Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog: 03/23/2014 - 03/30/2014

Saturday 29 March 2014

Photos: Femi Segun Buried

Broadcaster, PR guru, speaker, and Yeni Kuti's ex husband, Femi Segun, who passed away on Friday March 21st following a bike accident, has been buried.

Mr Segun was buried yesterday at the Vaults and Gardens, Ikoyi after a service of songs that held at House on the Rock Church, in Lekki. Pictured above are Femi Kuti and Femi Segun's daughter with Yeni Kuti, Rolari, at the burial yesterday. Such a sad loss! May his soul rest in peace..amen. Continue to see more photos...

New Music: Sna-Z - Beta Life

Sna-Z is back at it again with another fire banger titled 'Beta Life', a blend of pop tunes and African rhythm with flavored soothing lyrics, a deserving follow up to his highly successful single 'Kolobi.' This builds up to the release of his much anticipated debut album scheduled for this summer. Listen, download and enjoy this Mystro-produced track....

Photo: Tchidi Chikere and Nuella Njubigbo wed

Nollywood director Tchidi Chikere married his girlfriend actress Nuella Njibigbo in a traditional wedding that held at the bride's hometown today. Congrats to them. I guess this ends all the drama. Will bring more pics later...

Dear women, you know we can actually hold out until marriage?

How many of you watched that Nick Cannon video yesterday where he listed the names of 5 famous women he's slept with? (See it here) Did you hear what he said about Mariah Carey when they asked him when they first slept together?
"On our wedding night, honeymoon style, in the Bahamas. That's a real woman there, make you wait, til you got married." Nick said
About other women, Nick said "It's LA! That's the whole purpose, you have sex with actresses, singers, models...but Mariah made me wait"
In essence, a real woman makes a man wait till they are married before giving herself to him? I know it's really difficult to hold out, especially when you're crazy in love with the guy, but the thing is, men actually respect that. They really do. And whether you sleep with a man or not, if he wants to marry you, he will, right?

Personally, I don't know if I can. I'd love to I swear. I keep telling myself that's the plan but you can meet a guy tomorrow now with Brad Pitt's face, Tyson Beckford's body, Gerard Butler's charm and Kevin Hart's sense of humour and lose your senses. lol. But ultimately this is the best thing to do, wait till you are married. What do you ladies think? And big kudos to Mariah

Vimbai celebrates the African woman with 'Woman of the Soil' project

Star Gist presenter and 2-time AMVCA host, Vimbai Mutinhiri has collaborated with Nigerian photographer, Reze Bonna on a project to celebrate African women. The project is a photo campaign that showcases and celebrates the origins of African women. Continue...

Photos from Ese Walter and Benny Ark's white wedding

Ese Walter and Cool FM OAP Benny Ark's church wedding held today in Abuja. Big congrats to them. Continue to see more photos...

I can’t waste my time on El-Rufai, he’s too small - Pastor Oritsejafor

In an interview with Punch today, President of the Christian Association of Nigeria, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor responded for the first time on Mallam Nasir Elrufai's claims that the private jet he got some months back was from the presidency and not from his church members. (Find story here)
Your children in the ministry bought aircraft for you recently, but Mallam Nasir el-Rufai claimed it was a gift from the President. How do you feel about this?
I am glad that there are people who challenged him. I would only be dignifying him if a person at my level starts exchanging words with a small person like el-Rufai. He is too small. I will not dignify him with a response. People responded. They told him that since he knew who gave the gift, he should provide the proof, which he hasn’t done till today. Obviously, he didn’t have any proof. That is the problem with Nigeria. We continue to celebrate people like el-Rufai. He is too small for me.
Are you considering legal actions against him?
If I did that, I would be giving him publicity. el-Rufai is too small for that. I shouldn’t have anything to do with him. If there are other Nigerians who will want to take him to court, they are free, but not for me. Going to court with who? el-Rufai? el-Rufai is too small. I won’t waste my time on him.

Actress Foluke Daramola's husband grabs her boobs in new photo

It's his property so it's allowed! :-)

King Cap Bee - Bada Dan Dem . Produced by D-Tunes

Akingbenga Akinyemi better known by his stage name King Cap Bee emerged on the scene with his one of a kind style, flair and charisma. King Cap Bee, a Nigerian AfroBeat and HipHop artist born in Lagos, Nigeria and Founder/Head of label D.R.E.A.M Team Entertainment released his single "She Like it" along side fellow up-comer Ayo Jay, The single "She Like It" was very critically acclaimed and accepted by the masses. 

Prior to that he had releases like the single "Hello". "Hello" garnered airplay in the USA and beyond, and the song ended up on rotation on MTV's The Real World and VH1's Bad Girls Club.  Continue..

Pat Utomi planning to convene alternative CONFAB

Makes sense!

Triple Boost pants for men to make bulge look bigger launched

You know the way women artificially enhance their cleavage by wearing push-up bras? Well, something similar has been created for men. It's the Tripple Boost pants for men which features padding in the crouch area and removable air cookies designed to enhance the appearance of a man's package. (See before and after pic above).

It was created by Ann Summers and comes in black, ivory and red and will be launched on April 1 2014. So from April this year, don't be fooled ladies, that bulge you see may just be a cover for a mini me...lol. But do men really need this?

Nigerian female entrepreneurs, including moi, celebrated at University of Leeds

University of Leeds a few days ago celebrated their International Women's week and the Nigerian Students Society in the University put together the Nigerian Exhibition where they showcased and highlighted the achievements of Nigerian Female Entrepreneurs. The students chose me among several leading Nigerian female entrepreneurs, including Deola Sagoe, Folurunsho Alakija, Adenike Ogunlesi, Uche Pedro (Bella Naija), Kehinde Kamson, Mo Abudu, Betty Irabor, Stella Okoli, Tara Fela-Durotoye, Ndidi Nwuneli & Olayinka Adebayo to showcase and highlight at the Women's Week

I heard the Nigerian stand was well flocked by variety of International students and lecturers with the Society Executives taking their time to explain the achievements of the various women on showcase.

The Nigerian Exhibition started on Monday 24/03/14 and ran till yesterday Friday 28/03/14. Thanks to the Nigerian Students of University of Leeds. What an honour!. Continue to see more photos...

Comedian Ali Baba shares wardrobe pic online as he blasts 'haters'

Lol. Live and Let Live, biko.

ShareABaileysWithMum This Mother’s Day

She is a great teacher; a teacher of compassion, love and fearlessness. If love is sweet as a flower, then her love for me is that sweet flower of love. If you guys are wondering who I’m referring to, that’s my mom. I love my Mum deeply and I’m sure you all do too, that is why Baileys, the most loved Irish is set to give all of us a unique opportunity to convey the depth of feeling that is associated with Mother's Day. Continue...

NYPD shuts down Davido's NY concert because it was over-packed

You have to be a really special artist for this to happen to you. The New York Police Department last night March 28th shut down Davido's concert which held at Pulse 48 in Brooklyn because the concert was overbooked, leading to safety concerns. People going to the concert caused shut down of two blocks in Brooklyn, forcing the police to intervene.

The show yesterday was supposed to be Davido's first show as he kicks off US/Canada Tour 2014. He has a show in D.C today and Minnesota tomorrow. Then Dallas, Texas on Friday the 4th of April, then makes a final stop in Toronto, Canada on the 5th of April.

Singer Adokiye dazzles in new promo photos

To celebrate her birthday today 29th March 2014, pop singer Adokiye releases new pictures, a song titled Pay As You Go, produced by A1 Sugar Boy and a viral video. Check on them after the cut...

Friday 28 March 2014

Photos: Lady Gaga steps out in three bizarre outfits

Lady Gaga stepped out not in one, but 3 outrageous outfits on Friday in New York. She first stepped out in the blue outfit with a lampshade headpiece, then the outfit with the judges-style wig and later at night in a revealing body suit. I thought she was over this phase? Continue to see more photos...

Man beheads retired Judge in Ogun State

A 25 year old house help identified simply as David has been arrested for attacking and beheading a 65 year old retired Chief magistrate, Vanguard reports.

Olufunmilayo Timeyin was  slaughtered at her residence in Laderin  estate in Obafemi-Owode LGA of Ogun State.
David allegedly scaled the fence of the late Timeyin’s  bungalow, deactivated the security system inside the building and laid siege within the premises before hacking the retired magistrates to death.
David, an Igede, Benue state-born was reportedly employed two months ago and sent packing two weeks ago for allegedly stealing his boss valuables including phones and jewelries which led to his arrest and subsequently release on the boss order.

Sean Tizzle, Kamar shine at Jack and The Beats Rock n Roll party

The Place by Papas in Lekki took on a whole new vibe on Saturday, March 15th 2014 as hundreds of rock enthusiasts attended the first edition of Jack Daniel’s Jack and the Beats party held there. The party featured premium whiskey from Jack Daniel’s, including Jack Daniel’s Gentleman Jack and Jack Daniel’s Single Barrel. Continue...

Pastor Sign Fireman absolved of murder

Weeks after he was arrested for the alleged ritual murder of a virgin girl, Pastor Sign Fireman, the founder of Perfect Christianity Mission, has been cleared of all murder charges.

The Lagos State Directorate of Public Prosecutions (DPP) absolved the popular pastor of complicity in the murder of a 12 year old virgin after the conclusion of police investigations into the incident.
"After a careful consideration of the facts contained in the duplicate file, this office is of the opinion that a prima facie case of murder is established against the primary suspect (Egbo) only. In view of the foregoing, this office shall prosecute Egbo at the state high court for the offence of murder.
“On the other hand, the second suspect (Fireman) is to be released forthwith if he is still in custody as no case is established against him,” the DPP stated.
Ikechukwu Egbo, the young man who strangled the little girl to death in an abandoned building in the Badagry area of Lagos is still in custody and has been charged with murder. Fireman has since said he's not planning to sue the police over his arrest because they were only doing their job.

President Jonathan's first daughter set to wed

President Jonathan's first adopted daughter Faith Sakwe Elizabeth is set to wed her man of many years, Prince Osim Godswill Edward. Their traditional wedding will take place at Otuoke in Bayelsa State on the 5th of April, while their white wedding will hold on the 12th of April at National Christian Centre in Abuja. Congrats to them...

Abbey releases two new singles: 'Whine' and 'Lole'

Purple Room studio signee, Abbey has returned with another 2 banging singles titled Whine & Lole. Following the success of Moyato & Me Lady which was released in February this year, the lanky and talented artiste has surfaced once again with another double delight produced by PM Rock. Enjoy

Mum allegedly killed 4yr old son because she thought he was gay

25 year old Jessica Dutro (pictured above) has been arrested and charged with murder by abuse and second degree assault after allegedly subjecting her 4 year old son, Zachary Dutro-Boggess, to deadly beatings because she thought he was gay.

Prosecutors say Zachary died on August 16th, 2012 of blunt-force trauma to his abdomen and a delay in medical treatment. According to the Associated Press, few weeks before the boy was found with abdominal injuries at a temporary homeless shelter, his mum sent a Facebook message to her boyfriend, 24 year old Brian Canady, telling him that she believed Zachary was going to be gay, and suggested he "work on" her son: “He walks and talks like it. Ugh.” Jessica wrote.

Canady (pictured above) was also arrested in connection with the boy's death. He pleaded guilty to first-degree manslaughter, and second-degree assault, after admitting to kicking Zachary in the abdomen while wearing shoes.

They are both on trial in Washington County Circuit Court right now

Too sad! Singer Zara Gretti dies after battle with Multiple Sclerosis

Really sad news. Singer Margaret Mary Oluwatoyin Ejiro Joseph popularly known as Zara Gretti has died. She died this morning in Nigeria after a battle with Multiple Sclerosis. (MS is an autoimmune disease that affects the brain and spinal cord).

Her last tweet last night was "I love and hate my life". She died a few hours later, this morning. She was only 28 years old. Zara, may your beautiful soul rest in perfect peace. This is so sad!

The Age Issue: Funmi Victor Okigbo covers new issue of Mania

The Age issue comes with a slant this season as Mania celebrates transitions and traditions. The cover girl is such a graceful professional whose impact is best felt behind the scenes. She shares on life, her work ethic and her loving family in an exclusive interview.

Photographer: Kelechi Amadi-Obi. Fashion Editor: Godson Ukaegbu. Make-up: Bimpe Onakoya. Hair: Zubby Eneoma

Do you love your mum? Prove it with special gifts and freebies from Konga

Mama was my greatest teacher, a teacher of compassion, love and fearlessness. If love is sweet as a flower, then my mother is that sweet flower of love- Stevie Wonder.

The words of the great song writer and musician, Stevie Wonder go a long way in describing the importance of a mother to every Nigerian, and Nigeria’s Largest Online Marketplace, Konga.com wants to truly inspire a new type of gift giving, love and sharing this mothers day with a whole bouquet of offers from special discounts, to spa giveaways, competitions, amazing prices on gifts and lots more. Continue...

'Ibinabo should resign as AGN president because of political appointment'- Clarion Chukwurah

Actress Clarion Chukwurah has called on the current President of the Actors Guild of Nigeria(AGN) Ibinabo Fiberisima, to resign from office as she has been appointed into a political office by President Jonathan. Ibinabo apointed by President Jonathan on the board of the National Council for Arts and Culture (NCAC) on February 26th.

In a two-page statement she released titled, Ibinabo and the AGN visit to President GEJ: Setting The Record Straight, Clarion Chukwurah said since Ibinabo has received the Federal Government's appointment, it is expected of her to vacate office as AGN President and face her new appointment, as Onyeka Onwenu and Kanayo O Kanayo her predecessors did. Continue...