Star Turns Two Orphans Into Millionaires on TV Game Show | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 October 2012

Star Turns Two Orphans Into Millionaires on TV Game Show

What are the odds of two orphans teaming up in a group-based game and emerging millionaires at the end of the competition? Well, the odds turned out to be in favour of both Daniel Etuk and Godwin Nzekwe. The two were part of the troika that won one million at the end of the fourth edition of the 2012 Star TV Game Show. Stephen Onyeabor made up the trio.

Etuk, Nzekwe and Onyeabor, who made up Team C, left the other teams trailing throughout the games. By the time Teams A and B had completed their third games respectively, Team C had garnered more points, even before stepping forward to partake in the third game. This made their participation in the third game a mere formality.

Etuk, an indigene of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, holds an OND in Electrical Electronics and is a Video Editor. He is the third of the seven children of his late parents. Etuk described himself as an introvert who decided to go to a bar to have a couple of drinks with a friend out of boredom.

After drinking Star, his favourite beer, he took part in a raffle draw which earned him a spot on the TV Game Show. By sheer providence, he found himself in the team that won the grand prize at the fourth edition of the TV Game Show. The N1 million grand could not have come at a better time for the orphaned Duke. According to him:  "I plan to get married on the 10th of November, in two months time, and the N1 million Naira will go a long way in making my wedding a reality." He also referred to his fiancĂ© as a source of inspiration and courage who kept prophesying greatness to him. 

Nzekwe who has also lost both parents, is a final year student of Federal University of Technology, Owerri, studying Petroleum Engineering. He was hanging out with his friends at a bar, drinking Star lager beer, when he qualified to participate on the TV Game Show.

He believes he won as a result of the talented teamates he was paired up with. Nzekwe said: "I wish my parents were alive to see me win this N1 million.”  He plans to use the prize money to promote his musical career. The 27 year old, who is the last of his late parents' nine children, is an aspiring rapper and dance hall musician.

Onyeabor, the third of the recently Star-crowned millionaires, resides in Makurdi, where he owns a beer parlour. He plans to use the money both to develop his beer sales business as well as pursue a degree in Pharmacy, which had always been his dream.

Twelve millionaires have so far emerged from this year's edition of the Star TV Game Show. With three more editions left to go, N9 million is still up for grabs. 

The Star TV Game Show is a unique consumer engagement scheme from the stables of Star lager beer; which seeks to reward consumers for their loyalty to the brand.

21 comments:

K

Y.Tee said...

Ok, sorry ooo, but the names on the dummy cheques are different from the names in the story. (And before the crucification starts) i know nothing about how this things work oooo. So, do i smell a scam or is this just an error????

African Sweetheart said...

that's great

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

please they should stop giving 1,000,000 its a round figure they'll only b millionaires for a day.

Tripple (TFF) said...

Lol,the one using the $$$ for his wedding is funny,for him to use to make more $$ na married him want married see why Africans stay losing,marriage isn't the end of the world,now what?you bring kids to the world and hope to win another million?

Kool

Good news for once

Guy ur eye dey dere,not even one of the names correspond with d names on the dummy check. I rily don't know what to make of it. But congrats to them all the same. FLEXY

Bright Deangelo said...

Start making your own legit money today, visit http://cash111.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=75401 to register and earn your own share of the instant cash dole-out.

I thought the word orphans refer to children not adults?

True talk...abeg why der names and da names on da cheque different.

Warri Girl said...

am happy for them

Nnamdi said...

Millionaires, really!!! One million naira, what's the worth of that? Yeah, free money, I understand. But talking about turning some people into millionaires because of a prize money/winning of N1m is just ridiculous. Naija millionaires! Guess more than 90% of the population are millionaires. Forbes should better watch out! Ha ha!

Maryjane Blogazine said...

GOOD WHEN MONEY GOES INTO THE RIGHT HANDS! VISIT/FOLLOW MY BLOG-Maryjanedavidson.blogspot.com

How can it be just children?what then do you call a 25yr old with no parents?

You must be so blind to say that the names on the the cheque didn't correspond to the names in the stories cos I can see the 3 names of the group C winners who are basically the people the story centred on. Meanwhile, you may still remember that the winners are as many as ten in number. To the winners I say big congrats.

What are you people saying? The pictures I see are same with the names on the post...

Really, it;s a very good work on a tv game show Keep sharing such ideas in the future as well.

Alex Frisch

Connie Jordan-Carmichael said...

It's really awesome TV game show. Just keep it up.
Connie Jordan-Carmichael | Ubiquity Broadcasting Corporation

if you want to become a millionaire even while in school, visit www.myenrichedlife.com.