3 month old baby gets burnt to death in Badagry | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 May 2015

3 month old baby gets burnt to death in Badagry

Tragedy struck in Badagry, Lagos, yesterday, when a three-month-old infant, Abiodun Alabi was burnt to death. The fire incident occurred at Wazobia Junction, Tako 11, when a new mother, who lives in a self contained apartment with her 10year old son and 3 month old daughter, went to a night vigil and left her 10 year old son to watch the infant.

It's alleged that before she left the apartment, she lit a candle in the apartment because there was no electricity. Her husband wasn't home at this time because he travelled a lot as a transporter.
The 10 year old boy left both his younger sister and the candle at home and headed for a neighbour’s apartment to watch television and eventually passed the night with them.
Unfortunately the candle burnt out completely which led to a fire outbreak that consumed the entire apartment which burnt the infant to death before help could come.

139 comments:

KUSH said...

Omg!!
Terrible

SAD

How can U leave a 10yearold child alone at home in d night...let alone asking him to watch a 3months old child?????Why did not she takevd baby along with her to the vigil??
Some women just act without thinking.......
Maythe soul of the baby rest in peace

Omg,how dumb can some women be.rip little angel

Ah!! Lord have mercy!! How can a mother leave 2 kids by themselves for a vigil, couldn't she have taken them along?? See what carelessness as caused! May d soul of d lil girl RIP!

how can a responsible mother abandon her little child for a 10-year old, all in the name of a vigil?
God cannot be mocked. Whatsoever a man sows, that he shall reap. If anyone sows carelessness/foolishness, he shall reap a catasrophe of this nature.
Wisdom is a principal thing. Wisdom is profitable to direct. With all our getting, let's get wisdom.

This is tragedy... What kind if vigil is that, leaving only 10yrs and 3 months kids to sleep alone..she must be hrtless

20 Things Women Find Attractive In A Man

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

Terrible! May her soul rest in peace.
Kindly click
Before&After the "I do" know the stairs to climb.

You have a 3 month old child n u re going for night vigil, how about praying in your apartment. ...? I pray God give d family strength to bear this loss. ..

She was careless. ..

Mrs TC said...

So sad. Careless mother. 3 months old won't suck all night?
People still use candle a home with flooded Chinese rechargeables.

This is really sad, but why would a mother who has gone through childbirth leave little kids unsupervised! She should be arrested and jailed cos this is man slaughter. Rip to the little baby

Oh my God!....dis is so terible...Rest in peace little one.

Wat a stupid mistake by d mother who left two little children wit a candle in d name of a vigil. Which church forbid taking children along for a vigil? I feel d pain d little girl went thru

Dave Mide said...

Sheer carelessness and stupidity on the part of the mother!

john said...

oh dear! not good at all

nooo sad, hate to read or hear about death of babies

Some mothers sha!

So so sad. Anyway, what will happen will definitely happen. I pray to God to give the parents strong heart to bear it.

OLOWOLAGBA said...

That is so sad.. May God grant d family the fortitude to bear the losts..
Signed,
DeoGratias

She went for what stupid night vigil?that 3months old baby is still breast feeding for christ sake,and besides the vigil she went for is she not suppose to take her 2 kids along with her?she better say where she went or God's wrath will fall on her,Foolish woman

mommie jay said...

Dear Linda, ur love for posting some kind of bad news is really a turnoff. I mean how edifying is this news this early morning

Can't believe dis,u mean a mother left 3 months old baby in care of a 10 years old boy.she should b jailed for negligence

OMG, how can she leave her 3Month old for a 10years old boy, not even a girl, atleast a girl will not leave the infant alone, atleast.
which kind of wahala is this eh.
Our Children and family are our priority, what's the big deal, taking them along, if at all na vigil she go.
May God have mercy on us in Jesus name.

Oh! Man of God, there is death! In the pot

O Jesus! Poor boy, sm mothers can b so daft sha, ao can u lv a 3mnth old baby wt such a small boy, won't she suck @ mid-night? RIP 2 d little angel jare

Oh Lord! Why would she even leave the baby and leave for vigil biko

That mother is not it at all. How on earth would she leave a three month old bby and go to church. Nna ehn.

Tope Sofe said...

The woman is evil. You leave a 3month old in care of a 10year old and go for a vigil?! She went to see a lover, I'm sure. Seeing that her transporter husband was out of town, she went on an adulterous assignation. If it was vigil, she'd have gone with her kids. May GOD forgive her.

The mum is responsible! How tf do you leave a 3month old with a 10year old?! If she were really going to church she would have takenb that poor baby. Me'thinks she went to suck cock! And that boy sef no try!

hmm!

Chai!!! Dat boy wld grow up to regret his action as a child. May her soul rest in peace. Ehya

beauty said...

I don't think it's possible for a caring mother that passed through hard labours/ labour rooms to leave a 3 month old baby with a 10 year old boy all alone at home throughout the night.what happened to going with her children? .Really sad indeed, R.I P Little Angel

Carelessness + stupidity from d woman!!!

Godwin said...

Jeezz, but how will she leave a 3mth old baby at home and go for vigil? Won't d baby suck at 9t?

So sad!!

Eby said...

What a careless mother. This woman needs to be charge to law court and sentence for negligence.

Blood of Jesus!!!! The mother needs to be stoned to death. Oh God!

Boss C said...

This mother should be ashamed of herself. Gross irresponsibility. Unfit to mother even the 10 year old. Only GOD knows how many close calls the lil son wld have had. Night Vigil!! Who says GOD only listens when u scream all night? Total crap!!!

Mufliat said...

What kinda mother does that,a 10yrs old boy to watch over a 3month old baby. If that vigil was so compulsory why cant she go with her children? They just killed that innocent soul,RIP lil one. Am sure she would be in reget now.

#Hajia Mufliat#

God save us from all this fire issue

People no dey ever learn??? If you must use candle, use a steel plate to hold it, haba! May d soul of d little one rest in peace. Linda take note!

bugkiddies said...

Quote me. She did not go for any night vigil. Can't she go with the children? Poor child, stupid mother.

If dis news is true and happened like you said then that woman should be in jail. Only in Nigeria we allow such cases just go without condemnation.

Some mothers are very careless! Why can't she go to church with her children, see waiting she cause for her self.

aeesha said...

Gosh,,,,dat woman is very wicked,,how can a mother live her 3month old baby @ home for a nyt vigil??i

What kind of night vigil is that she can't take her kids with her, she should say where she went to not vigil, may ur soul rest in peace baby

DAT woman should be imprisoned

laura oti said...

Tragedy. So sad sorry for the little baby. But how could any sane woman leave a 3month old baby in the care of a 10 year old for a whole night. Why did she stay in God's presence with her kids. Night vigil indeed.

Is a ten year old mature enough to watch an infant. How can she live a child with another child.

What kind of vigil rejets the presence of children? Abi this woman has been cursed how could she leave her kids @ home all alone, the woman needs to face the law for negligence and the husband should send her packing too cos she is not ready for motherly duties, so painful an innocent soul was lost

Jesus christ poor child, may her gentle soul rest in peace, Amen

Jesus!

WTF, 10yr old 2 look afta 3months old baby, wht a careless mother, guess d baby ws sleeping wen he left 2 d neighbours house. Poor baby. May she rest in d lord's bosom

That woman deserves to be stoned to death. Na she go church pass? People are looking for kids she dey burn her own. May Devil punish her.

Gbenga said...

All these mothers sef! Una go just commot from house leave little children alone without proper supervision. This is one needless loss too many!

Why did she not go with the baby,some mothers are just so careless

If it were abroad, the mother will be arrested and sentenced for negligence. The 10 year old boy will also be taken off her. Who leaves an infant with a 10 year old to go for Night Vigil. NigeriA's problem is beyond the government, everyone needs an education at least up to age 16.

cathy_sleeky said...

oh my God! This is sad.

sweetie said...

She's a wicked mother,I can never believe she went to church. Is children not allow in night vigil? She went to sleep in another man house. Her hubby must giv her beating of life and she deserve life in prison. How can 10years take care of 3months? Adult taking care of 3months is like doing night vigil wit headache. Some women ar not meant to b call mother.

What kind of story is dis plsss
A 3months baby????
De woman cld hv gone wit d infant naaa
What was on dt woman's mind as she was leaving biko kwanu?
So de 10yrs baby wil equally breastfeed d infant or what?
De woman is mentally not stable plsss
RIP to de innocent child
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

That's unfortunate!
RIP.

This is carelessness, I can't even leave my 15yr old brother with my child talkless of a 10yr old boy. This little child has just gone like dat. What a pity!

What a careless act

obijeff said...

Shit!... so sad... dem go beat that boy pieces

Dats y I keep sayin dis country is fucked. If we had adequate Power supply wld dis shit hapen? Msheeew, yh d mum wz carless bur com ooon! We

Wah kind of stupidity dd she do nw sherz hapy dah innocent child

dudette said...

How careless and dump can that mother be....i guess now she would blame God for not protecting her family cus atleast she was going to a vigil...hmmmm so sad!!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

They need to start dealing with parents who live kids under 16 at home alone. It has got to stop. Putting sooo much responsibility on children to take care of their own siblings. What kind of night vigil was worth this?
A lot of NIGERIAN parents have gotten it wrong and need to restructure their mindset when it comes to raising kids. Don't have them if you can't afford them or your schedule doesn't permit. Simple. That 10yr Old is also a kid. I don't see why he has to be taking care of another kid when he's a kid himself.

jaymin said...

nawao....u go nyt vigil liv ur pikin dem for haux...

Pple and thr carelessnes, how can u leave two kids at home, hw do u think a ten year old, a boy for dt matter can take care of a toddler, 3months old for God's sake!

Omg that's so sad, why was he so careless

#wtf# this woman should be arrested. Ha how can u leave a 3 months old baby for a 10 year old boy with a candle in de room...wat kind of carelessness is that...#soooannoying#

Hmmmmm...some mothers tho. I hope she learns from dis

Seriously... in this age and time. What's wrong with mothers. Leave a lil baby in the hands of a baby. The mother should be flogged. 10 strokes straight up.

Stupid woman. RIP young angel.

Sincerely speaking, dat mother is insane. Hw cud she leave a kid to watch over an infant. Vigil na by force

How coucabdle have done that! Its so annoying! I cant even leave my 14 year old son all on his own at night talkless of a 10 year old and an infant! And even lit a candle for them! She is not fit to be a mother and she should be brought to book! Why didnt she take them along for the vigil or was the vigil a kurukere vigil that they were not welcomed! So sad !

Abeni said...

Omg y will u leave 3 month. Old baby at home with a baby bro dat insane. Must u use candle. Instead use torch ligh

jasmine said...

That's carelessness on the part of the mother...3 months old baby

Is the woman's careless mind dat lead to d death of her baby,hw can u leave a 10yr old to watch over a baby d whole night....may her soul rest in peace..

She is just a bad mother, 4 God sake why wil she leave he 10years old son 2 take care of a baby! what stops her 4rm taking the baby along. This Is so annoying! I wonder wat is in dat brain of hers. May the soul of d baby rest in perfect peace. And let dis be a lesson to all u lazy mums....always take care of your children no matter wat

EDDY WIZ 19 March 2015 at 02:24
MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o

This is so tragic!! Rip poor little child.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

EDDY WIZ 19 March 2015 at 02:24
MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o

This is so tragic!! Rip poor little child.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Seriously, the mother should be prosecuted..... this is carelessness of the highest order.. its just like leaving a baby to look after a baby

I wish nigerian universities will cum together and introduce a course called '' human protection''. How can a mother leave her 3month old baby for a ten years old boy? Some women needs to be educated..

kiki said...

Tat woman na one stupid woman

Dat general said...

Such a careless and senseless mother

The woman is very foolish

The woman is a fool.. Government should ban candles in Nigeria... There are very good lanterns everywhere and i wonder why some foolish people still use candles.. The woman should be stoned to death. If you cant take your children along with you to all night Virgil then don't go.

Am not convinced it's church ooo..why won't I take my kids to church especially a 3 month old.i dnt feel d grief if d mum,i just feel sad that d poor girl died in such a gruesome manner,her life was cut short......I hope d guilt kills d careless mum.....

A senseless mother

How careless is d mother. Wat is d problem wit dis mothers of nowadays

SMURF said...

Why would she leave a 3months old baby with a 10 years old boy!!! Why didn't she carry the baby along, so what if the infant needed to eat or starts crying for no reason, is the 10years old boy old enough to take care of her???? Some mothers ehn

is she not stupid?

NMaa said...

D woman is so stupid. Y nt take all to vigil since u b mary. 3 months old, must she go for dat vigil?? U carelessly wasted ur child's life.

She is so stupid, what stopped her from taking the kids along with her to her so called church. That I can never do as a mother!

Lord have mercy. I don't want to have to blame the mother cos I'm a mother too and we are all doing our best but this was just too negligent. A 10 year old boy cannot be left alone with a 3 month baby overnight. Just very sad.

jennykurt said...

D woman must b foolish or under a spell

She is stupid very very

KC said...

Tragedy indeed... May her innocent gentle soul rest in peace, amen. A lesson f̶̲̥̅̊ọ̥ŃŹ the mother

Can you imagine, leaving a three month old for a ten years old for a whole night. Why didnt she take the baby to the night vigil? I am so angry right now.

Haaa! Mothers becareful!

Wats rubbish mtewwwwe

Ha! Dis woman us Def insane. Vigil na by force? Even ur pastor will blame u now for going to dat vigil

OMG..Some women can be so careless. Imagine leaving a 3 month old child wit a 10 year old, and also left dem wit a burning candle. Isn't that stupidity of d highest order?.

What stupidity,which kind vigil b dat wain she no fit carry her 3month old child. Make dat woman talk true where she go,cus I dnt want to bliv its vigil.

SOME GROUP OF AFRICANS ARE FRUSTRATED CHRISTIANS ,

WHO THINK WITHOUT OVERNIGHT VIGIL , GOD WOULD NOT HEAR THEIR PRAYER.

THIS IS RUBBISH , BECAUSE YOUR JOURNEY THROUGH LIFE IS IN YOUR OWN HAND ,

GOD CAN ONLY GIVE YOU SUPPORT IF YOU DESERVE IT ,

SO YOU HAVE RECEIVED YOUR REWARD.

NEXT TIME YOU WILL STOP HUNTING FOR SOMETHING FOR NOTHING.

PEOPLE ARE SO IGNORANT, THEY KEEP ON LOOKING FOR EASY MIRACLE,

THINKING THEY DO NOT NEED TO WORK FOR ANYTHING, AS FAR AS I GO TO NIGHT VIGIL

Fidelis said...

This woman is stupid. She did not go to night vigil. She must have gone to see a man Friend. How can she claim that she went for a night vigil leaving her three months old child for a ten year old son? Story for the gods. She should be arrested without delay.

Fidelis said...

This woman is stupid. She did not go to night vigil. She must have gone to see a man Friend. How can she claim that she went for a night vigil leaving her three months old child for a ten year old son? Story for the gods. She should be arrested without delay.

Fidelis said...

As for me I nor sure say na night vigil d woman go...Rip to d baby

Does she even love those children?? A 10year old to look after a 3months old. JESUS IS LORD! Some mothers need to be trained too.

She left her three months old baby with a 10 yr old child,as if that wasn't enough she lite a candle for them n went out. What was she thinking for heaven's sake.RIP boy.

OMG..something is seriously wrong with the woman,how can she leave a 3 months old baby for a 10 year old to look after,which kin yeye vigil be that..i just can't understand the kind of mentality some people have,,.RIP to the little souls.

Dump talk...contradicting yourself. ..d woman is to blame...best by leaving her baby for a 10yr old...common

As in ehn! She went to see a man joor, who does she wanna fool? My sister has kids n takes them all to night vigil evn as they are grown. Hope d money d man she went to fuck gave her is worth her daughter's life!Bitch!

Smh

anonymous said...

Vigil my foot... abeg na adulterous mission. May d almighty God punish her. And even use pple to stone her to death. Our govt shld ban candles in Niger cos babies ar d ones dat fall victim most. And they ar our future leaders. Oh Lil babe RIP

Dis woman didn't go to church, I'm sure she went to see her man friend, if not why didn't she go with her kids? Ashawo

Nonsense woman I bet she went to her lovers house, why didn't she carry her kids along abi dem no need prayers too. May God forgive her o, if to say I dey for dt scene I for give her 10 slap mtchwww

maryann said...

Something like this happend to my aunty in abuja some months ago..In her case she locked up her 3 children and her 12 years old house girl inside the house and went to the market.so sum thing happened to the electric plug in d room and it cut fire,d whole house started burning, meanwhile d children were sleeping including d house gal,suddenly d house gal woke up and noticed d fire but d door was locked.she started screaming but d neighbours were not around and smoke and fire was everywhere so she managed to enter d burning room to look for a spare key,by d grace of God she found one but she managed to take d two boys out cos she woke dem up and dey ran out.she couldn't carry d last born out cos he was still a baby..He burnt to death...d neighbours came and couldn't do anytin..dey called fire service bt nothing was saved in dat house..everything burnt..All d properties. ..when d mother came back she wept bitterly. .her husband heard d news and rushed back home he almost killed her....poor baby..R.i.p

LIB chairlady said...

Some mothers are terrible and wicked... this woman is evil. She should better confess where she went to and stop lying to herself

Sad!

Ahhhh!!! God bless you anon 8:36!!! May all your wishes come through amen. Been scrolling down to find a reasonable comment since! That woman was very careless yes? But if we had adequate power supply this tragedy won't happen! I feel for that poor child. People die from generator fumes! Problem with insecurity and light!

Are we really sure she went for vigil Hmmmmmm the husband is a transporter that is not always around that means the woman is free like a bird to go around with other men abi. what kind of a vigil will a woman go to without her children. And to the neighbour that allowed the 10yr old pass the night in their apartment without asking the child where his mother was. All of you have questions to answer with the police

What are u saying if truly u are a woman as u claim, who does that as a mother won't the 3month old suck through the night? She went to fuck another man's dick. Gbam

IBK OF GOD said...

Mayreeh I second u on dat!

IBK OF GOD said...

How sure are we dat she actually went to a vigil...which kinda church doesn't allow kids? A 3 months old at dat....we need to ask all dis from d mother

Finest Glo said...

What kind of stupid vigil is that? She didn't go to any night vigil, God just exposed her with this tragic incident. How can you leave a 3month old baby at home. The woman is wicked and her husband should question her. I guess the man will even send her back to her parents. The baby's soul will rest in peace cos she's innocent.

She didn't go to a night vigil. She probably went to see a man.

She lost her daughter, due to neglect. Case closed!

What kind of a mother is that,if she must attend dt vigil cldnt she av gone wt d baby? I just don't understand, later they will blame d devil

Vidda said...

THis is so ridiculous nd sad .. how can a responsible woman leave her 3 months baby at home for a night party, ashawo business, vigil or whatever she calls it.. she should be put behind bars for that.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Eyah,may d baby soul rest in peace in Jesus name amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

Night vigin kor morning vigin ni na man vigin, d man should ask her to say d truth about d baby father.

Temmy said...

Such a careless mother... SMH

Omg! So what abt d mother? Hope she's chilling at kirikiri now?

The truth about this news.
1. She was 2+
2. Mother left the kids in the hands of the neighbour because she didn't have enough money at that night to take the kids to the vigil.
3. The 10yrs old boy lite a candle when he went to lay her sister in the room.
4. He slept off in the neighbour's apartment while he locked the sister in the room.
5. Baby was not burnt. She died of fumes because she couldn't escape the fire.
6. Only the mattress she slept on got burnt because she stood up from the mattress when the fire caught the mattress but was unable to escape.

How did I know this?
The mother is my aunt. I want there first hand when we got the news around 5am. The girl's name is queen. And I still carried her in my hands 7days before the incident.

I still blame my aunt majorly because if she didn't use a candle in the presence of the kids; the boy wouldn't have used it. It was careless but she was a good mother that single handedly catered for her 4 kids all by herself. Mother and 10years old son are still grieving this incident. It was avoidable but it happened. I love my cousin because she was a wonderful little girl loved by all of us. May her soul rest in peace.