Genevieve Nnaji gets a mention in a Hollywood magazine! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 October 2010

Genevieve Nnaji gets a mention in a Hollywood magazine!

Genevieve Nnaji got a mention in the latest issue of Hollywood magazine - Entertainment Weekly (dated October 15, 2010).

The mag featured a cover story on 'The 50 Most Powerful Entertainers' (in Hollywood). Genevieve is not listed there but there is a small sub-feature on “Stars Around the World” which alludes to Genny as “the Angelina Jolie of Nigeria.”

The text on Genny reads:

In the span of a decade, this 31-year-old starlet has made more than 110 movies and launched a singing career.

Source: Tolu Ogunjimi - Underdarock.com

19 comments:

doll (retired blogger) said...

Genny going places

Surprise said...

Go girl! Go girl, one day you shall get there. Just keep your head staright. I can see you getting there.

Linda Ikeji said...

@surprise...Genny will get there one day? lol..i tot she was already there. ur comments sometimes eh...

Surprise said...

Sorry o Linda. I never knew she is Hollywood star, tot she is a nollywood.

u name don has described ur comment...lol suprise madam

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

genny is doing good..small girl who didn't even know what she wud become one day...perseverance and patience really pays...adversity will only make u stronger.

linda bcos her name was mentioned doesnt make her an angelina jolie or halle berry .if she has gotten there why is she not mention among the other strong hollywood star!u get carried away so easily wake up girl and get some exposure .

Myne said...

I don't see anywhere they mentioned Angelina Jolie of Nigeria. Anyway, her stardom stands on its own. You go Gene...

Yayyyyy! thats good!

Anon 5;22 hun............ haba!!!!!!!!!!!!!! kill joy! go genny,go go go genny

Anoda Phase said...

Well I guess that's for Angelina Jolie fans...I'm more of a Julia Roberts fan, and I know who that is to me in Nollywood...

Still love Gene though, and this seems to be a good year for her in terms of some Int'l recognition...weldone her!

Ada said...

Oprah Winfery actually refered to her as "the Julia Roberts of Africa". I think this is a huge deal. Nigeria is portrayed in such a bad way so it makes me happy whenever we're recognised for something positive. Well done Genny. More recognition. More endorsements. The sky is your limit.

Ada said...

Oprah Winfery actually refered to her as "the Julia Roberts of Africa". I think this is a huge deal. Nigeria is portrayed in such a bad way so it makes me happy whenever we're recognised for something positive. Well done Genny. More recognition. More endorsements. The sky is your limit.

diva whisperer said...

@ anon: genny wasnt mentioned among hollywood actors or wtevr co she dont reside or do hollywood movies except in a few cases, just as she cnt be listed among bollywood stars. capice?

JUST BEING ME said...

SO HAPPY FOR HER & 9JA O.

Femiluv said...

Go Genevieve!! :)

I've always said that God rewards hard work. You go Genny. may God continue to bless the works of your hands IJMN- AMEN!!!

Egor Efiok.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

i said before and i'd say it again........WE DO NOT NEED THEIR VALIDATION. whether they mention her name or not.........she is by far the most popular person in Africa right now. she deserves more than a spotting and something like a magazine spread. these Hollywood idiots just think that they rule the world. yuck.

Ade_Cool said...

@skankmypeaceofmind

I co-sign 100.10%..
WE DON'T NEED THEIR VALIDATION!!
Look at the Kung-fu and Bollywood Film Industry..Hollywood went chasing after them seeing how much dough and market share those 2 countries commanded..Yanks only respect money by the time we get our marketing tight and start accounting for how much we really make..trust me see those Yanks would come chasing with tail between their legs..