Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 12/18/2011 - 12/25/2011

Saturday 24 December 2011

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Merry Christmas to you all. Thanks for making LIB No.1
May God shower blessings upon blessings on you all and your families.
Have a fantastic Christmas celebration. Kisses to all!

Uche Jombo's New Photos

Lovely!

Coroner: Bridge Jumper Was A Nigerian Medical Resident, Tosin Oyelowo

From Mountpleasant
The Charleston County Coroner confirms that a female body discovered Wednesday afternoon on Sullivan's Island is that of missing MUSC resident Olutosin Oyelowo.
Police had reported that Oyelowo, 25, was seen jumping from the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge on Dec. 9. Her wallet and identification were found along the bridge and her car was parked within walking distance.
The coroner was able to positively identify the remains Friday with the help of dental records, said Deputy Coroner Kimberly Rhoton. She died as a result of the fall from the bridge, she said.

Win Tickets To Afrobeat Explosion with Seun Kuti & Egypt '80 Band

To win a ticket to the show which will take place today Saturday December 24th at Terra Kulture. V/I, please call this number...08054834528.

You can also buy tickets for N3, 000 regular and N5, 000 couple at the venue of the event. All the best and enjoy the show!

Friday 23 December 2011

26yr old Nigerian, Olutosin Oduwole, Sentenced to 5 Years in Prison in the US for Terrorist Threat

A 26yr old Nigerian, Olutosin Oduwole, was on Wednesday December 21, sentenced to five years in prison in Madison County, for writing what prosecutors say was a note demanding money and threatening a Virginia Tech-like killing spree.

A jury convicted the former Southern Illinois University student in October of attempting to make a terrorist threat and unauthorized possession or storage of a weapon.

The judge sided with jurors in dismissing Oduwole's claim that he was an aspiring rapper, and that the threatening words were innocent lyrical musings. He was sentenced to five years on the threat charge and a year on the weapons charge to be served concurrently.
The threat note was found in Tosin's abandoned car by cops in July 2007, just a few months after the Virginia Tech massacre. The writing demanded payment to a PayPal account, threatening "if this account doesn't reach $50,000 in the next 7 days then a murderous rampage similar to the VT shooting will occur at another highly populated university. THIS IS NOT A JOKE!

The aspiring rapper insisted in court that he "did not mean to incite fear. That was never my intention. That is not my character." But he failed to convince the court the writing was innocent lyrics and other musings. Also, unfortunately for him, when they searched his on-campus dorm when he was arrested, cops found a loaded gun.

Oge Okoye shaves hair for movie role

Heard she got millions of Naira to do this. Not bad.

Is it a good idea to set up a business with your boyfriend?

I can set up a business with my husband, the father of my children, if anything goes wrong between us, the business still belongs to the the children. But a boyfriend? A boyfriend? No sir, not going to happen!

In March 2009, Bunmi Olaye set up a luxury fashion and art label with the love of her life, Francis Udom. They called it Bunmi Koko. For two and a half years the label won several awards, featured in several fashion shows around the world, had their clothes worn by important dignitaries, including Michelle Obama. They seemed unstoppable.

But on December 6th 2011, the Bunmi Koko label announced that co-founder, Bunmi Olaye was stepping down from the label, which already has operational business subsidiaries in the UK, SA and South America.

I hear the hardworking fashionista is planning to start her own independent label...thing is, after all the work she put in for almost three years to make Bunmi Koko a household name, she now has to start all over again.

So I ask; is it a good idea, as a woman, to set up a business with a boyfriend?

Melanie Amaro Wins US 'X Factor'

Chris Rene, Melanie Amaro and Josh Krajcik
The 19-year-old from Sunrise, Florida won a $5 million record deal and a starring role in a Pepsi advert. She was crowned the first season US X Factor winner in a Finale show that held in Los Angeles yesterday Thursday Dec. 22, 2011.

Soulful 30-year-old singer Josh Krajcik of Wooster, Ohio came second, while Chris Rene, the recovering 28-year-old singer-rapper from Santa Cruz, Calif., came in third place.

Dehadza Fashion Store Celebrates @ One: 50% off all items

Dehadza Fashion Store, located at shop C23, Adeniran Ogunsanya Shopping Mall (Shoprite) on Adeniran Ogunsanya, Surulere, is celebrating their one year in business today. And they are selling all items in the store at 50% off. They have the most beautiful shoes that are quite affordable. Today, you get to buy them for half the price. The sales will begin from 9am this morning until 8pm tonight. Special appearance at the anniversary party is DJ Zeez. Continue to see some of what they have to offer...

Mama G, is that you? Wow!!!

Nollywood actress Patience Ozokwor like you've never seen her before. Long weave, eyelashes, fine make-up...she looks amazing!

Photos from Muma Gee's Traditional Wedding

Muma Gee's traditional wedding to Prince Eke took place on Tuesday December 20th at Odiabidi Town, Upata Kingdom, Ekpeye Land, Ahoada East LGA in Rivers State. More photos when you continue...

2011 CAF African Player of the Year: Yaya Toure

The 28yr old Manchester City and Cote d'Ivoire player has been named the 2011 African Footballer of the Year by the Confederation of African Football.

Second Place For African Player of The Year 2011 went to Seydou Keita of Mali and Barcelona, while the third place went to Andre Ayew of Ghana and Marseille.

2011 Legend Awards went to Ausin Jay Jay Okocha and Mustapha Hadji of Morocco.

Was Yaya Toure your best player for 2011?

Thursday 22 December 2011

Quote of the day

"If Goodluck Jonathan does not remove oil subsidy, his government will crash”. Gov Adams Oshiomhole said at today's Town Hall Meeting.

Heard his full speech on the debate today on NTA and I was highly disappointed. From the mouth of a former NLC president? The man who fought furiously for the masses in the years he was Nigeria Labour Congress president. Weeks of strike and protests, compelling government to reduce the price of fuel. Now he's in Government and he's singing a different tune. What a damn shame!

Dear FG, instead of the planned toll gates next year, why not repair the bad roads?

Rural Road Access and Mobility Project sometime back said that 85% of Nigerians roads are in bad condition. Hundreds of people are dying everyday on these horrible roads. And instead of our government to concentrate on building good roads and repairing the bad ones, they are more interested in introducing toll gates on major roads, which they say will commence next year. What a government!

Continue to see a scene of a fatal car accident which occured along the Abuja-Lokoja Expressway this week. Gruesome photos, dead bodies and survivors. Please do not look if you don't have the stomach for such. I'm putting this here so some of you know what people are facing in this country on a daily basis. Some avoidable deaths, if only the government will care a little. Continue to see the photos...

MTN Rewards Users With Christmas Surprises

In a bid to appreciate and reward patronage from loyal subscribers, Nigeria's leading Telecommunication network, MTN is now offering amore convenient and exciting means of communication this yuletide period.

The offer which takes place from now till January 31, 2012 is summarized below:
1) Available to all customers on the MTN family and Friends "Xpanded":
Get one minute free worth N30 for every three minutes received. To
enroll and enjoy this bonus, text Bonus to 131.
2) Available to all MTN Prepaid customers: Enjoy the lowest call
rate at N8.33k when you pay only N100 for 12 minutes of
call to China, US, Canada and UK lines. To buy this bundle, Text YES
to short code 321.

Continue for more...

Ciara vs Rukky Sanda

What can I say? Slow news day...lol.

Nigerian Company Selling Kerosene to Airlines as Jet Fuel.

From Saharareporters.com
The safety of air travel in Nigeria is in question again. In a petition sent on December 5 to the Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Alison-Madueke, the Major Oil Marketers Association (MOMAN) alleges that some unscrupulous Nigerians are selling kerosene meant for domestic consumption (DPK) to aviation operators as jet fuel (Jet A1).

Elfreda Edewor Francis: The Society Chic Before and After

Amazing transformation!!!

Brazilian baby 'born healthy' with two heads

The baby was born in Brazil last week to a 25 year old Brazilian woman, Maria de Nazare,who said she had been told by doctors that she was set to welcome twins.

The baby has two brains and two spines but shares one heart, lungs, liver and pelvis. They've been named Emanoel and Jesus. 

Amazing!!!

Cherries Online Shopping Juicy Xmas Offer!

Cherries online shopping is the newest trend in Nigeria. Imagine being relaxed in your home over a glass of wine or juice while buying home accessories which transforms your house to a home right there from your living room! The best thing about it is that you can pay cash on delivery so you have nothing to lose!

Continue reading please...

Pregnant Beyonce steps out in sexy animal print leggings...

Beyonce spotted doing some Christmas shopping yesterday in New York. Sexy mama!

Callous dad burns daughter’s breasts, private part for making phone call to boyfriend

A man, John (surname witheld), in a community in Abia State, has been banished for life for allegedly using hot iron on the breast and private part of his 16-year-old daughter after she was caught answering phone call from her boy friend.

The same hot iron, suspected to be a kitchen knife was also used to shave the hair of the victim, who was locked up by the father in his compound.

It was from the cell that she was said to have contacted one of her close friends, who took picture of her nude position and alerted members of the community.

Photos from AY's DVD Premiere in Lagos

The event held on Thursday December 15th at the Muson Centre, Lagos. More photos after the jump...

Wife-killer, Akolade Arowolo, in court yesterday

He's almost unrecognizable. Not that I have any sympathy for him. His case was adjourned till sometime next year. Hope Titi gets justice.

A very sexy Santa Kemistry

The former Rhythm and Inspiration FM OAP in her Santa Costume. Mó like e! :-)

Governor T.A Orji's 2011 Christmas Message (The Remix)

Some people are mad sha! Who did this? Please show some respect jor...lol. I swear if this video doesn't kill you with laughter, nothing else will. LMAO. Check it out!

Wednesday 21 December 2011

UK blacklists medical graduates from 9 Nigerian universities

GMC says the schools no longer meet accepted standards of practice in the UK

Medical graduates from nine universities in Nigeria will no longer be able to obtain licenses to practice in the United Kingdom, following a decision by the UK's General Medical Council (GMC) to ban the higher institutions.

The GMC, a body of independent regulators which registers medical doctors to practise in the UK, took the decision to bar graduates from the nine universities from writing PLAB.

Video: Man Dies After Eating Cocaine From His Brother's Butt!

Wayne Joshua Mitchell (left), 20, died when he decided to swallow cocaine to save his older brother, 23yr old Deangelo (right), from going to jail.

Deangelo pressured Wayne into swallowing the cocaine hidden in his behind while they were in the back of a police car and cops were searching their vehicle.
Deangelo told his brother:
"You gonna eat it, you gonna chew it... You ain't got no strike... I can get you out... I can't afford another strike. You the only one that don't have no strikes... You my lil' brother... I'm gonna get life... You gonna unwrap it? Want me to hand you it?"
Wayne then told Deangelo "I love you bro" and swallowed the drug. Moments later he appeared to have a hard time breathing and holding his head up. He was taken to a local hospital, but doctors were unable to save him. A video recording of the incident when you continue...

Arik Air Hostess, Chiwendu Ogbonnaya, Arrested in the UK For Drug Trafficking

A 30 year old Nigerian air hostess with Arik Air, Chinwendu Uwakaonyenma Ogbonnaya, was on Sunday December 18th arrested at Heathrow Airport for attempting to smuggle four kilogram of cocaine into the UK.

Chiwendu was on an Arik Air flight from Lagos to the UK when the drug was discovered in one of her bags. She's been charged to court. They are not releasing pics of her at the moment...

Sad! 

Photos: Bomb makers injured by their own device.

These men were injured (one dead) when the bomb they were making in an apartment in the Malakali area of Mando in Kaduna, exploded.

God have mercy on us. Imagine how many people would have lost their lives if they had succeeded.

Oby Edozieh responds to husband snatching allegations.

She wrote this on her Facebook page a few hours ago....
Why is it that every time an actress is about to wed, all kinds of stories start coming out from people who just don’t want them to be happy. And unfortunately,our beloved people that we entertain are quick to buy into these unfounded stories from d aggrieved ex-wives &mistresses. This is one of the reasons why I chose to keep my court wedding secret.I only want to state this once and for all, that my husband is married to only me in this whole world.When my husband arrived into Nigeria, saw an email sent to him by this white woman. In d email she was saying how much she misses him, & now realizing d true meaning of d popular saying, that,ONE DOES NOT KNOW THE VALUE OF WHAT THEY HAVE UNTIL THEY LOSE IT.Emails and text messages don’t lie.She also made other related comments.A day after my wedding,I got a call from her, saying she is Alex’s Ex-wife. I asked her how she got my two cell phone numbers. She raised her voice and was rude.
I guess once there is a former wife, there will always be drama. Continue reading...