There will be no Vogue Africa... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 18 July 2010

There will be no Vogue Africa...

Renowned Paris-based Cameroonian photographer, Mario Epanya's vision for Vogue Africa has been rejected once again by Conde Nast who have refused to give Vogue Africa a license. Conde Nast are the publishers of established magazines covering fashion, technology, food, and travel, including The New Yorker, Wired and Vogue.

Mario has illustrated what Vogue Africa could look like with several mag covers. (Above pic)

Maria said: "I think African women are very strong and optimistic, and a Vogue Africa would be the ultimate homage to them"

Conde Nast aren't buying it.

There's Vogue Italia, Vogue UK, Vogue America, Vogue Asia... why not a Vogue Africa?
But come to think of it..do we (Africans) really care or want our own version of that magazine?
Please share your thoughts
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

6 comments:

Alicia says...
WHO CARES! time for us to do our own thing.
Vogue will forever be racist!!
they probably think because they did one black issue that its all good and that everyone can get off their backs. they ain't fooling me.
but anyway....we should have our own Vogue like thing for us, let's not wait on those racists!

Me sef i don't want a vogue africa. that would be effin patronising! we should hard at our fashion industry and create our own mag for africans not them. i dont even like vogue magazine which is run by self obsessed, depressed, narcissistic racists!

this is good news!!!
sassycassie

Femiluv said...

Who cares? Though, it would really be nice to have an African Vogue. But, oh well.. .

preye said...

truly we don't care. i don't care but it's just a case of we (africa) want to belong. how many magazine companies in africa are making profit. africans are too busy with their time to think about fashion. only few women even look at thisday style. without it being included in the THISDAY newspaper i'm sure nobody would buy it. but then again...it just makes us feel bad that africa is last...once again. too bad for us. but we don't care sha.

NG said...

I'm quite upset, at the blatant segregation, why should there be a VOGUE ASIA but no VOGUE Africa, they obviously don't think African designers and fashion have a future.

Well in a few years, there'll be no need for VOGUE rubbish in Africa lol..