No goalkeepers as FIFA releases World Cup Golden Ball nominees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 July 2014

No goalkeepers as FIFA releases World Cup Golden Ball nominees

What kind of ojoro is this? No Ochua, no Howard, no Enyeama, no Navas, or even Ospinas as FIFA lists the top 10 best players of the 2014 World Cup. I think some of the goalkeepers did way better than the players in this tournament but they were not nominated.

FIFA this evening officially announced the names of the ten players in the running for the adidas Golden Ball, which is awarded to the competition’s most outstanding performer.

The shortlist was drawn up by the members of FIFA’s Technical Study Group, who have been casting their expert eyes over each and every one of the matches held at Brazil 2014 to date. Appearing in alphabetical order, the 10 contenders for the accolade are as follows...see them after the cut...

- Angel Di Maria (Argentina)
In providing Lionel Messi with the best possible support, Di Maria has led the Albiceleste attack with distinction, posing a constant menace to opposing defences with his long-range shooting, mazy dribbling and finishing skills, which he showcased with a well-taken winner against Switzerland in the Round of 16.

- Mats Hummels (Germany)
The Borussia Dortmund centre-half has attracted much praise for his solid displays at the heart of the German defence. As if that were not enough, Hummels has also impressed at the other end of the pitch, rising high to score against Portugal in the group phase and head home the winner against France in the quarter-finals.

- Toni Kroos (Germany)
Kroos ran the show as Die Mannschaft swept aside hosts Brazil 7-1 in the semi-finals, dominating the midfield and posing a constant threat with his passing and shooting, which brought him two goals – all in a day’s work for this most consistent of performers.

- Philipp Lahm (Germany)
The Germany captain began the tournament in midfield before seamlessly making the switch to the right-back slot, without it undermining his performance levels or his considerable influence on Joachim Low’s side.

- Javier Mascherano (Argentina)
Though their much-vaunted attack attracts most of the headlines, Argentina have also been solid in defence, a large part of the credit for which must go to Mascherano for his tireless work in providing the Albiceleste rearguard with essential protection.
- Lionel Messi (Argentina)
Messi had never scored at the world finals prior to Brazil 2014, a record he emphatically set straight with some lethal finishing in each of Argentina’s three group matches. Though yet to find the back of the net in the knockout rounds, he has remained an influential figure for his side.

- Thomas Muller (Germany)
In opening his campaign with a hat-trick against Portugal, Muller picked up where he left off at South Africa 2010, where he collected the adidas Golden Boot. His performances since have underlined his status as the spearhead of Germany’s deadly front line.

- Neymar (Brazil)
Though only 22, the livewire forward ably shouldered the huge responsibility of leading A Seleção. Neymar was his side’s stand-out performer with four goals before an unfortunate injury ended his tournament in the quarter-finals.

- Arjen Robben (Netherlands)
The flying Dutch wide man has been in peerless form since putting defending champions Spain to the sword in his side’s opening match. His incisive runs from deep have been a feature of the tournament. 
- James Rodriguez (Colombia)
Recognised as a huge talent heading into the competition, the gifted Rodriguez has since proved his ability to rise to the big occasion. His haul of six goals in five outings was a major reason why Los Cafeteros broke new ground in reaching the last eight for the first time.
The winners of the adidas Golden Ball, Silver Ball and Bronze Ball will all be announced after Sunday’s Final.

The FIFA Technical Study Group
Headed by Jean-Paul Brigger, the FIFA Technical Study Group assesses the football played in each of the 64 matches at the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™. Its members are Gerard Houllier (France), Raul Arias (Mexico), Gabriel Calderon (Argentina), Ricki Herbert (New Zealand), Abdel M. Hussein (Sudan), Ka Ming Kwok (Hong Kong), Ioan Lupescu (Romania), Gines Melendez Sotos (Spain), Tsuneyasu Miyamoto (Japan), Sunday Oliseh (Nigeria), Mixu Paatelainen (Finland), Jaime Rodriguez (El Salvador) and Theodore Whitmore (Jamaica).

Previous adidas Golden Ball winners:
1982 FIFA World Cup Spain: Paolo Rossi (Italy)
1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico: Diego Maradona (Argentina)
1990 FIFA World Cup Italy: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)
1994 FIFA World Cup USA: Romario (Brazil)
1998 FIFA World Cup France: Ronaldo (Brazil)
2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan: Oliver Kahn (Germany)
2006 FIFA World Cup Germany: Zinedine Zidane (France)
2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

89 comments:

best ten by who/.. patoswife@gmail.com

Real ojoro Linda no mind dem
$$k@y$$

DR LEE said...

I think Ochua deserves a spot

I think Roben deserves it.....

XDON D DON

U de ask which kain ojoro? Same ojoro de were busy doing us during match. De discriminate dats all.

That's one of the bias of football! Mostly outfield players get all the glory, we all know that goalkeeping has being great at this tourney.

dhobiz said...

I want neymar to be d winner,dislike messi with all my heart.

SVC said...

Lionel Messi, is going to Wın it no doubt...

My bet is between Kroos, Di Maria and Mascherano..

*My R1.50c comment*

Messi better not win dat award or I will vex. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

It's pathetic how disrespected goalkeepers are in football. All people seem to care about is goals. A keeper is more important than we think. A lot of teams have benefited from their keeper's brilliance in this World Cup. AT LEAST Navas should've been nominated since he went further.

Gawd of Messi is winning it this time around.

Dee Tee said...

... You are absolutely right Linda. I think FIFA needs to go for check up. Really 'sick'

price inocom said...

Wetin u know about football

NaNcY DreW said...

Well dey didn't recognize eni keeper buh @ least James Rodiguez was,didn't think dey wud buh he was outstanding,well u shud know beta FIFA's list alweis av tiny coma alweis.
*Yawns* gud9t linda

NaNcY DreW said...

Well dey didn't recognize eni keeper buh @ least James Rodriguez was,didn't think dey wud buh he was outstanding,well u shud know beta FIFA's list alweis av tiny coma alweis.
*Yawns* gud9t linda

NOT FAIR! Super eagles goal keeper is GREAT!

pwitie B said...

Goalkeepers are always on d receiving end even wen they are d ones dat does d bulk of d work its rili a pity

haters-slayer said...

ah ah what hapen nah,no even benzema

Linda dnt gt it twisted..golden ball na 4 players while golden glove na 4 goalkeepers

But why wasnt thr any keeper? Well, maybe dey are goin to do d one for d keepers differently.

they nominated for the golden glove

Linda u say Enyema for just 1 win odi egwu?u will still mention Ronaldo C.oya continue.I no Messi s gonna win this.
~JayC~

no goalkeeper prolly cos thr's a golden glove award jst for goalkeepers

give urselves brain said...

pure ojoro..atlist 3 keepers deserves a pace in dis nomination even if none ends up winning but we all saw dat d keepers in dis tournament made a lot of mark in brazil...Fifa,una way tire me...

linda there is something called golden gloves this is d equivalent of goolden ball,it is an award for goal keepers...nominees are neuer,navas and romero....keep up the good work!!!

Is btw Neymer, Muller or Di Maria....

Hi Linda...goalkeepers are not nominated for golden ball,they have their own category called golden glove and the nominees are Navas of costarica, Nueuer of Germany and Romero of Argentina. you can check the fifa website to confirm.

naijaguesswat said...

Linda shey u know say dey disgrace keeper for diz world cup wella including enyeama...the best is messi

linda,there is a separate award for goalkeepers called GOLDEN GLOVE AWARD.

I go for James Rodriguez of Colombia!!!

Nonso said...

I go for James Rodriguez,but,ma mind tells me fifa will give it to Lionel messi.!!!

SEX GIST said...

hmmm and keeper are suffering

Why nah. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Is it not FIFA? I'm not surprised at all but at least dey would ve put Howard na

To be candid these players performed more than any other player in the tournament

N.j said...

I was knew dos FIfA heads wer some bunch of gay ass fucHs... #stupid

Na today u know say fifa na fraud ...ah mean cheats

It's not ojoro Linda, none of the players you listed deserve to be there ahead of the players on the shortlist.

There is sha golden gloves for them!

Hmmmm...Four Germans in the list. Speechless!

Good! good!! good!!! No wayo. But i ll prefer James Rodrigues. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Goodluck to them..

good
king messi own this cup

good
king messi own this cup

A.Robben all the way

###########GOD bless#####################Naija

Keepers are nominated in the Golden glove section

Well am not surprise,when they wouldn't nominate an english footballer for ballon d'or.
.....ZAMANIAN.....

Celeb News Arena said...

Lol, lets see how it goes

congrat to them...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Oshi le nominate ooooo!
*** forst to comment ***

Nt even nuer self, mtcheeeewwww.

Enyima should be on that list atleast

They shld have a good reason for that.

Even Neuer No Enter †ђƹ List Sef. Ojoro Of Life (Linda's Man)

Obietrezy said...

I think there should be other awards like, adidas golden glove and young player of the tournament...

Linbaby ...check for Golden gloves ...but Ochoa should ve been listed, bt he's not even included

For all I know is only James in that list played to my test.

Even though dey nominate keepers,eyeama won't mk d list#emmastreams12@gmail.com

This is very very unfair even people@ super sport studio have being saying it that goalkeepers should make this list. This FIFA self. Jopeyemi@gmail.com

My dear there is no ojoro for there oh.. even if dey wanted to nominate kipperz Enyeama and Ospino no qualify self.. And dat Di Maria is not supos to b among cos i no see waten in play......

Muller

i dont know why neymar is on this list. He hasnt done anything wonderful at this worldcup. what of xedan shaqiri,

Their award is golden glove. Go and read about it

Some goalkeepers did better than these players na chai Fifa is not fair oooooo. Daris god ooooooo
#Engr. C J said so!

James Rodriguez shuld just av it

That list is wack...

well i guess we dnt av a say in d matter......buh anyways i want james rodriguez 2 win not neymar or messi

Hummels ofcoz find_will2000@yahoo.co.uk

S*X AND INTIMACY said...

Well deserved nominees. I want Muller to get this.

PRETTY GIRL said...

So because Argentina and Germany are playing the finals, they had to discredit other hardworking players from other countries just like that...otherwise how can you have 3 Argentines and 4 Germans in a list of 10? Nahh! They clearly cheated...with the exception of Messi, Neymar, Robben, Muller and Maria, this list is so wrong ...How about some of the fantastic goalkeepers we saw in this world cup?I mean no ENYEAMA? ??? Phuck this list.... On a lighter note, am very impressed to learn that our very own Sunday Oliseh is among the FIFA technical group...I didn't know he was that recognized by FIFA Lol

hmm no be small ojoro oh lindodo.. i agree with you... some of the keepers were better off than the players
giftadene

James Rodriguez Sud get d award , despite playin for a lesser team , he was outstanding . Messi only performed in d group stage and I tink di Maria not playin against d Dutch showed how important he is to Argentina . Mascherano has also been a rock in defense . But am rili surprised dat neure wasn't mentioned as well

lindodo... golden ball is for players not goal keepers.. golden glove is for goalkeepers. leave football to us and stick to ur gossips..lol

AMY LIFE said...

Nawa oo politics every wia Fifa 2 is corrupt

humm! i smell racist here... na their own business o!! #Doro Classy#

the winner surely shud be james rodriguez of colombia

HOLA-HOLA said...

Golden ball is for players while golden gloves is for keeper,So FIFA are right LINDA

phrank316 said...

Linda u be real olodo,goal keepers dont compete in the golden ball competition because they have Golden glove to compete for.the golden glove shortlists for this year are Neuer of Germany,Navas of Costa Rica and Romero of Argentina. Between they are not that better than some keepers but cos they got to quarter finals and semi finals....u go pay for this lesson o linda

DOBY DOBY said...

Bt ochua shld b der.. d Mexico goal keeper. Hes tooo good.. plus I wish my Rodriguez wil win it

Linda wetin u know for football? Golden boot is 4 players and golden glove is for goalkeepers, so no talk wetin u no know... Is your boy Heart.

am 2 good said...

Linidwe u tink say football na blog,na so dem dey take gv award for una villa,al dis keeper wey u juz mentiond nw,hw many reach semi.

U r such a buffoon

My dear true, FIFA and their politcs... Its so annoying

@dhobiz u ar on point detest him like mad

Even you Hilary is chatting dust. Ode

Golden ball is for the players while Golden glove is for the keepers and P.S enyeama wasn't even nominated for the golden glove!

Goalkeepers now have the Gooden Glove award that's why none of them are on the list. Meanwhile it's good to see Sunday Olise in that committee.

You and Linda na big time OLODO, golden ball is for players while golden glove is for keepers....

XDON D DON