Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 04/05/2009 - 04/12/2009

Saturday 11 April 2009

Naija Entertainment News

Naija Ent. News for your pleasure...not much but enjoy...

Star actress Funke Akindele splashes N14million on two automobiles - Foluso Samuel - (Encomium)
Popular actress, Funke Akindele, is basking in bliss. The actress has just taken delivery of an Infiniti Jeep and Toyota Corolla. The former is for her and the latter, for her mum. Sources told Encomium weekly that the two wonders on wheels were acquired weeks back and set the actress back by N14mil.

Azadus looses son – Azuh Arinze (Encomium)
Sweet voiced crooner, Olalekan Fadeyi, popularly known as Azadus is bereaved. It was gathered from a reliable source that death visited him on Friday April 3, 2009. He lost his young son. Details of what led to the tot’s death are still sketchy but fingers are pointing in the direction of ill-health.

Drummer girl, Ara’s wedding IV and date out – Azuh Arinze
All things being equall, Araola Sherifat Olamuyiwa popularly known as Ara the drummer girl, will be joined in matrimony with Prince Olalekan Nurudeen on Sat. June 6th 2009.
Ara and Lekan have been an item for many years and already have a son.
Congrats to them

Erelu Abiola Dosunmu quote

Here's what she said to Rebecca Akinkunle of Encomium mag when asked...how life has been through the years without a man...

"I've been married twice, one died and the other one...I didn't want to live abroad, I came home and we went our separate ways. So I haven't lived alone all my life, but if you end up living alone, like I said, live and let live. Mind your business and move on. The misconception is that you have to have someone there to make progress, it's not true. It is how dedicated, how determined you are to make a success of your life and how doggedly you work at it, not waiting for someone to do it for you. I believe God has given all of us talents, we should make use of them, married or not. I've been married twice, what of other women that desire to be married to marry and have no one to marry them? That shouldn't be the end of the world or end of life. Life goes on, because He has equipped you with other endowments to make a success of your life and also to hold your own in a comity of human beings."

Wande Coal on how he met Dbanj and Don Jazzy

"They came to perform in UNILAG. It was Konga that took me to them. I wasn't concerned whether they will sign me up or not, I just wanted to entertain them. I entertained them. Don Jazzy took my number and called me the next day, since then I have been with Mohits. This was in 2006."

Who wants deserves to be a millionaire? - Abiola Aloba

The MTN sponsored programme, just like they did last year, is having a special edition tagged 'Who deserves to be a millionaire' and by this it means that the public will have the chance of nominating whoever they feel deserves to be on the hot seat to win the million naira prize. The past edition had people like Julius Agwu, Kate Henshaw Nuttal, Chief Zebrudaya who contested for Pa Akinwunmi who designed the Nigerian flag, Mr Davis Offor (Clarus), Peter Fregene, the longest serving national footballer, he was a goal keeper between 1967 and 1984...
This year's edition is planned to be much bigger.

Rooftop MC's go on tour - Chilee Agunanna

The musical duo of Soul Adekunle Adeyoola (Soul Snatcher) and Olaitan Hughes (Sokleva) are embarking on a country wide tour to promote their music. On Thursday April 9, 2009, they will make their first stop in Ibadan and perform at the University of Ibadan, Oyo State. The duo who came into national consciousness when they released their first album, Shock Therapy, and have their hit single Lagimo still ruling the airwaves at the moment, will perform live with their band and are expected to make further stops in Lagos and Port Harcourt before the end of the tour.

Applause mag

The new issue of Applause magazine is out. Get your own copy!

American chiefs

Here's a pic of American actors Forest Whitaker and Danny Glover in an Igbo traditional costume. But where was this pix taken? Were these guys in Nigeria recently? Maybe for the AMAA awards or something? Must be! They sure rock in this outfit!

Story of the day
11-Year-Old Hangs Himself after Enduring Daily Anti-Gay Bullying

An 11-year-old Massachusetts boy, Carl Joseph Walker-Hoover, hung himself Monday after enduring bullying at school, including daily taunts of being gay, despite his mother’s weekly pleas to the school to address the problem. This is at least the fourth suicide of a middle-school aged child linked to bullying this year.
You can read the rest of the story here...

Photos of the day

Last week, President Obama greeted King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia with what appeared to be a bow, outraging many conservatives in the US.
Do you guys see anything wrong with this? They forgot he's half African...that's how we show respect to our elders and title holders...what's the fuss? lol

And that's our Obama playing ball
I love this guy...

Happy Easter!!!

Friday 10 April 2009

Channels TV + Amplifyd Crew

Too tired to bring you Naija Ent. News but I discovered something that's really grand...for those who don't know about it already.

Channels Television is the...
*First TV News Organisation in Nigeria
*First TV to win the NMAA award as BROADCAST STATION OF THE YEAR FOR FOUR
TIMES (2000, 2001, 2003 and 2004).
And has Established powerful relationships with broadcasting authorities around the world. CNN, PBS, ITN e.t.c

You can get the latest news and actually watch live news broadcast on their website. Check on it here...http://channelstv.com/

Amplifyd Crew

For all fans of this very talented group, their latest video, I Can't Shout is streaming on youtube...the link is below...at the end of the video is a clip from their next single featuring Banky W titled "Why"
Enjoy!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j10-D1y8RSQ

Photos of the day
Volkswagen Golf VI announced as 2009 World Car of the Year

This car wey i see here na im be world's car of the year o9?
Hmmm...ok o. If they say so...;)

Happy Easter everyone.

Thursday 9 April 2009

Michelle Obama's fashion hits

I saw this article on America's First Lady's dress sense; found it quite interesting and thought to share...
Enjoy...

Michelle Obama’s fashion hits and misses.
By Jennifer Romolini, Shine staff

The first lady of the United States of America had an amazing, whirlwind week. She traveled through multiple European countries, met heads of state, attended official dinners and concerts, sat with the sick, gave inspiring speeches to children, embraced the Queen, AND she wore many, many different outfits. Lots and lots of people wrote about those outfits—some folks were extraordinarily angry about her sartorial choices. Others raved and wept and basically declared that Mrs. Obama was the best thing that's ever happened to fashion. So, what does it all mean? Why is it important?

The truth is, Michelle Obama, through her words, actions—and, yes, her clothes—is setting a new standard for what we think of as an American first lady. She's approachable, she's warm, she's highly educated, she's African American, and what she wears is unlike anything you'd expect from someone in such a prominent position. Mrs. Obama (much to the chagrin of luxury labels like Oscar de La Renta and others in the fancy, American-designer establishment) is using her profile to champion the fashion underdog. She wears clothes by little-known labels, often the work of first-generation Americans of Cuban, Thai, and Taiwanese descent. She loves J.Crew, a brand that many of us grew up wearing.But perhaps what is most interesting about Michelle Obama's style is it seems honest, real, and relatable.

It's fashion with a sense of humor. She wears comfortable shoes. She makes mistakes. She doesn't always know what to put with what. She's like us. She falls for a favorite belt and puts it on with everything, even when it sometimes doesn't match. Her clothes are stylish, yes, but somehow informal. Last week, when designer Oscar de la Renta slammed the outfit Michelle wore to meet the Queen, stating rather snottily, "You don't...go to Buckingham Palace in a sweater," one could almost hear our first lady saying, "Why not?"And saying it with a smile.

Check out a roundup of all of the European outfits and others she's worn over the last few months.

What do you guys think about Michelle's fashion sense? I think she's very stylish and I also noticed she likes to wear sleeveless clothes which is quite unusual for a First Lady but very refreshing to see...
Naija Ent. News next...

Wednesday 8 April 2009

Naeto C Honored + Ikechukwu in Yola

Naeto C Honored as Atlantic Hall Ambassador, Inducted into A-Hall of Fame

The 26 year old entertainer had thought that winning the MTV Africa Awards last year was the most astounding recognition he was to receive as an entertainer in his budding career, but he was in for a pleasant surprise on Friday the 3rd of April when the board of trustees of the prestigious Atlantic Hall School, during its 20th anniversary decided to honor him with an award for outstanding excellence in entertainment, in addition to officially being appointed a worthy global Atlantic Hall ambassador, and an inductee to the Atlantic Hall of Fame.

Recognized alongside 5 other outstanding alumni like Chika Nwobi the visionary co-founder of MTECH PLC, Chantelle Abdul of The Executive Group and co-executive producer of The Apprentice Africa, Rolake Akinola, Ositadinma Umenyiora the famed Nigerian-born NFL player for the New York Giants, and Feyi Phillips.

Naeto C with his mum Mrs. Kema Chikwe and James Amuta

Naeto C endeared himself with the elitist crowd that gathered at the Shell Hall of MUSON CENTER when he delivered a classy performance of his award-winning song “Ki ni Big Deal”. Naeto’s humility shone forth as he went on a hands-shaking and cheeks-kissing spree, walking with a bow from table to table thanking the board members of his alumni and the founding members of Atlantic Hall for building an institution that gave him the foundation to expand his dreams.

The highlight of the event however occurred when Naeto C gave his acceptance speech after receiving the award. “As an entertainer, I understand the value of education” he began emotionally as the sophisticated crowd made up of distinguished politicians, ebullient scholars and professionals erupted in distinguished applause.

Naeto C went on to say, “I was extremely thrilled the day I received the MTV Africa Awards for Best Newcomer, but this award from my alumni, and educational institution is something else – words cannot express the way that I’m feeling right now to be honored by the same institution that made it possible for me to discover my potentials, whilst instilling in me the integrity that has shaped the man that I’ve become today…I thank you for giving me the concrete foundation for success in life with the quality education I received from my brilliant teachers”.

Immediately after the award at Muson Center, the management of the posh Swe Bar hosted the newly appointed ambassador to an exclusive after-party – where fans of the charming rapper posed with him for pictures, and autographs – celebrating his brief visit to Nigeria with the most exotic wines from the highly priced cellar of the upper echelon bar.

Naeto C has been out of the country for the past few months, where he’s currently pursuing a Master’s degree in Oil and Gas at the University of Dundee in the United Kingdom.

Also, in recent development, Naeto C who was in the country for 48 hours, on his way to Ghana for a performance at the Ghana Music Awards, and to show support to his label-mate and friend Ikechukwu at the Ghana launch of the album “Life and Times of Killz. Vol.1” was recognized as the “Celebrity of the Week” by THIS DAY newspaper on Sunday the 5th of April, 2009.

The after party at Swe Bar

Naeto C and top model Andy Ogbechi

Naeto C with Jibola and Noble Igwe
Congrats to him

Killz Zone Storms American Univeristy, Yola
Now to Naeto's brother from another mother...Ikechuchukwu. He was recently at the American University in Yola to thrill the students. He went with GT the Guitar man and Sauce Kid.
Enjoy pictures from the event...

Taking the Killz Zone to as far as the American University in Yola, Ikechukwu spread the universal message of his sophomore album “the Life and Times of Killz. Vol1”, to an eclectic mix of students from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds, who gathered to show love for the multiple award-winning entertainer.

Ikechukwu was accompanied on this trip by fellow Storm Records soldiers, Sauce-Kid and GT da Guitarman, alongside the WFA official DJ –DJ Neptune.
The Yola launch of the album took place at the main auditorium of the American University on the 20th of March, 2009.
Ikechukwu is presently in Ghana, where he went to perform at the Ghana Music Awards, and also unveil his second album to music-loving Ghanaians.
More news on the Ikechukwu album launch will be released to you very soon. In the mean time, please enjoy the exclusive pictures from the Yola launch.

It seemed like a fun show...
Later people.