Photos: Kefee given a queen’s burial in Sapele, Delta State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 July 2014

Photos: Kefee given a queen’s burial in Sapele, Delta State

The body of the late pop-gospel artist, Kefee (Irikefe Don-Momoh, nee Obareki) was given a queen’s burial yesterday Friday July 11th in her hometown, Okpara Inland, Ethiope-East LGA, Sapele, Delta. 

The whole town ground to a standstill as the body of their late daughter arrived Akpevwoghene Educational Centre, Okpara Inland, around noon in a white SUV with ‘Omega 1’ as the plate number.
She was also in a white casket and was laid in state in the middle of the school’s football field while friends and family paid their last respects. The casket was not immediately opened to the public but a funeral service was held in her honour while Sammie Okposo, his band and other gospel artists took turns on the stage set up at the venue. Continue...

The husband, Teddy, clad in white had arrived earlier and received the body along with members of Kefee’s family. The first took her into one of the classrooms and said some prayers before taking the body to the centre of the field. 
A number of entertainers like DJ Gosporella, I Go Dye, Linda Etukudo, Nene SoulDiva, Anny Ibrahim, Princess, Aity Dennis, Daddy Showkey, Tosin Martins and Nikki Laoye were present at the funeral.

After the service, the body was then transported to the burial site nearby where a beautiful mausoleum had been erected and buried amidst tears from friends and well-wishers.
The parents, out of custom, were forbidden to either witness the funeral service or see the dead body of their child.
Afterwards, in the evening, everyone regathered in Sapele for a celebratory event where gospel artists and a number of local upcoming artists performed till late into the night. See photos below...

Kefee's brother and sister
 Kefee's sisters

Photos from the celebratory night below...

153 comments:

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

May God accept your soul IJN..

Anyikwa chinonso said...

What can I say.... RIp...

Also check out the Latest FreeBrowsing Tips for all Nigeria Networks

Peejay said...

How befitting. Rest in peace, sweet angel. May God console your loved ones.

contiune to rest in the Lord

LINDA said...

RIP Kefee! God pls comfort her husband..

R.I.P NNE

Bosslady said...

Rest in peace dear kefee. ..I feel soo sad!!!

Wat a life. May her gentle soul rest n peace. Amen. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

GOod bye kefee, u'l be greatly missed

Ayuba Raphael said...

Good nite Kefee...u'll be missed

Why sammie come ughly like this na? He looks like seal.. Keffie lives on

Rest on branamah queen!!!*sobs*

Continue to rest in peace kafee

Also Check this post..
PHOTOS; Checkout The Dangerous Backside Of This Kanye Booti Queen Judy Bigbu ... ..Click to View

Laa na udo. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

May her soul rest in perfect peace....

Which one is queens burial? Laa na udo. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Eyaa. Dust to dust, ashes to ashes. Fare thee well

NAOMI said...

With tears in my eyes I say REST IN PERFECT PEACE.

Where is omawunmi and waje her twin?

Kefee love go well. this is so sad.

Na wa for that their customs tht forbids parents from paying their last respect,may her soul rest in peace...Linda,u did go?

May her gentle soul Rest In Peace.. Amen

Criously? A celebrating night?...a 34 years old... #only DaGrin got a tribute song...

May her soul continue to rest in perfect peace.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

May her gentle soul rest in peace.

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

rip ...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Rip ...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

RIP sweetheart

Thank you Linda.You make me feel like I was there at the funeral.May God Almighty receive her soul.Amen

May her gentle soul rip

Lacey Love said...

You came, you played your own part. RIPP in the bosom of the Lord.

muna said...

Sleep well Kefee.
Your song "granama" will always be my favorite from back in the days...

RIP kefee

I go die de dia de ping...... Bonga fish! Even cross leg like crab! Rip kefee.......

Sooo sad rip kefee

Sleep well sister. ur álbum is still d only urhobo álbum I am happy to listen to. I will Miss u. #Tears

Chop Chop said...

This is what i don't understand, why didn't you all support her like this during her sickness or sell ur suv's when she was alive? R I P

U'll never be forgotten Kefee. RIP.

samira said...

@Amarachukwu, which custom or tradition in Nigeria allow parents to witness their child's burial.I dont understand you

Amen

@amarachukwu you fall my hand oo and you be igbo.Every custom in Nigeria forbids the parent of a child to bury their child,it is an abomination as parents are not meant to outlive their children,I repeat every custom in Nigeria forbids it.chukwu ajufe njojo.RIP KEFEE.its really just starting to sink in.

Chopchop u r bastard for typing such comment. If u have nothing to say just shut ur trap.

RIP Kefee. We all miss u. May God keep u.

Dumbfounded....this word

R I P....Kefee!!!

I don't understand the custom and tradition u r talking about here Linda.... Are they suspecting the husband of using her for rituals...

XDON D DON

Rest in peace

RIPP#tears#

U r just foolish...can you create an ant?

Rest on my kokoroko queen. U may b no more but ur memory lives on.

anonymous2012 said...

RIP kefee..but pls is d casket not open at al?am nt sure her corpse was brought to nig..will all saw goldie when she was buried..just curious tho

Rest well Kefee!

Ochigbo john said...

I will miss her

Ochigbo john said...

I will miss her so much.

I tire 4 am o! People will just come on LIB and be typing crap!

What kinda mumu is dis XDON abeg?

In 2004 I left my 8 months old son with my sister in-law to go to compulsory NYSC camp in Delta, the moment he starts watching Branama then you have gotten his full attention. I made sure they had upto 3 copies so they won't say it had cracked, I prayed for you to have your children but God's ways is not our way. Kefee sleep on at the bossom of the lord, my angel.

E be like say I still dy dream oooo, if @ all say nor be dream.. Wht cn I say RIP d queen of branama

mimosa comedian said...

See as them day laff.Rip kefee

okegbe patience. said...

Yes! Definitely, she will missed. I pray that her legacy should continue.

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Curious over what? Where u the one that killed her? Why so interested to see her corpse as if it's a good sight? Smh..

I go die no go ping again? Na him kill kefee? At least he came to pay his last respect !! So calm down..

Hahaha. My belle wan tia for laugh

As if she will answer you if she did go or not. Are you sure you are Igbo? For that your question u asked.. !!!

Allahumo amin

Na real granama.. It's Branama Aunty Muna.....

Branama

Rest well love. Weeping*

joy Egbunu said...

Adieu Kefee. Rest well

RIP Kefee! A rising star shot dwn in its prime. God bless & rest ur soul. celebratory nite?! Like seriously?!!

RIP...but where is Timaya?

I dont think any custom allows parents to burry their children, in fact, it is no acceptable. Even in the Yoruba culture, it is a bad thing for parents to witness their children's burial, and apart from custom, it just seems like the wrong thing to do

Rest in peace

How?explain urself...

I'm sure u're an adult and u should know how to read..are u actually this dumb or u're just kidding?ur comment just worsened my mood!really?how can someone be dis daft?

U will be greatly missed. Rest in peace branama queen

May her soul continue to rest in peace..amen

May God grant her family d fortitude to bear d loss. RIP kefee

RIP Kefee

Itunu said...

Kefee Good bye for ever!!! Pls say hi to my lovely sista Omotola who just died recently.We love u all but God love u most.....

RIP Kefee.

@ Anonymous 12:09.Do you want to eat her corpse?? Fool...Post my comment Linda

Sleep on Kefee, you are in a better place.

Pls don't blame her, we all know it's unusual for parents to bury their children. She probably has never witnessed such and I haven't either. I honestly just learnt abt this custom here. Thanks Linda, for this forum.

Farewell Keffee. God bless your soul.

This is so unfair. So the planning committee knows nothing else to add its celebratory party??????????? A very young lady that died untimely death and they are dancing and pinging and smiling? I know frowning won't bring her back but the look on their faces shows they were really happy and celebrating a birthday or wedding party. This life one is only important when alive it is well I pray the Holy Spirit whispers words of comfort to the family and strengthen them whenever they feel overwhelmed from the pain of losing their loved one IJN Amen.

Sylvonce said...

Amen! Kokoro Queen, u live on....

Rest on.....bt what's there to celebrate,she was young na? Ok o

May her soul rest in peace
VICTOR

RIP KEFEE DON MOMOH by Cadel Nero Its tragic
Ur songs was magic
Ur beauty caused traffic
Ur humility fantastic

Am glad earth shared ur greatness wiv me
Its sad death had to kiss u
For eternity I'm gonna miss u

Ur songs was sweeter than Banana
I remembered how I danced to Branama
How I tied wrapper round my waist!

Kokoroko was a nice tune
It was on repeat on my play list
I even had it as my ring tone

Death ur wicked

I wish u neva came till eternity!
U not a respecter of humanity
U confuse life with vanity
Vanity upon vanity
All is vanity!

RIP KEFEE...

RIP. Keffe !timaya didn't go nii

Mama D said...

RIP my dear!

Rip kefee
Follow me on instagram n imma follow bk....teemah_salau

the name KEFEE is the star and brand, not don momoh so while was don momoh written in capital letters and KEFEE in small letters on the banner. its just my observation, i dont mean any disrespect. R.I.P KEFEE.

Sleep on Kefee! God knows best.

May her gentle soul Rest In the bosom of God and May God strengthen her husban. Amen

mc b warriman said...

Respect in peace kefee,we love u but God loves u more,goodbye

rip.. patoswife@gmail.com

We praise the LORD for the life she spent praising and worshiping HIM.It's a reminder to all that someday we will depart this sinful world and meet our MAKER. How prepared are we. Rest in the bosom of the LORD, Till we meet to part no more.

@nicki bliz said...

Feeling so sad!!! Such is life sha. Kefee didnt knw she will die early like dis, may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. Its left 4 us 2 choose our path quickly bfo its 2 late,let us decide frm today, nt tomaro, were we want 2 end up is it hell? or heaven? ask ur self dat question.... cus man dem deres no life after death ooo its just 4 u 2 await judgment, THANKS.

Abu Samuel said...

I am particularly drawn in by her strength and determination towards life. She exhibited Traits Of A True Amazon! Her Career & Philosophy will remain a Compass To So Many Young Singers Brewing In The Industry... We are Compiling a documentary on her illustrious Journey... On 2tyte Tv.

@nicki bliz said...

Feeling so sad!! Kefee didnt knw she will die early like dis,may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. So its left 4 us 2 choose our path now,not tomaro, cus it might be 2 late, we shld choose were we want 2 be aftr death. Is it hell? Or heaven? U knw death doesnt have respect,plz nd plz make ur path straight now bcos dere is no life after death. Is just to await judgment. THANKS luv u all.

XDON,ur so dumb,wat brot abt d rubbish ur sayin,did u hear Linda mention anytin or insinuate anytin lyk RITUALs?I guess u dnt kno ow to read or maybe u av a very low IQ..fool..

Chioma said...

Thunder fire you, Amara do you pray to bury your child.

For DOn said...

X DON the don of stupidity. You are a waste of sperm.

Rest...

C.E.O

The custom is right cos naturally children are supose to bury their parents and not parents burying children.

Guys pls watch juliet ibrahim on Trending(Hip Tv).cnt wait for d tweeter part.lol

May her gentle soul RIP

So in ur village parents goes to their children's burial abi? Useless custom. And what's Linda, "u did go"?? What kind of grammar is that?

Rest in Peace Kefee.

Rip May this kind of thing never happen to ur family and all of us

I.Jey said...

Restt in Peace kefee..

MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE AMEN.

sam said...

Celebratory nite? Is dat needed? Its a painful death. Pre matured death, is d celebratory nite for a befitin burial or for ceebration of life? U all are meant to b sober and not puttin on d polo of kefee, dancin, smilin n laffin. U shldnt b in dat velebratory mood if u understand dat u wldnt see her again till d last day..

sam said...

Point of correction, celebratory mood..

ELVINO said...

SO SAID GOD WILL REQUEST FOR HER BEAUTIFULL SOUL SO SOON....REST IN PEACE DEAR......#NA ME TALK AM COME BEAT ME#

Befitting for a 3e year old. O ga

R.I.P Mrs Kefee

Cryin hard,who wil gv mi owo soup nd starch again in branama kitchen wil miss u badly RIP sis conti 2 sit @ d rite hand of d father....

I just wonder why man pikin no go ping again.

U are calling d hand work of God ugly? Thats why u dont know where your problems are coming from. U are reaping all d bad words u have spoken in d past

Eya Ayambem said...

The vanity of this life.
Why do the people rage and war?
RIP Kefee.

May God grant her eternal rest & Console d whole family.

May God grant her eternal rest &Console d entire families.

PRETTY GIRL said...

Rip beautiful soul...rest in God's bossom

MAY GOD ACCEPT UR SOUL KEFEE......... STILL LIKE A DRM.....

Moye B.

Yes a celebration night!!! Kefee did so much in her 34 years and for a long time was the ONLY female artiste in the Nigerian music industry!!! When she released Branama, most of the artistes todat didn't know what they would do with their lives! So yes she deserves a night of celebration!!!

The problem was never money!!!! She was on life support and never came back! It has nothing to do with selling SUVS if selling an SUV would have saved her life, they would hv sold it! Do u know how much it costs to be on life support for 2 weeks in the USA? Your family's savings can't do it!

They were celebrating her life and what she mean to them, singing songs of praise and thanking God for giving her as a gift to Nigeria. She was a gift from God and yes she left at 34, but the joy is that she is with Jesus, who left at 33! We still celebrate Him today! We rejoice to see her on the glorious day.

It is because you will see her on the last day, that is why you should rejoice! And just so you know, they were singing her songs! She sang Branama (a dance praise song), she sang Kokoroko (a dance love/praise song), she sang DemGoTalk (a dance song), she was someone who loved God, loved to praise and loved to dance! You honor her by dancing and praising God for her life!

Chop Chop said...

If only you know chop chop and the definition of a bastard.

Yes it is, wen u hv lived an amazing life, people would celebrate you, even if you were 20! Ask ashanti

LEEZ said...

So those people came to dance Etighi abi???Hmmm issorai... RIP kefee!

May God grant eternal rest to ur soul kefee... U will be greatly missed.

😭 R.I.P my branama queen.

Shovey said...

A befitting burial.The major thing is for her soul to be accepted in the world beyond. May she continue to rest in God's bossom. till we meet to part nomore. sleep on Kefee

Obafemi Victoria said...

RIP Branama

Wunmi O. said...

May the Lord be with her hubby and her family. Kefee Lives on... Thank God for the Life she lived on Earth. Rest on Branama Queen...

Tears just welled up in my eyes. RIP KEFEE. U were really a queen who touched lives, both old and young with your music. You are sure in a better place. Sleep on.

Rest in peace branama queen....@ neyesteelauder16@yahoo.com

jumoke said...

Rest in peace beautiful kefee.

God BLESS UR SOUL KEFEE.RIP

GOD Bless your Soul Kefee.RIP

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. Amen. We love you Kefee but God love you most.

In as much as i feel terrible for the massive loss, i still but wonder and ponder as to what kind of "PRAYER" was placed on Kefee's corpse in a classroom away from the eyes of the public. Things are happening oh! Hmmm

Roymorgan said...

Rest in pace my love

Still in tears...listening to Igbunu...my favorite. Thank God above all. Rest in Peace

For those of U wondering what kinda prayer was said in private on Kefee's corpse. Her parents still believing a miracle could happen arranged for a prayer session for her by their Pastor and intercession group before taking the casket to the open field....but as we know, God's ways are not ours. He needs her now, for her work one earth is done. RIP my sister - Lady K.

am so sorry this comment is coming late. I scrolled through all the comments above and it was really hilarious reading some. firstly, parents are NOT supposed to bury their children instead the children are the ones in the position to bury their parents. it is not a good thing for a parent who was present at the birth of his or her child to also be present at the death. may it not be our portion in Jesus' name. Amen. Secondly, about the celebratory night, I would not say it was a bad idea because I know where majority of you are coming from that she was too young to die. but, one thing you all are missing is that as a Christian, one does not die instead the person is sleeping that is what Jesus told us. it is the celebration of a life well spent. no one is too young to die unless he has not accomplished the work God sent him to do. just like Jesus. Jesus did not die an untimely death, he came to do his work on earth and go. so relate that to Kaffy, she did all she was sent to do and now has gone back to her creator. the others are not also happy about the death but are rejoicing according to Christian faith that she's with the Lord. I didn't see wizkid, davido and all there instead other gospel artists which shows they were praising God rather than mourning. please take no offence though, it is just my opinion. thanks. Sharon