RCCG student that killed his father: LIB reader shares her own story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 July 2014

RCCG student that killed his father: LIB reader shares her own story

From a female LIB reader...please read!
In light of the story you posted on your blog about the RCCG student that killed his father, and the response to it by comedian: Wale Gates, I will like to share a little bit of my story to educate my fellow LIBers on the dangers of abusing their power and authority over their children, I believe there are a lot of people with stories similar to mine that will have the courage to speak out after they read my story, and they will also realize that they are not alone in their experience. While the action of the RCCG student was despicable and evil, the truth of what led to it may never be known, but I believe there is an opportunity for a  lot of people to learn from that unfortunate story about how parents can sometimes push their children to the extreme limits.
While my experience did not end up a tragedy as that of this unfortunate young man, I believe it might have had the same underlying tone and pattern. 
I am a 40 year old successful woman who is based in south Africa, I’m happily married to a wonderful man and just had a bouncing baby girl, I have a good life and i love my life, but the only thorn in my life is my relationship with my mother. I grew up having a very toxic relationship with my mum, a relationship that soured after her divorce from my dad while i was a child, after the divorce my mother took all the children with her and for some reason singled me out by physically and emotionally abusing me repeatedly, she believed i have a lot in common with my dad whom she hated with a passion.I grew up in a home where my mother will call me various malicious names, and repeatedly tell me i will not amount to anything in life, she once told me she wishes she had aborted me when she was pregnant with me, i remember being chased out of the house as a teenager, and left to sleep outside alone overnight for not properly doing house chores.

This toxic relationship endured into my adulthood, I grew up never having the opportunity to have all the beautiful things a relationship with one’s mother can bring, every time something great was happening in my life my mother was always there around the corner to “pour sand in it”, she went as far as cancelling my wedding a few times because I would not invite one of her friends to it, she has managed to destroy every meaningful relationship I have with all my siblings and extended family members by telling lies about me and going on a campaign of ensuring i am cut off from everyone, all attempts over the years by family members to show her that she was being malicious to me went on deaf ears, she spent most of the discussions denying every thing i accused her of doing to me and convincing everyone that i am a liar. I have personally approached her on several occasions to see if i could get her to change but that also failed. 

Not to long ago she claimed that she came to visit  my family and i since i was pregnant with my daughter and close to delivery, while she was around she almost destroyed my marriage by sowing seeds of discord between my husband and i, she went as far as gossiping about me with everyone that cared to listen; this included my friends and neighbours , it became so stressful for me that i couldn’t take it anymore, she did not even consider that i was heavily pregnant. One faithful day i told her she had to leave, out of my house and my life before she manages to destroy the best things in my life, that until she repents and realizes the errors in her ways i was not willing to relate with her again, while it was disheartening for me to take that action it was the most liberating thing i have ever done. Rather than repent, my mother have again gone on a campaign of letting her minions know that I “chased” her out of my home and that i’m so ungrateful after all she had done for me.

Sometimes when you push a child to the wall you never know what they might do,while i could never dream of killing my mum, the anger and rage she evoked in me could have easily led me to a dark place if not for the grace of God. The general idea of a mother is someone who is nurturing and ever loving, my experience have been far from that, there are things my mother did that i cannot even add to this writeup. A lot of nigerian parents do not know anything about parenting a child, their mentality is that you should raise a child the way your parents raised you, this approach involves flogging the child and abusing him/her emotionally as one wishes, there is nothing systematic to it. While some of these children grow up and forgive their parents, even going as far as replicating their upbringing on their own kids, some realize that things could have been different and are willing to stop the cycle.

249 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 249 of 249

Hmmmm, my friends mother used to be wicked and have not changed till now. On her traditional marriage she deliberately went out of the house and everybody was looking for her until it was late. People just ate and left without doing anything. Her father was late and her senior brother had no say. The mother was demanding so much from the young man. After everything, she succeeded to marry the guy and today, the mum does not visit and is not even welcome in her house. She is happy with her husband and kids.

Linda, please post oo.
literacy.tina@gmail.com

She did not tell us why her mother was strict with her more than other kids. Maybe she was mischievious like many Nigeria kids. Your parents especially ur mum cannot be so strict with you without tangible reasons. My parents has 4 kids and my dad understood and treated us differently. My sister cannot stand the physical rod of correction hence she was calm and my dad hardly hit her. I was very intelligent but maybe stuborn and when I was young I steal, so dad was very strict with me and flogs me wella. Because that was the only language I understood. I grew up appreciating all those disciplinary measure because it forged me into a real and disciplined man. I remember back then on campus when I was almost lured into cultism what held me back was the thot of my parents and home. We africans are very stuborn people and what works for majority of us is Iron hand. We only need wisdom and God to draw the line.

pls stop justifying evil. which one is 'teenagers can go out of hand? the woman clearly told you that it started at infancy and continued way into her marriage and youre still saying its an exaggeration. What could she have done? stop likening your situation to hers. haba! why are people insensitive? do u think a 40 year old woman will breech d unwritten African code of 'love thy parents at all cost' and pour out her heart over this taboo just because she was flogged koboko or igbale during her teenage? pls use your sense

Same goes to pepo who constantly abuse deir spouse...u jst create hatred within dem..u neva kno,she mite want 2 b defensive one day and allas!!lets all becareful..life has no duplicate!wateva we say here,d man is gone 4eva..A WORD!!!

I won't pass judgment until we hear from ur mum. Please tell her to present her version of the case to Linda Ikeji Court within 2 days, her failure to do so will lead to our passing a default judgment against her. This matter is hereby adjourned. The court will now rise. Thank you.

i wonder how humans reason? which part should she say again? so because your child spilled her food, you beat her, pour hot water and send her to the hospital bed.Then when she talks, you accuse her of not saying what she did
What could a child possibly do to arouse such unwavering hatred?
is that how God treats us?

btw a woman caught her daughter sleeping with her father and you are justifying her being sent parking. isnt she to be sent to a psychologist and the man sent to jail? This is why Africa fails to grow. Do you have any idea the torture , guilt and molestation this girl haa had to bear? and the scar she will live wit her whole life?

Similar case here too... My mum i tink fell stupidly in love wiv my dad.. dat she herself later regretted. Mine is about d gender issue. my dad wants a male child n i happen to be born has a female... my mum neva wanted me to.. but her my granma (maternal side) neva mk me regret i was born. she took me in wiv her, to d extent of her wanting to change my surname to hers then. but still my mum still believe i separated her from my dad. living wiv her later while growing up was like hell. But i got my mums family support while growing up alongside wiv my step dad. i believe Change dey say is a constant tin in life. i wud ave neva believe i cud give my mum orders now. cos i neva believe days like dis will eva cum again in my life after all dis past year suffering. any small mistake on my part my mum will mk me remember dat i separated her from my dad. Presently now she n my dad are now pepper and water. now my upbringing is now a mess in terms of having a stable relationship... I grew up to be self dependent n no flair for any guy cos i wont tolerate any guyz taunt or rubbish.

GISTS said...

I would have love to hear your mum's side of the story, before judging.Out of all this she sent you to school?Am sure she trained you as well.HUMMMMMMM.Well!!!!!!

LINDA I AM ANNOYED TO SAY THE LEAST; HOW CAN PEOPLE COMPARE TWO DIFF THINGS OR SITUATION. AFTER UNA GO SAY WAEC FAIL UNA. ONLY FEW PEOPLE LIKE BONARIO UNDERSTAND. PLEASE FOR HEAVEN SAKE THE RCCG GUY WAS/IS A DRUG ADDICT. DO YOU KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS. AS FOR THAT LADY I THINK THAT WOMAN IS NOT THE MOTHER OR SIMPLY PUT SHE IS A WITCH

I'm sorry you had to go through this. But, really, you grew up, got a job, got married and you still allowed her to ruin you up till then?!?!? This is the problem I have with you. You can't always be sympathetic to someone because you're related to them. If your mother is out to kill you and you know you can't kill her before she accomplishes her goal, then leave her be, and keep her out of your life! But when you keep taking this shit from her and you keep inviting her, what you're doing is you're enabling her and giving her even more reason to continue, cos she sees you as weak, a pushover.

My parents weren't this bad while I was growing up, but my dad could have been better at some things. He was very good at calling me names. I'm grown up now. I got to realise and accept my strengths and I built on that. He tried calling me names again once a couple of years back. I simply stared at him hard, and he understood - I wasn't that scared, little boy anymore. Suck it up. You're a mum now. You don't need her as much as you think you do.

hmmm, my father oooo.....if not from the LITTLE financial upkeep im getting from him, he is as good as dead to me!!!!

Linda the kind of beating i received from my mum ehn, it was terrible! Because of that i don't touch my children at all. NEVER!

I once threatened to kill ma dad cos he's always running away from his responsibilities when it comes to my academics. Here comes another semester all I hear again is I don't have,if I have I will give you.God! Living with friends who are always heavy on weed is not helping matters atall.

Ondo boy.

mariamah said...

Yes some parents can be horrible, but killing a parent is another thing entirely. No matter how provoked you are, there is no justification to kill.

Why don't shut up,f your brain can't comprehend.

Sanity? Africa is wayyy more violent than any other continent. By a large margin.

Diaspora said...

My mum had a similar experience while growing up. Our grandma never liked her father , probably she married him out of pity cos she was born with silverspoon while the hubby was not, and she left the marriage. She never liked my mum and the rest of her siblings simply bcos they r from him. But prefer the other children from her second marriage, imagine a mother wishing and telling her eldest daughter she can't make it unless the younger one did. But you know God is never biased, she wishes her marriage crumble simply bcos the younger ones have problems in their marriages, gave the sisters liberty to disrespect their eldest sister, to extent that we her grandchildren noticed all. I remember I used to like my grandma but was forced to asked my mum why she never liked her/ us. But in all my mum showed her love, she gives her whatever she asked for and even my Aunties and God in turn blesses her. I believed their is no justification for killing once's parent. My mum was very strict too, looking at were she is coming from, but she tried to balance it well. I wasn't spared at all my elder sis could not endure and she had to run to my grand mom who took advantage of the situation then but she is living to regret it now. I on the other hand did not run but I keep thanking and praying for her cos I came to realized she did all that for our own good. I am happily married with kids and lives in the state, my younger sis lives in UK with her family, my brothers all doing very ok. All thanks to my parent upbringing !Please don't let us make a case for doing the wrong thing. What is bad is bad no matter how we coined it. Linder post my comment, it might be late but is due to the time diff.

Sometimes we need to hear two sides of a story to pass judgment. I am sure u also have good memories of ur mother! Don’t make it sound like she was all bad, she must have done somethings rite for u to turn out dis way. The RCCG case is totally different from urs. No one can push a person to do anything dey didn't want to do. If the father was scolding him, was it not for his own good? I am a parent and spank my kids when necessary (yeah I sometimes get overboard doing it, but I always try to put myself in check). He is just a silly boy and a pathetic individual. There is no justification for what he did.

That's none of your Business, you idiot.

@Anon 8:42........Ur writeup brought tears to my eyes!!! Oh my goodness! Can parents be dis mean????? God hv mercy.
Plz dear U need 2 be strong, dat phase of ur life will be a thing of d past. Put urself 2geda & dont let ur dad's attitude affect ur future, rather it shld make u stronger. U wld grow up a strong woman. WISH I COULD GIVE A BIG HUG & A SHOULDER 2 LEAN ON.
Ahhhhhhhhhhh #Sad face mehnn

Parents plz stop with Maltreatment!! dat ain't discipline

Please don't punish your innocent kid. Break the cycle!!!

The Truth! said...

A wise comment frm a reasonable mind!

Can someone ask dis silly writer wot he or she did to d mother pls? Hw can ur mother jst single u out amongst ur siblins for no reason? U beta go for deliverance!

Shut up, you low IQ fool.

You're a fool then. Only a fool will love his abuser.

You don't know the poster, you idiot. No one cares about your tale.

Your stupidity is boundless... please learn to read, and when your kids are difficult and deviant, abuse them!

There's no justification for slapping a 21 year old! None! if you're tired, send him out of your house

WELL WRIiTTEN FRIEND, I RECOGNISE YOU BECAUSE I KNOW WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM. YOU ARE SIMPLY AN ATTENTION SEEKER, WHY DID YOU TOTALLY CHANGE YOUR IDENTITY IN THIS WRITE UP AND WHY WOULD YOU NOT FOR ONCE IN YOUR LIFE SAY THE TRUTH AS IT IS AND SHAME THE DEVIL. NOW, U SEEK TO JUSTIFY YOUR ACTION BY THE JUDGEMENT OF PEOPLE BASED ON YOUR PRESENTATION. THINK DEEPLY AGAIN DOES YOUR MUM REALLY HATE YOU? DOES SHE DESERVE ALL YOU HAVE DONE TO HER? REMEMBER DERES GOD OOOO.

I know this writer very well. "she" told me "she" will put this into writing and I advised "her" not to. "she" has expressed "her" side of story. There is more to this than you think. I will send more details and facts shortly. when you read the true account, I am sure you will see things differently. By the way, the writer is a man and not a woman as he has portrayed.

WELL WRIiTTEN FRIEND, I RECOGNISE YOU BECAUSE I KNOW WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM. YOU ARE SIMPLY AN ATTENTION SEEKER, WHY DID YOU TOTALLY CHANGE YOUR IDENTITY IN THIS WRITE UP AND WHY WOULD YOU NOT FOR ONCE IN YOUR LIFE SAY THE TRUTH AS IT IS AND SHAME THE DEVIL. NOW, U SEEK TO JUSTIFY YOUR ACTION BY THE JUDGEMENT OF PEOPLE BASED ON YOUR PRESENTATION. THINK DEEPLY AGAIN DOES YOUR MUM REALLY HATE YOU? DOES SHE DESERVE ALL YOU HAVE DONE TO HER? REMEMBER DERES GOD OOOO.

All well said! D best ÈŠ̝̊̅§ to learn frm dis stories nd mistakes of ours nd others (coz in some ways we mits v abused our parents d way we shudnt v. let's Say;grudge against dem, raise our voices nd even call dem names at their backz.)Its all same as some parents to do their children. Learn frm these nd pray to v a hrt dt will accommodate ur children nd they will also accommodate U̶̲̥̅̊. #advice

You must repent from being judgemental and stupid!!!

yuddy said...

Dear All

I have read with surprise some responses on this issue. Everyone of us was spanked when we were small, BUT ASK YOURSELF, WHY would a Parent spank her children. Apart from a few cases it is out of LOVE. they want us to be better.
My Father flogged me a Lot and I am happy he did They kept me away from joing Cult at Schoolbecause I know I did not have support at home.

While in Primary school, I was deccieved to Flog an innocent boy who did nothing to me by an older houseboy who lived with us. the small boy(my victim) was crying as I ran away. He was accompained by his friends to my house and when they complained, My father brought me out and flogged me in their presence.
From that Age of 7, I knew that if i commited a crime outside, I do not have support at home.
Disciplne is GOOD but must not be destructive. I will shudder at any parent who brings a child to this world and now turn to abuse him for negative purposes.

my pops man was very strict and i can tell you that it is one of the reasons why i am more of a recluse. i cant make friends like a normal person. i am going through a lot. its not even funny at all. i do not know how to hang out. i do not know hoe to deal with passes been made at me by guys. it is hell.

growing up my mum was sooooo mean to me, cos i was fat.. I grew up hating my self..i was abused, but i cudnt tell anyone.. At a point in my life i hated her so much, i was bitter towards her..am gradually getting over my childhood.. Parents really need to love their kids.. My prayer everyday is not to treat my daughter d way my mum treated me..

I think a reasonable parent think of how God deals with us, and put that into consideration in dealing with their children. Imagine God dealing with us the way some parents do their kids kids.(and we de disobey God every day) The other day, a mother who beats her three kids under 7 years with cutlass and knifes was all over the news. Common, i know say stress full naija, but God can help us be God parents

And you are guilty of judging... how can you just decide that the writer was a bad child... please keep quiet and keep your biased opinion to yourself...

nicely said. move out and feed urslelf for 1 year if he was so pained.at 21 he was already an adult. bottom line he should have ran away not go for a knife.

shaibu Ahmed said...

No clear cut in this issue, as we have bad parents so we have bad child. The case of RCCG student can be seen as playing out pre determined action. This should not discourage parent from taking appropriate measure against a child in error, excesses only need to be avoided.

dts hw my dad negleted us, i hv to sponsor my self through school, whenever u asked him for money, he lay curses on us. he beats me mercilessly also matching me on my stomach. my mom wasnt well to do. she only gives me garri, oil and rice to school. no scu fees, no pocket money, no accomodation, nothing. she only gives me 2000 naira or less as at 2006 for my upkeep and fees and accomodation. but i hv to go to school. i was intelligent, cant waste it. my frend introduce me to some guys and i hv to travel often to meet them in other to survive. am a graaduate in accounting now and came out with first class upper and will be a chattered accountant very soon. i have a good job but unfortunately i tasted HIV positive wen in scu all coz my dad cudnt take care of me dt i hv to survive alone. i hate him till date though i send him money regularly but will forever love my mom

Wow.....i don't know u, but that was heart felt.

Your take on the subject and the eventual advice is even better than the write up. Thank you

i think its a sad event, parents need to show lone to their children, all we neeed is their support

My mother was a disciplinarian, the kind other parents threatened or did indeed send their kids to her to shape up, but she has the kindest heart ever, she would take in our neighbours kids,organise lessons for children whose parents couldn't afford it.
i am so glad God blessed me with such wonderful parents.

ehhhnnnnn...see what u guys are saying....parents actedthe way they did because thats what they know best and thats how they got trained... but this guy killed and felt no remorse and den went on to butcher the father and put him in a bag and went home to lie down in the sitting room....dat is devilish....what nonsense maltreatn did they maltreat him...did the father rape him,
he was expelled twice!! from school for drugs...why wont the father flog him...and den the father could even pray with him...didnt disown him and u say the father was wrong for beating him...dat is bullshit!!! the guy must pay...for making his mother a widow and his sister fatherless...did he think of them???did the father use knive on him...he stabbed the guy multiple times...im a RUN student btw i know the full story...nonsense!!!

Temi said...

HOW CAN SOME ONE SAY THIS THROWS LIGHT ON CHILD ABUSE AND WHAT COULD HAPPEN AS A RESULT OF IT. PEOPLE ARE INSINUATING THAT THIS 21 YEAR OLD, LIVING OF HIS PARENTS, GOING TO EXPENSIVE SCHOOL PAID FOR BY HIS PARENT, DRUG ADDICT IS A VICTIM OF CHILD ADUSE LEADING HIM TO MURDER. IT WILLL TAKE A SPIRITUAL VISITATION TO ENLIGHTEN SOME PEOPLE. THE GUY IN QUESTION IS 21 YEARS OLD. BY NO MEANS A CHILD. HE HAD ADULT LEGS TO CARRY HIM OUT OF HIS FATHERS HOUSE, TO CATER FOR HIMSELF. THE IDIOT CHOOSE TO LIVE OF HIS OLD TIRED PARENTS. EATING THEIR FOOD, RUNNING UP EXPENSES. WHAT KIND OF ABUSIVE PARENTS KEEP LOOKING AFTER THEIR ADULT DRUG ADDICT CHILDREN , IT IS PARENTS THAT CARE. I FEEL SORRY FOR ALL YOU MISINFORMED , SUPPORTERS OF THIS EVIL ACT. IT JUST GOES TO SHOW HOW DANGEROUS ILLITRACY IS. HOW DOES A VICTIM OF CHILD ABUSE BECOME A 21 YEAR OLD DRUG ADDICT MOTHERFUCKER FATHER KILLER? AS FOR THOSE PEOPLE SAYING 21 YRS OLD IS TO OLD FOR DISCIPLINE, WHAT THE FUCK KIND OF TALK IS THAT. THIS MAN WAS NOT TO OLD TO STAY IN HIS PARENTS HOUSE BUT TO OLD TO BE DISCIPLINE ABI?. EVER HEARD OF MY HOUSE MY RULES. PLEASE YOU GUYS DO NOT HAVE A CASE. CHILD ABUSE IS DIFFERENT FROM THIS COLD BLOOD MURDER. IF YOU HAVE IT IN YOUR HEART TO KILL YOUR FOLKS GO AHEAD AND DO IT BUT BE READY TO BEAR THE CONSEQUENCES. AS FOR THE WRITER THE FACT THAT YOU SAY YOU CAN RELATE TO THIS MURDERER JUST ACTUALLY THROWS LIGHT ON THE SORT OF PERSON YOU ARE, I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR YOUR MOTHERS SIDE OF THE STORY. THE ACTIONS OF THIS MUDERER HAS GOT ALL TYPES OF LOONEYS COMING OUT OF THEIR CLOSETS, TO WORSHIP AT THE FEET OF THEIR HERO THE FATHER KILLER. TUFIAKA . I DONT RELATE TO IT AND ADVISE PEOPLE OF THE REPERCUSSIONS OF BEARING FALSE WITNESS.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 249 of 249   Newer› Newest»