Aliko Dangotes tops the list of Forbes 40 richest Africans 2012 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 November 2012

Aliko Dangotes tops the list of Forbes 40 richest Africans 2012

The 2012 list of Africa's 40 richest people is out and Aliko Dangote once again tops the list. Africa's 40 richest are worth a combined $72.9 billion, up 12% from a year ago. Ten newcomers join the ranks, including, for the first time, two women. (Yay, finally!)

Rank     Name                                               Net Worth ($mil)   Age
1.         Aliko Dangote                                    $12, 000                55
2.         Nicky Oppenheimer & family              $6, 400                 67
3.         Johann Repert & family                      $5, 700                 62       
4.         Nassef Sawiris                                   $5, 500                  51
5.         Mike Adenuga                                    $4, 600                 59
6.         Christoffel Wiese                                $3, 700                 71
7.        Othman Benjelloun                               $2, 750                  80
8.        Patrice Motsepe                                   $2,650                  50 
9.        Naguib Sawiris                                    $2, 500                 58
10.      Mohammed Mansour                            $2, 200                  64

See the full list HERE

76 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

Yea, he is a Nigerian and in Nigeria, the rich keeps getting richer and the poor, poorer.

Aliko!!! Çãñ Ώє̲̣̣ knw eachoda?lolz

Immaculate said...

OK, NOW EVEN WITHOUT BEING TOLD.

I'll be on that list someday too... Haha

floxy said...

Dis dangote man is blessed and the good thing he's also being a blessing by employing graduates dat the govt could not take care of by providing dem jobs no matter how odd the jobs he provided are!najia my country...its a shame.

FIRST to comment,linda u betta post my comment first o,I beat blodlord to it,winks

Its gud having 11Nigerians in d list of 40richest Africans,but with oil being d source of wealth of about 7 of them,I don't think its a gud omen to our economy,putting into consideration dat soon our oil will be nomore. Lending more voice to diversification of d economy.

BoyWonder said...

Forbes n its rubbish survey. . . .Dangy boy, pls dnt let dat s**t get in2 ur skull. . .U avn't gotten a quarter of OBJ's wealth. . .nt 2 talk of Babangida . . .So, u're nt dat INSANELY rich yet as those dudes r implying . . . .N as for Adenuga, #heavy sigh#

Sorry dear,bloglord sits by her computer n waits for linda's posts. U can't beat her to it if she doesn't want to be beaten.she still come first for dis one again.

slimzyose said...

gud 2 knw,may God kip blessing him,cos d guy is blessing other pple too,unlike our politicians who re clueless abt wat 2 do with their moni...God 'wiawowo' bless me too

i think i'm related to this man

goodie said...

Nice..he has done well for himself..

Still crying out loud for God to bless Nigeria more. Referring to wat Bonario said ..., wat will be our future when this oil is no more? May God help us.

L.A.S.T.M.A KIlla said...

Crude oil is Nigeria's curse and will also be Nigeria's last meal.Nigeria needs less billionaires and more millionaires and that's the true sign of a healthy equitable society.

There are thousands of rich nigerians who should even be among the top 100 in the world. But because they are thieves and cannot declare their assets, they just squander the money in silence. People like them abacha, babangida and obasanjo. U can't tell me dangote is richer than those people. If u look at that list I think there are only 2 black people there sef which to me are the only africans. The rest are just africans by location.

Bloglord I,m vry sure u jobless! Always first 2 comment. Get a life. #angry face#

Linda.. there are no women on the list.. Johann is a man.. so is Patrice..

After d oil Runs out we can now bring in d substitute resources "nollywood" lol ff @TWEETEST_BOI

Sure,Dangote worth it cos he realy is a gud man nd God ll kip multiplyng his wealth.

African Sweetheart said...

woah

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

SOULJACHIC said...

Yeah. Lol!

Sure,he is

i think there is only 1 woman, that is Isabel dos santos, and she is just 39.i shall make it

how can someone be dat rich nd cant assist in paying part of nigeria's debt pls i urge him to pls pay for part of nigeria's debt and also other countries wont assist nigeria becos they believe we have rich personalities in nigeria who can pay our debt

Excuse me...............
who are the women?
is Linda tui typing under the influence!or both?

weezy said...

@ annon11.55,u are more jobless,make ur
comment and move aw come u know e is always d first to comment are u a first comment detective...hiss

Linda unless you're referring to Isabel dos Santos
the first daughter of Angola that her corrupt father handed the country over to.
she has her hand in every pie!
Or Mama Ngina of Kenya?

PS: i want Miu miu ballet flats !
crying nyah nyah nyah!

Sure,Dangote worth it cos he realy is a gud man nd God ll kip multiplyng his wealth.

It's amazing what sleeping with the "right people" and having the right connections and oil blocks can do.
Meanwhile other serious economies open up the space for competition and allow a new breed of real entrepreneurs to challenge an existing order while Obasanjo was closing down Ibeto Cement factory and giving Dangote import waivers.
Well rejoice Nigerians. Do not bother if you do not have a job or the one you have does not pay well or your business is being frustrated by government policy, you have some Nigerians representing you all on Forbes magazine and that should make you proud. Well if you want to join them, tell your pastors to pray for you to get oil block, but first you must buy him another private jet, for it is said in his scripture "if thy buyest fine things for thine pastor, the Lord shall bless thine hustle".

@Onix Mervin, i dey feel u jare, am making dat list soon as well @BONARIO 4d first time in recent u r on pont> pls dnt blush. Lili dem 4get u ni? i said it dia z a mistake somwia> W!NK

forexTRADER said...

How is Nigeria's debt ur problem? Do they kill countries that owe? Pray that God should bless u as well at least to millionaire level. Debt ko, credit ni.

Abeg go and sit down joh! You mean the guy shld be workin d@ hard to make his money only to come and settle a country's debt instead of helping d less privilege and providing employment as he's doin @ d moment? Abeg tink well! Nigeria have enough money to take of herself

Lol!!!!

Naija nawa o!

Thnx Bona.... Shebi e go dry one day n we go see weitin we go dey chop.... BLACK FAZE don talk am already... he said "dem giv u pain n sorrow. instead of we to spend na 4 we to dey borrow... dem carry our doe go, put som 4 Swiss n som 4 Tokyo... E no well o, abegi o! Bcos very soon d well e go dry o, pipo go shout o say 'egba mi o' na d poor go feel d pain oo.. Weitin be d gain o?? E no pay oo, cos we dey suffer and we still no fit say NO" he said further"dem say e go beta but e worse pass as e bad o, money no be dem own dem put am 4 dem backyard ooo" ... MAY GOD HELP US SHA!

Linda, it is billion not million dollars

U are a fool, why would he pay Nigeria's debt? Na him incure the debt, when u get off ur computer and stop making stupid comments on blogs and actually make money, u can contribute ur hard earned money and 'sweat' into paying Nigeria's debt. Olodo oshi

The more amazing thing is the man's humility, incredible! And he's so polite, hmmm.
Thank God he's not in partisan politics, it would've bn difficult to say weldone to hardwork. He also gives us hope dt not all the rich in Nigeria are corrupt at least Dangote is transparent enough to declare his assets and earnings for d world to assess.
Big ups to u bro.... Sparkle speaking.

Wow. Tnk GOD no life was lost www.boomingjobs.blogspot.com

Just wondering why Linda's name is omitted from the list cos she af made a lota money out of us to hv her name included. Abi u no gree pay ur dues?

kunle said...

Congratulation to him. Someone taught me this principle; when you make money, you give out first, lend, spend and invest it. Dangote must be following this principle.......Want a flat belly, burn fat, loss weight, eat right for healthy sake and maintaining your body shape with fitness.Visit my blog to learn more
http://fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com/

Stanley Onduru said...

Yes dats what I'm talking about.....check out yelnatsfashion.blogspot.com to see ow I aspire to be in Dangotes class.

kunle said...

There are two women. The two women who are newcomers two women are Folorunsho Alakija of Nigeria, whose joins due to her stake in the prolific Agbami oil field; and Isabel dos Santos of Angola, an entrepreneur, investor and daughter of that country’s president. Folorunsho Alakija ranked 24 while Isabel dos Santos was tagged 31. Thumb up for them...........Want a flat belly, burn fat, loss weight, eat right for healthy sake and maintaining your body shape with fitness.Visit my blog to learn more
http://fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com/

First time you have made sense

Tai said...

How come none of the Ibo businessmen made it to d list? Smh so na akara & guguru business dem sabi... Lmao Folorusho Alakija is my friend's mother's aunt *big grin*

Nos 1: aliko dangote
Nos 5: mike adenuga
Nos 19: jim ovia
Nos 24: folorunsho Alakija(600m)
Nos 24: theo danjuma (600m)
Nos 26: Oba Otudeko
Nos 27: muhammed indimi
Nos 31: lulu briggs
Nos 37: sani bello
Nos 40: hakeem bello osagie

My boo!

I'm sure Nigeria policians r lol at this list like wats with all d chicken change the real billionaires can never be declared. What dangote is worth is like what d senators share evry 4months.

Good to kn. And may good continue to bless them and give my own clean wealth soon. IJN

justlikeme@live.com said...

WHERE IS DAVIDO'S FATHER IN THE LIST???? Whoever said he is omo baba olowo. Well sha, Alike Dangote...way to go bruh! I want to turn gay cus of you oh...am i allowed?

Naija una too freaking much, i sip my coffee jeje as i read dis

Dangote!! Pride of Nigeria! Pride of Africa! My only Nigerian Mentor, my Nigerian inspiration. Keep going higher sir.

Dangote so blessed & so Bi. @11.19am how much do you have yourself?

WTF. POST MY COMMENT ABOUT BUYING PRIVATE JETS FOR PASTORS.

uummm....only God knows the truth about Dangote's source of wealth. There is a great rumour that linked his wealth to numerous fatal road accidents via his trucks and trailers. God knows best anyway.

South Africa as the continents capital giant with 14 billionaires# proud# and then Linda won't post my comment!

Why this man no just marry me??? Even if am the 7th wife I don't mind. Lol *taking cover* let the insults begin!!

Once again dem don omit my name. I must appeal and if dem still no include my name na court I dey go staright witout branshing.

so they are not even billionaires in dollars? well the'll see me when they get there

Blogtoto said...

Funny thing is all the Nigerians on that list;bar none have connections to either Obj and /or Ibb so go figure!

Blogtoto said...

And there i was thinking he's ur dad and u only changed ur name to avoid paparazzi n to identify d pple that truly luv u 4 u n not ur money(monies in this case)

Blogtoto said...

Funny thing is all the Nigerians on that list;bar none have connections to either Obj and /or Ibb so go figure!

Tai you are a tribalistic moron.

Folorunsho Alakija from where? I know they are into oil but some cocaine money must be there.

Blogtoto go back home n do research very well....

He would need permission from his boyfriends to marry you. Not by a ls so look elsewhere. Hehehe

Mumu..count the zeros. What does 12,000 million read?

Where is Kola Abiola I know MKO will be weeping in his grave by now for not having enterprising son

Read the full list Mrs Alakija is on it... and last time i checked she was a woman.

November 21, 2012 11:09 AM and it's by employing them as drivers that is good abi

Folorunso ke? Is that woman that rich? Richer than Shagaya?

There are 2 women on the list jare

Ikeh Maduike said...

My Ibo bros.i understand shaa as our name no follow 4 list.Una know say we no dey make noice but na we rich pass.

Agip Shagzy said...

My last comment was not posted by Linda because i simply said she got d oil block as a result of loyalty to d Babangida's for work done 'back in d days'

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

This sounds like something Seun Kuti'll say.

he is a billionaire not millionare please lily change that.