Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 10/07/2012 - 10/14/2012

Saturday 13 October 2012

Rihanna named No.1 pop star of the decade by Billboard magazine

Billboard ranked the hottest 100 pop stars of the decade based on sales, and Rihanna came out on top. She has the most chart appearances (34), the most top 10s (21) and the most no. 1 hits (9).

See the top 10 below...
1. Rihanna
2. P!nk
3. Britney Spears
4. Kelly Clarkson
5. Mariah Carey
6. Katy Perry
7. Usher
8. The Black Eyed Peas
9. Janet Jackson
10. Madonna

11 - 20 when you continue...

Police shoot sales girl dead, injure 3 others

A 20-year old sales girl identified simply as Lucy, was on Friday was shot dead by policemen in the Apo area of Abuja. The girl was hit in the chest by bullets fired into a photography shop where she worked as a sales girl. Three other people sustained gunshot injuries when policemen from the FCT Police Command fired bullets indiscriminately in an attempt to enforce the demolition order of the Abuja Metropolitan Management Council.

The policemen had stormed the area around 7 am with officials of Development Control Department, who had come to demolish illegal structures. But residents and indigenes, who felt that the government had no right to demolish their houses when they were yet to be resettled, resisted the operation.

Video: Bus Driver Uppercut and Punches Woman on Bus in Cleveland

A bus driver has been suspended after uppercutting, punching and throwing a 25 year old woman off his bus in Cleveland. The video shows the woman being irate while cursing out the bus driver before hitting him while he was driving. The bus driver then stops the bus and assaults the woman - saying ‘She want to be a man, I’m going to treat you like a man', after a passenger on the bus yells, ‘That’s a f-cking female’

An investigation into the incident has been launched

2face parties with Dammy Krane, Tony Tetuila on Hennessy Artistry club tour

The Hennessy Artistry club tour hit Lagos for another smashing party with music fans and lovers of Hennessy last week Saturday, October 6th. The day after M.I and Naeto C visited Abuja for their second club appearance on Friday October 5th, DammyKrane and Tunde Ednut headed to Rumors Nightclub in Ikeja, Lagos for the Hennessy Artistry club tour event. 

2 Nigerian students to die by firing squad for armed robbery

Please read the story below and tell us if you think these students' crime deserve the firing squad sentence!
Justice Theresa Igoche of the Makurdi High Court, on Tuesday sentenced two students, Vershima Kaachi and Akaazua Akpen, to death by firing squad for armed robbery.
The convicts were arrested on the eve of Christmas in 2007 for criminal conspiracy and armed robbery, contrary to Sections 5(b) and 1(2) of the Robbery and Firearms Act, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 1990.
Politicians steal billions and get a slap on the wrist. *tears for our people* Please continue...

Photos: Banky W, Wizkid, Skales and Shaydee Shoot New Video

Wizkid, Banky W, Skales and Shaydee came together last weekend to shoot video for the hit single "Sun Mo Mi", off the first EME album, EME "Empire State of Mind".

The video also has pop acts, Lynxxx, MoCheddah make cameo appearances; showing support to newest EME signee, Shaydee. Directed by the gifted, Clarence Peters, the video promises to blow your minds. More photos after the cut...

Ogbonna Amadi buried

The remains of the former Group Entertainment Editor of Vanguard Newspaper, Ogbonna Amadi, who died on Wednesday August 29th as a result of a serious Asthma attack, was yesterday buried in his home town in Ohafia, Abia State.

Amadi is survived by his mother, wife and three children. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

Awwww, how cute was D'banj as a young boy?

The KokoMaster as a young student of the Nigerian Military School, Zaria. Year was 1991. Cute!

3rd Mainland Bridge to be shut down tomorrow Sunday 14th

The Lagos State Government yesterday announced that the 3rd Mainland Bridge will be completely shut down tomorrow Sunday Oct 14th to allow the contractors to do the concrete casting of the expansion joints currently undergoing repair works on the Oworonshoki-bound section. The government explained that the concrete casting and drying process requires zero vibration, and that's why they are shutting down the bridge from 6.am to 12 midnight. So motorists are advised to find alternative routes.

New Video: Obiwon Obiora - "F.a.t.h.e.r 2.0"

Friday 12 October 2012

Aluu Killings:“Policemen said they should burn them alive” - Tekena’s sister

A sister of one of the four University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) students brutally murdered last Friday in Umuokiri village, Aluu, Rivers State, has narrated how her younger brother and his friends were lynched.

Miss Ibisobia Elkanah, elder sister of Tekena Friday Elkanah (both pictured above), revealed yesterday that policemen visited the scene where the students were burnt to death after they were severely injured and that one of the law enforcement agents told the perpetrators of the dastardly act “to burn them alive”

Can you guys believe this? Policemen were there? I think all the policemen at the scene of this brutal killing should be dismissed and charged to court. How could they have allowed this happen? Please continue...

3LiveChicks hosted by Toke Makinwa, Oreka Godis & Tosyn Bucknor

Oreka, Toke and Tosyn
3LiveChicks is a FlytimeTV talk show that stars 3 young, beautiful women from diverse backgrounds with one thing in common - Radio! Produced by FlytimeTV Productions, 3 Live Chicks is shot at different locations each week, delivering entertaining interviews like you’ve never seen before. 

3LC features the multi-talented trio of Oreka Godis (formerly with The Beat 99.9), Toke Makinwa (OAP with Rhythm 93.7) and Tosyn Bucknor (popularly known as ‘Area Mama’ on Top Radio). Please continue...

International Day of the Girl Child:The terrifying world of child brides

Disturbing: Faiz, 40 (left), and Ghulam (right), 11, sit in her home prior to their wedding in the rural Damarda Village, Afghanistan
Yesterday October 11 was International Day of the Girl Child and to mark and draw attention to the problem of child brides, photojournalist Stephanie Sinclair teamed up with National Geographic to create  a series of heart-breaking photos depicting girls as young as five years old being married off to middle-aged men in countries like India, Yemen and Ethiopia. See more after the cut...

Bishop Benenoch stands firmly on his decision to divorce wife of 20yrs

It's no longer news that Bishop David Benecoch, the founding pastor of Communion Church, Lagos, is divorcing his wife of 20 years, Esther Benenoch. (If you missed it, read it HERE).

During last Sunday church service, the man of God raised the issue of his impending divorce and told his congregation that his pastor friends have all been asking him to reconsider divorcing his wife. He said there was no going back because it was an instruction from God, and challenged his congregation and anyone against divorce to present a scripture in the bible that condemns it.

The Bishop said a pastor friend of his presented Matthew 5: 31-32, which he said is against divorce.
Matthew 5: 31-32 reads:
It hath been said, whosoever shall put away his wife, let him give her a writing of divorcement. But I say unto you, that whosoever shall put away his wife saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery: and whosoever shall marry her that is divorced committed adultery'
Bishop Benenoch then challenged his congregation to read that scripture with understanding. So, is Matthew 5: 31-32 for or against divorce? And also, are there no scriptures that condemn divorce in the bible?

Is this Africa's sexiest man?

Adonis O'Holi is an actor, writer and model from Sierra Leone. On Saturday 7th October, he beat 16 other country delegates to win Mr Africa International 2012. Is he hot or hot?

But biko, is that all him down there, in the last photo? Just asking #walksaway! :-) More photos after the cut

'If you call me Illuminati, God might strike you down' - D'banj

"The reason why I am successful today is because of God. So if you can't understand my success or if it's too fast for you, please don't classify it as Illuminati. It is very annoying and God might strike you down, because he would not share his glory with any 'family' - D'banj said in a recent interview.

Fatgbems petroleum boss dies

Billionaire business man and Fatgbems Petroleum boss, Alhaji Fatai Gbemisola, has passed on. He died in the early hours of this morning after battling with cancer for a while. The Ogun state born oil magnate was 69. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

Joe Biden vs Paul Ryan: US VP Debate

Vice-President Joe Biden, 69, and Republican Paul Ryan, 42, a Wisconsin congressman, clashed for 90 minutes in Danville, Kentucky, last night. Did you watch the debate? Who do you think won?

Meanwhile, I hear Romney is leading Obama in many states... though Obama so far has swing state strength. Two more presidential debates before the November elections and I hope Obama comes out swinging this time...

Thursday 11 October 2012

RIP Aluu 4

Found this in the comment section. Please read...
Goodnight Pain. "thieves, thieves" he screamed, it was almost funny. Not until more voices joined the chorus as they screamed and shouted on us. We could have ran at least to save our lives, but our intentions were genuine and little did we know how the day would end. From a handful of young men shouting and throwing questions at us, it escalated to a crowd of angry mob. There was no way we could escape this one, so we calmed down. They pushed us around and then stripped us all. These men pulled us pants down, we were more than embarrassed, the whole community watched, I recognized few faces from the crowd. Obviously they were so afraid to say "stop" then the beating started, I wished it to be just a nightmare. But it was real, these men were determined. They dropped heavy rocks on our heads, they pounded our faces with large planks, blood covered our eyes, they matched and kicked us right on our bleeding nostrils, we couldn't breathe.

Rihanna's new album cover...you like?

Her new album is titled Unapologetic and is due out next month. You like the cover?

UNILAG student jailed for promising love & defrauding an American lady

For allegedly defrauding an American lady, Kathy Lunsford through the internet under the pretext of marriage, a University of Lagos student, Michael Opaleye has been sent to jail by a Lagos State High Court
Opaleye was sentenced to 18 months imprisonment today by Justice Aishat Opesanwo for defrauding Miss Kathy Lunsford, of 9,200 US dollars under the pretext of getting married to her.

The convict who is studying computer science at UNILAG had pleaded guilty to the charge of obtaining by false pretence and forgery.

Heroin, Guns and weed found on Nelly's tour bus

From TMZ
Rapper Nelly was detained last night in Texas while police officers searched his tour bus and found heroin in addition to a loaded gun and massive amounts of weed, law enforcement sources tell TMZ.
According to law enforcement sources, Nelly's bus was stopped at a border patrol checkpoint in Sierra Blanca -- and a police canine detected the presence of drugs.

Unilever Lifebuoy Global Hand Washing day 2012

The Unilever Lifebuoy Global Hand Washing day (GHD) 2012 is an event designed to promote hand washing (with soap and water) amongst children especially those aged 5 and below, as a means to combating diarrhea which is responsible for the deaths of 3,000  children under 5 everyday. 

This year’s theme is tagged “help a child reach the age of 5”.
Become an ambassador by pledging to help a child reach the age of 5 on October 15 2012 as GHD marks 5 years.

Can anyone translate this? *Straight face*

Hmmmmmm..? :-)

UNIPORT killings: Community counts losses after students’ rampage

The people of Omuokiri Aluu Community have begun to count their losses barely 24 hours after students from the University of Port Harcourt embarked on reprisals to avenge the killings of their colleagues.
The angry students had on Tuesday stormed the community, burnt some houses, cars and other property over the torture and murder of the students on Friday.

Cassie and Nicki Minaj 'go there' in new video

Cassie Tweeted this photo from the set of of Nicki Minaj's new single 'The Boys' featuring Cassie. That's Nicki Minaj doing her thing down there...hehe!

Hot or not: Mr Africa International 2012 Contestants

Man candy from all over Africa. Hot or not? The Mr Nigeria contestant is not bad sha.

Ex minister's 34 year old son dies in power bike accident

The first son of ex-minister of power and steel, Alhaji Bashir Dalhatu, died in a power bike accident on Monday Oct 1. 34 year old Mohammed Bashir Dalhatu was said to be returning back to his base from a bikers convention in Uyo when he met his untimely death.

The accident occurred around the Delta axis while Mohammed was on his way back to Abuja. He had told his driver to drive along while he rode on his power bike. Unfortunately he fell from his bike and was crushed by two oncoming cars. He died instantly and has since been buried. May he RIP!

When a man buys everything for you!

A guy made the statement below and a few guys agreed with him!
I'm sorry ladies, if your man pays for everything in your life, then you're his property!
Really, guys? What do you ladies think?

Paris Hilton now dating a 21 year old model

River Viiperi is a 21 year old Spanish model. He started dating Paris Hilton last month after the two met at the New York Fashion Week.

What the heck is a 31 year old woman doing with a 21 year old boy? I have something nothing against dating younger men but 21? C'mon, Paris! This guy was like 12 when she starred in 'Simple Life'! I'm so annoyed for her! Lol

Seriously, 31 year old women should leave 21 year old boys for 19 year old girls! Abi, you don't agree with me? :-)

Denrele to host Red Carpet of Hoodrush at the premiere this Friday

Article not written by me....
One of the most talked about movies in the past three months, Hoodrush will finally premiere exclusively in grand style at the upscale Silverbird Galleria this Friday, October 12, 2012.
The musical flick from the stable of Flipsyde Studios features an impressive cast of talented Nollywood actress, Bimbo Akintola, O.C Ukeje, mulatto actress, Chelsea Eze, one of the Afolayan brothers, Gabriel, Bolanle Ninolowo of Diesel Music, a company that recently partnered with music artiste, 9ice, Ijeoma Agu, Lee Lee Byoma and others.

IRS plane and truck collide at MM Airport in Lagos

An IRS Plane yesterday morning collided with an abandoned truck parked beside the taxiway at Murtala Mohammed Airport, Lagos. The wing of the aircraft collided with the truck which forced the Kano-bound plane to cancel the flight. Passengers were later put in another flight.
A statement from IRS Airline below...
“This morning our flight LVB 3306 taxied out on a Lagos to Kano flight with a transit stop at Abuja. The aircraft taxied out at 7:48am with 91 passengers. While taxing on the taxi way the Captain observed a FAAN truck in a ditch. There were no marshals around it neither was there any marking to indicate that it encroached into the taxi way. There was no Notice To Air Men (NOTAM) issued to that effect as well. The captain continued on his taxi and the wing tip hit a protrusion from the truck towards the rear of the truck. This made the captain request a return to ramp from the tower and also notify the tower of the incident and the danger posed by the truck. The passengers were disembarked and accommodated in another aircraft which departed Lagos at 10:15am. The incident has been reported to Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority and we await the clearance of the NCAA to effect repairs and return the aircraft to service.
No passenger or crew sustained injuries as a result of the incident.

Comedy skit with AY, Iyanya and Nollywood actress (Must watch)

Boko Haram denies carrying out Mubi killings

Boko Haram has denied any involvement in the Monday Oct 1 killing of over 25 students of Federal Polytechnic, Adamawa State University and the School of Health Technology, all in Mubi, Adamawa State.

The sect said they have no business with students or student politics and had nothing to do with the massacre as students were not their targets. They said if students were their concern, other students in other schools would have also been attacked by now.

If Boko Haram didn't do this, then who did? Police in Adamawa said they've arrested some people in connection with the massacre...who are the people arrested?

Photos: Genevieve Nnaji on a boat cruise in Miami

The actress posted these photos on herself having fun in Miami, on her Instagram page. She has since returned from her vacation...