Taraba State Accountant-General arraigned For N1.56billion Fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 9 July 2014

Taraba State Accountant-General arraigned For N1.56billion Fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission today arraigned the Taraba State Accountant – General, Joel Joseph Lenbang, before Justice Donatus Nwabueze Okorowo of the Federal High Court Jalingo for defrauding Taraba State Government to the tune of  N1.56 billion. He was docked on an 8-count charge bordering on obtaining by false pretense, offenses contrary to and punishable under the Advanced Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences Act, 2006.

When the charges were read to him, the accused person pleaded not guilty. Continue...

The malfeasance came to light following a petition received from a concerned Taraba State indigene, sometime in February 2014, alleging massive looting of Taraba state funds. The petition triggered investigation of the lifestyle of some of the officers mentioned in the petition and who were believed to be living above their means.

The investigation uncovered systematic withdrawal of state funds through a scheme mastermind by the accountant - general of the State, Joel Lengbang. Withdrawals were allegedly made under the guise that such monies were used for sundry payments on behalf of ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs), as well as payment of Bank Commissions on Turn over (COT) and Value Added Tax (VAT) which became a monthly affair. A total sum of N1,567,226,557.081 (one billion, five hundred and sixty seven million, two hundred and twenty six thousand, five hundred and fifty seven naira, eighty one kobo) was discovered to have been looted from the state treasury between January 2012 and December 2013.

In view of the plea of the accused, prosecuting counsel, Al Qasim Ja’afar applied for a date to commence trial. Counsel to accused, Abayomi Akamode, however, informed the court that he had filed a motion for bail this morning and urged the court hear it. But Al Qasim told the court that he was just served the motion on notice in court and would need time to peruse and respond appropriately.

Justice Okorowo adjourned the case till July 11, 2014 for hearing of the bail application and remanded the accused in prison custody.

Wilson Uwujaren
Head, Media & Publicity
9th July, 2019

58 comments:

Chooooi! Dis man is greedy ooooo. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

That's good for him, see his face like ntoor

Sylvia said...

Dey haf come again ooooooo! Thieves!! Abeg dey shld mk him Return d money nd confiscate all his assets...

Good thief...I salute you

Good thief..I salute you

nawao.. patoswife@gmail.com

NaNcY DreW said...

Chai see his mug shot

That's good for him, See his face

All this one na just distraction bcos non of those penny will ever be returned believe me....

See as dem hang the level for the ajè man neck.Hehehe.

OMG! and people re out there looking for 1 cup of rice to eat? Daris God...o

Na waoo.. u wan finish d money abi?

C.E.O

And to think Taraba state is one of the poorest states in Nigeria.
Its quite a pity.

Barry9ice said...

I Stand to be corrected @linda do u mean 9th July 2014/2019. Na starting we get, we no get finishing. We only hear abt d looting but no strong punishment is given at d end of d verdict, am sure dis case take 4ever to be concluded

Hi

NaNcY DreW said...

His Mug shot is terrible he deserves it

Wht do uo expect? Wil he ever admit dat he's guilty. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

And they say money is not in the north, that poverty is killing everybody, whilst a microscopic few cart away the money and play kings

Geezos! Billion wat? ekwuruibea@gmail.com

Thief

kyke said...

Na Someone Baba b this o!

After GEJ will come out and open his rotten mouth and say curruption is over emphasized and stealing of public funds isn't a crime! Choi! I bleed for my dear country.

Until the govt of Nigeria reduce the allowances of public office holders, criminal will continue to contest and win elections. Which way Nigeria?

anngie said...

nawa for naija ooo!!! every day na for the thief, one day one day na for the owner of the houseooo. May this be the starting point for the exposure of all the criminals in Naija who Nigeria no go better in Jesus name Amen Am out!!!!!!!!!!

so sorry ,Obj's dog don't catch am...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Mo said...

Hiss, all na wash, dem go soon give am presidential pardon... he will campaign in few yrs tym for a post. No be naija. I lost fate in all this. Na small thieves they prosecute. But u r immune wen u misplace 20bn

OMG, only one person? 1.56 billion, But why? Only God ll judge you well o. Barawo! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Lol Bonario why are you amplifying the irony na?Can't believe this man is this greedy.The parading of ill gotten wealth before the hungry and toiling masses is what they do.I just hope the matter is not swept under the carpet.Nyako is next!

Gud as Dem catch u theft ole only u 1.56bn hw nigeria go better?

People who can't think up a good way to make a living will definitely steal.

HELPING HANDS INTERNATIONAL (H2i)
POWERFUL REVOLUTIONARY
GLOBAL EMPOWERMENT SYSTEM
that is reliable and forever sustainable.
Do you need an interest and collateral free loan?
Do you want a practically free Brand New Hyundai Accent 2014 Model & Hyundai ix35 cars?
Do you want a free Brand New 16g Apple Ipad?
Do you want to live in your own house so that you can stop spending money on rents?
Do you want educational funds for your children?
Do you want to become more skillful in your career or business?
Do you want people around you to be helped especially with their finances?
Do you want to see the motherless, orphans, disabled, widows, smile again?
Do you want to see your dreams come true?
If your answer to all these is YES, it means you need a Helping Hands.

For more details, check: http://wealthsuccessembassy.blogspot.com/

EFCC has no right to release this picture yet. It prejudice the accused. That's completely wrong in law. MHD has already being convicted before trial. What happened if the court eventually found him innocent? An irreparable loss would have been done to him.

We are talking boko haram...some people are worse than them...bombing and killing Nigerians with paper and pen.

Valentine you are so cute. Where are you? I will catch u soon.

Thieves! Once Nigerians are given post in government all they do is go and steal. Shame!

God don catch am... Dat serves him right. . . #rebrandingNigeria

Pretex4luv@yahoo.com. Poor him#

well dis is just a mere theft according to gej

Taraba state has this much? AG Lagos, Delta, Rivers I hail o

DOBY DOBY said...

Efcc my foot.. efcc nd bribe no b here.. d man wil still bribe dem nd he wil b free.. dey only act wen it comes to yahoo boys or d average men in d society. . Dis man is bloody wicked

The way dis ppl divert public money is huge and alarming... Dat much money? And he tot he'd go unnoticed? Well, maybe he saw somppl do it and go free. Am sorry, not evry1 can b dat lucky

To me this bearded man has just fallen out with the powers that B

hmmm, this is just mere stealing jare, it's nothing close to corruption...

ANYA IKENGA said...

Can they come to Akwa Ibom too? It is hot here.

Interesting! That plaque on his neck? EFCC will do well to hang same on ALL who loot the public till including political office holders and let's see whether corruption won't take flight from Nigeria!!

All i can see is the plaque round his neck and the grammatical error

He is just following the trend of his four fathers

Is it naira or dollars

Story! Shebi na naija we de,dem jst de mak noise..... Dey wil let em go nd evn gv em minister or SA..... Ve lost faith in ds country nd dia rubbish

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Abi o, Bonario.

I will go to jail for just 100million ...!! Hire me. Buhahaha

So sorry you are just being unfortunate,when others steal good money and still moving around freely...

This man has not been found guilty yet so why hang a board around his neck? The next step for EFCC will be lynching if this sort of treatment is hailed. A state accountant general is not a small position. If he has waked money recover and do whatever is allowed after conviction.

Now all we hear is billion, nothing like million again.

flexycouture@yahoo.com

ND said...

old fool. disgrace.

After the normal charade of the EFCC, he will be freed so far the billions stolen are shared. We have heard of stolen funds, what punishment was given, a token fine was the punishment.
#PICCANTO#

Your head dey there!

Pple just talk anyhow I am from taraba state ask me wat is happening dis is politics and religion be sure of a story before u start raining insults.

Dis man is absolutely innocent d acting governor is just a beast he and his cabal are bigger theives just bcos he didn't dance to their tune.