Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 11/23/2014 - 11/30/2014

Saturday 29 November 2014

Check out the body on Jada Pinkett-Smith's 61-year-old mother

Jada posted the pic on her Facebook page yesterday. That is the body on her 61yr old mother. Wowsa!

Awww, Dr Sid and wife expecting first child. See Simi's baby bump

What a way to announce the happy news. Dr Sid and wife, Simi Esiri, are expecting their first baby. The Mavin artist shared these photos on his instagram page. One of Simi cradling her growing baby bump and another of them at the Channel O Awards. So happy for them. Big congrats to them.

Supermodels Oluchi and Ojy Okpe put their bikini body on display

They are both mums of two. Wow! See another pic of the BFFs after the cut...

Nigerian Swiss based artist NazB released the video for 'Boomaye'

Hot on the heels of his new album, Hip Hop artiste, NazB, has released his latest Boomaye video. The video is a new Afro dance video in celebration of the African dance vibe and culture. Enjoy...

Photos: Nigerian stars at Channel O Awards

Singer Emma Nyra pictured on the black carpet at the Channel O Music Video Awards tonight. See more pics of stars at the event after the cut...

Ex-Egypt ruler Hosni Mubarak cleared of corruption and murder charges

Former Egyptian president, Hosni Mubarak has been cleared of charges of corruption and killing of hundreds of Egyptian protesters in a revolution that toppled him in 2011.

Mubarak ruled Egypt for 29 years. The 86-year-old Mubarak was convicted in 2012 of issuing orders to kill peaceful protesters during the country's 2011 uprising and was sentenced to life in prison. He appealed and was granted a new trial last year.

Emir of Kano, Sanusi visits scene of Central Mosque bomb blast

The Emir of Kano, Muhammed Sanusi II who was out of Nigeria when the bomb blast at the Central Mosque in Kano occurred, arrived Nigeria today and went straight to the scene of the the attack to assess the situation.

During his 20 minutes visit to the blast scene, the Emir said with the way the attacks were carried out, it showed it was well planned and had taken the perpetrators close to two months to plan it.
"From all indications, they (attackers) have been planning this for at least two months. I have directed that the mosque be washed and cleaned and prayers should continue here. We will never be intimidated into abandoning our religion, which is the intention of the attackers" he said (photo credit: AFP)

Ha! Check out what this SA singer wore to the Chanel O Awards

She's a South African singer and actress named Pam Andrews. What Hollywood will cause in the world...lol

Harp Music Nite: Harp celebrates Flavour's birthday in Owerri and Onitsha

As the 2nd edition of the Harp Music Nite came to a close last weekend, consumers of Harp Premium Lager in Owerri and Onitsha could not help but show their gratitude to Harp as they were given the opportunity to celebrate Flavour's birthday with him...

Former Foreign Affairs Minister, Gbenga Ashiru, dies at 66

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Olugbenga Ashiru died today November 29th in a South African hospital after a long battle with brain tumor. He was 66 years old.

The career diplomat served as Nigerian Minister from 2011 until 2013. He was also Nigeria's High Commissioner to South Africa. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

Who rocked the look? Tiwa Savage vs Kim K

Kim K and Tiwa Savage rocking Lanvin metallic wrap dress. Who rocked it?

Atiku Abubakar cancels his birthday dinner over Kano blast

Former VP Atiku Abubakar was supposed to celebrate his 68th birthday in Abuja today with family and friends but he has cancelled the party because of the blast in Kano yesterday that killed over 100. Find his statement after the cut..

Adorable pic of the day...

Beyonce and her sister bonding. It's a throwback pic. So cute...

Malta Guinness set to find Naija's true passion! Fashion vs Football with the launch of GameOn campaign

As the controversy continues between fans and enthusiasts of football and fashion, Malta Guinness, the premium malt drink steps in to curate the discussion over which passions best fuels the rise of Naija. The brand is creating a platform for the nation to have her say, and decide which passion will take Naija further with a brand new reality TV show called Malta Guinness Game On.

Photo: Site of the Overland crash

This is the Overland plane that overshot the runway this evening after landing at Ilorin airport. Thankfully, no one was seriously injured.

Tiwa Savage stunning at Channel O awards...see her outfits!

Here's the outfit Tiwa Savage wore to perform at the 2014 Channel O Awards in South Africa which just ended. She's stunning! She also won Best Female Video of the Year for Eminado. Continue to see the dress she wore to the award show...

CAN condemns Kano bomb blast, commiserates with Muslim faithfuls

The Christian Association of Nigeria CAN has condemned the bomb attack that took place yesterday at the Central Mosque in Kano where over 100 persons have been confirmed dead. In a statement released and signed by CAN President, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor, the association said the attack on the place of worship is the greatest evil to human beings and to God almighty. Read the statement after the cut...

Overland plane from Abuja crash-lands in Ilorin...

An Overland plane carrying 59 passengers and 4 crew members crash landed this evening Saturday November 29th in Ilorin, Kwara state. The plane, coming from Abuja, was said to have overshot the runway after it landed.

Below is a statement from the Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority, NCAA, about the incident
"An Overland flight 1186, an ATR 72 aircraft with Registration number 5N-BPG from Abuja airport to Ilorin, carrying fifty nine passengers and four crew members,veered off the runway at low speed after a normal landing at the Ilorin Airport. The incident which occurred today Saturday, November 29, at 4.45pm, has no casualty recorded. However, the Accident and Prevention Bureau in conjunction with the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority has begun an investigation into the cause of the incident. The authority wishes to use this medium to reassure Nigerians that safety of the traveling public is still paramount and cannot be compromised.” the statement read...

Africa International Fashion Week 2014 - Dec 2nd to 5th in Lagos!

Starting from Monday December 1st, the much awaited Africa International Fashion will be declared open by the first Lady  of Lagos state Mrs Abimbola Fashola.

The event will hold from Dec. 2nd to Decn 5th at the grand ball room of Oriental Hotel, Lagos. I will be giving 20 VIP and 40 regulars to LIB readers. Watch the video for details of the show...

Photos: Meet the world's largest family - with 181 members

Ziona Chana has 39 wives, 94 children, 14 daughters-in-law and 33 grandchildren. They all live with him in his hotel-like 100-room, four-story house perched among the hills of Baktwang village in the Indian state of Mizoram. 

One year, he married ten wives. Two of them sisters. His 39 wives say they are blessed to have him and take turns to share his bed.

Photos from Tolu Ogunlesi's white wedding

Journalist Tolu Ogunlesi and Kemi Agboola had their white wedding today Saturday November 29th at the Oritamefa Baptist Church, in Ibadan, Oyo state. Big congrats to them! See more pics from the wedding after the cut...

BBA Huddah Monroe shares bikini pics

The pose on the pic on the right though...:-)

GTFH! See someone's bill at a nightclub in Lagos last night

Yes, you read that right. That's over N10million spent on drinks at Club Escape last night...

Wet Republic Pool Party holds tomorrow

Super classy and very explosive. Wet republic is the unrivaled concept set to transform the pool party scene. No recap, no videos, tell your friend to tell their friends. We wet the republic tomorrow 30th November at Sandralia Hotel in Abuja. Time 1pm. Continue...

Dear LIB readers: My wife doesn't like our son

From a LIB reader
I have three children with my wife. Two of our children are girls and the last who is just three years old is a boy but I have noticed that my wife treats him differently from his sisters. She's not patient with him and smacks him whenever he does something wrong instead of correcting him in a loving manner like a mother should. She also talks to him harshly. If I hadn't seen her give birth to him, I would have thought he was adopted. I have asked her many times why she treats him differently but she says I am just exaggerating. I knew this was getting out of hand when I contemplated getting a camera to see how she treats him when I am not around. That is his mother not his nanny so I shouldn't be scared to leave him alone with her but the sad truth is that I am. What should I do?

Uche Jombo shares new photos with husband and best friend

She looks younger and really happy.

You can still study in UK this January 2015!

Today Robert Gordon University delivers more than 300 courses to over 15,000 full time and part-time students from 120 countries. RGU offers partial merit scholarships for all January 2015 start masters courses in areas including International Business, Oil & Gas Law, IT for Oil & Gas, Management, Finance, Tourism & Hospitality and Project Management. 

Khloe Kardashian's family wants her to dump French Montana

Khloe K's family have reportedly told her to leave French Montana because he's cheating on her. 
From TMZ
Khloe Kardashian needs to run for the hills -- away from French Montana -- and that's exactly what her family told her during a heart-to-heart talk Wednesday.
Sources familiar with the situation tell us ... the Kardashians believe French has been unfaithful to Khloe, and their evidence centers around his recent trip to Dubai.

Photos from Tolu Ogunlesi's engagement / introduction yesterday

Here are some photos from the engagement / introduction ceremony of award winning journalist Tolu Ogunlesi to his bride Kemi in Ibadan yesterday. Continue for more photos...

Photos: Peter Obi shops at a local market

Former Anambra state governor Peter Obi spotted shopping at a local market...and we had to see the pics...:-). See more photos after the cut...

Cossy shares photos from her night out yesterday

Cossy went out last night wearing a see-through black top and very short skirt. She shared the pics on Twitter. See more pics after the cut...

Apply now at the University of Salford Manchester

Have you missed the September 2015 intake and want an early start date? Don’t worry; the University of Salford is currently accepting applications and if you move quickly, you could get onto your ideal course in the January 2015 intake. You can also enjoy up to £5000 academic merit scholarship.

Is this really the story behind Black Friday?

The number one trending topic in most parts of the world yesterday, including Nigeria, was Black Friday, the day after Thanksgiving where stores open early and slash prices of goods to kick off the holiday shopping season. But a group condemning the participation of blacks in the sales day say it stemmed from slavery. Really? Below is what they wrote
"This was the day after Thanksgiving when slave traders would sell slaves for a discount to assist plantation owners with more helpers for the upcoming winter (for cutting and stacking fire wood, winter proofing etc.), hence the name"

For all sexually active women, something for you to read...lol

Found this article titled 'Each time a man connects with a woman sexually and releases his life form energy within her, he leaves a part of his information (DNA) in her birth canal" on BlackSupremacy, and thought to share. Read below and tell us if you agree with the writer's school of thoughts...
Each time a man connects with a woman sexually and releases his life form energy within her, he leaves a part of his information (DNA) in her birth canal. If she doesn’t clean herself, his energy remain inside of her. That imprint can often create illusion sexual addiction to the individual.

Mum calls the police on her 9yr old daughter for attacking younger sister

A woman in Indianapolis is being highly criticized by other parents after she called the police on her 9 year old daughter for punching her 6 year old younger sister in the head. She didn't just call the police, she filed charges against her own child. (the home where it happened)

The mother, Andrea Stumpf, who filmed the attack and showed it to the police as evidence when they came to her home said she filed charges to teach the little girl a lesson that violence is not the answer.

According to Fox 59, the 9 year old was arrested and charged with battery last weekend.

Over 200 killed in the bomb blast at Kano Central Mosque yesterday

Over 200 people were reportedly killed in the bomb blast that occurred yesterday afternoon at the Kano Central Mosque where the Emir of Kano usually leads prayers. Some eye-witnesses and rescue officials put the figure at 300, making it one the deadliest bomb attacks in Nigeria.

According to eyewitnesses, three bombs went off one after the other at the 10,000 capacity Mosque during the Friday Jumat prayers. Two went off inside the Mosque, and one outside. And when people tried to flee the scene, gun men opened fire on worshipers. Many of the casualties were children who couldn't run as fast. Some were trampled to death in the mayhem that ensued.

Flytime Promotions presents Pepsi Rhythm Unplugged 2014

One of Nigeria´s biggest shows just got bigger! Flytime Promotions and Rhythm 93.7FM are proud to present the 10th year special edition of Nigeria's biggest live entertainment event - Pepsi Rhythm Unplugged! To celebrate “A Decade of Rhythm Unplugged”, Flytime Promotions is putting together the show to top all shows, featuring a wide array of special performances by Nigeria´s hottest artistes.

Lekki husbands (I) - By Etcetera

Another article from singer turned columnist, Etcetera. This one is interesting. Enjoy...
Hey Alfred’
‘Yes! Who be this?’
‘Ahan, you no get my number again? Na Frank dey talk.’
‘Hey Franko my guy.’
‘Alfred nawa oo, I don call you taya. Wetin happen wey you no gree pick my calls?’
‘Frank abeg no vex, I been dey inside one shop for “The Palms.”
‘Shuoo, person wey dey inside shop no dey pick calls again? Abi you dey with babe? Talk true.’
‘Frank abeg free me. No be babe mata dey do me now.’
‘Wetin happen Alfred? Why are you sounding like this today?’

Introducing North West, the stunning fashionista (photos)

Kim Kardashian dressed her 17 months old daughter in expensive designer fur coat, black leggins, black dress and black loafers and North carried it like a rockstar. Kim dressed North like that to an appointment at the spa in Beverly Hills and when paparazzi swamped the famous mum and daughter, North gave them a thumps up (right pic)...lol. How adorable! See more photos after the cut...