Nigerian man killed in India, Simeon Obodo, buried in his hometown | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 30 December 2013

Nigerian man killed in India, Simeon Obodo, buried in his hometown

The 35-year old Nigerian who was killed in Gao, India, on October 30, Simeon Obodo, has been buried in his hometown in Obogwe-Umunwaku community in Ohaji/Egbema Local Government Area of Imo.

A representative of the family, Ejike Esinkoye, disclosed this in a telephone interview with the News Agency of Nigeria in Abuja on Monday.

Mr. Esinkoye, who said the funeral service of Mr. Obodo took place on Monday at St Paul’s Catholic parish Obogwe-Umunwaku, expressed dismay that the Federal Government did not send any official delegation to the burial.

He also said that the family had yet to receive any compensation or assistance from the India government.

The murder of the Nigerian during a violent clash in Goa village, India, sparked a diplomatic row between both countries.
Around 200 Nigerians in India protested Mr. Obodo’s murder by blockinga national highway and clashing with locals and police in the area.
Fifty-three of the protesting Nigerians were arrested and later released, after paying fees to secure their release.

The Director, Consular and Immigration Services at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Abdulazeez Dankano, had on December 16, said that the diplomatic rift between both countries that Mr. Obodo’s murder caused was now “under control”.

Mr. Dankano was part of a Federal Government delegation that visited New Delhi in early December to conclude negotiations on three agreements affecting the welfare of Nigerians in that country.
He said the Indian government had made some arrests in connection with Mr. Obodo’s murder but did not say whether the suspects had been charged.

Born on Nov. 1, 1977, Mr. Obodo attended Umunwaku Primary school in Ohaji/Egbema and Umunwaku Secondary School from 1992 to 1998.
According to a biography published by the family, Mr. Obodo worked and lived in Port Harcourt before travelling to Liberia in 2009.

Mr. Obodo, who left Nigeria for India on January 9 before his unfortunate death on November 30, few days to his 36th birthday, is survived by an aged mother, daughter and wife.

Source: NAN

87 comments:

WHEN THEM TELL UNA TO STAY FOR UNA COUNTRY UNA NO GO GREE!WHAT IS IN INDIA?..WELL,MAY YOUR SOUL REST IN PEACE!

Indians hmm issorait.RIP 2d sir

ehyaaa,,,,so sad !!!!stil wondering if we hav ministry of foreign affairs...

Injustice evrywai.God is vry patient.

Janelicious said...

May his soul rest in peace

So sad, may his soul RIP ... And yet d f**king indians roam our country freely.. His justice will come, if not by man then by God

So sad,*sign* hope we grow from this.

So sad a news. May his soul rest in peace.

Continue to rest in peace.

Linda, I advice you read through your material thoroughly before posting it. Diligence and consistency is very important in every business. When did Mr. Obodo die? October 30 or November 30?

FAMMIE said...

May His Soul Rest In Peace

So sad. RIP

Sahnzylyn said...

Nawa o,when will these countries stop taking nigeria for granted? Can't say I blame though,when our own government can't protect the interest of it's citizens.I weep for my country!! RIP

Nwoke na ife. Ije uwa adighi nfe at all. It is well. Mazi RIP. Chai I pity his small family. PH Girl.

Sad what's our ambassador to india doing about dis

Kill 2 india's hea so dey wil kw it hurts

IKWERREBOY said...

This is a country complaining that one of their diplomat was maltreated in USA, but they forgot immigrants in their country are been humiliated and killed. What I don't understand is this, what are Nigerians doing in India, these people have nothing to offer to Nigerians... If they do, someone should please tell me. Whenever I read news like this I feel ashamed.

Its sad, so bad.
As breath so also death comes
As swift its rift puts a boundary
Unbreached. So sad,so bad.

May he RIP

So pathetic. RIP.

May his soul rest in peace..

Omaga o

Tortortortortorfiakwa!!! Tragedy ! Unfortunate! RIP.

Wwat a pity...Rip obodo d culprit must b brought 2 book.

tola said...

Nawa oooOo a nigerian killed again in another country. Naija peepz dey fall my hand, even india dey kill dem. Y dem no jus dey naija dey do their hustle. Oh well life is all about twist nd turn.

Sad. RIP

We should kill some of the efin indians in Nigeria in retaliation. Those efin smelly things

This smelly indians!!!

R.I.P sad

Of all countries in d world y live in indiaaaa! Kai.

India kwa!!

What a painful death..anyway may his gentle soul rest in peace.

peacedebby@gmail.com said...

Rip

dudette said...

Well may his soul rest in peace....but will he? when his killers run free and justice isn't served! Smh

So sad, may his soul rest in perfect peace. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

What makes this so special that u're bringing it here? People die everyday, why only this!

Ann Marie said...

May his soul rest in peace

May his soul RIP.... India of all country??? Na wa ooo

@Ajanaku just shut dat hole u call mouth,if u don't ve anytin to say..may his soul RIP

Ajanaku Oluwakemi you are a pus filled soul.

May His Soul R.I.P...Our Leaders have failed us!!!!

mimi said...

Pls shut the fuck up empty brain

May he rest in peace. Somehow I understand the reason for the attack.

The reason he was attacked and many Nigerians are attacked in many countries is cos of drugs. The Indians blame us for their drug littered streets. And Nigerians live their to have access to drug networks in Asia.

harnikky said...

R.I.P sir!

Bros no dey yarn dat kind yarn,dnt u v indians in nija?aren't dey worse dan nigerians yet we treat dem ryt despite der wicked ways.dese guys r cheats n criminals bt we protect so y is our case diff?

Ajanaku u dn crase o! Bomb really de ur head, stupid thing.

Tricia said...

Don't wonder. We don't have one.

Hilary Obiorah, are you a detective? What makes you think Obodo deals in drugs? Talk with little sense. I'm sure you don't have one. Even if people do drugs should they be lynched in front of policemen. Ode oshi.

Ajanaku Oluwakemi, you are a big shame to the entire human race. Foolish fool. Ode oshi. Mumu.

Aunty Ode, you obviously don't have a working brain.

Ajanaku Oluwakemi, you need a psychiatrist. Foolish bastard.

Ajanaku, you don't know the meaning of fundamental human rights. A man was murdered without trial and you opened your garbaged mouth to say boogawof. You need education and the attention of a psychiatrist or an elewe omo for correct agbo. Illiterate poor fool.

Is your brain dead? Or just not working? Or NEPA take light for your head. Get a life, retard.

Lindodo, please don't post comments from stupid people like Ajanaku again. She's brainless and highly retarded.

People like Ajanaku wants cheap fame and shouldn't get it. Mumu ten kobo.

RIP Mr Obodo

Ajanaku Oluwakemi=Retarded person.
E be like say traffic jam dey your brain and na pothole wey dey there dey cause am. Who says people don't die everyday? We are talking about how someone was killed here. Idiotic fool.

Nigerians have this mentality that ANY place is better than Nigeria. Is only after they go to these strange lands and meet it then they decide that Nigeria is not all as bad as it seems. Poor Indians running from India everyday, they pack UK, US, Canada, and other parts of the world. If India was so great why are they leaving at first opportunity?

I keep telling Nigerians that Nigeria is bursting with opportunities. Stay and build the nation, because once it is built up proper those opportunities will not exist anymore. Get your foot in while you can. Chinese, Lebanese, Syrians and all sorts seeing opportunities in Nigeria and capitalizing on it, so its about time Nigerians start capitalizing on their own nation's opportunities.

When Nigeria dun build up proper you will see how many of those who ran away running back to come reap what they didn't sow.

ASUU strike sure affected your brain. Get back to school on time. Happy new year in advance.

hadiza said...

Really?... Wt makes it special is dt he is Nigerian and died in India during a violent clash in India & dia govt is mute bout it..hw. Many pple die dis way?

@cynzoey said...

Hahahahaha@pikin
May His soul continue to RIP

Shey na talk be this

Pick one

Diamondeyez said...

India sef na place? Wetin I wan go find there? I'm sure you can't find any ijaw man there sef! Rubbish people! Now they have cut short d life of a fresh young man! God punish them and their generations!! RIP Mr. Obodo

Baba fela release one track for ur head bro.... Go down. Memory lane...u'll find d Song. Happy new year in advance to you Linpowpow...

Gbadebo said...

Na wa o....the way our fellow Nigerians are treated in diaspora is A big Insult on our government and something need to be done about it like ASAP and to the family of the deceased God be with you but this Government is a daft one so stop expecting any compensation they are too busy with bull shots

ANYA IKENGA said...

Shut up! If u r so thorough, open a blog.

Sharap! Who told you nothing is india..close your lousy mouth! I don't know why people don't

may ur soul rest in peace my country side bro

These..

I've always known you are brainless and I've told you this before. Y not shut the fuck up. I pity for your bf cos he I doomed!

sick of my igbo tribe said...

Trust igbo pple 2 ask 4 compensation in cash.....he's dead,wil financila compensation bring him back?#smh#is it d govt dat sent him 2 India or is it d indian govt dat invited him dere?so d president or govt officials shuld av come 2 his family house 4 an official visit?y'all Nigerians in dejected countries lyk India shuld beta come back home......dia relative died n dey r complaining abt compensation!it is only an igbo man dat wuld do such.....nonsense...mayb d soul of d departed RIP!

IBo drug dealer...rofl...tongue out

Ajanaku its like u'r a vamper thats why "only" this one looks usual in ur eyes. May God deliver you bitch. Nkem

Amarachukwu said...

Sad,RIP man.

YOU Shut up.
Open a blog or start a blog?

Please, talk with sense. What has tribe got to do with this? Stupid anonymous. You're not different from Ajanaku Oluwakemi. He was not tried, hence, he's not a drug dealer. Ode oshi.

What's in India? Indian Hemp, of course.
The worst kind of death is to be killed by an Indian. Its like being knocked down and killed by a bicycle, an agent of poverty.

u are nothing dan a numbskul ajanaku u must be a devill just try and change frm ur wicked ways evil gul i pity ur frnd boy, cos u must be a very mean type ass hole birtch

Goa nt Gao.

....and we call this so called Indians oyinbo. Treat them better than ourselves and they get best positions in our country. We are not fair to ourselves and we complain of injustice?

Rip bro

RIP bro.

Onye Ije la nudo

The whole f*^king African diaspora is alarmed by this senseless murder. Who would have thought a mindless timid Goan would be the one to awaken the "Beast."