Mercy Johnson narrates humble beginning, says she once lived in an uncompleted building | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 January 2014

Mercy Johnson narrates humble beginning, says she once lived in an uncompleted building

In an interview with Saturday Tribune, Mercy Johnson Okojie opens up about life before the fame, money and marriage. She talks about how she once lived in an uncompleted building and how she was inspired to start acting after watching one of Genevieve Nnaji's movies. Excerpt below...
Sometimes when I cry in movies, it isn't the script that makes me cry. When I recall my humble beginning, I give thanks to God. When I remember how we moved into an uncompleted building and had to take cover whenever it rained because of the condition of the house; how my brother did a menial job as a bricklayer to earn a living and those days when we rolled over a stick to cover the windows up till the point when I started acting and raised money to cover the roof… I recall those days we were living with lizards because the floor and the walls of the house were not plastered, or when I had scars as a result of my several falls.” Continue...

How she got into acting..
“After my secondary school education, I failed the University Matriculation Examination (UME) and came back to Lagos to get a degree. While that was on, I watched Genevieve Nnaji in a movie entitled: Sharon Stone. I later approached a friend for assistance to feature in a movie. He said I had a great body and that I would make a good actress. He later took me to the National Theatre, but a role did not come until a year later, when I had my first lead role in a film entitled: The Maid. The Maid was my starting point and it was quite challenging to play the lead role because it was my first movie. I was fidgeting when I saw the likes of Eucharia Anunobi, whom I regarded as a screen goddess during my secondary school days. I never thought I would make it with people like that. So, when I saw her, I was so excited and considered standing beside her as sacred. She actually realised that and later helped me by giving me the needed courage."
 What has marriage changed about you?
Marriage has taught me lots of things and I’ve learnt a lot since I got married too. I know that if I had gotten married earlier, I wouldn’t have made most of the errors I made. It’s good to be married to somebody who is so organised; he brings you up the right way and reminds you of whom you’re supposed to be.

You seem to be enjoying marriage a lot.  You even once said that as soon as Purity (her daughter) clocks one, you would be going back to the labour room …
My sister, marriage has been sweet for me because I have the best husband and daughter in the world. Being a married woman, I have learnt to tolerate things more. It has changed my perspective of life and the way I react to things.

But getting married and being an actress are two different things. How do you balance up?
When I’m not at location, I spend quality time with my family. And guess what? My husband has always been there for me and Purity. It’s obvious we are his priority. He’s a loving husband and father.

Your husband does not complain about those times when you are away?
He doesn’t; he understands the nature of my job. He’s the best thing that has happened to me. People usually say men are not reliable. In the case of my husband, he’s a blessing.

What was the point of attraction between you and Mr Okojie?
What attracted him to me was his fearless approach. You know sometimes, you meet some guys and they get intimidated about you, but not with him. The first time we were supposed to have a date, he said ‘Let’s go to my house so you can cook for me’ and in my mind, I was like “Seriously, this guy doesn’t know my name.” So, I said “My name is Mercy Johnson” and he said ‘Yes I know

216 comments:

1 – 200 of 216   Newer›   Newest»

MJ is d true face of inspiration.I luv her 4her simplicity n talent.I luv u MJ Muaaaah

seunLondon said...

Well done babes,,,so keep shining like a star that you're.

BTW: Pls keep Purity away from limelight, she has her own identity, she may not be obsessed with celebrity lifestyle when she's grown.

........#SeunLondon

Hmmm,humility&determination are d key words!
~urchgal~

U got shivers rolling dwn my spine wt such an inspirational interview.U re an embodiment of humility.I guess U re just deserving of the gud marital life U re enjoying.
Continue to be an eye opener for other artists that think life is all abt luxuries nd beefs.

Canny said...

Such a humble n natural woman. My best nollywood actress. Thumbs up

There's always a story to every success.

Mercy am hpy 4 u,I remember wen we. Acted in one movie 2gether...hw u were. B4,couldn't continue becos of d sex harresment. So I finally left AGN...tnk God u neve gave up..happy 4 u ...

NMA said...

Na u know,enjoy ur home

HATERS-SLAYER said...

hmmmm! I knew it, at least your now swiming in wealth, all glory be to God.

Lol love dis lady die and love her personality u rock.pray the gud lord will continue to bless u and ur family.aunty linda pls so dat I can break d record of u posting my text in d history ,pls post dis text I done tire to dey beg na ,I offend u anyhow

"The first time we were supposed to have a date, he said ‘Let’s go to my house so you can cook for me’ and in my mind, I was like “Seriously, this guy doesn’t know my name.” So, I said “My name is Mercy Johnson” and he said ‘Yes I know'" I love this part. Good one.

i soo want meet mercy, massive inspiration... nd i tink dz z y most pple dislike davido,cos es a rich kid n ddnt "struggle" to gt 2d top

Lovely story about her pass predicament with her family buh 2dy de story have change to success also to re family too dat show God is de beginning nd end dat no ur destiny nut any humanbeing so always remember any situation u re passing true God will indefinitely show up nd turn it to smiley in ur favor...Mercy enjoy ur wonderful family Cheer...Steadyman Say So...

dats God's handwork,,,,,may God continue to bless u n ur entire family members.....i cud remember dis time last year, i n my family lived in a face me n face you house with bad toilet n bath,,,,but since 3 months back, we r living in a 3 bedroom flats of our own with boys quarters,,,,i tnk God.....yaxx

beautiful said...

Am happy 4 r.....lol @ u dnt knw my name?my name is mercy johnson.congrats

Lol I lyk d@ nd God bless him 4 u

That marriage thrives off them pretending his first family never existed. It's perfect as long as he ignores his older children.

Lols. she love the Guy Gut... erm think im gonna spin my crush crush like that {go in and cook for me} lol

tcole said...

Awwww! Wht a wonderful story. Marriage is a beautiful thing wen u re wit d rite person. Just keep it up, be prayerful and be patient. Luv u both

EVERYONE HAS A STORY TO TELL,IF I TELL U MINE U WILL STOP EATING

Congrate Mercy.Am really apy 4u n pray dat u continue enjoyin ur marriage.Regards 2purity n d dad

The4Trend said...

Kinda love people with humble beginning cos it shows we can all stil make if we emphasize on HARDWORK...it pays

Anyalebechi Chiamaka said...

Wow! So happy for her.

lolz.. nice story.. and i think ave learnt sometin here by spinin a gal like this (go in my room and cook for me)

cOngrats gal, is ur set time 2 smile. Linda post my comment.... I can't fit shout lolz.

Ol's Network said...

I always ask if everyone is entitled to this happy ending story.

SANDRA said...

Thank God 4 her. It shows that there's always hope nd hardwork truly does pay up.thank u Mercy 4 sharing nd giving us hope.

What a humble beginning,Just like a muster seed.

I love mj! God has every ones life map out. Neo

What a humble beginning,Just like a muster seed.

That's okay every one have his or her own stories anyway big up to u mercy

Met her at a friends birthday party in surulere sometime last year and I was wowed at how she cleaned d table and seats for her husband and his friends and literally ran errands for them thoughout the gig. U would say what's d big deal, but bruh, her name is Mercy Johnson!

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

I love you mama purity ur d best tin dat happened to nollywood wishing u and ur family d best love u muaaaahh

Honestly I love nercy after reading this. This isn't the first time I ve read sometin like dis from her, she is so open unlike dat would immediately change their story once they hit fame. Love me some Mercy, sewzann

Queen Eliza said...

Okay.

sarah isaac said...

Esan/ Uromi guys are courageous sha...hope u still remembered the young man who took u to the theatre to start ur carrier...I love mercy alot...I loved the movie Veronica...May God bless ur home..please always encourage ur hussy to take care of his other kids...its important and more blessings will be on ur household..

Very interesting.

Mercy went to one of the best schools in PHC as of the time she was there n poor ppl don't go there *justSaying*

Vikky said...

Wao, interesting indeed. Datz y â„“̊ like d saying dat no 1 knwos 2maro. Am so happy 4 U̶̲̥̅̊ MJ. Keep up d wonderful work

This is wat we tiltle and inspiring story,u are happy for urslff we are happy for u Mama purity

I begggggg, everyone has past. Just thank God for everything, leave story my dear. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

harnikky said...

Wow! Ä♍ so happy for her! @ last she made it, God bless her home.

seriously u don't knw me......the husband snatcher..me cook for u

Wow! Am so happy for you Dear. May Gods blessing in your life be permanent. #Ritchy#

Its nice to know that you still remember your humble beginning...

''The first time we
were supposed to have a date,
he said ‘Let’s go to my house
so you can cook for me’ and in
my mind, I was like “Seriously,
this guy doesn’t know my
name.” So, I said “My name is
Mercy Johnson” and he said
‘Yes I know'' that's his bank account speaking through him (rich guys are always confident) , someone with low income won't be that fearless to talking to a famous lady like you.

Indeed I shed tears when I read these...God will continue to bless and elevate you and ur wonderful family...I Love U Mercy..

I jst love mercy Johnson, as far as am concerned she's the best actress in Nollywood.

I just lik mercy,naturally

'YTE'

Hmmmmm. Wat a story. I feel lik crying

MORAL LESSONS; BE MAN ENOUGH AV CONFIDENCE!

Vry touchin n lovly story..buh ve neva heard her say anytin abt her parent.or is she an orphan?

Am so so proud of u mercy johnson!was moved to tears wen I reading through ur story!God has a way of moving one frm grass to grace,eg linda ikeji for an example!I claim it dat dis year shall be a year that I wld receive a miracle that u shld sound like a lie!my God wld break protocol for me dis year(amen)

slimzyose said...

Tnk God it's now in d past,u now hve a new story 2 tel abt urself,luv u deary...2 al dos going thru different challenges jst believe in urself n alwz include God in al u do,someday it wil also b in d past n u wil hve a new story as wel.

I love that lady so much. Her humility, expertise & concentration (no controversies attached to her name) as much as I know thrill me. Yes having the right man who is organised gets u focused & he propells u. I love my man, thank God for him. $£

God bless MJ's marriage cos I love her.$£

I love that lady so much. Her humility, expertise & concentration (no controversies attached to her name) as much as I know thrill me. Yes having the right man who is organised gets u focused & he propells u. I love my man, thank God for him. $£

@least she had some shelter @d uncompleted building; some stay under d bridge. #be_thankful

Before glory there is always a story

Anty linda, how come you didn't include the name of the interviewer? She is my colleague at the office. Her name is Joan Omionawele. Encourage her abeg!#kate Ani#

Crystal said...

Whao, MJ my love, every challenge has an expiry date. Thank God for you. Love you dear and still loving u.

Sannomkingz said...

"Seriously,this guy doesn't know my name.so I said 'my name is Mercy Johnson'and he said 'Yes I know."
My Best part of the interview...May God keep ur Family together always..Amen.

rily happy 4 her... i pray they grow old 2geda as a luvely couple wit wonderful children....

MissBusyBody said...

Interesting read, but there is no excuse for that ridiculous weave... Get a stylist already

hahahahhah funny gal , my name is mercy johnson, am happy for her sha, is not easy to find good husbands dis days(meemee). h

pwitie B said...

Tnk God 4u 2day we love u all

Na sooooo!

Aww bless her . Its a good thing that she hasnt forgotten where it all started for her unlike some people wey small money de make them crase... Mercy, more grease to your elbow :-)

Sleeky said...

Mercy Johnson is d best no doubt

Oh my gudness am so hapi for u my modal.....a lot of pipo nver beliv dat dz marriage wil holdtill date bt u shut d hell of dem up n mk dem luk disgrace b4 ur family¥¥¥¥¥i lyk d way u do ur thingz!!! Kip it up #luvinursty#e

I wanted to marry u, but Okojie came and took u away fom me. Now I planned to marry Linda Ikeji , only to hear that Bonario Nnags has paid Linda's bride price since December 27th....crying....

Okikiola.

Kenny Abebi said...

I like her, she's placing her priority well and a good act also

MJ of life. Yours is an inspiring story. May God kip ur marriage.

fifteen said...

The last part is what I like the most, he said ‘Let’s go to my house so you can cook for me’ and in my mind, I was like “Seriously, this guy doesn’t know my name.” So, I said “My name is Mercy Johnson” and he said ‘Yes I know

Happy for you, I pray you enjoy your marriag till the end,pls don't let it be the same story as other celebrity(divoce)

I like d last question nd her response. Lolzz. Let's go to my house so u can cook for me.

She lied,she never lived in an uncompleted building.

"From Grass to Grace"..Its one of those things in life.May we all rise αηδ our foot set up on a higher mountain,amen!

jessica said...

Ma Nigeria best actress MJ

Ruth aniedi said...

Hmmm more grace to u dear

Honestly, I got irritated abt u, MJ wen u had issues btw u and ur husby formal wife. I hated u d more, but dat didn't keep me away frm ur movies bcos ur a gud actor. Am so so so sorry, I shuldnt hav jugded u wrongly. Am loving u d more. Even in all, u are still humble. May God make ur marriage envious!!! #Mama#

Max said...

I could testify to Mercy Johnson's story.. My mom used to be an actress and i once followed my mom to a location in Lagos. Mercy was more of a messenger then... see how God has transformed her life

Obeisun Deborah said...

I'm so happy for happy for you MJ! They don't need a soothsayer to tell how happy and blessed u really are. May God continually bless ur home.

Touching story *wipes tears*

IKWERREBOY said...

nice insight. So, I said “My name is Mercy Johnson” and he said ‘Yes I know

LOL @ "my name is Mercy Johnson" and "yes I know".. Dude must b a strict no nonsense man.. Inspiring story I must say..

I love his response to her? Lol. OF course he knows ur name. So nice how God turned ur story around. Kudos dear. Always be u. I love u because u are u.

My darling mercy by God grace u will stay in marrage nothin will happen to ur home in Jesus name Amen. I Luv u mercy keep it up.

So inspiring and touching...God that did hers will surely do mine one day

~NDG~cimino~ said...

I feel U! Since uwa!

oma dollz said...

Woooow that's very touching story OMgosh makes wanna cry buh I didn't bcos at the end of the whole struggle she made it in life.I cnt stop loving this woman both her acting n evryfin I jus love her. Kudos lady M.okojie

~NDG~cimino~ said...

U 've made a trail for so many other girls who wuld 've ventured into prostitution to follow.
It's all abt hard work!

Muna said...

wow...Nyc one Mercy

To God be the Glory
He makes all things beautiful in his own time

Enjoy your life, my sister. Nothing do you.

Me said...

uve comea long way MJ...God will tak u higher.

Humble, I tell folks anyone who hides his/her humble beginning is proud. She just earned more respect from me. Same with Linda Ikeji, I took more seriously when shared her story of humble beginning; selling beers, lack of money @ unilag and how she turned down a sugar daddy at a Lagos hotel. I wish she would use her medium to promote hard work and integrity rather than tacitly encouraging quick life with the star 'acquired' thus and that when she knows its all stunts. Best wishes.

Lol! @Yes I knw,can't imagine d expression on his face...lik ehen if r mercy johson nko? Omo come n cook 4 me!...

Oh my, am loving her story already

Nice. Really happy 4 her. I pray she remains happy. God please help her oohhh!

great and heart touching dear mercy make us proud and stay married not the usual Hollywood stuff love today seperation the next. love you stay focused and remain wise.

mary moore said...

She's down to earth I love her so much. She's the reason why I watch nollyhood movies. Best actress ever!

MJ is so blessed, love u like I kilode

miss leopex said...

wow I'm in luv wid d last statement. so brave of him

Ann Marie said...

when you are with the right person marriage can be so enjoyable. wishing them the best

jennies said...

were can i buy limited edition latest version of female condom

Hehehehe. .. nyc one mercy. .. butiful family

Awwww am so happy for her.she's indEed lucky and blessed.

She should just shut up and get on with her life,having destroyed someone else marriage,everyone has stories to tell but no respect when another person's'happiness is destroyed

Cute family... I don't know if it's my eyes but I think she looks a bit like her husband #OkBye. **kween**

Linda, this is the type of inspiring stories that you need to upload to your blog, not people buying bags and sneakers for millions of naira.

confessor said...

I love dat part "My name is Mercy Johnson” and he said ‘Yes I know...
Ehen! As ur name be mercy wetin come hapun.hehehehe

Funny lady. Thank God for everytin. U av ßε̲̅ε̲̅n̶̲̥̅̊ blessed ₪ doubt

Adaobi Simon said...

Loving this babe more and more..Go mercy enjoy ur marriage.

K

Lol at my name is mercy johnson..well am beyonce gisele knowles

OMG!WOMAN said...

Lol @ seriously this guy doesn't know my name, lmao, yeah good courage.

I just love nd admire dis girl...........may love continue 2 grow in ur family IJN

Keep shining Mercy.

Anih Gee said...

Honestly, I think u should slow down about d trumpet of u having d best marriage and all that cos u don't know d intentions of pple around u...........Try to enjoy ur marriage quietly.

Golda Awosika said...

Wen 2 ppl love echoda 2 much,dey begin 2 luk alike #*karlishah*

Nice story mj but abeg tell ur husband to aleast get a J-O-B ! That's wat makes him a real man.they provide 4 their families and nt d other way round Oga okojie stop livin off ur wife pls

janet sele said...

You guys r cute 2geda. Such a luvly baby feel lyk stealing her.

My lady am happy for youooooo! Wish to be like u some day

Hmmmmmm so lvly I wish u nd ur family unlimited blessin Amin

TOMATO JOS I Luv DAT last past! Lol! May God keep blessing u MJ! It's ur turn to shine.

Berry said...

I simply adore you mercy you my role model love you to bits......

Just Sayin' said...

He said ‘Let’s go to my house so you can cook for me’

And in my mind, I was like “Seriously, this guy doesn't know my name.”

So, I said “My name is Mercy Johnson”

And he said ‘Yes I know

Lol! I sure do like men who can take authority.

Men, please take a cue from Okojie and stop allowing your wives be the husbands or they'll walk all over you.

makasteve said...

Lol mercy

umunas said...

4 sum1 to taste swit lyf e or she must av suffered in d past..I envy u my sis and wish to b lyk u sumday..

Mercy if he is that nice then leave runs n charm. Enugu charm. Hmmmmm make I shut up

So you actually wanted him to start trembling @ the mention of your name. I hope this fame has not eating deep on you.

So happy for you mercy! God bless your marriage.

.Mademoiselle said...

Mercy Johnson? Great actress just watched her on AM ure awesome keep it up, and may ur husband continue to be a blessing to u,and may u be submissive to him as ur husband cuz I know the movie industry is sodom n gomorrah.

flikyvicky said...

Ride on dear, God is with you!

Her hair n makeup though.
Get a stylist biko.

lois sam said...

Love u Mj, I think u're a fantastic actress...nice family pics! But dis ur wig no try ooh...

pipifierce said...

"Lyk srzly, dis guy doesn't know ma name. So i said, i am mercy johnson and he said yes i know". Jeezzzzz, dis got me laffn so hard.

motherof4 said...

I love Mercy any-day, I see humility in her. God bless her and keep her home.

grace abi na from concrete grass to grace. God blesses the hustler and hard worker. This one no be by selling point.

I love mama Purity to a fault, thankGod for your breakthrough, I pray that this year my own breakthrough will come. IJN Amen

Bleble

Happy for you God bless your marraige,God hear my cry this 2014 and provide me with a job and a husband,I have become a lady people mock at not even laugh lord please make me a better person in 2014

I love Mercy so much but am disappointed that he is naming her daughter 'Purity'. That is un African. As one of our idols i expect her to be an ambassador of our culture

Nice family. D daughter looks like d husband

SEXY MAMACITA said...

Loooolz! Linda i ve read this interview for over a year now. Its nothing new. Mercy was destined to be great. God Is Great.

lovly end...i wish u all d best life can offer..i love u m.j.

Wow!!!li love men like that,no time for ur firmness,wealth,power etc,he just wants u and not ur...

Evry1 hs deir story 2.

biggy said...

mmmmmmmm humble beginning,so tyms life situations tend to mk u stronger,I believe u girl keep doing yan tin,making money on my mind to......

biggyone say so via my touchlight

biggy said...

mmmmmmmm humble beginning,some tyms life situations tend to mk u stronger,I believe u girl keep doing yan tin,making money on my mind to......

biggyone say so via my touchlight

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

I love Mercy - she's an amazing woman

Ohhh! So touching

Tricia said...

Waow!!! Great

Thank God for bringing u dis far,keep stay ing humble dear, cos it sure pays.

God Almighty is the Greatest!

ehnnn。 so wat?? aneg linda no dey bring dis kyn stale news copme here

Interesting story as an actress a wife and a mother to the follow actress out there who Thinks marriage is for fame and luxuries.

Wow dats sweet.continue njoyin ur marriage.u r great MJO

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

Everyone get story though. Just like Lindododo

Are You Truly In Love? Read This.

ms k said...

Lmao...like are u serious a whole mercy johnson to cook for u? Helloooooo nd she reminded himm again. #ahahhahahahaahahahah# crazy mercy dat line got me laughing reali.

RN said...

Make sure u know what u are saying. So dt 2moro u won't say a different thing, wish u all d best.

Aww I luv dis geh! But u had lots of error in ur last interview...do smfin abt it coz ur a public figure

honest critique said...

I love this woman

d'bliss said...

Aaaaawwwww...
...cute family. God exalt you all!

I tank God 4 u o,HML to u

MJ why did U skip the main hustling stories.....well I understand we all knw it,don't worry none of us U serviced to survive will blackmail U...do U remeber garri and eko nite?

Amarachukwu said...

Behind every great man,there is a story.

But what is our business, why does every celeb or famous person have a humble begining. Who gives a FUCK!

Jenny luv said...

Luv u MJ so much. Am inspired by ur story I pray dat God will continue to bless ur marriage in Jesus name Amen. Aunty Linda abeg na new year we de post my comment.

mary moore said...

My very own MJ I love her, she's down to earth my bestie.

Sweet story

World Senator said...

Mercy Johnson Okojie is very down to health, humility pays. Stay humble and continue ur hard work for ur best days are still in front of you..May God almighty take you to the Zenith of ur career...Superb Actress

Mercy Johnson Okojie, what a lady! Babes Ʊ RocK! *cagey*

fashiontinz.com said...

I love MJ. The fact that she was focused n despite *any* bad ways she might have gone. She knew what she wanted out of life and cleaned herself up to be a respectable lady... God bless u girl..

You are so right.You just said my mind.

Hehehehehe
I agree with you sha

You are a sensible person.encourage him to take care of his other kids so you will not suffer from what you know not.he can divorce their mom,but the kids are as innocent as purity.God bless

Highly-Favoured said...

Inspiring! Class is one thing that changes at any point in time. From I completed building to a mansion.

I love mercy johnson,I love the way she acts,she acts with passion.May God continue to bless your home

Ok those of una crying what's beating y'all up? Lmao!!!! Pele oh...mtshewwww

AbiOooooo like say na only her get story to tell? omo !people whr get super story dey dere Ooooooo

yeah right!!!!!!!!!

Agree with u dear

Since every1 has stories, who is reading yours???
Hater!

Cry na, as u no get work sit down dey cry abi u no get story too abeg send ur story to linda 4 her to post cos we all have one or two story to tell

You give a fuck, that's why u'r so pained...mtchewww!

AbiOooooo like say na only her get story to tell? omo !people whr get super story dey dere Ooooooo

Agree with u dear

shadu said...

You just inspired me mercy...

Hummm i really like her she Ä®̸̸̨§ a gud actress.

Hmmmm we all have a story to tell one day•

Her inlaws constantly talk about her humility.nice

yawn. rags to riches stories are so cliche and boring nowadays. you guys try something else.

Linda you too.

her ability to interprete roles awes me

Best comment ever. I was beginning to think he resale never had a family before. Please mercy don't rule out the fact that this man had kids oh. Stop pretending they don't exist. May God protect purity from a father who would forget her because he married another woman

Awww that's nice of you to say. Yeah i can imagine her doing that.

Yeah you are right there but some people became poor when they left school in SS3 and had retired parents waiting for their pensions and gratuity...so what are you saying...

LOL @"This guy doesn't know my name?"

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 216   Newer› Newest»