Justice ministry to spend N181.3m on clothing in 2014 - Report | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 January 2014

Justice ministry to spend N181.3m on clothing in 2014 - Report

According to a report by Punch, the Federal Ministry of Justice Headquarters will spend the sum of N181.3m on uniforms and other garments in 2014, according to the budget estimates submitted to the National Assembly by Minister of Finance, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.
A copy of the proposed budget of the headquarters of the justice ministry, which was obtained by a Punch correspondent, revealed that the sum of N181, 391,000 was allocated for “uniforms and other clothing” in 2014.
The sum is part of the total N4.7bn allocated to the Federal Ministry of Justice Headquarters in the 2014 budget proposal.
However, the nature of the “uniforms and other clothing” was not disclosed.
The ministry is to spend the sum of N1.3bn on legal services in the New Year, while N1.4bn is allocated for consulting and professional services.
Travels, including local and foreign trips, formed a substantial part of the ministry’s proposed budget.
The sum of N362.6m has been budgeted for travels and transport (general).
Local travel and transport (training) and local travel and transport (others) will cost N76.7m and N142.3m, respectively.
In the same vein, international travel and transport (training), and international travel and transport (others), will cost N34.9m and N108.5m respectively.
The sum of N371.7m was budgeted for materials and supplies (general).
Also, the sum of N59.4m was set aside for foreign grants and contributions, as well as grants to foreign international organisations.
The proposed budget suggests that the Federal Ministry of Justice Headquarters intends to upgrade its security system as the purchase of security equipment as well as improvement of ministry security system would cost N40m, respectively.
The same N40m is equally budgeted for the rehabilitation and repair of office buildings, while the sum of N19.8m is provided for maintenance of office building and residential quarters.
Other sums allocated for maintenance works include N9.9m for maintenance of plants/generators; N27.7m for cleaning/fumigation services; and N59.1m for general maintenance of motor vehicle/transport equipment.
The proposed budget also reveals that the Federal Ministry of Justice Headquarters will spend the sum of N55.8m on fuel and lubricants.
Motor vehicle fuel will cost the sum of N24.7m, while plant/generator fuel costs the sum of N28.3m.
N7.8m is provided for refreshment and meals.
Also, the sum of N56.9m is earmarked for a baseline survey of justice institutions, while the sum of N16.5m is budgeted for ICT consulting.
The proposed budget further shows that the ministry budgets the sum of N37.2m for utilities (general).
Electricity charges will cost N31.5m, water rates 904,016, while sewerage charges will take the sum of N4.8m while the ministry will spend the sum of N14.6m on printing of security documents.

Culled from Punch

113 comments:

Why them No spend 100 billion. . Madness

God go pubish all of una!!!!..cloth by cloth!

---tobs 2.0.14 say so!

sQo said...

what are they clothing

Whr is d justice den if such outrageous amount can b spent on clothing? God is watching

Mab said...

Most ppl are crying no money in Nigeria, but plenty are seeing it in abondance, tell me why when d poor are opportuned to be in government, why dey wld not loot, it is allowed o, one man cnt change this country, no be Ghana

Criminals!

28MILLION for cleaning services?
55MILLION for ordinary fuel??
8MILLION FOR refreshments/coca-cola ???
*clears throat *

Linda dear! I really don't understand how this things work, but the problem is not budgeting, its implementation

chizzy said...

Ntin we no go c for nigga, ordinary cloth y sum pple no c fud chop

*crying*

Na wa ooo on New Year and dis is the rubbish we re hearing, when hunger/poverty is killing ppl....... What a world we live in

Can u pls cry me a river

U seee u seeeeee that's what I am talking about that dis current regime of GEJ is the worst thing that has eva happened to naija at large can imagine a lumpsum of 181.....M for justice alone ok what about other sectors hmm there's no future for this country honestly this our current leaders n past leaders are nothing but clueless, poor visionary ppl faggots

@Mab na true talk. It is so sad

Bold Kid said...

Jez stupid ways to spend money...whc oda country does dis?? Naija sef!

Queen Eliza said...

Really?

rip NIGERIA...

Dere is money in tis fucking counrty

Abbie said...

Na wa o! All i could read here were just d figures. See as dz ppl just dey mention dz billions n millions of naira day by day n sm of us never even smell #100,000. Hmmn, it is well o!

~It's me noni! Ur 1 n only Abbie~

Shey na gold plated robes dem wan wear?... Chai! I cry for this nation.

o.j.erecordz boss said...

hmmm~sad mood~N181.3m for only uniforms~

Oboi...speechless
#Tslicky

jessica morphy said...

God of mercy n am here lookin 4 100k 4 ma rent n hav bin begging Lib readers 2 help me,its well wit Nigeria.

jessica morphy said...

I wil lift up ma eyes 2 d hills 4rm whence cometh ma help,ma help cometh 4rm d lord.

So sad... We hope for beta days in dis country of ours

Made man...

This is Just SAD! What for?

May God help us alll.....

Nawa 4 dis country ooo.........

WANNY said...

Kaai Ministry of Justice....Hmmmm Justice is been done to the Budget tru tru...Oya Ema rerin lo in Jazzy' Voice.

I'm beginning to lose respect for punch and their one sided journalism. Is =N=141m too little, too much or just enough for the said clothing? Is that an amount that is obtainable for similar in other countries? Or is it the case that the clothing can be delivered at a fraction of that price by Iya Sikirat Bodija? What is their point?

Hmmm.. Sigh taken. Anyway as long as God dey .. Nothing you do and you go scot free... Says my father, and i coat ..they will vomit all they have swallowed.. Come rain come sunshine. That why am not worry abt them 'politicians'

emmanuel john said...

it wil b better for them to go nd buy jerseys dan use such amount for those there cloths{d hav cars but wil stil demand for travillin allawances within d country or region or state d are}

Obietrezy said...

Na wao for this our country sha...... Let FG start paying all the youths monthly allowee nau since them dey spend money for some kind things ni.

I only have one word for them "THIEVES"

Nawa ooo!When lawyers are paid peanut!all this yeye senior lawyers maltreat the upcoming lawyers.oga ooh*angryface*

Which way Nigerian

OMG, on top waiting? See the people we think they can help too. They want to wearing bullet prove cloth. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Linda post my 1st comment cos I am preaching n yeah u know

pls our leaders, use are resource's well, let our young ones inherits goods from the old ones. Every year they make budget and there is no effect to the country what a pity to a shameless leaders that don't compare other countries progresses in all things.GOD NIGERIANS are crying for a good leaders HELP US to bring us from this bondages of corruption in our society.

Discover the hidden weight loss secret of top Celebrity

Linda pls post my 1st comment you know that I am preaching n yeah u know

ryan said...

Great! The so called "the last hope of a common man." Here is the hope...

Una naked before?

I haff died

chuubiyo said...

Its ok. Am getting there!

#Daniel006

whaoooo I love nigeria

dida said...

Waka

I weep for my country!

Holy Guy said...

This confirms what former Minister of Education, Doctor Oby Ezekwesili said at a seminar I attended, in her words
"What our government mostly does is Contract Awarding" She also said the national change we have been praying and hoping for will not come if we always have a siddon look attitude, she said its all over to Nigerian youths to fight for their future if they want one. You can see clearly from the budget that money is just being shared for different people for the sake of sharing for their personal pockets

Over 1million USdollars for just uniforms and almost 200,000dollars for fumigation. Dsame sh*t still happening? I av bin sayin dis for a decade now..Nigeria can never get better...prove me wrong...election 2015 wld make it worse

Ok. Buh she can't siqn juz 200b 4 ASUU until we cus dem nonsense

Who is sewing the garments, is it gucci or prada. Nigerians are thieves.

Thieves.I have stopped saying my prayer for nigeria. Let this country spoil to the last I am tired.

So are they importing the uniforms or sewing them locally. This doesn't make sense at all....haba

Nigeria is over. Who is designing the garments,chanel? Nonsense. thunder fire you people

Oshi oshi everywhere in this country.

What of Money for brazilian hair? rubbish people

This garments better be made of gold and silver

What am I still doing in this country.

Large Figures everywhere. THIEVES

Tiana said...

I dey eye dat woman post oh...."com of Fin" 131trillion dey Nigerian yet Asuu go on strike for 5months jst bcos of 1trion hahahahahahah dem no dey faer again oh cos dey knw we cnt do dem anytin so dey come to our face and tell us dia nevt move to steal money! I most get dia

I hate d federal government!

Its amazing to note. So call intelligentia does not Know hw government work to know dat lawyers receive allowance of 50k rope which is even too small for them comparing dem wt what obtainable in other places

8 million naira for refreshment. If I slap u people u will come to work with food in a flask. rubbish Nonsense.

Why can't they come with food from home,instead they are wasting 8 million on refreshment. Nigeria is finished

Where do they get this money. Are they borrowing it from the banks

You have said what was on my mind.rip nigeria

You have shown the world that You're an complete asshole that uses the term/slur faggot.lol

Jonathan is the worst thing that has happened to nigeria.and you goats will still carry you empty heads and vote for him this coming election.

My friends on fb & bbm nominated me for d most sceptic person on their contact list They say I only say negative things about nigeria...look around u If u can't see any big junk of negativity den u r 1 of Nigeria's biggest problem cos u nt aware of ur environment,naive& brian washed Believe me dis wld be swept under d carpet like dey alwys do

Ann Marie said...

This year is financially turning out worse than 2013.

so long as it is within thier budget, i see no wrong. I only hope they spend wisely... the amount on clothing isn't outrageous, atleast we may finally have well dressed lawyers... rme

SCAM!!!!!!!!!

dhobiz said...

Are they wearing designer outfits? all na vanity sha

Cheezy said...

Haba! Barrey, coat? Or quote? Na d big big figures cause am? Lmao!

Yeah nigerians only reaction to our problem is "let's pray 4 nigeria" datsall. Early 2012 I was at ojota protesting against removal of subsidy bt we were chased away by soldiers...I can't ask d devil 4 a favour so I av 2 ask u lord for dis even though I hate to, can u pls wipe all d candidates running 4 d 2015 election? atleast dey wld reduce in numbers bcos am so so pissed, angered,furious & sad by all dese legitimate stealing of our money, Nigerians! we need to Stand up & fight!bcos our kids wld suffer more from dis terrible system in d nearest future

Hope its gucci and prada robes. Thieves

And who is sewing the robes.gucci

U thieves better go to yaba and buy you're robes. Nonsense.

Cloth that you people will still tear to pieces when you start fighting on tv. Animals in human skins

Gucci robes

Oma Dollz said...

Can u jus imagine dis bastards*sad face* the steal money get mind to come out in public to mention that the want to steal.y dis boko haram the kill innocent ppl as dem gather there na beta opportunity to save nigeria from the crisis we re into by wasting dis modafuckers mscheeew.infact na only God go judge una if God say make we dey like who are my to object.all am sayin is for God to do somefin bfor sumfin do us.maka na ike agwu goo mu

What of Money for brazilian hair. Lol bunch of old losers

Prada things/end times. Lol

You people better not tear this clothes when you buy them oh. Old papas mummy is still buying dress for you

Their christmas clothes. Laughing at nigerians

Don't blame linda 4 nt posting any of my comments bcos my words r hard & I will continue to be like this until a change is done of which I seriously doubt. Nigeria is still a dark hard & twisted country with most of it citizens naïve & brian washed. Happy being a Nigerian though bt nt happy living in it

After all this money is spent,will justice be dispenced rightly??? #appauling!

Economy was so hard in 2013. No flow of money. Yet this money is somewhere, and this big thieves are seriously chopping the money amongst themselves. God please let this 2014 be better. Amen

Haba,she na crocodile cloth dey wan wear?wey b say ankara full lagos n kaduna 2 buy,chai,linda tell em guys are nr smillin ooo.wale johnson

bucheey09 said...

And to think dat's d ministry of justice.......really sad! Dis 2014, God's wrath and judgment will come upon dem.

Naija I hail o

Nd here I am earning 50k a mth tryin 2 work my ass off 2 please d govt.mk God judge una

Nigerians make me laugh lol...Instead of them to do match to the Senate and burn the place down, they are all saying "God punish them". God has nothing to do with democracy and how you run it!! Take action and fight for what is yours and leave God out of it!!

Nigerians make me laugh lol...Instead of them to match to the Senate and burn the place down, they are all saying "God punish them". God has nothing to do with democracy and how you run it!! Take action and fight for what is yours and leave God out of it!!

tomiwealth said...

Truth of the matter is those items on the budget that seems irrelevant will be the national cake that will be dished out to the committee in charge(national assembly members) or else the budget won't be approved. Btw, I tot Jona said he has banned foreign training? Well am waiting to hear what will be spent on job creation and youth empowerment.

Individually mmaybe not but Nigeria as a whole is CURSED !!

I'm still taking my stand. God will never come down to help Us, its high time we get up from our sleep and Fight/protest for what lawfully belongs to the common Man.

lol...shear madness...blotted budget.Lyk d cloth will mk dm dispense justice wif wisdom nd accuracy???…smh!!! (•_•)

14.7M on printing...hmmm,it must b printing done on royal scrolls,cus sum1 runnin a printing press wont use dat amt even in 5yrs(•_•)

Lol, cloth by cloth

whizzev said...

speechless

Chai.palpatin tinz.Holyghost fire

Y are u all here complaining? They just gave a clue to all of us. Those who 've cleaning agents,into fuel and gas, etc should start sending in a proposal to the ministry of justice. And find your way to the decision maker (s) this is 2014 and I 'll get my own national cake!!! We 're too rich in the country,

BIGGEST THIEVES OF THE CENTURY,I GUESS THEIR UNIFORMS WILL BE MADE WITH LION AND PYTHON SKINS DESIGNED BY LOUIS VUITTON AND PRADA...USELESS COUNTRY WITHOUT ANY VISION !

because they are not wise. LOL

Woman Slices Man’s Penis After Accusing Him Of Sexually Abusing Her 2-Year-Old Daughter

No know sey nah yeye country we do before/

See Mercy Aigbe Birthday Photos, So Lovely

Linlin hope u are seeing wat am seeing
Cos wen doctors ask for increment in salary nd bonuses dem go talk say money no dey. D nxt strike go soon start

Linlin u will soon post our own. 1billion naira budgeted for ward coats in each teaching hospital

whizzev said...

na dem sabi

aylayo said...

Their law schools are nothing to write home about..... corrupt set of lawyers

Ade said...

These guys are just using us to catch trips. The older generation has and is just cleaning out. We need to start thinking of how we can make changes happen in our society, else one day, we will wake up and not have a liveable country. Greedy bastards!

There is no end to meeting the demands of the Nigerian Medical Association.

The plight of the Nigerian Law Officer is deteriorating by the day. Now it's the time for all Law Officers to come together and push forward their demands. It is time to stop pretending that all is well. We are been mistreated for too long and now we cannot bear anymore. We work the most dangerous bit towards nation building and have been treated like outcasts. Why should even our brothers in the judiciary earn a different wage from us. We cannot take it anymore. LOAN!!! LOAN!!! LOAN!!! This is the year to get our pay harmonized with the judiciary. We are not asking too much, just put us where we belong, period. This piece was posted by Mr. Pius Akutah Gbongbon

God help us.........we need a revolution