Police parade suspected baby factory operators in Rivers state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 9 July 2014

Police parade suspected baby factory operators in Rivers state

Three pregnant women and a 36-year-old man (pictured above) suspected to be involved in producing babies for sale were paraded by the Rivers State Police Command yesterday July 8th, Punch reports.

The suspects, who were arrested in Igwuruta, Rivers state on July 5th, were identified as Odinchinma Nwala (25), Glory Anyanwu (22), Goodness Nwankwo (19), and Stanley Okechukwu (male, 36).

The DPO of Igwuruta Police Station, Mr. Bello Muhammed, who spoke with newsmen, explained how the suspects were arrested, saying they were alerted by well meaning Nigerians.
"We sent a patrol team that went and confirmed the information. When the police traced and arrested Okechukwu, who took the team to where he kept the girls on Saturday, July 5, 2014, it was discovered that the suspects had been involved in the business for a long time." Continue...
“The girls were brought from different local government areas, and further investigation revealed that after delivering, he will settle (pay) the girls N100,000 per baby girl and N150,000 for a baby boy before selling the babies,” the DPO said.
Mohammed said that investigation was ongoing to get to the root of the matter, adding that child trafficking remains an offence in the country.

However, Okechukwu, who spoke with newsmen, denied operating a baby factory. He said that he was only rendering assistance to the young pregnant women.

Also, one of the pregnant women, who identified herself as Glory Anyanwu, said she was eight months pregnant, even as she denied that they were being kept for a baby producing business.
"He (Okechukwu) saw me in this condition and decided to assist me by offering me and my unborn baby accommodation. But I know the person that impregnated me,” Anyanwu said.
Source: Punch

64 comments:

No peace for the wicked anymore in Naija. God will keep exposing them. These news are so saddening.

CoolDiva speaks!

Job well done by the police, those idiots can't outrun the long arm of the law

Hahahaha! Very funny. See wat poverty can cause. U carry a baby for good 9months and at de end of de day u will be settled with 100k. ChaAaai! Poverty na bastard. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Well down. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Nemesis has caught up with you.Good!

Sylvia said...

Pls oooo, thorough investigation shld be carried out ooooo... D man may just be rendering help to helpless nigerians.

Its quite shameful what Nigerians are ready to do these days coz of money.
Each day the sanctity of human life is being downgraded here.
Its quite a pity. Nigeria being ingenious negatively.

again kwa ... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Nawa o. Wonders shall never end. Chioma_kairo@yahoo.com

Baby making center. God dey. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Chineke biko! Osalobua laho

Milez said...

Good For Them..

This is wickedness# lindodo, I opened a special gmail account for me to win that last monday price o# favour me ooo cooljay279@gmail.com# JustJay

Jesus...the police has said it so they should not denied the fact and face trial

Please visit my blog

www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com

CHERRY said...

All in the name of money!

haters-slayer said...

some girl are just so stupid to the core,how can one let her self be used like that just for a 100k,those girls involved in this act,dont 4get there's God ooo.

Diz peple shud stop alredy. Next wil be baby factory at udi or nkalagu.ekwuruibea@gmail.com

oluchi clara onyeanu said...

nawaooo !!!!! things are really happening

MISSPERFECT said...

Naija I hail o,look @ their ugly faces,meanwhile d man himself looks hungry Okechuku saw me in dis condition and decided to help me,what condition?wen ur were oppening ur Legs without cd,if d are paid 150 what are d using d money 4,cos d all look hungry.

This news disgusts me

blaze said...

Why wicked people just full everywhere?

I adopted my 2 children through this process and that was d easiest way for adopting.i paid for a girl 350.000 and a boy for 600,000.
i so much loved d children

NaNcY DreW said...

A life 4 #150,000 wat cud drive a woman in2 dis act? If not hardship, 1da wat d police intend doing wit dis pregnant women now.

Lindodo, bless my effort with favour# Cooljay279@gmail.com # Just_Jay

And da fuck is all dis going to stop? jopeyemi@gmail.com

Na God don catch them.....

Bastards, but na hunger dey all these things

Poverty is the most deadliest of all disease..;it'll never see me and my household IJN....Amen.
Hmm...

*My R1.50c comment*

Smh

Wonders shall never end.Lord,have mercy on mankind 4 we know not what we are doing.waltersimage68@gmail.com

Snow White said...

For real?

The things some people do just for money is too alarming.
May God guide us o..amen!!

ND said...

wht this world turning into? pple are some heartless, trading innocent children for no course, just remember no peace for the wicked.i rest my case.

Can u imagine?na wa oooo

People are very desperate and anxious to make money dis days.May God ve mercy on this nation.

####################GOD bless################################Naija

when will u pple stop

when will u pple stop tarnishing the already bad image of nigeria<DESPIRADOS! @nodebenna

I see no insult's flying,it's because it comes from a certain ethnic group that are good in castigating anything not their own,dia ris god ooooo.#notribeismadeofsaints.

Shanding2k2... said...

what is this world turning into? there's hardly a day u dt come across a pathetic breaking news. Hhmmm......

Yes oooo no peace 4 d wicked.

Lili why u no dey pos my comment nw? chababy

U bought ur kids thru dis process u mean. If its ok then feel free to tell ur baby girl u bought her 4 350k, dats how much her existence is worth. May God 4give u.

Na wa o dis is sometimes hard to comprehend how can one carry a baby in her wounb for nine month and sell the baby after giving birth to it what happen to the pain of Labour? Dis is what poverty can cause may God help us in dis country

MXG said...

Anon 10.09 makes a good point. Where is the crime here? These women are consenting so what are the police doing there? If anything, this should be made official so that it can be regulated. How will the young women look after the children when they can't even look after themselves?
I wish Nigerians didn't have a sheep mentality.

I don't know but, if you ask me; as much as the babies were not to be dehumanize or for ritual. Then why the gnashing of teeth. Instead of been abandoned. I heard the process of adoption in this country is long and difficult

flexycouture@yahoo.com

jacktally said...

this shit has got 2 stop!!

See their UGLY faces.

Igbo and greediness.

God will help us in Nija

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

SMH.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

It only takes a Dangote to be in such kind gesture. Think twice !!

is it not better to keep these girls and collect the babies from them when they give birth and to also let the right people that are need of children take them or do you prefer they born them and dump them in the drainage? this is what they used to do in our cities in those days but it's no longer the case these days. because of the poverty level in this country we will always have girls with unwanted pregnancy in our midst except the government can step in and find ways of helping young girls in that kind of situation.

It's easy to pass judgment without analyses. The Nigerian society is one where most girls who get pregnant out of wedlock are ostracised by family and friends alike. Practically none of you posting on this topic would have lifted a finger to help any of these girls. So when a girl finds her self with a pregnancy she doesn't want,she has 2 choices. Abortion or find someone who will take her in and help her to carry the pregnancy to term. Now when the child is born,what happens? Many families will not let that girl bring home a 'bastard'. Nigeria is a country that has little or no support for such women and thats when these girls turn to the only people who are willing to help. All I'm trying to say is that in these situations, it is good to see things through the eyes of a young helpless expectant mother to be who is desperate to survive. Only then can one understand. Life is not always 2+2=4

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

I no say dis 1 no pass my igbo ppl lol nawah

hmmmm Diaris God oooooooo, after we complain of Bokoharam

funny how lazy Nigerians are. most people are still adding their emails for Lady Linda to bless them with money. Lazy bastards. why dont some of you think and create something. Mark Grayson.

Wonderment
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

osayande osas said...

May God help us in this naija ooooo

osayande osas said...

May God help us in this naija oooo

Better pikin don comment,yay! You talk sense my love,let them carry out a thorough investigation abeg

And your comming here to rant about it,you're part of the reasons why they're still in the illegal biz,you shld be ashamed.what happens to adopting children legally from orphanages?

Wonders will keep happening, na wa

nawao. patoswife@gmail.com

I honestly don't understand the problem.

Where they kept against their will? NO!

Apart from risking their lives in the back streets for an abortion, someone feeds them for the duration and exchanges the child they would have killed or would have no future in poverty as most of these young girls have no idea what to do and that's a crime?

Where is the government or society to help such people? Where are the orphanage homes? Then you people call this Child factory?

I would shake the hands of the man that takes them in if I met him. Once again... as long as they are not held against their will.

Gosh! Nigerians.. We are more than foolish! No wonder idiots rule us!