Ibadan kids spend new year at the escalator at Shoprite Ibadan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 January 2014

Ibadan kids spend new year at the escalator at Shoprite Ibadan

Writing this with a straight face. According to a LIB reader who sent in the photo, he said the pic was taken yesterday at Heritage Mall in Ibadan. The kids came to the mall with their guardians to spend the New Year but ended up spending most part of their visit at the mall's escalator. He said the kids were initially so scared of the elevator, but when they finally got to use it, they loved it and took turns going up and down the elevator...from dawn till dusk. He said there was actually a queue and a lot of argument about who goes first. Like I said, I wrote this with a straight face. Let the kids enjoy...:-)

270 comments:

1 – 200 of 270   Newer›   Newest»

Hahhahahahha where there is yoruba there you find razzness

???????? Why escalator???

Ol's Network said...

lmao, I also read with a straight face. Let the kids enjoy of course

Lmao
All na fun

Hahahahahahaha!!!! Anything for the "jangolova" experience.

Chidaa said...

I just heard that delta state govt gives out bursary to their natives in any university.....pls pls how do I go about collecting mine? Can't believe I've being missing out! All d top delta state govt personnels in d house talk o.....merry new year and a happy easter in advance!!

Let them enjoy biko,,fun is fun,anyhow it is,....life goes on!!

Atobatele said...

Lolz. Let the kids have fun abeg

Phaeton Phoenix said...

awwwwwww! Poverty can be a beautiful thing sometimes.

SANDRA said...

Hahhahahahahaha that Naija 4 u oooo.very funny set of people.

Ibadan people have suffered sha... Lol...#Chimacee

lisa said...

Ha ha ha, very funny. It became a play tin 4 dem. I no blame dem jare

What a shame! Things Nigerians see as a big deal. Complex issues!

Beautiful Monster

Things are getting better. A lot of adults still are afraid of escalators. I'm glad there's 1 in IBD. I know God will bless enough to put 1 in my villa so that the kids can enjoy too.

My face straight pass your own sef *chai*

Phaeton Phoenix said...

LMFAO! Linda. Your face was indeed as straight as Elton John's marriage when you wrote this post. LMFAOOOO!

EYAAAAA!!!! But na Xperience sha! ;) btw, Donot Clcik This Link

dats vry gud of dem

Lmao..

Haha linda....no lift inside heritage mall...confirm your source very well dear

Village Yoruba people

Hahahahaha lwkmd, Oh Ibadan! What a 21century city.

Ibadan shoprite #bright bravo#

funkycutie25 said...

LOLZZZ.....awon ara oko ibadan

Dr. ~Enjoy~ said...

like sewiously!!!!!! comentin wif a straight face 2!
lolzzzz

Puregold said...

I'm actually laughing so hard cos I was also at the mall yesterday. I almost slapped one of the kids cos he almost fell my baby and I down.
It was a strange sight to behold. Kids running up and down the elevator..
Na wa

Ibadan kid and their wards? are they that.....ermm. Let me reserve my comment.

Ochuko Tonukari said...

Interesting...At least this will leave them with some wonderful memories of their childhood.

Jangilover tinz....I miss dat time of my life...
*the Cook*

Fuck your opinion said...

So what's d moral of d story? Linda ikeji

olori adenike said...

Omo Ibadan ki ni show re.

Peejay said...

Hahahahahahahaha! Escalators can be dangerous though. Thank God no one got hurt. Ride on kids!

Lmaoooo #Too funny.

FTC.......my first comment on LIB ...hehehehe.....

Well ibadan peeps would always be ibadan peeps

Linda e clear say u no get news. Nyway it's allowed

Bahahahaha this is so funny but I guess theres always a first time for anything lols

Ibadan ppl 2 local, lucozade ppl

lmao !!!!!hahahahaha !!!free d kids jare !!!

Looolz.@ least they've bin exposed to it.There's always a 1st time.I'm sure they also tot they were in London.

poverty is all I see

Linda me sef get straight face,lol
Let them enjoy biko,oyibo thing
@UA

Bisola said...

Linda,they are just kids for crying out loud! i don't think i like the innuendos you portray anytime you have to write about Ibadan. i am sure you will appreciate our great city more if only you visit your own town more often.

wat a way 2 spend d new yr lolzz

Bisola said...

Its part of enjoyment nah... Afterall they had fun!

Lwkmdfho

Bisola said...

Is there escalator in ur hometown talk less of a shopping mall! Mtcheew abeg

Linda u be agbaya.hahahaha.

Lmaoooo!! Only in ibadan!

Lmaoo! We will get there... Bushmenfinz#

ok we hav hear

ah! See as dem dey embarass me..Ibadan no dey dull

No big deal. The same happened at
Ikeja city mall on christmas day.. Sometimes ur post shows au foolish u and some of ur readers are.

Eh, there babes used 2 go 2 KFC just to take pics and NOT to patronize dem. Dats why it closed lol

Ib pple sha! Nawa oh! First to comment

Olanrewaju said...

Well few days to xmas day i saw so many kids with thr teachers in shop rite lik it was an excursion ... Deal with us

Ibadan people transferring there kinda thinking to der kids!

Is it "The kids came to
the mall with their wards..." Or "the parents came to the mall with their wards.." Just asking o..

Lol...let the children enjoy abeg.

ChyChy said...

​​​​​​​​â„“☺â„“!... Am laughing so hard Linda cos i added ur own laughto mine...Lagos kids shld not about this o...LWTMB

mystqueme said...

Oh yes....lmao...make dem enjoy oh jare.

Bush pickins

ROTFLMAO!!!!

BeBe said...

Laugh out Loud. A new 'Jangalova'

If u dnt write it with a straight face will dey arrest u?

switchloe said...

Dear liber dnt u want d kids to use d elevator? Selfish u

Author said...

Lol Lindodo. Seriously with a straight face. How u dey naaa? Happy New year. Linda abeg post my comment.

kids can be very funny. Little things give them so much joy

Ibadan have a way of giving me a good laugh, very funny set of people i tell you, who told them the escalator is for "catching fun"? IBADAN PEOPLE WHY???

Hehehehe. . I can recall d first time I was on an escalator. ...bol* hav fun kids

LOTR said...

Linda, I'm writing this with a straight face; what I find more amusing is that Ibadan kids have wards.

BitchNigga said...

K

wat do u expect from d kid..wen dere are no much pack to catch fun...lik benin city...let dem enjoy o....

ebube okafor said...

Wow lili imhapi 4 em.im goin der 2day @ surulere lag.... enjoymnt tins hehe!

whitneydeev. said...

lol linda!u will not leave ibadan people alone

lols

Lmao LINDAAA!!!!!! You no go kee person! IB for u my sister lol

I'm just laughing out ooo. Can't stop laughing. Pls help me out here ooo. Still laughing.

Linda linda. It seems the holiday is treating you very well. It's the child that is called a ward oo. The person in charge of that child is called a guardian. No need to post it o.

famonzo said...

Hihihihi.... It's not Good to be primitive o.... Am from ibadan tho but born n bred in lag.

Na wah ooo. Probably they have not seen such before, Children sha plus Ibadan local people.

This is Wrong! Lol

dollyjossycakes said...

Linda y u dey jealousy d children na,abeg go enta ur own

Me write my own with a bent face......Ibadan pple done come again....LWKMD.... I wonder wetin go happen if na elevator

Gosh!!!! Bush people

whitneydeev. said...

lol linda!u will not leave ibadan people alone

LOOOOOOOL! Odikwa la Crios!

Abeg... anything to make d kids ve fun... poster shld leave them alone

Lmao! Av always said, if it wasn't for the cultural diversity in lagos, Lagos woulda been worse than ibadan.. So for those who keep saying "lagos is our own nd "foreigners" should go..I dey hail o.. >:)

Charmie said...

Lmao!hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhaha! Othr customers shd jst tk d stairs! Well its onli for a day let em enjoy!lmao

Ibadan pple oh...ahnahn am in tears...buhahahahahaha

Yeepa!omo ibadan kinni show re...LMAO

Buhahahahaaa... Like I'm surprised... Ibadan peeps can never be civil... Na curse? But asides dat... Wats d difference btwn dese pple n pple at Ikeja mall where gals dress up with flexi curlers on deir heads to d mall?

Ibadan kini so!!!!! Hahahhaha very possible o #okbye

No b small tin o

A4 said...

Embarassing but can't blame them. Naija is still improving

LMAO,;,,;  Ω̴̩̩̩̥o fit laff ooooo.. Chai!!! M̶̲̥̅̊y̶̲̥̅̊ belle...:Hmmmmm Hmmmmm.#bush.

Otherwords, you are saying that Ibadan people are....... lmfao!

ibadan peeps sha!!!na wa o...neways dey r kids

The Fashion Engineer said...

Lmao!!!! This is sooo funny!

glittering gold said...

So what's d big deal?let d kids enjoy themselves

Oh yea!let dem enjoy

Smh...this is jes so fucked up...lmao

wow thats good

Discover the hidden weight loss secret of top Celebrity

that IjawGirl said...

Ah ah ha ha,always Ibandan kids,lol. Let them have fun jare. At least dem get mind try d thing,Ijaw kids won't dare! Lol

Yea dey nid it.

I school at Ibadan, I must confess those peeps are too local

linda's husband said...

Lmaooo......Its onli in Ibadan n Linda's village this happens..........

Hmmm pakororo...

Nneka said...

Lol. Abeg
Make dem kids enjoy jare

Wow,dats so touching. Thumbs up shoprite.u'v just gave dis kids a newyear dey would NEVER forget.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Lol Ibadan is d core of locality in nigeria

Hahaha.ib pple sha.dey just like embarrassing themselves

Sad

Bosun said...

Lolz lolz
LMAO!!!!!!!
Nawa oooo!
Lolz

Hahaha.ib pple sha dey like behaving like illiterates

Who sent this to you Linda ? The individual is full of mischief. Yes I agree the picture is real but when it happened the kids had just finished watching a film and were leaving with their parents and guardians. If the kids were on the escalator through out then nothing else was happening at the mall. I was there and saw what was happening.

Wao, so smone tuk ds pix,I was pissed ystdy seeing kids taking over d heritage mall. Dey goin up n down pushing d adults. Vry funny pple

Tricia said...

Odikwa serious

How is this news

Bibi said...

I'm sure one area boy was there collecting money for the escalator ride.

Yes, there is always a first time. I live in lagos and tavel thrice a year but my son of almost four smiles at me each we get to d airport to take d ascalator. Kids will always be kids. Linda you were once in their shoes pls don't make it sound so "straight face" and if you like post.

Mimi

Yeah rite, I was at city mall ikeja yesterday and it was also like dat though not as crowdy as the one in ibadan, but kids in lagos also did same.

Lmaooo.... Linda Ikeji you will not kill me with laughter. ....lol@ they took turns from dawn till dusk. Abeg let them enjoy jare

lol. Kids o....... Smh. Veedah says so

Lol...they av 2. Enjoy jare....hpy new. Year 2 liber ..

What do you expect?lmao

Which stupid 'libers' send such preposterous stories to linda?nd the qeue was due to the amount of shoppers at the mall.which is perfectly normal during holidays.abeg u guys should park well jorrh

They still beta off your igbokwenu children

Danas joe said...

Ibadan kids wth their parent characters,nawa o!!!!na only for ibadan dem gals dey use agbalumo do salad,na only ibadan man dey bring spoon out wenever he hears 'FOOD FOR THOUGHT'na only ibadan man go go party spend all him money n trek home..hehehehehe i hail una my good ppl of ibadan..

Hahahahaha. Very funny

I was actually there when this pic was taken! Trust me, being there in person was epic! A lot more than viewing the pic...lol! And on our way out of the mall after watching our movie, we witnessed another set of people run away from the escalator after placing their right foot on it! Epic I tell u...epic!!!

Hahaha. No be small thing at all

Same thing happened at shoprite surulere
I was super amazed lol

Escalator! Its like an American kid spendin' time in a stairwell goin up and down the flight of stairs,and her parents watchin' in excitement like their kid is bouncin on a castle. Awesome. boyJESU P

Shoprite Ibadan doesn' even have escalator, the building is simply linked with 'Mr Price' which has the escalator. Na Mr. Price which is where their movie theatre is that has it, shoprite is another part of the building totally and it uses staircase

Linda is an "agbaya'. Stop yabbing we ibadan people! lol

is this now to mock them or what?

LMFAO lyk criously

Awww.

linda u no serious. Straight face indeed

Does dat mean its dere 1st time,lindyway na u sabi.

We understand the mind and concept of the sender. but mind u, kids are always kinds. Dis can happen anywhere around world. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Hey lindodo....u too lik to dey mess my town....SadFace....Ptiana*

Funny. During my time it used to b the amusement park, bh let the kids enjoy u dunno wen they would eva come there again. Sewzann

Such didn't happen at Shoprite, Lagos. Ndi yoruba bu nno Okpo!

Ada said...

Linda one min you say elevator then you say escalator! Haba

cutemumm said...

Hahahahahahaha Ibadan of life..

Dis is serious! Lol

Ignorance is a bad tin o... Oh dats so bad...aunty linda pls post..tanx

Dnt make it sound so bad, it ws same in lag 2.

We understand the mind and concept of the sender. but mind u, kids are always kinds. Dis can happen anywhere around world. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Lol.watever do u xpect frm ibadan kids? Nk ibe

Aba Linda! wettin Ibadan do you?

Lmao...Bush people...

Now dey are xposed,exactly what the likes of PDP alao akala are hindering them from seeing n enjoying,the modern world wch dey felt it was only meant for their own children.
GRINGO

peacedebby@gmail.com said...

Lolz

lol

LMAO. Aunt lily,what is ur own with Ibadan peeps. @dat_butter_boi

globaldeji said...

LOL! Linda, you are lying....straight face indeed! I trust I.B peeps..lol!

Awon omo Ibadan ki ni sho? sho sure, ki lo je lana? eran sikin, Ki lo fi joko? kusin siar

linda i am saying this with a straight face... take this post down...people are laughing at me in the office joor *straight face

Blabbermouth said...

Lmfao , Only in Ibadan!! Choiiiii

this also happened at ikeja with people paying to take pictures on the escalator

BRIGHTINO said...

Chai! Speechless. May God help africa.

Lol jangolova opuli moto....... Hehehee
Kids & deir way of havin fun shaaa.. Lol

---------------------Tarilicious----------------

...but why would anyone in their right frame of mind allow kids turn an escalator into a playground or a swing. And people here are saying they should enjoy. I've lived in London for over 20 years and never seen kids turn an escalator into play point. The mgt or security would never allow that. Why are we so ignorant?

this also happened at ikeja with people paying to take pictures on the escalator

Dey dere dey decieve yourself! Ofe. Ma nu locality.

dhobiz said...

Lolz o,I no fit shout *straight face*

Honestly how many malls are in Nigeria? None in the east and I once found the escalator weird when I first travel, well this is not a news and even white people take pictures with stupid things they see everyday and play with things they see everyday... Linda sometimes your news make no sense, I no u won't post this but good u can read this

olu scot said...

Children will always be children

Ibadan is and will always be razz. They are the only ones that take kids on excursion to a mall.

Ash said...

Can't blame them.. Since the amusement park in ib barely functions kids have to improvise and have fun.

Ash said...

Can't blame them.. Since the amusement park in ib barely functions kids have to improvise and have fun.

The first time I got on an escalator was in Leventis in ibadan and that was some 30 years ago. It was a great experience as we went back and forth...if things had been ok the way they were, ibadan was amongst the most sophisticated cities in Nigeria...i also remember transfer amusement park, chicken grotto etc...but then what do I know?...double O

Lol @Ibadan kid and their wards. Lol. Is Eugenia that.... Errmm?

tomiwealth said...

Ibadan kini sooooo! Smh!!!

Craze dey worry u wit dat ya comment! At least dem b pikin, make den av fun!

Why insulting Linda? Did she beg u to visit her blog.anyway u r one of d readers and u r so foolish as u said. Mtchewwwww

Easy...they re jus kids. U wud hv done worst as a kid.

Galore said...

u can say that again

Yoruba razzz pass razzness itself

Lol...to be honest, I don't think it's that bad, they are just kids. I live in England, and there are escalators everywhere, I still sometimes see white kids wanting to go up and down d escalators. For kids it's just fun, but the part I don't understand is why their parents/ wards allowed them stay there d whole day! Lol....pls y'all don't eat me up, first time commenting here. xx

@olaleye Adisa...pls shut your filty gub, am sure you've never left your filty cave since you were born. Where in the world have you heard of kids playing on an escalator...oh I forgot your last name is ADISA....moron!

Archygee said...

Linda wat has Ibadan people done for u na u sabi

IGNORANCE IGNORANCE IGNORANCE...Period!

Oh my people perish for lack of knowledge...and we claim to be the best in Africa...I can imagin a South African reading this....MORON!

When I visited Lagos last year from London, I was having a meal at one of the Diners and a photog approached me for a pix, I was like why?...my coz said people like to take photos at restaurant and put it up on FB... Phew!

Linda with Ibadan peeps! things are not that bad like the people used to portrait those people from Ibadan. Atleast they are kids having fun and it can also happen to an adult as well being a first timer, the only difference would just be that adult will be able comport themselves. Even Linda way dey talk self, when you entered plane for the first time, u want tell me say e never do you somehow? Like operating some gadgets in a plane.... #straightFace

My British colleague at work here in Kent, just read this and am the laughing stock at work for the next one week. Common my people, but why? It's ONLY an electronic staircase...omg!... People really pay to take pix on an escalator! My my my...

Get a life. You sucker!

hhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha...i'm yoruba and i'm laughing at my people. chai!

Princewill Okereke said...

This is Serious! How will they break even with this kind of development?

lmao. ibadan people said...

lmao. Ibadan people

This can happen anywhere jare.

Including urself! Na you foolish pass anon 9.43.. ode

Management had to stop those escalators on xmas day..

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 270   Newer› Newest»