Man flogs orphan to death over Christmas rice | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 January 2014

Man flogs orphan to death over Christmas rice

Stories like this just break your heart. According to a report by Vanguard, a 37 year old man beat his 20 year old cousin to death over a bowl of rice. The report below...

The Ogun State Police Command said, yesterday, that it had arrested a man,  Kayode Olubunmi,37, for allegedly killing his cousin,Haruna  Adeoye,20, over a bowl of Christmas rice.
The Police Public Relations Officer in the state, Muyiwa Adejobi disclosed this in a statement sent to newsmen in Abeokuta.
Adejobi explained that the tragic incident occurred on the Christmas day  at  Ajegunle, Ita-Oluwo, Ogijo in Sagamu local government area of Ogun State at 10:30pm.

According to the Police, the suspect killed,  Adeoye,  an orphan for eating a bowl of rice given to them by a friend on Christmas day.

“ When the suspect, who went on a visit to his  friends’ place, came back  drunk, he flogged the deceased to death with a stick for eating the rice he instructed him to keep  for their dinner.

“Haruna was an orphan  who had been staying with  the  suspect   for years  and Olubunmi could not state why he killed him.

“He has confessed to the crime,  he is with us at SCID Eleweran and will soon appear  in court “, the Police said.

Culled from Vanguard

130 comments:

Rauzmeiri said...

Pathetic!

Because of a plate of rice Nawaoooooo

Cruel word!miss titi.

Ehaaayyy,,,,such a sad news.... Guess it wasn't intentional.

pwitie B said...

Poverty d only explanation to this

So bad ....rest in peace

Na poverty we go call dis habi na wickedness RIP

Linda post my comment wetin i đø u

POVERTY!!!!!!!

#That happy sister!

God help us..speechless.

Its d devil at work! To those that drink to stupor,repent cuz U̶̲̥̅̊ might be used by d devil..Lord have mercy on d soul of d poor boy!

I can't understand how one can be poor, heartless and stupid at the same time? Its beyond me.

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

OHM God This world nawa oo. bowl of rice God Have Mercy on us all

Ahmed Babs said...

Mad man. He must be killed

Hmmm Linda Please I wan see my own comment oooooh tau!!!!!!!

Oga o...olorun sha nu wa

Heart breaking. ....Poverty in Nigeria is unbearable

Lord ve mercy on us. The same "RICE" some people ate and disposed... It's well. Rip.

God help us all , such a sad story .Rip

DOBY DOBY said...

Wat kind of storied ar we hearin dis yr... God pls help us

I saw dis in vanguard n ma hrt wept 4d poor boi.May his soul RIP

damn !!!!e was20yrs old !!he cud av defended himslf at least !!

JƱڪτ̲̅ a bowl of rice? Is it worth it? Is he @peace now? Hope he is happy...took a life cos of a bowl of rice..rice that will get spoilt..rice is replaceable life isn't....on xmas day rice is everywher, he JƱڪτ̲̅ have 2 ask d neighbor again dey would hve given him...God. Pls protect ur children from evil People

Sommie. said...

Over RICE???? God come! ☹☹ I pray the Law is allowed to take its course.

Pathetic!!!

Because of d increase of lawlessness,the love of d greater number will cool off.*Prophecies fufilling*

What poverty can do. Wish food was easy to get. It wouldn't have happened.

Who knows if d boy had smt to dat day

Sounds funny,but this is a serious issue.
Wonder what his cellmates will do to the wicked uncle if he's asked what brought him to d cell.

Na wa o Watin poverty they course for this country Abi Na evil spirit we go call am?

Omoremi said...

Must it always be ogun state?

Ok,nxt?

Bold Kid said...

Over a bowl of rice fa?! D guy sef, a 37 year old guy go beat 20yr old boy 2 death...him no fit run? Wicked world smh

Hmmmmmmm poverty but d cousin is big enough to escape when his brother was beating, or did he tired him up?(Meemee).

Na wa oooO bcos of rice,d@ guy hz anoda reason 4 killn d boi joor is nt bcos of rice...

Na wa oooo, dis pple shld nt delay my flight abeg....sad story
EsterDean

Na wa o....Serz poverty 9 dey dis our obodo Bauhaunaija o.

omehn wot is hapning in our society God plsss help us sm of us re fed up wif life, THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Gee said...

20yr old? Biko wht wz d boy doin while he wz being beaten? Ah na wa o

Phaeton Phoenix said...

OBJ people tinz

Sad story..... Na only God fit separate ndi ofe mmanu and food.

cute mee said...

Poverty is a curse,wat. Kind of stupid anger was dat?am sure by now his eyes are cleared from d free drinks he took,RIP 2 the boy,let rot in jail.

And @ that particular time, I was dancing in a club with babes around me. (º̩̩́_º̩̩̀). Life is a bitch, it f**ks us all. Now this 20yrs old dude again? What a pathetic story. He'll say he was acting under the influence of alcohol. Let's sentence him to death by hanging so that he won't drink alcohol again someday and come back home to shoot his wife for picking two meats out of the pot. ☹☹☹

Just wish the little girl will appear to me so that I can say sorry to her for being failed by a society that was suppose to protect her or, at best, pray God to take my life so that her life will be spared. I don't know her, but the the circumstances of her death drew tears to my eyes. Rest in Peace Haruna.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Nawa o!

Queen Eliza. said...

Choi na waho.

Like seriously, what is going on in tis country?

A life for a bowl of rice! Na so

Seriously...this just inhumane., feel so bad right now. I pray for God's protection upon all the numerous orphans out there.

So sad, just because of rice. LINDA WHERE IS BONARIO?

Fredrick Aroro said...

just cos of rice too bad .. www.fredrickaroro.com

So sad, just because of rice. LINDA WHERE IS BONARIO?

Fredrick Aroro said...

wicked world..

O God hav mercy becos of rice. Satan is at work ooOoooOo

Pela

nelly said...

#sadFaace# rily touchin, may d deceased soul rest in d bossom of d almighty !!!

foolish man. later u go dy blame devil

Tiwa said...

Hmmm, see what excessive alcohol caused.

SANDRA said...

May God Almighty help us.

D man is a devil in human skin

Ann Marie said...

My heart is broken

Aww see what poverty can cause in this our country naija

So sad n in some home the 'christmas rice' was wasting, may God help us. Sewzann

Bona!!!! Where ve u been? Missed u so much....muah!

Devil at work.

peperina said...

Rip

Hw much fr Rice,wan go mak u tak pesin life.I hate al diz kind of newz

Charmie said...

Na dem first poor! He's a psychopath dt jst unfolded!!! Anger is d root of al Evil!!!

Naija which way?

Stephen Ikiyei said...

na wa ooo... is it that poverty and wickedness

Charmie said...

Madam Linda ikeji post my comments

Blame it on d alcohol

Let me correct sumtin dis nut poverty issue here it's a height of stupidity nd Witchcrafty attitude so pple should stop saying poverty..wat is rice dat make sum1 to kill he own cousin he should be punishment nd rotten in jail 4 life imprison Bastard oloshi ur eye don cum down nah...Steadyman Say So...

OMG! Rice that I couldn't even eat on Christmas day is what somebody died FO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я? This has nothing 2do with poverty,some people are naturally wicked,that's Ђ☺ώ Α̲̅ lady beat up her husband's late brother's daughter Α̲̅πϑ removed her teeth bcos she did №†̥ cook... God save defenceless children from evil men Α̲̅πϑ women!!

jimsking said...

Bad news all the time that man need to be put away for a very long time

End time, RIP Haruna

what a wicked world.

This is a fugly shit, because of a bowel of rice that he wasted a soul, that's unfair. R I P to the dead.

God of creator...just becos of rice..

Some waste ds same rice evryday, May hs Soul RIP.

Dis is wicked! But I think d evil ones used him spiritually; maybe they entered him, else how could he suddenly want 2 kill som1 who has been living wth him 4 years over a bowl of rice? I think if he realy was dat aggressive, he would have done dis or something close 2 dis all diz years they have been living 2ged! Dis is sad!

@jessyangels4love

kunle said...

Linda some people are truly, you need to get out your cocoon to see for yourself. At times, I wonder are these people acting or being real.

My thought exactly!!!

AfroDivanna said...

The dangers of too much alcohol consumption. And when you add poverty to it, it's a total disaster. May the soul of the dead rest in peace.

this goes alot to say whereas some people are wasting food others see this food as something to kill for, so when nxtyou fink of throwing away food cos u are tired or eating fink of some one who will nt be tired of eating such a food #stopwastingfood# souls are perishing

OLORI said...

Chai....on top rice?? dis is srz poverty

Wickedness plus poverty equals madness.

PAVOUR said...

Rip. What alcohol can cause. What is a plate of rice?

A bowl of rice. God Abeg

He broke my @, how much is rice compared to life?

whitefalcon said...

Indeed. ill temper at work.

AfroDivanna said...

The dangers of too much alcohol consumption. And when you add poverty to it, it's a total disaster. May the soul of the dead rest in peace.

Oluwabobby said...

Ogun state again?
The man went too far wid his bad temper forstered by his drunkiness..oma she ooh.
*Red liNe

This is wicked!

There is more to it I don't blive its d rice dt made him killed his cousin.........bt if its d rice hmmmmmm........smh

This is wicked!

Not because of rice but because of alcohol.

Yuruba people na waoooh

For are long linda

Welcome bck to d city Bona, learnt u traveled to d village n there was no ntwrk there.

chizzy said...

May d soul of dat poor boi rest in peace

SUNSHINE said...

Oga park well jor.
Do you know what the murderer looks like?
You think say na everybody 'ko irin si apa' like you?

Ammie said...

Life lost over a bowl of rice..that man must suffer

slimzyose said...

Dis is pure wickedness,@ d victim smh,even as a gurl I can defend myself 4rm some shit let alone a guy.RIP dude

Nawa o, which country youfrom come? Haruna na girl for there? Abi ur eyes sabi convert 'him' wen Linda write to 'her'

Yoruba people with food, nawooo! Its really sad seeing the extent poverty has gone in ruining our country while our so call leaders are busy looting.

fifteen said...

@Eugenia which devil, allow devil to stay at hell please. Na devil buy beer for the man?

Obeisun Deborah said...

May his soul rest in peace

Thunder fire poverty!

Charles said...

The wrong side of alcoholism.

Charles said...

The bad side of alcoholism.

The 100k still keeps him busy, abi is it the other way round. Happy new year B.

Just ​A̶̲̅ bowl ☀f rice. Pathetic! Poverty must die in 2014

Too bad!over a bowl rice?

Gush,d boy would ve ran out of d house.I don't think he is drunk,4 him 2 ve d energy 2 beat a 20yrs old guy 2 death.May his soul rest in peace.

Linda why is your blog always hanging. Is making me not interested any longer. Even with my 4G band. Please do something about it.

Mademoiselle said...

Poverty at its highest peak, how can a child die because he ate food,this is a very tragic story. RIP Haruna I pray ure with the angels in heaven where food is neva a problem. SMH @ his cousin

lois sam said...

And this my dear brothers and sisters is what poverty is all about......but was d victim sick or something?...

WANNY said...

No be wickedness Naa...Na Shayo cus am...Olosho boy make police beat am wee wee....Olofo.

So! So!! Pathetic. Hmmm may his soul rest in d bossom of Abraham.
God give me d priviledge to help d needy. IJN amen

Bleble

A bowl of rice? Life is lost... Wht an act...

Amarachukwu said...

Speechless.RIP dude

Amarachukwu said...

Am speechless.RIP dude

lolade said...

a hungry man is an angry man. This is the meaning of people living on below a dollar a day. Very sad!

Ladyp said...

It cn be cos of d beating. I kn hw much beating I suffered in d hands of my cus, d scars both emotional and physical r still visible 8yrs later. I think smtn is wrong smwr.

Yea poverty

The man was drunk and this 20yr old was probably 'over-cultured' that he stayed to get punished,abi he for run now..20yr old?..it is well! Haa,but how?

Lilyvine said...

See d result of POVERTY at peak

Dats wat alcohol does to ppl!!!