Over 200 killed in the bomb blast at Kano Central Mosque yesterday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 November 2014

Over 200 killed in the bomb blast at Kano Central Mosque yesterday

Over 200 people were reportedly killed in the bomb blast that occurred yesterday afternoon at the Kano Central Mosque where the Emir of Kano usually leads prayers. Some eye-witnesses and rescue officials put the figure at 300, making it one the deadliest bomb attacks in Nigeria.

According to eyewitnesses, three bombs went off one after the other at the 10,000 capacity Mosque during the Friday Jumat prayers. Two went off inside the Mosque, and one outside. And when people tried to flee the scene, gun men opened fire on worshipers. Many of the casualties were children who couldn't run as fast. Some were trampled to death in the mayhem that ensued.

When normalcy returned hours after the attack, the dead and wounded, said to be over 250, were taken to the Murtala Mohammed Specialist Hospital and the Nasarawa Hospital.

The Emir of Kano was out of the country when the incident occurred. He'd left the night before.

President Jonathan also cancelled his meeting with Nigerians entertainers at the Creative Industry event last night because of the blast.

Photo credit: Punch

130 comments:

In the name of Allah

Say wat? May dia souls rest in peace and pls! "Hello? Its nt abt cancelling meeting mr presdo! Because emechakwaa ihe na ebe akana ebe! So dnt patronize us wit dat!

buchi said...

Wat a scene. Na wa o. God where art thou?

May the souls of the dead rest in peace.
Waiting for Oritsejafor to come and tell us the number of Christians that were killed in this attack.

Na only Christians all these Boko Harams dey kill. What have you got to say to this one? Pls let Mr President resign before things get out of hand. This killing and bomb-blast is far too much.

MrTolulope.Com said...

chaii r.i.p

Oh my Bosh!!!!

This is too much on us. GEJ pls resign and let people that tackle this issue of Boko Haram come to our rescue. We already know that Gej does't know what to do about Boko Haram anymore.

the rising sun said...

the worst part is that many igbo still live in that zone.....WE ARE NOT ONE ,ND CAN NEVER BE ONE , FREE YOURSELF NIGERIA, FREE YOURSELF.......****Man from the east****

Fu*k Jonathan Jare, when pokistum explosion happen, y him no cancel him election bid... Bi*ch a$$ niqq3r, *go tell em I said that**

He left the night before? Fish dey smell oh. Yeye d smell. I smell conspiracy! How convenient. He knew twas coming. He's part of BH. All this to paint GEJ black. Muslim northerners are born of d devil. Such evil

obietrezy said...

at least na turn by turn ni, make the muslims feel am small.. jor oh

This is painful
Heartbreaking news
We will be rate along Iran & Syria

So no more young & hot blooded guys in our military?

It was a mistake...after prayer they intended to take it else where.they dint time it well....I won't come back to read comments *tongueout* *ntoh* Rip sha

Oh Jesus.

Neks said...

I wonder what will happen when Boko Haram finish killing people in the North, merge it with Chad

This is becoming 2much and something has 2 be done fast before all the northerner languish in the hands of this BH. ****QUEENMAYA*****

This is just to tell u that this BH issue is not based on religion. If not bh won't be blowing up mosques. These pple are just hardcore terrorists

Why will the Emir not be out of the country. They should continue killing themselves, they know what they are doing!

DOS said...

This is becoming worse by the day. May God help us.

OMG, this is sad. Something needs to be done soonest. Sigh*

Na wa o.......Wats nigeria turning into

Aymii said...

There is confusion in their camp! ...... For this to happen the Boko factions are warring against each other........... prayers are working........Boko haram hierarchy are beginning to kill themselves.

Sanusi knows stuff about this........ iono exactly what...but he much have gotten info before escaping that shiii was about to go down......A lot more will unfold very soon!

On 2 the Next!

Boko haram is an Islamic sect they said... May the innocent souls the government can't protect rest in peace

omg....dis boko guys are demons...

200 and something human beings.......human lives is more like indomie now days no value......we hear of bomb blast and wen they say 50 were killed...we shout tnkGod...Ind sense that they are not much.....our Nigerian has turned to Iraq..iran..Syria....aftganistan..

And their emir d' left out of the country a night before the blast?? Interesting. Chad, camoroun, france and emir of kano can explain better

No it is not.i am a Muslim and this isn't what we are about.

All these people shouting for GEJ to resign, can u guarantee that his resignation will be the end of boko haram? I'm not a fan of GEJ, but unless u can guarantee peace after he's gone, then just keep quiet about it already. If there's any one person that can stop boko haram, then that person does not need the president to resign before he can do it, so let's reason with our brains and not sentiments.

ukbliss said...

Wat r d northern state men doing, I no fit shout

Aaron said...

Mehn f***k dis GEJ dis guy got to resign many countries casualties aint up to dis and d leaders resign immediately let does who can handle govt with iron hand be elected vote dis dullard GEJ out 2015.

Simple truth...

It's lik dem wan rig election for all ds areas wia dem dey throw bombs cos pepl no go dey dt side to vote again

This is by far the worst attack on Muslims since independence.

Abeg wait oo, is Buhari and Sanusi not tired of killing dia people n by d way who will vote 4 dem wen dem finish dia people?

USELESS MAN. EVEN IN AMERICA U CANT STOP SUICIDE BOMBERS. WHY MUST HE RESIGN

Abeggi....cos there is division now.God don dey catch them....hisssss not religious

Wtf!!!!! All we need is a revolution. Dear God,we need u 2 intervene

100 likes

PLEASE LETS BEGIN TO THINK WITH THE BRAIN GOD GAVE TO US AND NOT THRU OUR SHIT HOLES.HAS IT OCCURED THAT MAYBE THE EMIR WAS THE ACTUAL TARGET AS HE MADE A PRONOUNCEMENT ABOUT A WEEK AGO ASKING THE NORTHERN OBAS ETC TO DEFEND THEIR VILLAGES AGAINST BOKO HARAM RATHER THAN DIE WORTHLESS DEATHS.THIS WAS MADE PUBLICLY.BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY,IRRESPECTIVE OF WHO IS BEHIND THIS,CAN THE PEOPLE AND OUR LEADERS RISE ABOVE THE DRAMA AND FACE THIS ANIMALS.CAN WE STAMP OUT OUR PERSONAL ISSUES AND FACE THIS CRAZY PEOPLE.THIS ISN'T ISLAM.NO RELIGION PREACHES MURDER.

That's what shakau has told the whole world about u guys.in fact what did your brother do in jos?violent race....this just the beginning the table has turned.u guys were freely going to your own worship centers while we served God in fear.yes people died(rip)but I think this the scene we needed for sanity.

Ok, I've tried to stay aloof on blogs but now I gotta meet this Bonario fellow. He's one whose acquaintance I'd like to make.

Terrible. GEJ should do something about this. Its so unfortunate to be at this level of backwardness and helplessness.

phantombruce said...

The Nigeria state is soaked in blood , its pathetic and shameful # OBA

chummy said...

Islamophobia....... Imagine nigeria without northern Muslim.

You guys call the president all the time. What about the Governor of the state what is his role? If you have issues in ur house meet ur father first and not the landlord. If war breaks out in 9ja you all will know what it is. Go and ask the igbo what they saw for 3 years war and after

Ara Kugbuokwa Gi Ngaa said...

Helloooo, ur comments sometimes pisses me off! Hv u forgotten so soon d mayhem dose fools caused @ an anglican church on d 25th of december 2010 in suleja, niger state? If dont know wat to say sometimes den u should keep quiet other dan uttering rubbish dude haba!

Eagle Eyes Media said...

God bless you.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

But what do you do for a living?

U are a very stupid person! If u like join them and kill yourself too all the president will do is cancel his meetings. When people won't live in peace u are here blaming the president

Shut up!!!!

Tell that to the birds and the marines...

Fuck GEJ...Fuck pastor "bling-bling" oristejafor! N fuck you all for the blasphemy. Its clear we're all victim n its nothing religion!!!

tsalz c.e.o said...

na vfry serious matter b dis oo

HOW COME THE EMIR CONVENIENTLY LEFT THE NIGHT BEFORE

Sanusi is behind this!
This people should be tried in international court for crimes against humanity!
Sanusi your days are numbered. I have never known an evil man go scott-free

If its possible that someone has the solution to this and won't say how , till he is voted in then we don't need such a person. During the world trade centre bush didn't resign .do they actually kill people so that GEJ will step down?

Mehn GEJ should just resign and let real leaders take over this issue abeg

lets not deceive or selves, bh is not a religious fight but rather political, every bomb blast in the north, many die killing both muslims and christians,they dont care who dies wheda a muslim or christian and nt interested in the tribes either. they only want to destroy the north but also confuse and cause enemity btw religion and ethnicity in nigeria. i saw dead bodies yesterday i can even say more than 500 died. all the hospital were filled.
we have to stop seeing this as a religious fight because its not, we in the north knw this.
we need to be prayerfu and be vigilant
may God help us all cause nigeria is becoming worse.
we dnt even need any old fool to be our president, y can a young man like 40 be d president/

Jenny said...

U all are saying GEJ shud resign let pple dat can tackle d issue com in. Wats wrong if dey throw in their ideas now. GEJ being president doesn't min he shud do d work alone. Wat happens to 1 Nigeria. I can bet my money dat even wen he steps down, d 1s coming in can't do shit

Who is responsible for this attack?

Well, it is the same people that bought Buhari a bullet-prove care 2 weeks before staging an assassination where 80 innocent people died.
They do not regard their people as human beings.

Please shuy ur dirty mouth. Taste of ur own medicine

Yes oh.. fish dey smell. Sanusi Sanusi sanisu! Hmmmm

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

So sad

Chaii, dis is terrible. Emir of kano knows something abt dis.

If a northerner becomes presido, d central,west,east,south will b in trouble. Use ur tongue to count ur teeth

Gorgeous Diva said...

Hmmmm...am beginning to get frightened! God pls help your children.

And can someone tell me this people are not muslim and stop blaming muslims for this bomb blast this is just terrorism why will a muslim kill people praising the same Allah they claim they are fighting for?i tire for this stupid Nigeria president ooo

Anon 10: 46 how do you know this ? May their sould rest in peace .

The attack was staged by boko haram in order to deceive the public.they want people to believe they are not killing only christians.

They were killing people before Jonathan and they will continue after him until they kill themselves finish. Blood tasty fools.

May dier soul rest in peace

Imagine som1 saying ntorr,d fact dt u ain't a Muslim doesn't mean u shudnt use ur brain

Bonario......u are not smart at all.....see the kind of inciting statement you are making...e be like this lumia wen dem dash don carry ur brain

The Monster is now striking his owner...

Aaron and co una dey crase.na GEJ send them? How come prominent worshipers were absent...???? APC make una dey kill dey go very soon Gods hammer will fall on your heads ...next time sanusi you won't that lucky.

My sentiments exactly! They have have to attack mosques, so that it would look as if it is not only christians that are being killed. Nonsense.

ColdFlame said...

At a time like this it is pertinent to ask certain questions:

How does the slaughter of so many redress/justify anything?

Does the sudden spike in violence have anything to do with the current politics of our country?

Are the perpetrators truly pursuing an Islamic agenda or are they mere guns for hire?

Can this whole episode be linked to fifth columnists within the government who are bent on foistering a certain political agenda on the country?

Do Nigeria's neighbors have anything at all to do with
it?

Should we all as ordinary citizens do nothing but sit back and call on Jesus/God/Allah to intervene?

GOD IS GREAT

IN FACT I LIKE THIS PEOPLE. BUHARI AND CIROMA MAKING NIGERIA UNGOVERNABLE FOR JONATHAN BY KILLING THEMSELVES. STUPID MUSLIMS. AND SANUSI RAN AWAY AFTER PLANTING THE BOMBS

Exactly...it's very convenient that he left the night before the blast. If we look at many of the events since the onset of the boko haram crisis you can see that Sanusi's hands are not clean

God punish you!!! U have a very evil heart, when you thought he went for the dinner with entertainers, u insulted him for having a party after a bomb blast, now u hear he didn't go, u say he is patronising you, what the heck is wrong with Nigerians??? What kind of president would be happy that his countrymen are dying???

Do u know that the entertainment industry is Nigerians number PR tool? Don't you realize that the reason why u feel you like USA is because of what you see in the Movies and Music videos? It is an important aspect of the nation's economy!

Obama himself never jokes with Hollywood, infact when he was endorsed by Oprah his approval ratings skyrocketed.

Fine there are issues that are wrong with Nigeria, but it's all part of a whole. You don't deal with one and leave the rest to suffer.

So if he resigns will that stop the bombing???

Thank you.

Aaron u be big fool..

Remember how they STAGED a bomb attack on themselves in which ALL of them escaped without a scratch?

Now they bomb a mosque to make us believe their campaign of VIOLENCE is not targeted against CHRIST and His anointed.

But we all KNOW all Islamic militant campaign is always against christians. These people don't care how many souls of their own faithfuls they send to HELL in their blind quest to islamatize the world.

Unless their is no LIVING GOD will these sons of Ishmael go unpunished.

Gej can't even go anywhere again. When they hear he has function they must show themselves.cowards....U guys felt God was sleeping abi.now its your turn. Rest in peace the innocent ones

Pls the Emir was out of the country for over a week!

My thoughts exactly

My tots as well

The Emir was out of the country since.Not a day before!!Don't write what you don't know!

Na wa o

You are a pool go and read the story fist

Somebody is asking if they are no longer Military men with hot blood left. What do you expect them to do? When the same you people crying foul, are the same people who once said that the worst civil regime, is better than the best Military regime. All we need now is God's intervention. RIP OUR HELPLESS DEAD BROTHERS AND SISTERS.

Those asking GEJ to resign are fooooooools.....cowards...nincompoos..More insults on ur wretched life...

Idiot!

masha Allah

Calling on GEJ to resign is not out of place, do you know what GEJ's primary responsibility is? Security on life and property of citizens. He has failed in his primary responsibility. I will not be surprised if GEJ himself knows something about this, it will make him get the extension of state of emergency he needs in the 3 troubled states for political advantage during the next election.

TOUCH OF RAY said...

Every little or big thing u all there cursing ur president, meanwhile, you never done shit to profit or touch ur neighbour, more or less you society. He isn't perfect we know, are we? Lets work together and stop generating negative energy. Talk right, act right n live right. This must be too hard for some ...to take in.

TOUCH OF RAY said...

Every little or big thing u all there cursing ur president, meanwhile, you never done shit to profit or touch ur neighbour, more or less you society. He isn't perfect we know, are we? Lets work together and stop generating negative energy. Talk right, act right n live right. This must be too hard for some ...to take in.

TOUCH OF RAY said...

I hope Jonathan will just step down. Enough is enough of his regime abeg.

GBJ,you never tired 4 this ur plan as abacha did where is him today,continue end if ur life will be vanish, I no you follow instructions they told you to do,this kano you started kill people now come and see we christen that was born and grew up in city of sabon geri. You will suffer in jesus name.

Com on shut up, why are you very stupid, Ahh you disgust me.

It's funny this blast happened some weeks after the emir advised Nigerians to arm themselves against BH. This attack clearly appears to be aimed at sending a message to him, Thank God he was absent. You all should understand that BH is not solely against Christians but it's against anyone that opposes their doctrines. You may not be bothered now cos it hasn't affected you directly or otherwise but have you ever imagined what would happen when they completely take over the north? Do you think they'll stop?? This menace is bigger than you think. May God almighty protect us all. RIP to the departed souls

GEJ resign ke? For what, see as people don't even comment anymore, it has become regular thingz. They should continue killing themselves, me I dey siddon look.

So long as they stay in the North, it's alright. How can human beings decide that the best way is to kill their fellow Muslims, Northerner, brothers, sisters?

Money Making Machine said...

Too bad. God pls take control

Sabani said...

For who to come in? You have anybody with the solution abi you wan try luck? If all the killings is only for GEJ to resign, my dear, it will continue for the next person to bend. Nobody can hold us to ransom, they are only going to bring out the beast in every Nigerian.

omee said...

Remember sanusi warning nigerians to open their eyes and arm themselves. He had some pre information. Where did he travel to? Very curious. Very suspicious. May their souls rest in peace.

You are a big fool @obietrezy

Brandon said...

Pls guys GEJ should be left alone what are the generals in the North doing about this BH issue.Babangiga, Buhary, Shehu shagari, abdulsalam etc... pls they should react and meet GEJ to save th North. God bless Nigeria!

AGB said...

@anonymous11:54 are you a human being or an animal? Your post doesn't sound what what a human being would write tho.

AGB said...

@Bonario,you're objectivity is the first approach to handling these terrorists & I commend you for thinking clearly. We,Nigerians can be so stupid letting bias cloud our judgements of even very clear things. Foolish people be taking sides as if Christianity or Islam are greater than human lives. The simple thing is the president had better woke up.

Na only u go sch for this place....God bless u dear.even if mosquito bite Nigerians "GEJ "I'm a non partisan Nigerian but I tell u the Hausa man know what he is doing.they promised to make Nigeria ungovernable.... Its sad how blind we are.the way we always accuse the devil wen we deliberately do stuffs that's how they accuse GEJ...as for me any one I don't even see any one better than GEj amongst all the presidential aspirants. But God forgive me I'm happy the hausas are dealing with themselves pls don't just come near my state.

May God punish the nigerian government for its inability to protect the lives of its people.

Word!! No be lie

Hahahahahahah@ you are a pool...obvious this Na Hausa man...Na now the tin dey pain una?

These guys are actors...they just dint stage this one well.go through all the comments and read how defensive they are.well its a pity that lugard amalgamated us.I tell u they are so selfish.if we vote buhari for good 8years u won't hear noise from them.if only they had natural resourses and their agriculture was booming they would have seperated Nigeria since.cos they are a bunch of poor and illitrate people...u hear them shout 1nigeria.they are just the trouble this world has.

@Sabina thank u

So bad...ntorr??? People lost their lives o....but these boko haram guys have made Nigerians so angry.and I think they are gradually bringing out the beast in every Nigerian.rest in peace the innocent souls.

U tink wit yo ass...

My christian and Muslim brothers and sisters.now u see what we are facing in this country. And there would be more attacks ,you knw. Lets come together to fight this evil. But have it in mind that Muslims started this senseless war and now it cannot be controlled . Learn from this unless ur children would wipe u out once they are grown... Now u must come together to fix it .

the attack is fake.am not buying into it

School Life said...

ok.

Innalillahi.......4rm Allah we are and to him we shall surely return... no one will b left behide

youngmind said...

God,pls save our country.we have no where to run too.save our generation too.let the bloodshed stop.let peace reign.give us leaders that wil help nigeria.our heart cries.

Let us put our hand together so as to fight all the deserster facing by nigerian most especially the northern part 9ja but in the it became something usual. So cant we change our attitude sothat we could have peace tranquility.