Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 03/30/2008 - 04/06/2008

Sunday 30 March 2008

Be Strong!

I met someone yesterday who was so down and out. So sad she didn't know if she'll ever be whole again. I let her cry for a long time, then I helped her with words. That was all I could do.

I know there are a few of you out there who might be going through a really bad time right now. Here's what I want to say to you...

There will be a time in your life when you don't want to get up from your bed because it hurts so much to open your eyes. A time when you can't find sleep because it hurts to close your eyes. A time when food tastes like poison to you. When your soul is so empty you can't feel. You look in front of you and see nothing. You look behind you and still see nothing. You're so sad you can't even cry. And when you cry, there's no sound.

A time when you're so alone, you hear voices in your head. When you are so weak you don't want to try. You're so confused you don't know who you are. You hate yourself so much you can't look in the mirror. And when you look, you see nothing.

A time when you're so low, you can't get yourself up. When your spirit is so broken you can't breathe. When you can't hear the music around you. When the sound of laughter brings no joy

A time so painful, you wonder if life is worth living.

I've been there. Trust me I have. That's why I can describe those feelings. What I want you to know is that you're not alone. There's nothing you're feeling now that hasn't been felt before. As someone who's gone through deep sadness, I can tell you with all conviction that you will be OKAY. You will make it back I promise you. Your tears and loneliness will stop. Soon.

Whatever it is you are going through right now, I want you to know there's a light at the end of this tunnel. You will smile again. You will laugh again. You will sing again. You will be whole again. You will find peace again. Music will make you dance again.

This is just temporary...something you must go through to be a better person. Please don't let what you're going through defeat you. Be strong and fight it with everything you have and are.

It's okay to cry, let it all out! We grow through tears. Just know in time you won't have to pretend you're okay, you will be okay. You will look back one day and smile. I guarantee this is not a permanent place for you. Your life will have purpose and meaning again.

If you want to leave this 'place' soon, call onto God. He loves you more than you will ever know. And when you table your problems before him, he will pull you through without a scratch. He will hold your hand. He will help you stand. He will help you fight. He will give you peace.

I want you to have renewed hope and faith that God has plans for your life. You are God's masterpiece. If he can count your hair strand, why won't he take care of your entire life? He won't let you down. Just go down on your knees, that's all it takes.

Be strong and fight for happiness. Fight for fulfilment. Fight for peace. Fight for success.
But above all, fight for YOU.

“Anyone can give up, it's the easiest thing in the world to do. But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that's true strength."

And remember, I am cheering for you. Everyone who loves you is cheering for you.
May you find the greatest miracle in the world and may you find it soon!

I'll see y'all next week.
Take care
Love,
Linda

Naija Entertainment News!

Been doing nothing but blogging all weekend. See how much I love you all? lol! Today, I'm giving you Naija Entertainment News courtesy City People Magazine. I just realised that most of the entertainment news I reproduce on this blog is usually from Encomium magazine, so decided to get a copy of City People, which is one of Nigeria's leading soft sell magazines.
Enjoy!

11th City People Awards for Excellence
City People Awards holds today 30th March 2008 at Liberty Gardens in Ikeja GRA.
Here's all you need to know about whats going to happen today...

Theme/Colour
The Theme running through this year's award is royal blue and silver

Dress Code
Every year, City People Awards attracts the most fashionable ladies. The dress code for this year is very Glamorous and Chic. There's really no colour restrictions so as to allow women get really glamorous.

Orange Drugs Brands the Stage
This year, Orange Drugs will brand the stage with their banners and flexi. Most of the guests, especially the ladies will go home with goody bags filled with their products like Delta Soap.

More than 10 Governors have indicated their willingness to attend the City People Awards.
Gov, Yuguda, Uduaghan, Saraki, Akala, Orji confirm attendance.

Pastor Ituah Ighodalo to kick start event

All the reigning beauty queens from MBGN to Miss Delta will all be there.

50 best dressed women to get gifts.

Frank Edoho will be the male compare of the event, while his wife will be the female compare. Love the combination.

Power Horse to supply energy drinks.

Nigeria's latest CDMA 3g operator, Visafone, is branding the event and about 40 celebs will go home with complimentary Visafone packs

Awardees

Otunba Mike Adenuga, the Chairman of Globacom will be coming for the awards and he is to be honoured with 2 special Awards. The first is Telecoms Personality of the Year Award and Special Lifetime Award.

Former Lagos State Governor, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu will be conferred with the award of Politician of the Year.

Nominees

CEO of the Year
Tony Elumelu
Tayo Aderinokun
Aliko Dangote

Nigeria's Best Minister
FCT Minister, Aliyu Moddibo
Transport minister, Dezeanni Madueke

Bank of the year
Bank PHB
Zenith.

Insurance company of the year
Equity Assurance
Mutual Benefits

Actress of the year
Ini Edo, Chika Ike, Fathia Balogun, Funke Akindele, Mbong Mgbede.

Leadership Awards
Timi Alaibe
FCT minister Moddibo

Governor of the Year
Lagos, Raji Fashola
Bayelsa, Timi Sylva
Kwara, Bukola Saraki
Delta, Uduaghan

That's all for the awards. Will get you details from the event when I get back.

To other City People news.

Richard and Meryl of Big Brother storm Nollywood

Still basking in the euphoria of stardom, two Big Brother housemates, Richard and Meryl have been brought to Nigeria by top movie producer Ifeanyi Anagor of Eastside Records. They will be featuring in a movie called Player No1, shot in Lagos. Richard plays the lead role as a casanova who ends up sleeping with four sisters then plans on walking down the aisle with the last sister, played by Ini Edo. The movie will also star, Uche Jumbo.

Genevieve Magazine celebrates 5th Anniversary

Genevieve Magazine is set to celebrate their 5th anniversary. There will be lots of entertainment, music, fashion and so much more. It will take place on April 26th. Lanre Da Silva will showcase. The theme colour is turquoise. Will bring you more details later.

Chinedu Ikedieze's embarrassing moment

Just when Chinedu is coming to terms with his broken relationship with his former fiancee, he was flanked by fans at an event on the island and like the super star that he is, he tried to satisfy everyone with a handshake. In the process, one of the ladies ignorantly proclaimed her undying love for him but was disappointed when she heard that he was married. Chinedu who was both surprised and embarrassed at the comment just starred at her in shock, probably wondering when he walked down the aisle without knowing it. lol!

Impersonators feed on Nollywood

Some scammers are really feeding fat by impesonating actors and actresses. Some artist who have one time or the other been impersonated are Genevieve Nnaji who had her head placed on the body of a naked woman on the internet. Empress Njamah, whose phone was stolen and used in sending text messages to people for monetary demands. Ini Edo had a similar case while Nonso Diobi's own is that he is begging for assistance from the press.

BOB TV held in Abuja
The 5th African Film and Television Programmes Expo (BOB TV 2008) was held penultimate week at the Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Abuja. The 5-day event which had delegates from all over the country in attendance, enjoyed a lot of support from dignitries. It also served as an occasion to launch the BOB TV kids and BOB TV Mobile.

That's all the news I have!

Adverts
Thought to help Advertise other people's products/services/events. Hope it's also useful to some of you...

Fashion and Style Digest presents the 2008 Ankara Show with Award winning designer Zizi Cardow and five other wave making fashion designers like:

Pix thanks to niyitabiti.blogspot.com

House of Henri, Oriki Creation, Design for love (Wunmi O), Xelamation and Nsine from Abuja.
Venue: Events Centre, Agidingbi, Ikeja. Date: 27th April, 2008.
For enquiries call Bola on 08036022601 or Kelly on 08023439514.

Diploma in Int'l Travel & Tourism
Want a diploma in Travel and Tourism? Space is available for only 30 students per training session on first come first serve.
Course date: April 1 - May 30, 2008.
Lectures: 9am - 2pm (Mon -Fri)
Course fee: N65, 000.
Aeroflight Travel Academy
DHL Premises, 62, Kudirat Abiola Way, Oregun, Ikeja, Lagos.
Tel: 08033071816, 0802455005.

Body Beautiful
A new beauty spa @ 51 Opebi Rd, Ikeja. They do facial, body and nail treatments. You're entitled to a 20% discount on your first visit.

Body Skin Enhancement Clinic
Bum Enlargement (Me: is that possible? scary...lol)
Boobs Enlargement/Firming
Facial Burns
Stretchmarks
Male Organ Enlargement/Fattening
Grow taller herbs
Bust Enlargement/Reduction
And so on. 55, Allen Avenue, Opp 1st Bank PLC, Ikeja, Lagos.
Ada: 08023178043, Ogoo:08038469889
"All our products and services are maximally guaranteed to work effectively" Dr Sandra: 08033762302.

For Tailors
If you want to learn how to sew, call this no...08025071554, 07028092459.
And if you're a taylor, (Jacket/Suit maker) you're wanted. Call this number, 01-8796787.
Melmoya House of Beauty
For professional touch in
Hair Care, Manicure/Pedicure, Skin Toning, Stretch Mark Removal, Body Massage, Weight Loss Slimming.
60, Moleye Street, Alagomeji, Lagos.
08034937819, 08028482812.
Alfredo School of Esthetics and Cosmetology
Cosmetology & Beauty
Beauty Therapy
Nails Technology
1, Abagbon Close, Victoria Island.
That's it!

Here are some great blogs to check out:
Ok, I'm done. Will see y'all later
MUAH! I just blew y'all a kiss. Catch it and keep it close to your heart.
Ciao!