Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 09/30/2012 - 10/07/2012

Saturday 6 October 2012

Charly Boy confirmed as judge on Nigerian Idol - to return as Linda

It's been confirmed that Charly Boy will be returning as a judge on Nigerian Idol. But for this third season, he won't be returning as Charly Boy, but as his alter ego, Linda.

Linda is the woman in the area fada and that's who you all will be meeting on the music talent show soon to premier

Meanwhile, Tiwa Savage will not be returning as a host, as she's busy working on her debut album.

Pregnant Mercy Johnson

I told y'all in July that Mercy Johnson Okojie is PREGNANT. Well, here's a recent photo of the actress rocking her pregnancy. Congrats to her and her hubby!

Cheating Nigerian doctor commits suicide after double life is exposed

A cheating Nigerian-born GP who led a double life with two women for seven years and promised to marry both of them one month apart hanged himself when his secret was exposed, an inquest heard.

Dr Festus Ojagbemi, 49, known as ‘Wally’, who had a surgery in Strood, Kent, lived with long-term partner Jackie Hammond in the week and lover Bamidele Ayeni on weekends - for seven years.

He fathered a child with Miss Ayeni - a popular Nigerian singer known as Dele Achiever (pictured above) - and said he would wed them both, while racking up thousands of pounds worth of debt taking them on holidays.

Photos from Fiona Amuzie's 21st birthday

Fiona Amuzie was Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria 2010. More photos from her birthday party after the cut...

New Video: Flavour - Baby Oku

Video shot in Miami. Enjoy...

Photos From "Memoirs And Wine" Event in Lagos

The look in Lagos last friday was that of a city preparing for an evening of cruz but little did they know that the cruz will cause history to be made, an history of Memoirs and Wine, a touch of class at the Federal Palace Hotel,Victoria, Island.

Earlier before the 24th of August, Solution Media and Infotech Ltd, the organizers of the ever memorable event had engaged all hands involved in repeated rehearsals that a show of such class requires. The rehearsal cued organizers, artists and technicality into such auto drive that made the guests wonder if truly it was
organised by Nigerians, for Nigerians and free in Nigeria.

Mikel Obi, John Utaka, Victor Moses short-listed for CAF African Footballer 2012

See the full list of African footballers nominated for CAF African Footballer of the Year 2012
1.Abdelaziz Barrada - Getafe (Spain) and Morocco
2.Adel Taarabt - Queens Park Rangers (England) and Morocco
3.Alain Sibiri Traore - Lorient (France) and Burkina Faso
4.Alexander Song - Barcelona (Spain) and Cameroon
5.Andre 'Dede' Ayew - Marseille (France) and Ghana
6.Arouna Kone - Wigan (England) and Ivory Coast
7.Aymen Abdennour - Toulouse (France) and Tunisia
8.Bakaye Traore - AC Milan (Italy) and Mali
9.Cheick Tiote - Newcastle United (England) and Ivory Coast
10.Christopher Katongo - Henan Construction (China) and Zambia
More names after the cut...

Friday 5 October 2012

Rihanna is a very happy woman!

In August Rihanna told Oprah
"He's in a relationship of his own, I'm single, but we have maintained a very close friendship ever since the restraining order was dropped. We just worked on it, little by little, and it has not been easy. We built a trust again and that's it. We love each other and we probably always will and that's not anything we're gonna try to change. It's awkward because I still love him. My stomach drops and I have to maintain this poker face and not let it get to the outer part of me... I think he was the love of my life."
Two months later, she's back with the love of her life. I sincerely feel sorry Karrueche but someone once told me - you can't take a man who doesn't want to be taken. Good luck to all of them!

What is wrong with this photo?

That is the map of the world at night ...do you guys see what I see? :-)

HIV carriers in Canada not obligated to disclose condition to potential sex partners

The Supreme Court in Canada has just given HIV carriers in the country the right to hide their condition from potential sex partners - as long as they have a low level of the virus and wear a condom. You can read more about it HERE

Going to Canada soon? Zip up, biko! lol

D'banj featured on the front page of London Evening Standard

FAB spotlight on Nigeria. Read the feature HERE

4 UNIPORT students beaten to death for in Aluu Community

Four University of Port Harcourt students named Ugonna, Iloyd, Tekana and Chiadika were this morning beaten to death by indegenes of Aluu community for allegedly stealing phones and laptops in an off campus hostel...(which was later found to be false)

Instead of calling the police and getting them arrested, people of this community beat these students who were not even armed until they stopped breathing. Then they took pictures, filmed it and spread it around. This happened today in PH. We are gradually losing our humanity in this country. The boys were all in their early 20s. I hope some people get arrested for this. More photos after the cut...*viewer discretion advised*

Majek Fashek completes work on new album - Rasta Gangstar

The Nigerian reggae super star has finally completed his new album titled Rasta Gangstar or Gangstar Rasta...one of the two sha! lol. It's a 20-track album produced under his new record label, A+ Global.

Majek said his new album is a blend of his Pangolo Reggae, hard core Reggae and dance hall and features other new generation artistes, including 2face Idibia.

Majek now has a home and two cars courtesy of his record label. Good stuff!

Hot or not? Colour pencil neck piece

Would you wear this?

Nigeria oil production ends in 41 years - World Bank

Nigeria’s oil reserve will be depleted in 41 years, according to a World Bank Group’s twice-yearly analysis of the issues shaping Africa’s economic prospects called Africa’s pulse.

The report which was presented by the World Bank’s chief economist for Africa, Shantayanan Devarajan, on Thursday said Nigeria’s and Angola’s oil reserves will be depleted in 41 and 21 years respectively.

Topic of the day: Do you agree that 77% of Nigerian women use skin-lightening products?

According to a report published by the World Health Organisation (WHO) in June, 2012, 77% of women in Nigeria use skin-lightening products, the world’s highest percentage. That compares with 59% in Togo, and 27% in Senegal.

What's your thoughts on this?

Femi Branch returns to movies after accident that left him unable to walk for months

Some of you probably didn't notice that the dark and hunky actor has been off the movie scene for quite a while now. He injured himself on the set of his movie in December 2011 and only just recovered from the injury a few weeks back.

Femi Branch seriously injured himself when he jumped and landed on drainage steel during a stunt on a movie set in Ikorodu. The iron on the drainage cut his leg. He was treated in a hospital and was also treated by a Hausa herbal specialist. The actor was unable to walk for months. He said throughout the months he was unable to work and make money, he got support from good friends. But he's back now and grateful for the opportunity to return to his craft...but no more stunts, he says :-)

Flytime TV asks celebs the meaning of 'Incumbent'

Incumbent is someone who's eh....lol. Another one said, Nnkan be? Dr Sid said, it's incoming and it's going to be bent. I haf died of laughter! Watch the video for more hilarious answers...

Majid Michel and Dakore Cover Red Sheet Magazine

Lovely!

Chris Brown releases video about his love triangle with Rihanna and Karrueche

24 hours after announcing his break up with girlfriend of almost two years, Karrueche Tran, Chris Brown has released a video where he details his current dilemma of being in love with two women. What he said in the video below..
I’m a little drunk so I’m gonna be honest. See, y’all don’t really get the real Chris Brown but I’m gonna be honest. I’m stressed out. It’s not about the music cause I love my fans. It’s just, when you share history with somebody, and then you tend to fall in love with somebody else, it’s kind of difficult.
Is there such thing as loving two people?  I don’t know if that’s possible but for me, I feel like that. Y’all probably like, ‘What the f-ck is he talking about right now’ but I am being real. I don’t want to hurt either or.  I’m not trying to be a player, or a dog, not none of that. My mother raised me differently, so I just can’t. I don’t know man, a n-gga be stressing. That’s what n-ggas do. The life of Chris Brown
Watch the video after the cut...

Thursday 4 October 2012

Photos of demolished houses along Airport Road, Abuja

A LIB reader in Abuja sent these photos to me. Over a hundred houses demolished along the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja. Billions of Naira down the drain! Will these home owners get any compensation? Also, why did the government allow these structures to get to this level if they were illegal? Don't understand this at all! More photos when you continue...

Hot or not? Chanel Spring/Summer 2013 bag

Chanel presented this bag as part of their Spring/Summer 2013 collection at the Paris Fashion Week some days ago. Ladies, would you buy this?

I run 16 companies, with over 21,000 staff - Jimoh Ibrahim

How can one man run 16 companies? Barrister Jimoh Ibrahim answered that question in a recent interview:
All we do in my group is acquire and get professionals to run it. What is wrong in that? We are running 16 companies. We are in Insurance, Hotels, Media, Banking, Property, Furniture, Oil and Gas, Aviation. Jimoh at the age of 46 accounts for about 21,000 people working for my group in more than 13 countries. I have British, Americans, Indians, Bulgarians as staff working in my group. My private jet is run by Americans.

Square Records denies signing Ghanaian act

There were recent reports that Square Records was planing to sign Ghanaian act, Predy X, to their label as a replacement for May D..

According to the report, a Square Records publicist told an online publication that after finding out about the versatile Ghanaian singer from a top producer, the label assessed him and decided to sign him...but Square records CEO, Jude Engees Okoye just said on Twitter that the report is false.

Mariah Carey and Nicki Minaj Fight Transcript

For those who weren't able to watch the video or watched it but didn't hear what was being said clearly, here's the fight transcript:
Nicki: “You think I’m playin’? You think this is all a joke? This is a joke? This is a joke? This is a joke? Say one more disrespectful thing to me! If you say one more disrespectful thing to me: Off with your head! Off with your head! Off with your head!
Mariah: Excuse me. I am not being disrespectful.

Lagos will no longer allow other states’ number plates - says Govt

The Lagos State Government yesterday said it would no longer allow the use of vehicles with number plates from other states of the federation for commercial transportation in the state.

It also advised residents with private vehicles to change to the state’s number plates to reflect the fact that they are living in Lagos.

The Director, Vehicle Inspection Office, Mr, Gbolahan Toriola, said the measure was meant to achieve “sanity, standard, safety and security” as stipulated by the road traffic law.

Nokia offers 30 days promo to celebrate Nigeria’s Independence

Nokia is at it again! This time, it’s big! The global phone manufacturer is offering owners of the new Nokia Asha 305 and 311 in Nigeria ‘’30 Amazing Days’’ in the month of October to mark the nation’s 52nd Anniversary!

Do you have either of these devices? How do you qualify? See it after the cut...

It's a wrap for Karrueche & Chris Brown. Chris & Rihanna back on

It's official. Chris Brown and Karruehe are done and Chris Brown and Rihanna are back on. The ex couple went to Jay Z 's concert at the new Barclays Center together last night (pictured above).

Now check out Karrueche & Chris Brown's Tweets to know it's wrap for them. Guess Rihanna finally won!

More Tweets after the cut...

An Unmissable Seminar on The Global Fashion Retail Business

As part of the activities scheduled ahead of the Miami Fashion Week which features African designers on its runway for the first time ever in March 2013, W-Art and Design invites all fashion industry practitioners, designers, marketers and retailers to a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn best practices in global fashion retail business.

The seminar will also focus on the legal aspect of the fashion industry. Mercedes Gonzales, CEO of the New York based Global Purchasing Group, a fashion buying office representing over 200 stores in North and South America will be in Nigeria to facilitate fashion retail business segment. Mercedes R. Gonzalez has been a buyer in the garment industry since 1988. 

Police recover Maryam Abacha’s N20 million stolen jewellery

The Kano State Commissioner of Police, Ibrahim Idris, on Wednesday said that the police have recovered stolen jewellery worth N20 million belonging to Maryam Abacha, wife to Nigeria’s former military Head of State.

Mr Idris said that one of the suspects who bought some of the jewellery was arrested and his arrest led to the discovery of the remaining items.

The case of the stolen jewellery is before a court in Kano and one of Mrs Abacha’s domestic staff is being accused of stealing the jewellery. The police commissioner said that the jewellery were now in custody of the police as investigation into the matter continued. (ChannelsTV)

Janet Jackson photographed all covered up

Why is she all covered up? Well, she's dating a billionaire Muslim man, Wissam al Mana, the MD of luxury corporate group Al Mana Retail in the Middle East.

There are rumours that she's planning to marry him and would probably convert to Islam to please him!

Mind teaser...

1. Click on the picture
2. Write FALL in comment
3. Watch and see what develops

The genocidal Biafran war still haunts Nigeria - Chinua Achebe

The 81 year old novelist, poet, professor, and critic wrote an article for the Guardian UK which was published on Tuesday 2nd October. In the article, Professor Achebe wrote - It is my impression that Awolowo was driven by an overriding ambition for power, for himself and for his Yoruba people - and he's being criticized for it. See the full article and tell us what you think...
Almost 30 years before Rwanda, before Darfur, more than 2 million people – mothers, children, babies, civilians – lost their lives as a result of the blatantly callous and unnecessary policies enacted by the leaders of the federal government of Nigeria.
As a writer I believe that it is fundamentally important, indeed essential to our humanity, to ask the hard questions, in order to better understand ourselves and our neighbours. Where there is justification for further investigation, justice should be served.

Patience Jonathan leaves German hospital, checks into hotel

First Lady Dame Patience Jonathan has left the Horst Schmidt Klinik in Wiesbaden, Germany, where she was treated for an undisclosed ailment for about a month. She reportedly left the hospital two days ago. - (Vanguard)

Check out Charly Boy's Abuja Mansion

More photos when you continue...

Over 100 people arrested over Mubi killings

Security agencies said yesterday that they have arrested over 100 suspects, including students of the Federal Polytechnic, Mubi, over the killing of at least 25 students of the school on Monday night.

The Adamawa State Police Command didn't release the identity of those arrested but said not all the people arrested are guilty or are directly connected with the crime. They said those found innocent would be released.

A security agent said some of those killed were students of the school that recently won executive posts in the students' union government (SUG) election held recently. He also said there was insider factor in the crime because many of the victims were called by their names before they were killed.

Investigation into the killings is still in progress