Amazing!! Check out photos from Barbie & Ken's Nigerian wedding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 July 2014

Amazing!! Check out photos from Barbie & Ken's Nigerian wedding

You've probably never seen anything like this before. Well, I haven't! Its so lovely. These are the traditional wedding photos of Nigerian Barbie & Ken shot by famed Nigerian wedding photographer Obi Nwokedi. He actually did this a while back but I just stumbled on the photos. It's amazing! It's a real wedding album, from the bride dressing up till when then party stops. See the photos after the cut...

barbie wedding-001.jpg
barbie wedding-002.jpg 
 barbie ken nigerian weddingbarbie ken nigerian wedding
barbie wedding-003.jpg
barbie wedding-007.jpgbarbie wedding-008.jpg
barbie ken nigerian wedding
 barbie wedding-011.jpgbarbie wedding-010.jpg
barbie wedding-015.jpg

And here comes the groom, Ken...
The groom and his groomsmen donned agbadas, traditional Yoruba robes.
According to tradition, the groom and his male family members must lie down in front of the bride's parents as a sign of respect.
During the reception, the wedding proposal is read aloud.
barbie wedding-038.jpg
The traditional changing of the groom's hat, which  is believed to symbolize the crowning the head of the house.

barbie wedding-044.jpg
barbie wedding-045.jpg
barbie wedding-048.jpg
barbie wedding-049.jpg
barbie wedding-050.jpgbarbie wedding-051.jpg
barbie wedding-052.jpg
barbie wedding-053.jpg
barbie wedding-055.jpg
barbie wedding-056.jpg
barbie wedding-057.jpg
barbie wedding-058.jpg
barbie wedding-060.jpgbarbie wedding-069.jpg

183 comments:

wow. seen it before. very crearive

Nice #bright bravo#

Saw this a few years ago. Fascinating though.

This is too beautiful and really creative!
Welldone to the awesome photographer.
Good Job

This is incredible. Talent!

Obi nwokedi!!!!
You are GREAT oh!
Abeg what's ur contact details?????
You must shoot my real wedding.

Able mom said...

Lovely concept,but the last picture eeh,I reserve my comment for LIBERs

That must be DJ Cuppy!

Wow! This is beautiful.

jenny love said...

Pls what are the pictures for?I dnt understand.

Wow! So beautiful and looking very real!!! Their attires re superb! I love them. Keep it up

are they dolls, linda na baby dem be

gabz said...

Awesome... clearly depicted.people have talent o. meanwhile I see Dj cuppy in d pic;).

I havent seen a thing like dis b4 too... I think the concept is lovely sha

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Nice piece of work. !!

Buriful..I loff dis

Tolu G. said...

I can even hear the music playing... Nice one!! very creative...

Linda abeg,which planet b this?cus dis is not earth!

9ice concept. I like it but funny. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

CHERRY said...

Wow this is beautiful,

Awesome. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Old News seen it since 2012

Wow colourful and VERY VERY Creative.Me luv the concept.

woooooow!!!

Samson O said...

This is amazing and maximum level of creativities. Well done

HAHHAHAHA! Genuis!! I love it..

wow he is really talented... I'm astounded

Awwwwn.. Rofl. Creative and Cute. I love it

the only love doctor said...

Wow! Wow!! Wow!!! is all i can write! Am short of words to describe this incredible artwork.

This is super duper.And I so love barbie cartoon series. Bt dis version of it is Amazing.So creative, artistic and culture portraying.

Is nt real. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Bull Shit !!!!

Yoruba man will shoot the photos and portray Yoruba culture.

Obi Nwokedi will shoot the photos and portray Yoruba culture.

Bia nwokem, what is not attractive about ndi Igbo culture????

You waiting for white man to showcase Igbo culture?????

Obi, you let me down again. You really Nwa Afo????????

King Dave Anya said...

extraordinary, nice concept and beautiful pix

Aphrodite said...

OMG! This is soooooooooo beautiful! Wow! Wow! Wow!!! I'm stunned! Lol, how did he do dt? Wow...that last picture, so funny, drunkards, lol, and Barbie putting Ken's cap on his head! Absolutely beautiful, nice concept!

Seun A. said...

Oro Linda o fe yemi mo o! Na lack of news make u post dis one abi na wetin? So wat is d moral to learn here now abeg?

MAKE SENSE SO MUCH.

O di kwa serious

Lol... very though

"Grining" it cute

Juliebabe said...

lady KK said...

So creative and lovely!!!!

So amazing how can I get some of those

Wow! So buriful

WOW!This is BEAUTIFUL...

wow ,one of the most creative acts I've seen so far, simply amazing.

Wow!! Though funny but its really nice and beautiful*kudos*

Wow!!!

Lovely and creative..........But am still wondering how this is real. or did he cartooned the faces of a real wedding?

Wow concept, very hilarious. but wait o, did the groom and bride get drunk at d last pic, ds one wey dem tire like dead body so.
kudos to d author of ds concept.

It's quite creative but, childish.

Good morning to you all; may God's mercy and favor locate and speak for us all, today.

*My R1.50c comment*

Linda ikeji post my message oo

Loool, this is just epic, love the concept.

awwwww.... super super cute... i love....

Amazing concept! Thums up

I've never seen any work of arts this beautiful.

*thumbs up

Bonny said...

Stunning.

Uche 140 said...

ooooh my my my!!!! Wonderful. Nice work; creativity at its peak. **I love the DJ tho; DJ sparklesss!!! Hahahahahahahahaha.

Uche 140 said...

ooooh my my my!!!! Wonderful. Nice work; creativity at its peak. **I love the DJ tho; DJ sparklesss!!! Hahahahahahahahaha.

this is too amazing!! i totally love!! 5 stars!! exceptionally creative!!

This is breath-taking..... Creativity at its best!

FIXED said...

This is great work, the depiction of African culture, it should go round the world. Genius!!!

This is creativity at its peak. I love it. So awesome. Love the DJ and the last pix of the drunk groom and friends.

CoolDiva speaks!

This is creativity at its peak. I love it. So awesome. Love the DJ and the last pix of the drunk groom and friends.

CoolDiva speaks!

lol....no be small barbie oo....
it's nice though.

Beautiful! Impressive! Exquisite!!!

Barbie has finally grown up and shes married.... hehehe all those gurls calling demselves porsh Barbie, barbie dis and Barbie dat... yall better join ur mentor oh

Is moms.blogspot.com said...

Never Seen anything like this....good work to the photographer!!!

Wow wow wow

Amazing!!!!

Amazing photos.... he paid attention to every detail

Kells said...

Aswear..lwkmd. Simply Amazing!

this is a job well done! nice one.

Absolutely creative, very lovely.

Not sure if i am gonna cry or smile.....thumps up!

Laugh. This is nice.

Swity said...

Absolute amazing!

Lovely concept... That's very creative.

My oh my!!!!
I love the part she was holding her gadget..
#bigGrin..

Chichi said...

Awwww.....this is so cuttteeeeee......

lgho said...

Ooooooooh my God!!!!!!! so lovely.

so lovely...nice work..

why is he not using Nigerian money(Naira).has dollars become our official currency.....

luvly............creativity

EJURA OCHOLI said...

Lovely, creativity at its best.

http://juraocholi.blogspot.com

Amazing!

Wow! See Creativity.... Fantastic!!!!

Amazing!

omalicha said so! said...

this is what i call TALENT! very lovely and d dj lol!

nememummy@yahoo.com

Amiable said...

Simply breathtaking.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Dz is beautiful

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Woooooooooooow wat a creative job well done

omotola said...

wooow! I love this! i'v always been a fan of Barbie since I was a kid!!! HML dearie. lol

omotola said...

wooow! I love this! i'v always been a fan of Barbie since I was a kid!!! HML dearie. lol

Ada said...

This is so sweet. I love...

Am so like WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. Beautiful...

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

#Thisissowoderful!!

Dj cuppy!!

Luuuuuuuuuuv it!!

who the hell do something like this? this is soooooooo awesome OMG please i would like to contact the person that did this awesome creativity . Linda will u be so kind as to give me the number to this guy that did it.
p

tumininu said...

This is lovely........

It is Wonderful!!!!,creativity at it peak:-_

Vick_chizy

ND said...

WOW; very very lovely kudos.i need to b more creative.

this is lovely...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

joy George said...

OMG!!! This is sOooo lovely N creative....me likey!

GOZZY said...

Hahahaha loveeeeely

Waoooo this is one of its kind. and he must really have patience putting all dis together.i love

I'm in awe...

Waoh! soooo lovely! Nice work. Me likey....Creative

lisa lady said...

This is sooo beautiful. Love evrything.

I say this... said...

O wow. Awesome

Haha is that dj cuppy??

Beautiful so lovely but d f**k up was d dollar lol.he should Ave used our note na

Edreas said...

Highly creative. Kudos

Bolateetoh said...

Luvly!me luv every bit of it.

Years ago,Obi took my wedding pictures at the Intercontinental, Park Lane. He really is an amazing photographer. Glad he is getting the recognition he truly deserves.

ifeomacology said...

oh my God! this is so perfect!!!!

I love barbie dolls n dis is beautiful esp d dj

Win_v

OmG!! Simply amazing. Makes me wanna go and get out ALL my dolls.. I miss my childhood. Being an adult sucks. Really really cool.

Beautifully created

ify said...

oh my! so nice x. yea i agree with uche, dj sparkless :D

@exclusivemay said...

WOW! This is soo beautiful and amazing.

Funny pics

Please visit my blog

www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com Click to Visit

Wooow diz is Amazing..Biko

THIS IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING... WOW.. KUDOS.. KUDOS.. KUDOS.. I COULD LOOK AT THEM PICTURES AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN... PHENOMENAL

Wow!!! Creativity @ is peak.
Olleycynthia@yahoo.com

What a creativity in action, Niger, we are talented though. UJ

creative bt Linda u ehn!

Lachas di egwu....

What a creativity in action, Niger, we are talented though. What about the real pix. UJ

I luv this.. .wonderful

ok.. patoswife@gmail.com

Shovey said...

Waooooh! am thrilled, cant stop smiling. I love every bit of the creative piece, exact pictorial representation of a typical Yoruba traditional wedding. Kudos to Obi Nwokedi. #3 gbosa for him.

wow..so so creative

Very creative. Will look at it over, and over again. Beautiful concept.
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

Beautiful and vry creative...

C.E.O

GBAM!!

This is incredible.nice collection.this is what i call TALENT! So awesome

visit- http://recruitmentarea.com

still cool but seen them a while ago

sonatey said...

This is amazing.... love love it

Lachi Money !! Dalu

LEEZ said...

Awww niceee!!

All I see is creativity!!!

Hahahahaha, cute. Very cute.

@benita: you're a moron Obi resides in the UK. Why can't you stop moaning for a sec.

We spray dollars at weddings so he got it right!

Wow...dis is so luvly..very creative

I will send it to Linda. Ask her for it.

WAOH!!! Dis is mind blowing! Thumbs up!!!

Barbie don marry I still dey single, Daris God o!

Hmmmm! The last pix, abeg na food poisoning! Or over feeding!!!! Looks...... reserved my comment

Woow amazing.kudos to dat dude

Wooow diz is Amazing..Biko

And missy start approving my comments Biko

Ikeji start approving my comments

And missy start approving my comments Biko

jumoke said...

amazing! unbelievable! incredible! full of talent! am highly fascinated and keep it up. God bless you.

DOBY DOBY said...

Kudos to him. . Hes talented.. very creative

Tochi Emilie said...

Dis is so cute.......dey shld animate it nd make it a cartoon

bisi said...

Saw this an i like wonderful this work is d boom,i love it at least naija dey try

Love it. A little creepy but still awesome

That so creativeShows Our Tradition YORUBA WE ARE GREAT ..........

She said...

This is a first for me. Very creative indeed.

these photos were posted way back 2010/2011 and ure just seeing them.lame

DJ Cuppy I sight u...why ken no dey smile na?

Bosslady said...

Cute!!! Wonderful!!!

Lol.

mariamah said...

This is very creative.

Wow! This is so amazing! Creativity and talent on display.

Scholes

WOW! This is very creative and beautiful, love the concept

so amazing

Naija said...

Good stuff. Good photographer for any event.

This is amazing,just seeing it

flexycouture@yahoo.com

sumbor said...

woooow,creativity like no other.

Wow!!! This is awesome; very creative. Luv it. Nyc 1.

#G.Babe

Good question. Dolls incite amazement and made in Nigeria cars elicit doubt. Where are we headed?

Poor u.

Hahha they now spoilt it with the dollars they sprayed. Should been Naira.

very creative and talented 9ic job keep it up

9ic one

Soul said...

It's kinda disturbing sha.

nice job, i luv d last pic, shayo level