Photos: Is this SUV really made in Nigeria? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 July 2014

Photos: Is this SUV really made in Nigeria?

Made in Nigeria or assembled in Nigeria? Segun Awolowo, the Executive Director/Chief Executive of the Nigerian Export Promotion Council (NEPC), said this is a made in Nigeria SUV, manufactured by Innoson. He shared the photos on his instagram page. For real? See more pics after the cut...

173 comments:

Really? If true, its sure a good development.

CoolDiva speaks!

YES CONFIRM, IF IT'S INNOSON,THEN ITS A PRODUCT OF NIGERIA....

Wow! Awesome! Assembled in Nigeria I suppose

The only thins made in Nigeria on that SUV is the License plate

This is wow! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

please how much is the vehicle and whats the price range for innoson cars

Depends on your definition of the word made. Do we manufacture glass for the windshield? All the electrical components in the car? This is the whole CKD (completely knocked down) process in which most parts are imported and assembled here

If the brains behind the technology of the car are Nigerians, it's Nigerian made. Which is it, Linda?

If really Nigeria made, we re progressing. This is wow! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Linda follow me ask o. I have asked that question too, is it made in Nigeria or assembled in Nigeria? I see that Government has been using their buses as staff bus. That is a great development if it is made in Nigeria. Double thumbs up Innoson!

At least we cn boost of sometn classy. This is wow! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Yes it is ...... have you not heard of Innoson Motor Vehicles? they also make buses..... www.innosongroup.com....

If its really made in Nigeria. I bet you, it won't even start... LOL.

Linda nwa ikeji ijuo m onye kam ga aju?

Linda, jst as u said it, breezy nd kae r back, he jst posted a pic of her on his IG page..lool funi couple

dats great, naija let's support our own

OMOBA said...

woow....if it's true, then it's a giant step into our development dream!! now we can have something tangible to boast of and not all these foolish actions and pranks of our leaders!!......#sniffs TABA

solomakinovich said...

Let them continue to fool themselves. Very soon, the SUV will be falling apart on our nasty roads.
The so-called made in Nigeria Pathfinder, let them show us a documentary of the assembly plant.

Is very posible, but I don't believe anything from this current goverment anymore. They are full of fake stories. YEYE people! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Pizzlesomebody said...

Hey Papa, whats with the Ugly dent right on the Bonnet? I really don't think this will work......we need more years and more Nigerian Auto makers working around the globe to come back home and fix this.. All the cars in South Africa and made in SouthAfrica.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

No comment !!!

Lindiway are u a learner?
Leave what is written on the car and enter car joor.
Whether Made in Nigeria, Assembled in Nigeria or coupled in Nigeria, the main thing is that it has a Nigeria Innoson as the manufacturer and not one American or Japanese.

It is very real, saw it when I was home In December. The SUV was given to all the recognized Igwe's in Anambra state by the Peter Obi administration; and it is made in Nigeria, by Nigerian for Nigerians. The owner has said that he does import some of the components as well as manufacture some in Nigeria.

Congratulation to the manufacturers, thanks to the buyers, but please drive it like a newly married to ensure the body and breaks are good. They may be worst than China made cars.

Linda,who I go ask?

Na lie,we cant even build engine...the car is made in china and assemble in Nigeria

Wondering the same thing. ...Lady Daisy

Beyond Gossip said...

I doubt it was made in Nigeria. But it's really nice

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda d car is cute but does the makers of this auto mobile certify that it is 100 percent safe made from the finest materials assembled by the finest of hands can we trust this car to perform optimally well our only fear be say as we dey cable dis car for third main land bridge the tire go fly go one side,the engine go bring out smoke the entire car part go disintegrate on motion,God abeg oo but still if we are serious we can do this all we need to do is invite top auto mobile engineers form the world over bring them to Nigeria and let our skilled hands under study them work with them and in the end we can have good made in Nigeria cars. Great nation great people bad leaders

Sure he meant thiis is an 'assembled in nigeria' vehicle cos all d parts were imported and not made in d country. Who's fooling who? Smh

bbn 7439955a said...

Let's ride. Really need to get one. Linda get the prizes and ping me 7439955a. ENGR Emy

yes it is made in nigeria,i see it in abuja...

It is a big lie. These Ibo ppl are liars.

not made in nigeria, its only assembled in nigeria....

kunle said...

The engines and inner technology are most important thing. We need more info on them. Keep it up Innoson.

is this truly for real?

Linda what did you study in university again? Do you even understand the manufacturing process of a car.

Well, it is an assembly process and most car manufacturers do not make the parts, they have part suppliers, all they do is assembly those parts together.

PS: Google is your friend. Be positive.

Industrial engineer in diaspora

Of course,its been there for more than a year

Catherine Taylor said...

Loooool...speechless

Made in naija, e b like say na Aba abi onitsha made ds one? Na dem b small china 4 naija*#jpmavick

So let the federal government lead the way by insisting that all vehicles bought by the federal government should be made / assembled in Nigeria...no more imported Toyota /Lexus / bullet proof BMW for government departments / ministers etc...

Linda my dear may God deliver me from ur blog oooo.. i dnt du anything in d office rather than goin tru ur blog all d time.. Abi na juju?? c as work hip 4 my table #Dear lawd... aniwaz bac 2 ur question how am i suppose 2 no dat d Suv is made from Nigeria?? i dey manufacture car...#Doro Classy#

Its assembled in Nigeria. He probably doesn't know the difference.

Actually 2nd "assembled" in Nigeria car. The first is PAN in Kano which assembles peugoet 504, 505, etc. They have "assembling" plants in Nigeria and not "manufacturing" plants. Kudos tho

It looks good and *shiny... Whether it's made in or assembled in Nigeria. My question is, if I buy it, can it take me home from the dealer's place without breaking down?...

*My R1.50c comment*

Occupy nijja said...

Assembled or not it will provide jobs for Nigerians . Hopefully, In time we will acquire the expertise that was how China did it. It is called Technology Transfer . If u must know No country in the world makes all the components of a car 100% they are sourced from all over. Government should insist that countries set up factories here in order to reduce excessive importation.

SVC said...

I am not buyıng eeehh...

very beautiful. God pls I want one this year. made in Nigeria car am proud.

Not made in Nigeria,buh made in china and assembled in Nigeria,they should stop lying,we never make keke na car.

made in Nigeria ohhh or assembled in Nigeria all join.. we are progressing.. thanks to GEJ administration..
giftadene

cars manufactured by IVM are not strong at all!!!! i know cuz my Dad was given one as an official vehicle

famonzo said...

Manufactured abroad, coupled in Nigeria.

I hope its affordable and durable. kaygun2002@yahoo.com

I JUST DONT KNOW WHAT YOU MEANT BY REALLY MADE IN NIGERIA, ITS JUST THAT BAD THAT YOU BELIEVE THAT WE CANT MAKE OUR OWN CARS, DURING THE CIVIL WAR IGBOS WERE MAKING THEIR TANKLS AND WHAT OF PAEACE TIME. IN MODERN DAY MANUFACTURING CAR PARTS ARE OUTSOURCED EVEN PLANE. ROVER OUTSOURCE ENGINE MAKING TO HONDA,BENZ OUTSOURCE TO AMG, RENAULT OUTSOURCE TO NISSAN AND PEUGEOT BUT THE FINAL PRODUCT AND WHO OWNS IT IS THE NAME ON THE BADGE. AS AN NNEWI MAN AND IGBO MAN I AM PROUD OF INNOSON, THE FIRST BLACK MAN TO OWN A CAR COMPANY. IF THE CAR ISN'T HIS, THEN WHY PUT IVM LOGO....THE CAR IS MADE IN NIGERIA, CONCEPTUALIZED IN NNEWI

ITS JUST A NIGERIAN CAR OWNED BY A NIGERIAN SO STOP HATING

dhobiz said...

Will reply you after our excursion next week.

comfort said...

Hmmm...nigeria @ it again

az said...

I HAVE SEEN IT MYSELF AND IT LOOKS BEAUTIFUL AND STRONG. WHETHER MADE IN NIGERIA OR ASSEMBLE IN NIGERIA, IT IS GEARED TO A GOOD COURSE.

I BET ITS ASSEMBLED IN NIGERIA
Moye B

Asaa said...

yes they are! they look quite good and cute. We now use them as official vehicles in my office in Abuja.

Wow...nice one

Jade said...

Warranty??

Car parts are made by different companies and assembled at an assembly plant. If the parts are assembled in Japan, the car is made in Japan; if it is assembled in Nigeria, it is made in Nigeria.

DOBY DOBY said...

Lindami any1 jare doesn't matter.. at least hes makin a positive impact

Waoooo this is good. FG should encourage, by way of large procurement for her ministries and parastatals. private and corporate organisation should also buy instead.

This is great.

Waoooo this is good. FG should encourage, by way of large procurement for her ministries and parastatals. private and corporate organisation should also buy instead.

this is great.

Are you meant to encourage or tear down?

HMmmMmmm nigeria ke? Ok oooo

Are u meant to encourage or tear down? After u go dey claim PROUDLY 9JA

Assembled in Nigeria he meant to write and Nope thank u! I won't drive this death trap. I heard it doesn't hv air-bags in them including the assembled in Nigeria Nissans

Are u meant to encourage or tear down? After u go dey claim PROUDLY 9JA

nnewi people don dey try this time,very nice...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Yea innocent do make cars in nigeria his company in nnewi is one of its kind

Mischievous said...

Assembled my dear.

I would advice any driver to have a life insurance in place. Be kiaful o

Jenny says

SiLiFaH said...

Nde Nnewi Kwenu! Linda you must marry from nnewi o...our men love hardworking ladies like you... Innoson of Life! Nde Nnewi Knewu! Kwezuenu!

mystic Sun said...

The only economic sense here is dat it was assembled here in nigeria by an indigenious company, INNOSON. Of course it was assebled, just like we Peugeot assembly plant in Kaduna state.
The mere fact that a car is being manufactured in Nigeria, translate to the reduction of unemployment by at least 30%. Check out the fabrication of the body, the process invlove, the steel also involve...all of these requires huge manpower resources. Thereafter, the mechanical engines and the electrical component..this also involve a separate industry to produce, which will also require manpower resources. So. Plz dis deceit should stop. GM motors in USA has over 200, 000 staff work force, Toyota in Japan, has close to that.. INNOSON, watz d workforce strenght? Therein lies the difference between manufacturing n assemblling plant

Somebody lie. By Ice Prince. Jopeyemi@gmail.com

They re made in Nigeria, Innoson also make coaster buses for over five years now. The production of the SUVs started early last year. Nobody took note of them until other foreign brands started talking about producing in Nigeria.

Nwa Aba said...

Linda dat car is not new to me naa, Peter obi gave it to Most traditional rulers in Anambra in his tenure, one thing i don like abt it, is a manual drive

Toluwalope said...

Really hope we'll one day stop deceiving ourselves in this country.....

Congrats.

PRETTY GIRL said...

It may be true, but I find it really hard to believe though

Are u shidin me!?

#Smoothsam#

â„“oâ„“z, If I hear Say Na 9ja Made. It Was Assembled Ni Joor. (Linda's Man)

Na lie ooooo

Linda why u dey fall our hand like this abeg abi we no reach neh....

Yes made in nigeria.haters go to hell

Yes, it is. I work in Nnewi and I can tell u that it is being produced in Nigeria.

It is made fully in Nigeria. We should be proud of our own, If u are in doubt, visit the industry in Nnewi. Proudly Naija!

@nicki bliz said...

Lwkmd!!! Errrrm..... well joke of the year 2014 #runs away#

dilinger said...

Very impressed...I guess us fellow Nigerians will start insulting it. I must commend the progress. Well done

Nony said...

A stupid question from a stupid blogger. Its well with my Country.

ada said...

nice one.

this suv is very popular in the east.

Ms. Ikeji, are you looking down on what we can do in Nja? No try us o. Make the materials available and you'll be surprised at what Nigerians are capable of doing.

Dt is definitely NOT MADE in Nigeria!

Assembled not made in Nigeria....

XDON D DON

Death trap..do not drive.

dilinger said...

Bad belle

dilinger said...

You heard?? Have u seen? Ewu

So if a product is assembled in Nigeria is it not made in Nigeria Pls? A product that is produced in a country is made in that country even if it's part were not made in Nigeria moreover it's an indigenous car so it's made in Nigeria. You don fall hand ooo. Promote our own products not white man's own. Nigerians can do better if the right logistics are made available. Am proud of this and it's good news to the ear. Still www.firstclassexclusive.blogspot.com

Tosh. said...

Linda I think you should make more research about your roots and their sense of creativity before you start asking such questions on your blogs. Nnewi is not also far and you don't need a visa to get there. So go there and confirm with your camera phone instead of confusing your followers here on ya blogs. That car is made in Nigeria and this is not the first car IVM has produce.

Lmaooo

Segun Awolowo what does you and your family drive? You go see say na Toyota

I don't know.

The designation of the man is not right, Executive Director and Chief Executive cannot be together. Its usually MD/CEO or ED. Correct me if I am wrong, sorry I digressed. The cars are probably made in Nigeria.Since Innoson has a manufacturing plant in nnewi, its different from an assembling part.

There over a 100 IVM cars parked at the secretariat in Abuja, they have pickup trucks too! I think they are assembled sha not built!

its more like assembled in Nigeria my sister, wey d light to produce parts of an automobile in naija?

Abu Imam said...

If it's assembled in Nigeria, it's still called made in Nigeria. Very few countries make every single component of their products, cars inclusive. So we should stop being pessimistic by saying if it's only assembled in Nigeria it's not made in Nigeria.

I know its for real, this Inosson guy is very optimistic and is pushing against the odds, especially the pessimum of most Nigerians. Sorry to say, but the bone of contention is that its not "my tribes man" that made it. Lets be more Nigerian, tribal people limit the joys and range of their ablilities. The reason why the Ibos' are hated is because they invest in other peoples areas, that's why it looks like they're progressing and have been tagged the "lovers of money". The Asians and Europeans that we hail for "manuacturing" are actually pros' in assembling/re-packaging our minerals, herbs, and other resources. Now, when they bring them back to us as finished products we shower encomiums on them and rain curses on ourselves. Lets remove this bone called tribalism and we'll all enjoy the meal. @chambrouin locuta...

Mumu. There is a already a documentary of their assembly plant online. Go do your home work and stop talking thrash. Myopic human.

Very nice... we are towing the right part. Can we work on that logo tho

if i didn't not see these SUV in presidential convoy i will not drive it coz i no trust nijaa..any thing can happen here we knows that ...

Yes o! They are proudly made in nnewi Nigeria. Legit private money. Tribalistic govt won't subsidise because it's made in igboland but they have flushed billions down the toilet on the car manufacturing plant in the north.

NA man U̶̲̥̅̊ be.

correct...

C.E.O

frank Ugo-Dike said...

in the true sense of the word,a car can only be a car when it makes movement.so no car can entirely be made in a particular country,windscreen maybe made in france,tyer&wheels in switzrland etc.so far the car wasn't brought in
whole.then it qualifies as made in Nigeria

I don't think so dear,take a closer look again,the car looks like it was made with cement,in fact it's body is too thick like the car is suffering from over - weight ,obsessed that is A BIG FAT CAR !
I WISHED THEY SHOWED THE interior.so is ABA MADE CAR !

Pls stop misleading Nigerians. Assembled in Nigeria, not made in Nigeria. Do you guys think we are all fools? Garbage!!!

HOPE ITS NOT LIKE ONE OF THOSE ABA MADE SHOES. FINE AT A GLANCE BUT MAKE U WEAR AM TREK U GO C UR BARE FEET DEY TOUCH GROUND

Dat will be cool if truly it is assembled in naija. #MadeInNig is equal to #AssembledInNig don't get it twisted.

#G.Babe

Exactly

Jealousy will kill you
Igbos are money conscious like Jews and hard working like the Chinese. Don't underestimate, bitch.

Linda are you a learner? No auto manufacturer makes all their own parts. Your nissan is not 100% japanese, some of the parts are made in china/taiwan/USA.
Some Mercedes parts are made in asia and some in europe.

Many parts of IVM are made in Nnewi, get used to it

Linda, this is a truly made in Nigeria car. Innoson manufactures 70% of the components in Nigeria. It's just the engine and few other parts that they import. They have a factory in Emene Enugu where they produce some of the parts. The rest they source from some Nigerian companies, like the batteries sourced from the Ibeto Group.

Mind you, there's no single car company in the world manufactures it's vehicle/s 100%. Be it General Motors, Toyota, Honda, Mrecedes etc. They normally have independent companies that manufacture many of the components based on their specifications. They get the components from them and couple them together into a complete vehicle.

So, that vehicle is fully manufactured by Innoson in Nigeria. They are not doing anything different from what other car manufacturers are doing.

Chyke
City: Unknown.

impressive.. patoswife@gmail.com

I purposely took time too examine this car. For crying out loud this car is assembled in Nigeria and not produced here. People will say its a good start but for those of us that don't compromise standard, this car is garbage. Make e no be like say nah me spoil their market, you guys can purchase these cars but pls do not complain after 6months.

Una no construct our bad roads , na vehicle una dey build . Abeg , shey na road wey pot hole yapa for there we want drive dis one ? Naija no dey try at all. And besides this is not made in nigeria, na Assembled in Nigeria . IF I HEAR !!

100000 likes. Infact linda I'm embarassed.

peks said...

I wil neva buy a made in nigeria car.

The Innoson motor factory is at
Nnewi not Enugu, though, he also owns a plastic factory (Innoson technicals) at Emne Enugu.

Stupid comment. Smh

About 5.5m

Stupid...

Google it Dundi! Mtcheeeeew! !

It's nit s govt owned company. It's private.

Stupid!

Exactly! Tell them.

Stupid!

Keep jealousing Igbo people. It'd sure make you live longer. OKPO!

Yess l have seen the car.it is good

Wateva. Mtcheeeeew

The Govt have and are still really patronising IVM!

Nobody needs you to! Stupid!

AMEN!

Stupid stupid! Mtcheeeeew

Stupid!

No be small bad belle oo!!

True! Ndi Nnewi Kwenu! Nna, were aka! Iji ya.

As in!

Exactly!

Ask them ooo

Ask him oo! Big EwU! OKPO!

Writer's home blog said...

Fully made in Nnewi, Anambra state, Nigeria.

And Nigeria will never progress. FOOL!
You are the same person to cry at night and ask yourself why Nigeria is not getting any better, because of mentalities like yours!

am disapointd by d commnts i see here. It shows dat most of u guyz(even u linda) are nt up2date bcoz IVM cars have bin arnd since 2010... For mst of u sayin u wil neva buy made in nigeria cars, 2maro u wil b cursin d govt 4 unemploymnt rate when u ursf is an economic sabotuer...nonsene

@Anonymous 5:03. It's quite a pity you are making fun of this great accomplishment. Rather, let us applaud this.

I am so proud of Innoson. Nigeria is truly going forward. #PROUDLY#NAIJA#FOR#LIFE

incredible

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

I Am just so dissapointed with the mentality of the Average nigerian youth. When the koreans came with their kia and hyundai yearsllll ago, We all Know How horrible These cars were but buy They the koreans did; Yes support They did their own and see How Well They v progressed, competing favorably with car giants worldwide. Even if They are ckd's like some claim They are, y Cant We just support them morover They provide Jobs for the workforce, for These same youths criticizing their SUV.. Well done innoson, u v done Nigeria proud. We Re grateful for this revolution spearheaded by your brand. WELLDONE. Like serzly most nigerian youths Re Still suffering from neo colonization. Anything oyinbo is fantastic but if its nigerian its a heap of mental bones. What a generation...

Enkay gold said...

Is made in Nigeria not assembled. the CEO Innoson is 4rm my place Nnewi north lga. In Anambrs state. He has produced many strong cars dat I hav seen and even rode in it. Dos saying it was assembled in 9ja is not

Does innoson sound like nigerian govt.

Give urself some quality brain

I have bin to the company its made in Nigeria o

check the company out on youtube. its actually made in Nigeria

check it out on youtube. its made in Nigeria

gud gud step

It's truly a Nigerian made car! As black as dat man standing beside it... No offence bro.

Talking from both sides of your mouth. you should be ashamed.

I wonder if these cars are made only for the rich as i have seen the SUVs only and have never seen any Innoson saloon car.

D. Anthony said...

It's one of the proud moment for Nigeria and its people over there. Making their step ahead in the stage of development!! I hope it's just a start to their mega success . All the very best Nigeria and all you Nigerians :)