twist in the contest, the registration portal is still open even as the organizers kick off their four-region tour of the country to select would be contestants out of the thousands of registrants! Continue..

Flavour been sharing sexy 'towel selfies' all day...

Flavour's been working on his body and he wants the ladies to to see. He posted not one but 3 pics of himself in a white towel...in his home...I presume. See another pic after the cut...

Photos: Charly Boy attends Stockholm Gay Pride

Charly Boy who is currently in Sweden attended the annual Stockholm Gay Pride which held in the city today and shared some photos on his instagram page. See more pics after the cut...

Photos from Dr Sid and Simi Osomo's white wedding

Dr Sid and Simi Osomo's white wedding held today in Lagos. Happy married life to them. See more pics after the cut...

Basketmouth holds one man comedy concert tonight in Houston

Houston Texas comes alive as Basketmouth holds his one man comedy concert tonight. Live @ Ayva Centre, 9371 Richmond Avenue. Houston. The show will feature top Nigerian comedian, Buchi

Photos: Justin Bieber makes out with mystery girl on luxury yacht

Justin Bieber may have 99 problems but Orlando Bloom isn't one. Days after he was nearly punched in the face by the actor, the singer was spotted smooching a mystery girl on his luxury yacht. The pics were taken on Thursday night after a party on board his luxury yacht moored off the Ibiza coast. Selena Gomez won't like this. See more photos after the cut...

Dear LIB readers: why do some women find it hard to contribute in the home?

From a male LIB reader
I have been married for a year and a half and my marriage is not what I thought it would be. My wife does not like to contribute financially in the home. Given that I make more money than she does, but it's not a crime to help out with little things. Sometimes I come home to no food or food without meet or fish and when I ask her she says I didn't drop any money before leaving. Sometimes I come home from work very tired and there's no light. When I ask her what happened to the generator, she tells me there's no fuel. So she can't buy fuel? I have to do everything? She says her money is hers alone and to help her family but she keeps forgetting that I and our daughter should be her priority.
What can I do to make her change her ways? I'm not asking her to do much, just little things like buy the chicken or fish for stew and soup, and fuel sometimes when I'm not home. And maybe soap, toothpaste, pure-water, salt, maggi, and onions?

We grind human heads to make powder for ladies in search of husbands - Native doctor

A native doctor and suspected ritual killer arrested by the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) of the Lagos State Police Command has said that he grinds human heads into powder as charm for ladies who are looking for choice husbands and big contracts.

Olasunkanmi Owolabi, a 43-year-old native of Oyo town, said the concoction is also used as cure for stubborn sores, mental illness, sickle cell anaemia and epilepsy. He also said had planned to establish a specialist native hospital if government gave him the approval. Continue...

Photo: Rihanna's Rogue Man is delicious!!

Rihanna yesterday unveiled the ad for her new fragrance for men called Rogue Man, but women were more interested in the model RiRi used in the ad. Isn't he delicious?

Rihanna tweeted yesterday "Finally! Rogue Man is coming this September! I've waited years for this moment!". In another tweet, she wrote "Ladies! This September wake up next to your man smelling like this! Makes you wanna steal his Tshirts #RogueMan"

In the teaser ad, Rihanna nuzzles, hugs and smells this very hunky topless model. Rihanna should forget Chris Brown and go with this guy...they are so hot together! See more pics after the cut...

Opportunity to Win $35,000 In the Etisalat Pan-African Prize for Innovation 2014 still open

The race is still on for the best and brightest African innovators as Etisalat Nigeria is still receiving entries for the 2014 Etisalat Pan-African Prize for Innovation.

The Etisalat Pan-African Prize for Innovation is strategically designed to celebrate and reward the best and brightest innovators of African descent, who are able to present the most innovative mobile broadband product, idea or service that positively impacts African mobile users. Continue...

Photos: Aliko Dangote invests $1billion in rice production

Africa's richest man and chairman of Dangote Group, Aliko Dangote has invested $1billion in rice production in Nigeria.

The signing of the $1billion-dollar Rice Investment Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), between the Federal Government and Dangote Group held at the State House, Abuja yesterday August 1st

The Minister of Agriculture, Adewunmi Adesina and Alhaji Dangote signed on behalf of the Federal Government and Dangote Group respectively. Continue...

"I won’t advise any man to have more than one wife" – OJB Jezreel

Singer/music producer OJB Jezreel who has 3 wives (pictured above with him) says he won't advise any man to have more than one wife. Speaking with Saturday Punch, OJB explains;

Was it by choice or design that you have three wives?
It is everything. But predominantly, I think it is by design. Some people believe in destiny while some others don’t. I think it was destined to happen. I believe in destiny. I don’t think I would have survived it if it weren’t destined to be. People get shocked that I have three wives because I don’t live like somebody who has three wives. Come to think of it, there is no particular way to live life. Am I supposed to wear three shirts because I have three wives? I don’t even advise people to have three wives and when I talk about it, they are shocked. Continue...

Oscar Pistorius' brother Carl 'in critical condition' after car crash

Oscar Pistorius older brother, Carl Pistorius, (pictured above) has been admitted to intensive care after being involved in a head-on collision yesterday night Friday August 1st.

According to a statement by the family's spokesperson Anneleise Burgess, Carl was coming back from a business trip to Polokwane, in South Africa's Limpopo province in a convoy with a colleague who was driving in another car behind him when a car suddenly pulled out in front of Carl and hit him head on.

Carl is said to have broken his right arm, leg, and left foot, as well as suffering lacerations to his liver and heart. The family later said though he is badly injured, he is now 'out of danger'.

Just last year Carl was acquitted on charges of manslaughter over the death of a woman in an accident involving him in 2008.

Meet the 21 contestants for the 2014 Queen of Aso Nigeria pageant

After having auditions in Calabar, Port Harcourt, Owerri, Lagos and Abuja, Aso Multi Media, the Organizers of the Queen of Aso Nigeria pageant have released the final list of contestants who will participate in the 9th edition Queen of Aso Nigeria 2014 which will hold on Sat 13th September at Ladi Kwali Conference Centre, Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Abuja. Continue to see all the contestants and read more about the pageant after the cut...

Late Christy Essien Igbokwe's husband opens up on new wife

Three years after he lost his wife, late iconic singer Christy Essien Igbokwe, Chief Edwin Igbokwe secretly married Oluchi Phillips. What many don't know about his new wife is that she's an actress who has featured in the highly watched soap opera, Tinsel, and aparingly in other movies.

The couple knew each other for many years and were good friends, so it was only natural that he would turn to her when he needed a partner to spend the rest of his life with. Mr Igbokwe explains;
"It was a family thing. I knew her father before the war. She is 42 years old. I also knew her mother. Even when my mother died many years ago, they came to pay condolence visit all the way from their place. You know, when people who are close to you are coming from a far place. They come with yam, palm oil and other things. They did that and that was when the mother introduced her to me as her daughter and I, as her son. It was mummy (late Christy Essien) that received them in Awka. So mummy knew her but there was nothing then. Let me tell you, you know mummy was spiritual. It wasn't me who invited her. What would I be proving if it was me who invited her? When mummy passed on, she came to Niteshift and other places where we met again.

Beckham's 15yr old son gets his first girlfriend, and she's an actress

David Beckham's first son, 15 year old Brooklyn Beckham has finally gotten his first girlfriend...and If you think he would go for the girl next door for his first experience at love, think again. He went for a Hollywood starlet. Brooklyn is reportedly dating model/actress Chloe Moretz, who at 17 is two years older than him. The pair have been dating for three months after being introduced by mutual friends. (Couple pictured together in June).

They reportedly had a romantic hook-up at Paris Fashion Week and are planning to spend the school holidays together in LA.
"They were introduced through mutual friends, and have the same social circle back in Los Angeles. They speak all the time and enjoy hanging out together, just doing what teenagers do. Both David and Victoria have given them their blessing.” a source said

Awww, Lynxxx has a crush on Genevieve Nnaji

The question is, which guy doesn't? When asked in a recent interview who he would like to be stuck in an elevator with, Lynxxx said;
“If I was to get trapped in an elevator with someone, it would be Genevieve Nnaji”
They look good together sef. Two beautiful people. Now, if I were to be trapped in an elevator, who would I chose...easy! Tyler Perry! Yes, I'm still obsessed. If he's not available, throw in Telemundo actor, Carlos Ponce aka Antonio Brando. I'm not into white men....but those eyes...*dreaming*

LG’S Four-Door refrigerator with Door-in-Door provides easy access

LG Electronics (LG) has announced the release of its new four-door refrigerator with Door-in-Door™. Accessible with the simple push of a button, the innovative Door-in-Door™ lets consumers quickly and easily take out their frequently used snacks and drinks. LG’s new refrigerator also features the revolutionary Inverter Linear Compressor, which ensures considerable energy savings and a quiet performance. Continue...

Fans criticize Wizkid for using only light skinned girls in new video

Wizkid has been criticized by some fans after he shared behind the scenes photos from his new music video which is being shot in Miami. The video, which was partly shot on a yacht, shows the singer frolicking with Latino models with no dark skinned girls in sight. See more photos and what some had to say about it after the cut...

Kim Kardashian shades side chicks....

Lol. Funny! That's exactly how side chicks behave. But I'm sure you all know Kanye is not really asleep and was in on the shade...I doubt Kim will put up a pic of him like this on instagram without him knowing about it.

Police searching for Nigerian who allegedly committed murder in the UK and fled to Nigeria

The guy pictured on the left is Jeffrey Okafor, the UK police is searching for him over the 2009 murder of Carl Beatson Asiedu (pictured right - who is also Nigerian). He was stabbed to death in the early hours of August 1 2009 outside a night club after an argument with Jeffery and his friends. Jeffery then fled to Nigeria after the murder. Read full story from the Independent UK below
"The family of a children’s television actor murdered outside a London club have made an emotional appeal for information as the police offer a £10,000 reward.
Carl Beatson Asiedu, who appeared in CBBC’s MI High series, was stabbed to death in five years ago aged just 19.
Police believe they know the identity of his killer but have been unable to find him for five years after he allegedly fled to Nigeria. Continue...

Read Chimamanda Adichie's Americanah on your mobile device via @okadabooks

Selected as one of the 10 Best Books of 2013 by the editors of the New York Times Book Review. Winner of the 2013 National Book Critics Circle Award, shortlisted for the 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction and about to be made into a feature film by Lupita Nyongo! Americanah ... a novel by Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is fast becoming an international classic! Continue...

Friday 1 August 2014

Ghana bans flights from Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Liberia over Ebola concerns

Ghana has officially banned flights from 4 West African countries; Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Nigeria, citing concerns about the rapid spread of the Ebola virus, which has claimed several lives.

Charles Asare, Managing Director of the Ghana Airport Company, said the measure was part of a set of emergency management plans officials are rolling out to combat the spread of the virus. Continue..

Chris Brown takes one of Karrueche's friends to St. Tropez (photos)

Karrueche Tran has not only broken up with Chris Brown, but according to TMZ, she's also changed her phone number so he can't contact her again. Sources claim their split this time around is final.

And it looks like Chris is not only ready to move on but he also wants to add insult to Karrueche's injury. He went to St Tropez this week and took a very good friend of Karrueche with him. (girl with arrow pointed at her) and made a point to be photographed with her. There's even a pic that looks like they are making out. These h**s ain't loyal! :-). See the pics after the cut...

What Colour Are You?

Everything exciting has colour, and over the last few days there have been colorful graffiti canvasses driving around town! There have also been colourful flash mobs at several recreation spots across Lagos. Did you see any of the flash mobs at; Yaba College of Technology, Silver bird Galleria and  E - center Yaba? See pictures after the cut....

Weightlifter Chika Amalaha stripped of her Commonwealth Games Gold

16 year old Nigerian weightlifter Chika Amalaha has been stripped of her Commonwealth Games gold medal after failing her drugs test. She won the 53-kilogram division last week making her the youngest ever female to win a weightlifting title at a Commonwealth Games but unfortunately a few days later, she tested positive for diuretics and masking agents.

Commonwealth Games Federation announced today Friday August 1 that her B sample also showed traces of the substances amiloride and hydrochlorothiazide, both of which are banned by the World Anti-Doping Agency...and said they will look into how she had access to the banned substances.

Charly Boy shares more fierce photos with his 'virgins'

He shared the photos on his instagram page. See more pics after the cut...

Stephanie Okereke covers August issue of Mania magazine

The actress covers the the Travel issue of Mania magazine. Nice cover!

Merrybet Week 8: N2million Week 7 Jackpot Won!

The N2million jackpot for week 7 has been won! Of the19 players who already scored a strike, only one was able to score a second strike in week 7 and hence the sole winner of the N2,000,000 jackpot.  With this win, the jackpot for week 8 has been reset to N1,000,000 as eighteen players battle it out to score their second strike and win the jackpot.

Ladies are not left out as we have our third female winner in the Merrybet “Predict & Win” highest point category, a corp member serving in Ibadan as the 1st place winner in the Highest Point category for week 7. Continue...

Photos: pregnant Christina Aguilera poses nude for V magazine

When she was pregnant the first time, she posed nude for Marie Claire. She's done it again with her second pregnancy. The heavily pregnant 33 yr old singer posed completely nude for V magazine and her fiancé, Matthew Rutler, 28, joined her in one of the photos. See more photos after the cut...

Pics: Sudanese woman, Meriam Ibrahim in the US to begin new life

Meriam Ibrahim, her husband and two children arrived New Hamsphire in the US yesterday July 31st where she and her family will begin a new life. Family, friends and well wishers were on ground to receive her at the airport. See how she's changed since being released from prison? Pretty woman. See more pics after the cut...

Pics: MD Abubakar hands over to new IG of Police, Suleiman Abba

Following the appointment of Ag. IGP Suleiman Abba as the new Inspector-General of Police by President Jonathan, the new IG has today, August 1, formally taken over from former Police boss, IGP MD Abubakar who had successfully piloted the affairs of the Force from the 25th January, 2012 when he was appointed to July 31, 2014, having completed 35 years of service. See more pics after the cut...

Ariz & Bar Grill: Happy Hour - 7 days a week

Ariz Bar & Grill's Happy Hour - 7 Days A Week. 5:30pm-7pm. 10% discount on all drinks. Premium drinks attract 2 free starters + 10% discount (Hennessy VSOP, Moet, Black label, Remy martins, etc

Live DJ every Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 7pm till late. Ariz Bar & Grill is situated at 3a Oko-Awo Street Opposite Eko Hotel Victoria Island. Continue...

Introducing Omotola's son, CaptainE, Africa's youngest music producer

Gone are the days when parents frowned terribly at their wards doing entertainment. A leading Role model for young people is M.J Ekeinde, actress Omotola Jalade Ekeinde's first son.

The 15 year old teenager who just finished high school already has over 60 beats and has recorded about 8 artistes! CaptainE as he is referred to aspires to go to aviation school when he's 18 to become an Airline pilot like his father but before then? He will be flying his passion, music! See more pics of the handsome young man after the cut...

Singer Ashley Stephanie sizzles in new photos

Nigerian-Cameroonian singer/songwriter and one of Africa's electrifying female entertainers Ashley Stephanie sizzles in new sexy photos. Continue for more hot photos...

Half of a Yellow Sun debuts in cinemas today - Generates N280m

The much awaited cinema release date for the highly anticipated movie ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’ is finally here as it opens in cinemas today, Friday 1st of August.

The movie which has been released in cinemas in the UK, USA, Australia and New Zealand and has performed tremendously well, generating N280 million is expected to do more in the Nigerian market, as the producer, director and writer are all Nigerians. Continue...