Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 07/18/2010 - 07/25/2010

Saturday 24 July 2010

Why do women want big bums?

Gone are the days when you either work with what you’ve got or work out to get what you want. Now instead, some people’s motto is: if you want it, you buy it.

It used to be breasts implants...now it's butt implants!

Why anyone would want to surgically enhance their rear-end is beyond me!
But who do you blame for this? The women for their apparent lack of self-esteem or the society, for glorifying curvy women like Beyonce, Kim Kardashian, Jennifer Lopez etc?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spotted: Actress Rukky Sanda in LBD

Nice dress!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Epkoma transcript: Sexual harassment allegations and extortion...

There's a video circulating the internet about 'sexual harassment allegation leveled against a lecturer at the Ambrose Ali University Ekpoma, Edo State, Nigeria. Investigation conducted since the release of the video has confirmed that the man appearing in the video is Engineer P.O Otubu of Elec./Elect Engineering Department.

It's such a sad video to watch. Very dehumanizing. Efforts are being to get the lecturer's side of the story, so hopefully we will get the full details of what really happened.

They say it's sexual harassment. Maybe. But I also see extortion...

And you can read the transcript when you...Continue
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nigeria's Next Super Model 2010

The Screening of 2010 Nigeria's Next Super Model will take place on July 29th 2010 at the Officers Mess, 1, Kofo Abayomi Str, V/I

Friday 23 July 2010

The Great Debaters - Season 2

The 2nd Season is here and the stakes have been raised.”Hopefuls” between the ages of 21-30 have from now until the 27th of July 2010 to download their registration forms from the website – www.thedebaters-ng.com.

Spotted: Eucharia Anunobi at the City People Awards

These pics were taken this Sunday 18th July 2010 at the City People Entertainment Awards in Lagos. Haven't seen her out in a while...

Matthew Mensah In Namibia for Orphanage Project

Matthew far left, holding a child at Dolam Orphanage in Namibia

The very good looking chap is currently in Namibia for an orphanage project. He will be heading to other African countries for more charitable works.

Handsome and a humanitarian; why is this guy still single? :-)

More pictures when you ...Continue

Thursday 22 July 2010

Introducing: Winnie and Nelson Mandela

Winnie and Nelson Mandel on their wedding day in 1958.

Jennifer Hudson and Terrence Howard as Winnie and Nelson Mandela in the upcoming biopic, Winnie...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Genevieve Nnaji's Mud Cosmetics ad...

Looking absolutely gorgeous!!!

Source >>

Quote of the day

"I had better success meeting girls before Titanic. My interactions with them didn't have all the stigma behind it, not to mention there wasn’t a perception of her talking to me for only one reason."
- Leonardo DiCrapio tells the new issue of Rolling Stone

And what reason would that be Leo?
Isn't it sad that some rich and famous men think the only reason girls want to be with them is because they are rich and famous? There are other reasons women want to be with men like that...other reasons like...erm...erm...uh...uh..(hold on let me think)....*thinking* *thinking*...think Linda, think!
Alright, when I remember anything, we will continue this discussion...:-)
*I kid*
Seriously this kind of thinking brings paranoia. Not that they are far from the truth, but there are women who peel the surface and love you for who you really are underneath it all.
Abi?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Magic Michael set to wed Liberian Fiancee

TV host, Mike Majic is set to wed his long time girlfriend, Malia Mayson, a Liberian. The couple have been dating for 10 years. The wedding is billed to hold in Monrovia on August 27 and 29 2010. Mike proposed to Malia in 2007 on live TV, when he was the host of West African Idol.

Source
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I live in Lagos, not Abuja" Klint the Drunk

"I don't know who's behind the rumour that I've relocated to Abuja. I only travel to Abuja for jobs, and once I am through, I return to my Lagos base where I currently reside with my family. The guys saying I am not in Lagos just want to deny me jobs, but my clients know how to reach me" Funny man, Klint da drunk tells Encomium mag when asked if he had relocated permanently to Abuja

Hottie of the day...

76 year old Italian billionaire designer, Giorgio Armani, seen in a pair of the new Emporio Armani Speedos at a beach in Spain.

Did I say hottie? No, no I'm not crazy in the head...lol...I just think he looks great for a man his age. Confess, how many of our grandpas look like this? :-)

Nigerian Bottling Company sacks 200 staffers

Nigerian Bottling Company, makers of Coca Cola, Fanta, Sprite, etc., has eased out all of 200 staffers. The management has attributed the exercise to changes in their distribution network. Those affected were mostly in the sales dept. of the company. the company decided to downsize after their route salesmen agitated for a pay rise.

Before the exercise, the company's route salesmen made at least two trips per day, off-loading a truck load of bottled drinks and earned N450 for the first trip and N300 for the second trip. Due to the tedious and risky nature of their job, sales workers complained to the management and pleaded for an increment in their daily pay. But instead of getting a pay rise, they were sacked. A new set of staffers have been employed to replace the sacked ones.

Source: Shade Wesley Metibogun - Encomium magazine
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I have no problem with my wife" - Ramsey Noah

"Of course we are together. I love my wife and kids. People say these things to sell their papers. They know that bad news sells. But let people understand this, no bad news follows me. I treat every bad news before it gets anywhere. I am a happily married man with a wife who's very enduring, understands my profession and appreciates me for who I am. I cherish everything about my wife and kids. They're the apple of my eyes." Ramsey Noah was quoted as saying, when asked if his marriage was still intact.
Source: Uche Olehi - Encomium mag

Wonder what he meant when he said he treats every bad news before it gets anywhere...
Just wondering...;)

Pastor Ighodalo starts own church, names it Trinity House.

Popular Lagos Pastor and husband to ex-beauty queen and Elizabeth R boss, Ibidun Ajayi Ighodalo, Ituah Ighodalo has just berthed his own church. The former pastor with the Redeemed Christian Church of God, christened his new church, Trinity House. They had their inaugural service on Sunday 18th July 2010 @ Civic Centre in Lagos.

The 49 year old chartered accountant was ordained Pastor in 1995. He is also a partner at SIAO, a firm of Chartered accountants and management consultants.

His website
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reggae sensation, Nyore, back with two smashing singles!

After what seemed like a long hiatus due to her rounding up at the university for an Engineering degree, nigeria's foremost reggae crooner, Nyore is back with two smashing singles.

Read more >>

Texas couple jailed for enslaving Nigerian widow

Read story... here
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

After a short break, Etcetera is back!

It is official; Etcetera’s second album will include one or two songs for the dance halls. The soft rock singer who has over the years brought to our table unusual songs themed around bold and conscious lyrics will raise the tempo in his new album titled “Yes I am”

Read more >>

Cocktails & Dresses' Event this Sunday, July 25th

Cocktails & Dresses is a monthly fashion sales and exhibition event offering various dress styles outsourced from internationally and some made in Nigeria by fashion labels Olatosweett and House 38. Prices are very affordable and we guarantee a great time shopping, networking, sipping cocktails and listening to great music! Everyone is invited and entry is free.

This event will take place on Sunday, July 25th at Zamunda, 32b Ologun Agbaje st, [Off Adeola Odeku], V.I. Lagos. from 11am to 6pm.

Anchor Baby to hit cinema in Nigeria soon.

Anchor Baby, a movie shot by Lonzo Nzekwe And featuring City People actress of the year, Omoni Oboli, Sam Sarpong of Hollywood and other foreign cast is set to hit cinemas in Nigeria.

...Read more

Wednesday 21 July 2010

Aki gets National Honour. Pawpaw ignored!

The Federal Government recently released the list of recipients for 2009 National Honours Awards. There are twenty two awardees for Members of the Federal Republic (MFR). Among the recipients is Nollywood actor, Chinedu Ikedieze aka Aki, a graduate of Mass Communication from the Institute of Management Technology (IMT),

“I see my name on the list of Nigerian for the award of Member of the Federal Republic of Nigeria [MFR]. It's Gods way of repaying me for all my effort towards and contribution to the growth of Nollywood in the country and the world in general,” Aki Said

What a lot of people in Nollywood don't understand was how Chinedu made the list when several veterans who started the race before him have not even been considered for the honours.

But that is not where I am coming from. It's not how long, but how well, right? My question is; is it fair for Government to have given Chinedu National Honour while ignoring Osita, (Paw Paw)? They started their careers same time, featured in the same movies, won many awards...so why ONLY Aki?

Please share your thoughts.

August Issue of Mode Men

Nice!

Tuesday 20 July 2010

Guess who?

This should be easy...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nigerian parents give birth to white baby

Benjamin and Angela Ihegboro's daughter, Nmachi, has flummoxed genetic experts who are unable to explain why she looks they way she does. The blonde, blue-eyed girl's Nigerian parents say they don't know of any white ancestry in either of their families.

Read the amazing story...here

Monday 19 July 2010

The cast of BBA 5 All Stars

The All Star Housemate cast comprises of housemates from previous editions of the BBA show.
The list of the 14 Housemates are as follows:

Mwisho from Tanzania (BBA 1)
Sammie from Ghana (BBA 1)
Lerato from South Africa (BBA 2)
Meryl from Namibia (BBA 2)
Tatiana from Angola (BBA 2)
Code from Malawi (BBA 2)
Munya from Zimbabwe (BBA 3)
Sheila from Kenya (BBA 3)
Kaone from (BBA 4)
Jeniffer from Mozambique (BBA 4)
Paloma from Zambia (BBA 4)
Yacob from Ethiopia (BBA 4)
Hannington from Uganda (BBA 4)
UTI from NIGERIA (BBA 3)

The BBA website

Conjoined twins, Peace and Patience are separated

Nigerian parents Comfort and Emmanuel Adugbe hold daughters, Peace and Patience, recently separated 8-month old conjoined twins, at a press meet in Bangalore on July 14, 2010. Peace and Patience were operated last month by a team of 24 medical personnel in India. The twins, who were joined at the abdomen, sharing liver and intestine, and are called omphalopagus, are set to fly home to Nigeria.

The twins who weigh 10 kilograms are joined at the abdomen, sharing liver and intestine.

Thank God for his mercies...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday 18 July 2010

"Charles Soludo Sent Thugs To Disrupt My Sister's Burial" -Dora Akunyili

Following reports of fracas at the burial of Dora Akunyili's sister in Anambra she sent out this press statement from her father’s compound at Nanka, Anambra State.

Dora Akunyili's statement:

"I came down to my village to join my family, relations and well wishers to pay my last respect to my late sister Gloria but unknown to me, my family and invited guests, a large number of thugs loyal to Prof. Charles Soludo were carefully organized to disrupt my participation in my sister’s burial ceremony. I have never seen the number of thugs I saw on Friday in any event. The thugs were also instructed to embarrass my invited guests. As you may be aware, Prof. Charles Soludo is marrying my late elder sister’s daughter Nonye. So we are in-laws, but since he lost the last gubernatorial election in Anambra State, Prof. Soludo has singled me out as the source of his failure to win the election, and he convinced my sister to believe that I was the cause of his failure. All efforts by people to make him understand that I alone cannot make him Governor have failed. So he brought that anger, grudge and frustration to the burial of his mother in-law who is also my elder sister. All arrangements made by me and my other siblings to receive guests at Isuofia, where my late sister was residing (which is also Soludo’s village) were vandalized by Soludo’s hired thugs. They followed this up with text messages of blackmail to my guests, friends and well wishers. When the environment in Isuofia became too insecure, tense and hostile, I quietly relocated to my father’s compound at Nanka which is few kilometres away just to avoid trouble. But Soludo’s thugs also trailed us to my own village Nanka to commence trouble but the security agents quietly dismissed them.

I want to remark that my late sister Gloria was a very peaceful, Godly and well brought up woman. While she was alive, I enjoyed her love and friendship as a sister no matter what Soludo and his hired thugs think. Because of this, even in death, I will do nothing to dishonour her because what Soludo and his thugs has done is to dishonour her but God has taken control. I therefore wish to thank all my invited guest for their understanding and the church for their prayers and co-operation.”

News headlines...

Pasuma has nine kids with five different women? Didn't know that!

"My late mum had me when she was 50" - King Sunny Ade

"I was told my father had married an Ondo woman before he met my mother. I never met the woman, but my mother confirmed it. I also heard that the woman bore my father a son and a daughter, neither of whom I have ever met. I have made many attempts to trace my brother and sister, but these attempts have been futile. We do not know if they still bear Adeniyi or Adegeye as the family name. My mother once told me that she met my father's sister who told her my brother and sister were living somewhere in Benue State. But that was a long time ago. My mother had me when she was 50 years old. I was born after she had decided to stop having children because she had already had children of both sexes. I was the last of eleven children of which only three survived." King Sunny Ade tells City People Magazine...

His mum died last month at the age of 112

Frank Osodi's House of Bunor at the Africa Fashion Week NY

More pictures when you...continue

Ali Nuhu set to release another movie...

Talented actor and Glo ambassador, Ali Nuhu, who recently released his first movie, Battle of Honour, is set to release another movie he produced. The new movie was done in his mother tongue, which is Hausa, popularly known as Kannywood. The new movie is titled Wafa Rana

A browser plug-in that deletes all mentions of ex from you cyber live...

It's the delete key in the digital age of breakups.

A new browser plug-in allows the heartbroken to effectively erase their exes from their cyber life.

Firefox and Chrome users can type in the names and social networking usernames of up to five exes and install the blocker, making every image and mention of them disappear.

"They won't know that you're doing it. Only you will know," said Leslie Bradshaw, president of interactive agency JESS3, which developed the free "Ex-Blocker."

Wetin oyibo people no go invent...?
If you would bother yourself with such, then...Read more

Jim Iyke set to release two movies

Good looking and very talented actor, Jim Iyke, is set to release two movies he produced, 2 Dollars and Shades of White. The movies won't be released on CD's or in the market, it will go straight to cinemas across the country.

Nelson Mandela turms 92

South Africa's first black president Nelson Mandela has turned 92 years old, as the world celebrates the first international day in his honour.

Nelson Mandela International Day is held on July 18 every year to commemorate the Nobel Peace Prize laureate's birthday.

There will be no Vogue Africa...

Renowned Paris-based Cameroonian photographer, Mario Epanya's vision for Vogue Africa has been rejected once again by Conde Nast who have refused to give Vogue Africa a license. Conde Nast are the publishers of established magazines covering fashion, technology, food, and travel, including The New Yorker, Wired and Vogue.

Mario has illustrated what Vogue Africa could look like with several mag covers. (Above pic)

Maria said: "I think African women are very strong and optimistic, and a Vogue Africa would be the ultimate homage to them"

Conde Nast aren't buying it.

There's Vogue Italia, Vogue UK, Vogue America, Vogue Asia... why not a Vogue Africa?
But come to think of it..do we (Africans) really care or want our own version of that magazine?
Please share your thoughts

Sammie Okposo arrested and charged in Aberdeen

A GOSPEL star from Africa has appeared in court in Aberdeen charged with making racist comments while on honeymoon in the Granite City. Sammie Okposo, who has won awards for Best Gospel Act in Africa and Best Gospel Artist of the Year, appeared from custody at Aberdeen Sheriff Court. 

The 31-year-old gospel singer  was alleged to have acted in a racially aggravated manner at Jimmy Chung’s on Aberdeen’s Beach Esplanade on Wednesday. Okposo was alleged to have caused alarm or distress to Ronny Shui Hung Yung by shouting, swearing and uttering racial remarks at the Aberdeen restaurant.

The African gospel singer denied the charge.

Defence agent Mike Munro said gospel star Okposo had been in Aberdeen with his new wife on honeymoon at the time of the alleged offence.

Okposo, whose address was listed in court as 50 Tafawa Balewa Street, Lagos, Nigeria, was released on bail.
He is expected to return to Aberdeen Sheriff Court in September.

Sammie Okposo is 31?..lol

Source

Kosibah's Revamped website

Talented designer, Yemi Osunkoya, has revamped his website to reflect his changed branding

Amazing stuff. Check it out... here

Jacqueline Murekatete, survivor of 1994 Rwandan Genocide, to be honored for activism by VH1

Jacqueline Murekatete, a survivor of the 1994 genocide in Rwanda, is one of the final five nominees and grant recipients of the 2010 VH1 Do Something Awards.
Her Manhattan-based charity, Jacqueline's Human Rights Corner, educates others about genocide.

Read more

Premiere of 'Holding Hope' and 'Bursting Out' begins...

Come 8th of August at the Silver Bird Cinemas, Victoria Island Lagos, the world will for the first time get a sneak preview of the much anticipated films ‘Holding Hope’ and ‘Bursting Out’.  The movies which are going on a 7 city - 4 nation tour, which includes Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt, Accra, London, New York and Houston boast the crème de la crème of actors in Nollywood, namely Uche Jombo, Desmond Elliot, Genevieve Nnaji, Majid Michel, Nadia Buari, Nse Ikpe-Etim, Omoni Oboli and a host of others.

Source

Introducing - Neo

Neo is a three man group of talented male artists, Larynx (Tega Okorefe), Nick1 (Nicholas Abinogun) and Tobore (T-Boi) and they hail from Delta state.

You might know the song "Nepa bring the light", it was popular on airwaves a while back and they are back with No Network, which has a rocky, catchy and unique tune. No Network is a song that xrays the poor network reception that is sometimes provided by some telecommunication companies in the country.

Watch out for these dudes...

Crack Ya Ribs Live in Abuja

Crack Ya Ribs - Julius D' Genius Agwu, Live in Abuja.
Date: August 1, 2010.
Venue: Congress Hall, Transcorp Hilton, Abuja.
Two shows: 1st show - N3, 000. 2nd Show - N5, 000. VIP - N10, 000
For ticket booking and enquiries - 08033188985
Be there!

Priest's Family Killed In Fresh Jos Attack

Armed  attackers this morning raided Mazah, a village near Jos, Plateau State killing family members of a church priest including his wife, two children and a grandson. The invaders also set the Christian church ablaze.

The priest, Pastor Reverend Nuhu Dawat survived the attack.

Read more