The drive-by shooting in Lagos involving Luxe Night Club manager | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 3 July 2011

The drive-by shooting in Lagos involving Luxe Night Club manager

Shola Farinloye in his hospital bed

I told you all about a drive-by shooting that occurred a few weeks back in Lagos. Well, here's the full story. The guy above is Shola Farinloye, Luxe Night Club (Former New Grotto on Etim Inyang, VI) manager. Shola was shot in a drive-by shooting that occurred in front the club he manages on Sunday the 5th of June.

Shola told reporters exactly what happened on the night he was shot.
"On the 5th of June, I was at Luxe Night Club and at about 4am, when we were almost rounding up, one of my cleaners came to call me that there was a fight between a guy and two ladies. I went to where the quarrel was happening and asked the guy what the problem, he refused to talk to me and was bent on physically assaulting the ladies. When the guy proved too difficult to control, I asked my bouncers to escort him out of the club.

When the guy got outside, he continued screaming and said he will deal with us. He took out his phone and started making calls. The bouncers tried to calm him down but he was having none of it. My two bosses had left the club at the time so I called them on the phone to intimate them on what was going on. 
Eventually the guy causing all the commotion left and a few minutes later, a car drove by and started shooting at the club building. I told all the staff who were outside to go into the club, and in trying to get everybody in, I was the last man outside the club and before I could go in, I was hit by a bullet and I went down. I was taken to the hospital and the doctors treating me say it was a pump-action gun that was used in the attack. The pellets spread to damage my left leg too after damaging my right leg. I can't identify any of those in car or the kind of car they were driving, it was dark"

22 comments:

Damn. People are extremists o. So because they bounced his raskimono ass from the club he turned it into a gun fight? May it not be well with him.

such a lawless country....

lawless country?!! This happens everyday in the US those that make it a lawless country?

hot N cold said...

This should be easy. Pick the guy up and his associates......straight to jail! Coward! He couldn't fight one on one so he resorted to his gang.
Sorry Oga manager...na wa oo

Ade_Cool said...

Very lawless indeed.!!.the Adenuga bodyguards beat them up...now it's followed up by this useless guys who have obviously made some loose change through dubious means..absolutely CLASSLESS...thank the Lord he wasn't killed...and that's meant to be one of the really good clubs on the island..
Again highlights the violence against women in 9ja...

Noella said...

Nigeria is on a downward spiral..kidnappers, drive by shootings, suicide bombers, armed robbers, ritualists, waht is next...nija has prepared the cauldron recipe for disaster..and the pathetic thing is that once they start learning form the ppl in europe, and the US..they take it to the next level....

Grotto Regular said...

So sad!! I took a closer look, and it turns out I know him. He is always very helpful every time I go in the bar. What a shame!

All the best, bro!

hmmm...i thought they said it was shina peller that shot him...wat now do we blieve

Allegra said...

So because he was turfed out means he has to resort to a drive-by. I guess this is what happens watching too many gangster movies......do not know why some 9ja's like to bug out, going the n***r route.

Linda just read this story! We need to really speak up against this domestic violence issue! Am in tears!

http://e4pr.blogspot.com/2011/07/domestic-violence-actress-monalisa.html

Iyaeto said...

This was how a friend was shot and killed after leaving Grotto a few years ago.Due to an altercation that occurred on the mainland a few hours earlier on.They actually followed my friend to Grotto and as they left,my friend and another person were shot.God help us

Linda your people have been watching too many western movies in Naija..

Femiluv said...

Dang, that's shocking. Wishing him a speedy recovery.

Ch5335ng said...

Grotto is quite notorious. I think they need to do some sort of prayer session outside that place.

Speedy recovery for him and the worst has happened.

chucks said...

at least you can now see that dis thing called violence has nothing to do with religion. if it were in the north po[eople will say that the muslims are heartless.now just look at no means of getting those behind this. our security conciuosness must be improved upon whether in the north or south.

This is how clubs go out of business o! If I were the management of the club, I'd be doing better PR to make sure this story doesn't get out. Let's not forget what happened to Likwid(abi na Liquid) when the chick and her boyfriend got kidnapped... and they had just happened to be coming from there, it wasn't even at the club... since then that place is empty.

Nneoma said...

what is grotto?? is it a club where is it..being abroad has made me so behind everything in nija...

@chucks, you are totally off point. most of the bombings and incidents in northern nigeria are fueled by their religious beliefs. this one was PERSONALLY. you simply cannot compare the two.

henryik said...

We should not be so surprised when these things happen,Nigeria is after all part of the global village.What we should insist on,is that we should get the good as well;like improved security performance.
http://henryik2009.wordpress.com

*PERSONAL

they shoould hold the ladies who were harrassed. they'l possibly produce the guy behind the shoot out.

Ade_Cool said...

Yes said it again LAWLESS!!..just grates on me..anytime we hear something really unsavoury that had gone down in 9ja...some smart azz comes on here and says..but it happens in America too..NO!!..it DON'T at least not in Upmarket parts of the US..comparable to V.I..I bet they yet to apprehend the culprits and serve justice..my thoughts exactly...still LAWLESS!!