Meet the Nigerian woman who killed her white lover for cheating in 1953 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 January 2015

Meet the Nigerian woman who killed her white lover for cheating in 1953

Ada Esther Johnson, popularly known back in the 50s as Ada Ocha Ntu pictured above with her lover, Mark Hall, whom she murdered in 1953 after she found out he'd used the 400pounds she loaned him for business, to go to England and marry an English bride. According to history, Mark used part of Ada's money to buy his new bride a car which she would use to start a transport business in the UK.

He returned to Nigeria and told Ada what he'd done with her money and a very furious Ada used a pair of scissor to stab Mark. Mark eventually died from injuries sustained from the attack.

Ada was tried and convicted in 1956 and was placed on death row at Broad Street Prison in Lagos. She was however pardoned by former head of state Chief Nnamdi Azikiwe, who changed her death sentence to life imprisonment in 1961.

134 comments:

Na wa o..dis woman tuff sha.smh.

He he he, i can't laff o

BLAQ said...

Seen.

Too bad!
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Wow! She was lucky to have been pardoned for something like that!

Chai!!! Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned!!
She had no mercy!!!

i love her ruggedity

So interesting...

God b blessed.
I wonder wht she was thinking of.

She did well,i will do same if am in her shoes.

Wawuu! Talk of Zero chill.

SO WHAT? THIS IS 2015 IF YOU ARE SHORT OF GIST...JUST KEEP QUIET.

hia!

#GodblNessnigeria

Ahahahaha...... wetin the Oyinbo they think? he think say she go sob, wimp and let it go? 400 pounds then?! Haba!

But she is dead now abi? Or is she still in prison.
But that man no try at all. What gave him d guts to do all dat and still came to rub it in her face?
Well these days the reverse has become the case as our Nigerian brothers now collect pounds frm white women and comes back to marry a Nigerian wife.

But that man didn't do well oo. He broke her heart. But she should have done something else than stabbing him

@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Thanks for the update in history. We need throw backs histories like this from time to time.

after reading,she did wrong.

Serious matter......

She treats his muttherfucker right......

word..?? good one from the late Azikiwe... imagine killing one of our own because a fucking snow flake..

blaq said...

Anger......

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Linda still show us her recent pix nah... Abi she don die Ni?

@Ada Ada....no be today women begin wicked...... Lol...

@Ada go be like...u ds oyinbo man...u carry my money marry new wife?....Oyaa...come waka go see ur ancestors.... Lol.

"Heaven on earth!!!! Wonders without end,that's my new realm"

This woman dey vex.

Temmy said...

HOPE SHE'S STILL IN THE PRISON?

Shit happen way back

flave said...

Eyah! So Sad...d woman cldnt just take it

win said...

She should have left the guy for nemesis to drill. Temper things.

Linda is the woman still alive?

Mz Naija said...

Hehehe....super story..ok o, dasalright...next pls

Cynhams Cakes and Events, Abuja. pin 7991b2f8, 07034794947 said...

Wow! She was obviously angry now and wasn't thinking straight.
Too bad for both of them.

Thanks for the history lesson once again Linda. This would make a great biopic

Na oyinbo teach the blacks fraud. imaging what this white man do in 50s now blacks are on revenge mission

Thanks for the history lesson once again Linda. This would make a great biopic

Linda she still dey alive. Nawooooooooo.

Good for the white ass mofo.he should have been quiet about it instead of rubbing it on her face.no woman likes to be spited or scorned cos no hell can stand that fury

Although I doubt if I can kill but I don't blame the woman,how can the white man play with Ada ocha's head in her fatherland? Rip onye-ocha

How is he supposed to find a recent pic??? Na wa oh

Daralohi said...

Na wa oh,anger issues nr be here.

Miss indomie says so.

Madam Gladys,Na under my comment u wan ask 4 linda recent pix??? Google it!

Well said

Lindsy bae I didn't expect the gist to end like this na, tot you wanted to give us another koko about the woman 'eyesrolloing' but the woman is really a hard woman sha #onelovefromsnow#

Meanwhile her nickname 'ada ocha ntu' translates to 'ada whose fair complexion comes from ash(bleaching agent)'

That woman was badass oo

Abi o. Smh!!!!

Interesting

wonderful..dis emotional scam didnt start today ooo..I dont blame her.................................#KingOfKings #6God

Zeus said...

She's a Badass Ada.....

As in en!

I thought it was a movie didn't knw its real life story

Is she still alive? Linda complete the gist biko

na dos money we dey collect back from oyimbos as magas...chai our grand parents money..interesting now

Na whao!!! Story 4 d gods oo

I dont wanna judge buh i wont say he didnt deserve it.So Linda,she still dey alive???

Hell has no fury than a woman scorned..........

*oparoescalade*

The story is interesting but neva ended nau linda. Is she still living??

U did not give credit from where u took this story from u shld do that someone did the research

don't blame her for her actions.

EyyAaa......cheating tinz and killing tinz

Come linda what's ur problem? My comments never shows

Someone do a movie. ..... Nollywood come knocking

It's called provocation, it probably happened in the heat of the moment. Imagine what 400quid must have been worth back then. I was even expecting to hear that she cut off his member. Idiot that he is!

shollymama said...

See weytin the oyinbo man guts cause am,I dnt blame ada she wouldn't blv it wil result toh dealth 4him.wish we could knw more abt the woman

Instant judgment na im b dis one. Linda take note!

Linda is she still alive?

Thumbs up

As in....

What now happened

Tina Collins said...

history

If we all kill guys for cheating, who will remain. ....... harsh bt understanding

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Nice meeting you. #lindagiveawayonmymind

What's the point

Is she till alive? Abeg gist us make we know. This is a good history.

Na wa o!

D!D! said...

Like what? Kiss him and make him dinner? Nna one bad turn deserves...

Blythe Nwosu said...

OK so what's new with her?

That serves him right... If na white lady, she will do more...

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

DaBabe said...

What are we supposed to do with this gist?

U find who u go dupe na igbo woman,oga onye ocha she did well
No dey play with igbo with money
Imagine 400pounds na big money then.

Dey wil soon act de film. I trust our nollywood industry. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Is she unfair?was the man fair?was life fair?

Fortunedexcel

Dis one na old story bt tank God na ibo pesin kill d white man

The fear of a furious woman is d beginning of wisdom

elovi said...

Diss kind story wey no end well sef

He deserved it!

The prison on broad street has been converted to a recreational center;freedom park.
Thank me later
Bolateethole.blogspot.com

Linda good journalistic work. Esther Johnson was later granted state pardon and released from prison.

Dis babe try oo

tope said...

so where is ada today

The picture reminds me of a movie.."a million ways to die in the west"

Rosie Is Asking........What is the end to this true life story? Did she die in prison or what?......End it!!!!!

Funky Lolo said...

In 1961, on the first anniversary of Nigeria's independence, Governor-General Nnamdi Azikiwe pardoned Esther Johnson "in the name of the Queen." The press celebrated the decision, and Johnson was released from jail.

stella O said...

There is nothing tuff nor hard about her it was just a crime of passion.

Na white pple start yahoo yahoo sef! Dem scam our pple go dey fleX we money wit dem hoes!!! Hope EFCC read diz story, cuz dey need to free those yahoo guys dey've been arresting of late

Correct

SWILL MARTIN said...

She too much jooor,buh if na me I 4 go Ghana or something,buh that's sme crazy ass shit tho.

See the man coming out. Trouser and shirt na bed sheet. Belt na rope. The woman finish work for dressing.

Nwa onyeocha u wicked oooooo. Why nau

Eeya!!!

Linda u just dey do like this local Niger movie, they don't know how to end a good story

He broke her heart. Imagine how pained she must have been. That amount of money in those days must be like 4 million now. How could he do it then go and rub her face with the insult and betrayal. Crime of passion. Thats what it was. She looked cute and fashionable. Sorry that he was killed but he played a major role in contributing to his death. The story is sad. Azikiwe did well. I wonder what ever happened to her eventually. She would have an interesting story to tell. Nollywood, do some research. Over to you.

GR8BABE said...

that same 1961 hmmm

Na wa oh

Na wah oo

#Abbytohxoft

Benjamin temidayo said...

D white man na fool sha..RIP mark..u go don reach where u dey go even if u dey crawl..lol

Azik mumu ooo..wah difference does it make..death row and life imprisonment

In 1961, on the first anniversary of Nigeria's independence, Governor-General Nnamdi Azikiwe pardoned Esther Johnson "in the name of the Queen." The press celebrated the decision, and Johnson was released from jail.

It ended well.

Sisi Vales said...

Lol, Nwoke che na Ada Ocha Ntu bu ewu, O fugo nu nwa igbo.

......and where did you find this? Nigeria nostalgia on facebook? or where else?credits?

Omoba News Media said...

so na oyinbo even first start yahoo yahoo self

ChincoBee said...

Too bad....she could have controlled her anger. The guy sef no try,how could he have done such?

Linda pls confirm if she is still alive and which prison facility is she kept.

Maxwell Akalonu, i hope you achieve 1% of DR NNAMDI AZIKIWE's achievement, as the wise one. And for your question, death row involves physical, emotional, psychology torture with the prison having death at the back of their mind but for life imprisonment, the thought of death by torture is excluded. And moreover in 1961, barely one yr after independence, your mumu Azik wouldn't have acted wisely to revoke already condemned criminal who kill a British man (our colonial masters)

@benjamin temidayo lol your funny

So there you go white people always playing like they are saints. Marriage Scam No Be today.

sodablog said...

I think I deserve that if I should ever act like that Man

Interesting story

Serve him right, i guess.
Anyways, RIP

Is she deadd?

Right now I wish I could do that to my husband the man is a hibitual liar cheating bastard....

*wawuu??? Chai, am embarrassed for you Bona. The exclamation is 'wow'.

i sometimes wonder which one is better die immediately or stay in prison locked up suffering for a long time before dying... Very sad. she shouldnt have killed him.

Deedee said...

WHATS D DIFF? LOL, DEM 4 JUST SAVE HER 4RM MISERY & KILL HER NA, SHE STILL DEY ALIVE 4 PRISON???FIND OUT PLS TAFIA LINDA.

Oga gan oooo